DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1 and 4-7 in the reply filed on November 3, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Groups I-III fulfill the requirement of unity invention. This is not found fully persuasive because claim 3 (Group III, including dependent claims 9, 11, and 14-15) is drawn to a distinct product (fermented product vs Bacillus subtilis microorganisms). "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production or point of isolation. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
However, the restriction between Group I and Group II as set forth in the requirement mailed September 4, 2025 is hereby withdrawn.
Accordingly, claims 1-15 are pending in the instant application, of which claims 3, 9, 11 and 14-15 have been withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
1. Claims 2, 8, 10, 12-13 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claims 1, 4, 5, and 6-7. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Applicants claim 2 is directed to the identical composition as recited in claim 1. While referred to as a “bacterial agent” the composition remains the same. Accordingly, the composition as recited in claim 1 and claim 2 remain the same, and each of the recited methods employees the identical strain in the method, rendering each claim a duplicate of the other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The specification lacks complete deposit information for the deposit of CGMCC 24836, it is not clear that strains possessing the identical properties of CGMCC 24836 are known and publicly available or can be reproducibly isolated from nature without undue experimentation.
Exact replication of a strain is an unpredictable event. Although applicant has provided a written description of a method for selecting the claimed strain, this method will not necessarily reproduce cells which are chemically and structurally identical to those claimed. Undue experimentation would be required to screen all of the possible species to obtain the claimed cells.
Because one skilled in the art could not be assured of the ability to practice the invention as claimed in the absence of the availability of the CGMCC 24836, a suitable deposit for patent purposes, evidence of public availability of the CGMCC 24836 strains or evidence of the reproducibility without undue experimentation is required.
If the deposit has been made under the provisions of the Budapest Treaty, filing of an affidavit or declaration by applicant or assignees or a statement by an attorney of record who has authority and control over the conditions of deposit over his or her signature and registration number stating that the deposit has been accepted by an International Depository Authority under the provisions of the Budapest Treaty, that all restrictions upon public access to the deposit will be irrevocably removed upon the grant of a patent on this application and that the deposit will be replaced if viable samples cannot be dispensed by the depository is required. This requirement is necessary when deposits are made under the provisions of the Budapest Treaty as the Treaty leaves this specific matter to the discretion of each State. Amendment of the specification to recite the date of deposit and the complete name and full street address of the depository is required. As a possible means for completing the record, applicant may submit a copy of the contract with the depository for deposit and maintenance of each deposit.
If the deposits have not been made under the provisions of the Budapest Treaty, then in order to certify that the deposits comply with the criteria set forth in 37 CFR §1.801-1.809, assurances regarding availability and permanency of deposits are required. Such assurance may be in the form of an affidavit or declaration by applicants or assignees or in the form of a statement by an attorney of record who has the authority and control over the conditions of deposit over his or her signature and registration number averring:
(a) during the pendency of this application, access to the deposits will be afforded to the Commissioner upon request;
(b) all restrictions upon the availability to the public of the deposited biological material will be irrevocably removed upon the granting of a patent on this application;
(c) the deposits will be maintained in a public depository for a period of at least thirty years from the date of deposit or for the enforceable life of the patent of or for a period of five years after the date of the most recent request for the furnishing of a sample of the deposited biological material, whichever is longest; and
(d) the deposits will be replaced if they should become nonviable or non-replicable.
In addition, a deposit of biological material that is capable of self-replication either directly or indirectly must be viable at the time of deposit and during the term of deposit. Viability may be tested by the depository. The test must conclude only that the deposited material is capable of reproduction. A viability statement for each deposit of a biological material not made under the Budapest Treaty must be filed in the application and must contain:
1) The name and address of the depository;
2) The name and address of the depositor;
3) The date of deposit;
4) The identity of the deposit and the accession number given by the depository;
5) The date of the viability test;
6) The procedures used to obtain a sample if the test is not done by the depository; and
7) A statement that the deposit is capable of reproduction.
As a possible means for completing the record, applicant may submit a copy of the contract with the depository for deposit and maintenance of each deposit.
If the deposit was made after the effective filing date of the application for patent in the United States, a verified statement is required from a person in a position to corroborate that the cell line described in the specification as filed is the same as that deposited in the depository. Corroboration may take the form of a showing of a chain of custody from applicant to the depository coupled with corroboration that the deposit is identical to the biological material described in the specification and in the applicant's possession at the time the application was filed.
Applicant's attention is directed to In re Lundack, 773 F.2d. 1216, 227 USPQ 90 (CAFC 1985) and 37 CFR §1.801-1.809 for further information concerning deposit practice.
3. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 recites “A bacterial agent” containing the Bacillus subtilis FNFH BS06 of claim 1. However, calling the subtilis strain a bacterial agent in no way changes the composition (e.g., further comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, excipient, etc.) As the composition remains structurally identical, claim 2 fails to further limit the composition of claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, 10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Han et al.
The applied reference has a common assignee/partial inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
The claims are drawn to a Bacillus subtilis FNFH BS06, with a preservation number of CGMCC 24836.
Han et al (WO 2023/231854; published July 12, 2023, filed May 24, 2023; with a claim of benefit of CN 202210619567.1, filed June 2, 2022) disclose of Bacillus subtilis FNFH BS06 with a preservation number of CGMCC 24836. (See paragraph 0047). Han et al further disclose of applying the strain to soybean meal. (See paragraphs 0011 and 0015).
Accordingly, Han et al disclose of each and every limitation of the instantly filed claims.
5. Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, 10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Han et al.
The applied reference has a common assignee/partial inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
The claims are drawn to a Bacillus subtilis FNFH BS06, with a preservation number of CGMCC 24836.
Han et al (US Publication 2025/0075169; published March 6, 2025 filed May 24, 2023; with a claim of benefit of CN 202210619567.1, filed June 2, 2022) disclose of Bacillus subtilis FNFH BS06 with a preservation number of CGMCC 24836. (See paragraph 0034). Han et al further disclose of applying the strain to soybean meal. (See paragraphs 0011 and 0014).
Accordingly, Han et al disclose of each and every limitation of the instantly filed claims.
/ALBERT M NAVARRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1645 November 19, 2025