DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 7-12, and 19-20 are amended. Claims 2-6 and 13-18 are as previously presented. Therefore, claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on September 11, 2026 has been entered. Applicant’s amendment overcomes the previously set-forth objection to claim 11.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 6-13, filed on 09/11/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of applicant’s amendment regarding the first and second receiving devices and newly found prior art regarding this feature.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. DE102021110295.2, filed on 04/22/2021.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 13-15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Droege et al. (WO 2013124235 A2, hereinafter Droege) in view of Leppich-Rudloff et al. (WO 2020025396 A1, hereinafter Leppich) and Ahlborn (DE 19912303 C1).
Regarding claim 1, Droege discloses a transfer device for loading and/or unloading a food treatment unit (Page 3, Para. 4, “In the method according to the invention, an automatic transfer of a loading rack with a plurality of product carriers between the loading cart and the oven is further ensured. After loading the oven with the loading rack, the food products can be heat treated programmatically”), comprising:
a moveable transfer trolley (Page 1, Para. 2 from end, “at least one loading trolley for receiving a feed rack for a plurality of product carriers, which can be coupled to the oven is to move the feed rack with product carriers between the oven and the loading cart back and forth.”) which has a support device for at least one loading rack (Claim 1, “at least one loading trolley (13) for receiving a loading rack (14) for a plurality Product carriers which can be coupled to the oven (1 1, 12) to move the feeder rack (14) with product carriers between the oven (1 1, 12) and the loading trolley (13)”); and
an actuator arranged on the transfer trolley and configured to move the at least one loading rack from a first receiving device, located on a first side of the transfer trolley of the food treatment unit and to remove the at least one loading rack therefrom (Page 2, last Para., “By namely an integrated handling device is provided directly on the oven or on the loading cart, a loading frame with a A plurality of product carriers in a simple manner between a coupled to the oven loading trolley and the oven back and forth, as far as desired, in a fully automatic manner.”, where Fig. 2 shows that the handling device 24 is located one a first side of the transfer trolley),
Droege does not disclose:
a drive coupled to the transfer trolley;
wherein the transfer trolley and the actuator are configured to move the at least one loading rack into a first receiving device and remove the loading rack therefrom and to additionally move the at least one loading rack into at least one second receiving device, located on a second side of the transfer trolley, and to remove the at least one loading rack therefrom.
However, Leppich discloses, in the similar field of transfer devices for heat treatment of food (Abstract, “an apparatus for treating foods, comprising at least one treatment unit (6, 21)
which has at least one treatment chamber which is configured to receive product carriers with foods”), where the transfer trolley includes a drive (Abstract, “In order to further relieve the load on the personnel, the apparatus has at least one mobile drive unit, which is or can be coupled to the transport cart (1), and the drive unit has a navigation system and is configured to move the transport cart (1) automatically at least into the first working position (20-24).”), and where the transfer trolley has an actuator that moves and removes the product carrier into another receiving device located on the second side of the transfer trolley (Page 7, Para. 3, “FIG. 8 shows a reason why the transport carriage 1 is preferably not provided with wall plates in the present method, at least on the front and rear. In the case of an open transport carriage 1, the baked goods carriers 11 can be introduced from both sides. It is also possible to design the loading drive in such a way that the transport frame 9, 10 can be moved out of the transport carriage 1 in both directions.”, where Droege discloses a loading drive on one side of the trolley that allows for product carriers to exit from one side, where Leppich teaches that both sides can be exits for product carriers and a duplication of the loading drive on the other side of the trolley would achieve this outcome). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the transfer trolley in Droege to include the drive and actuator on the second side for moving and removing product carriers as taught by Leppich.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to automate the trolley system to reduce the need for human intervention, as stated by Leppich, Abstract, “In order to further relieve the load on the personnel, the apparatus has at least one mobile drive unit, which is or can be coupled to the transport cart (1)”, and where having actuators on both sides of the trolley allows for more efficient loading and unloading without need for turning, Page 7, Para. 3, “Given such constructive requirements, it is possible to load the trolley 1 with baked goods carriers and baked goods from one side and to push the loaded transport frame 9, 10 out to the other side in order to feed it to the treatment unit. This reduces the need for turning operations, which are necessary in order to drive the transport carriage 1 to all working positions 20, 22, 23, 25 in a complex work space.”.
Ahlborn discloses, in the similar field of transfer devices (Abstract, “transfer unit), where the actuator and drive is capable of moving a loading rack into a first receiving device on a first side of the transfer trolley and removing the loading rack therefrom (Page 4, Para. 3, “The vertical support 101 of the device 100 is supported on a horizontally extending arm 105 ( FIG. 3) which is arranged on a carriage 106 which runs on a rail 107 parallel to the longitudinal axis of the entire device for transferring fermentation material. The individual pairs of levers 110 are actuated, as is shown schematically in FIG. 4, by a piston-cylinder drive 109 , which is connected to the pairs of levers 110 by a coupling rod 108 .”, where the actuator is construed as the levers 112 located on device 110, where the actuator is construed as the carriage 106 that can move the actuator across the length of the transfer trolley or transfer station 30; where a first receiving device is construed as chamber 10, where Fig. 6a to 6f shows that racks can be removed and inserted into the chamber 10 from the transfer trolley 30 through the actuator and drive system), and where the actuator and drive is also capable of moving the loading rack into a second receiving device on a second side of the transfer trolley and removing the loading rack therefrom (Figs. 6a-6f, where the second receiving device is construed as chamber 20, where the figures show that the racks can be removed and inserted into chamber 20 from the transfer trolley 30 through the actuator and drive system, where the chamber 20 is located on the opposite side of the transfer trolley compared to chamber 10). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the actuator in modified Droege to include the ability to move between both sides of the transfer trolley as taught by Ahlborn.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage autonomously allowing for the transfer of rolls onto baking trays, where the actuator can allow for the rolls to enter and exit the transfer trolley without the need to duplicate the actuator, as stated by Ahlborn, Page 3, Para. 2 from end, “This device consists of the three chambers 10 , 20 and 30 , the chamber 10 accommodating the baking trolley and the chamber 20 the fermenting trolley with the tipping trays. The transfer station 30 , that is to say the chamber between the two chambers 10 and 20, is used for transferring the rolls from the Kipptrögel apparatuses to the corresponding baking trays located underneath.”.
Regarding claim 2, modified Droege teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Modified Droege does not disclose:
further comprising: a guiding device which guides the transfer trolley along a travel path of the transfer trolley.
However, Leppich discloses where there is a guiding device that guides the transfer trolley along a travel path (Page 3, Para. 3, “A guide device can be provided on the treatment unit or in the vicinity thereof, so that the transport carriage is guided into the first working position in which it is held by the drive motor of the AGV. The guiding device can e.g. be provided on the treatment unit or in the running surface for the guide rollers.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the transfer trolley in modified Droege to include the guiding device as taught by Leppich.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to allow the transfer trolley to reach working positions safely, as stated by Leppich, Page 4, Para. 2, “In addition, mechanical guide elements, in particular close to the working positions, which guide the movement of the drive unit or the transport carriage, can be arranged so that the working positions can be reached safely.”.
Regarding claim 4, modified Droege teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein the transfer trolley includes a frame having a first side and a second side that are open and facing each other (Teaching from Leppich, Page 7, Para. 3, “FIG. 8 shows a reason why the transport carriage 1 is preferably not provided with wall plates in the present method, at least on the front and rear. In the case of an open transport carriage 1, the baked goods carriers 11 can be introduced from both sides. It is also possible to design the loading drive in such a way that the transport frame 9, 10 can be moved out of the transport carriage 1 in both directions.”, where the frame includes a front and rear that are open and facing each other).
Regarding claim 5, modified Droege teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein the actuator includes at least one drive (Droege, Page 4, Para. 4, “handling device comprises servomotor drives.”) and at least one driver (Droege, Page 4, Para. 4, “In this case can be dispensed with sensors for position detection for the driver, provided that the servo motor drives themselves allow a sufficiently precise positioning by their design.”, where the servomotors are drives that includes drivers that allow them to be self-driven according to inputs from the sensors).
Regarding claim 6, modified Droege teaches the apparatus according to claim 5, as set forth above, discloses wherein at least one sensor are assigned to the actuator (Droege, Page 4, Para. 2, “the handling device comprises at least one sensor for position detection for the driver.”).
Modified Droege does not disclose:
at least a control unit is assigned to the actuator.
However, Leppich discloses where the loading drive or actuator of the trolley can be controlled by a control unit (Page 6, Para. 4, “The drive unit 15 is equipped with a powerful processor for creating the maps of the space in front of the scanning lasers 18. It is therefore possible that the drive unit 15 also takes over the control of the loading drive of the transport carriage 1.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the actuator in modified Droege to include a control unit as taught by Leppich.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use the control unit to determine positioning from sensors, where this can allow for communication between the sensors and actuator to occur, as stated by Leppich, Page 6, Para. 4, “The drive unit 15 is equipped with a powerful processor for creating the maps of the space in front of the scanning lasers 18. It is therefore possible that the drive unit 15 also takes over the control of the loading drive of the transport carriage 1.”.
Regarding claim 7, Droege discloses a treatment device for food (Claim 1, “Device for the heat treatment of food products”), comprising:
a food treatment unit having at least one treatment chamber with a first receiving device for receiving at least one loading rack (Claim 1, “Device for the heat treatment of food products, having an oven (1 1, 12) with a cooking chamber (26), which is designed to receive product carriers with food products”);
at least one automatically opening and closing treatment chamber door (Page 7, Para. 2, “Depending on the design of the central controller 21, a charging or discharging process by movement of the loading frame 14 between the loading carriage 13 and the oven 1 1 and an associated opening or closing of the door 22 can be controlled automatically.”); and
a transfer device having a movable transfer trolley (Page 1, Para. 2 from end, “at least one loading trolley for receiving a feed rack for a plurality of product carriers, which can be coupled to the oven is to move the feed rack with product carriers between the oven and the loading cart back and forth.”) which has a support device for the loading rack (Claim 1, “at least one loading trolley (13) for receiving a loading rack (14) for a plurality Product carriers which can be coupled to the oven (1 1, 12) to move the feeder rack (14) with product carriers between the oven (1 1, 12) and the loading trolley (13)”), and
an actuator arranged on the transfer trolley and configured to move the loading rack or the product carrier into the first receiving device, located on a first side of the transfer trolley of the food treatment unit and to remove the loading rack therefrom (Page 2, last Para., “By namely an integrated handling device is provided directly on the oven or on the loading cart, a loading frame with a A plurality of product carriers in a simple manner between a coupled to the oven loading trolley and the oven back and forth, as far as desired, in a fully automatic manner.”, where Fig. 2 shows that the handling device 24 is located one a first side of the transfer trolley).
Droege does not disclose:
at least one second receiving device associated with the food treatment unit that receives the loading rack;
a drive coupled to the transfer trolley, wherein the drive is configured to automatically move a transfer trolley to a transfer position adjacent to the at least one second receiving device and to automatically move the transfer trolley into a loading position adjacent to the treatment chamber; and
wherein the transfer trolley and the actuator are configured to move the at least one loading rack into a first receiving device and remove the loading rack therefrom and to additionally move the loading rack into the least one second receiving device, located on a second side of the transfer trolley, and to remove the at least one loading rack therefrom.
However, Leppich discloses, in the similar field of transfer devices for heat treatment of food (Abstract, “an apparatus for treating foods, comprising at least one treatment unit (6, 21)
which has at least one treatment chamber which is configured to receive product carriers with foods”), where the transfer trolley includes a drive that automatically moves the transfer trolley to a transfer position adjacent to the second receiving device and a loading position adjacent to the treatment chamber (Abstract, “In order to further relieve the load on the personnel, the apparatus has at least one mobile drive unit, which is or can be coupled to the transport cart (1), and the drive unit has a navigation system and is configured to move the transport cart (1) automatically at least into the first working position (20-24).”), where there is a second receiving device associated with the food treatment unit that receives the loading rack or product carrier (Page 6, Para. 5 from end, “A proofing cabinet 21 is also arranged in the working space, in front of which a further working position 22 is provided. Furthermore, an oven 6 is arranged next to the proofer 21, a working position 23 being provided in front of the front thereof”, where there are multiple product receiving devices), and where the transfer trolley has an actuator that moves and removes the product carrier into another receiving device located on the second side of the transfer trolley (Page 7, Para. 3, “FIG. 8 shows a reason why the transport carriage 1 is preferably not provided with wall plates in the present method, at least on the front and rear. In the case of an open transport carriage 1, the baked goods carriers 11 can be introduced from both sides. It is also possible to design the loading drive in such a way that the transport frame 9, 10 can be moved out of the transport carriage 1 in both directions.”, where Droege discloses a loading drive on one side of the trolley that allows for product carriers to exit from one side, where Leppich teaches that both sides can be exits for product carriers and a duplication of the loading drive on the other side of the trolley would achieve this outcome). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the transfer trolley in Droege to include the drive and actuator on the second side for moving and removing product carriers into multiple product receiving areas as taught by Leppich.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to automate the trolley system to reduce the need for human intervention, as stated by Leppich, Abstract, “In order to further relieve the load on the personnel, the apparatus has at least one mobile drive unit, which is or can be coupled to the transport cart (1)”, and where having actuators on both sides of the trolley allows for more efficient loading and unloading without need for turning, Page 7, Para. 3, “Given such constructive requirements, it is possible to load the trolley 1 with baked goods carriers and baked goods from one side and to push the loaded transport frame 9, 10 out to the other side in order to feed it to the treatment unit. This reduces the need for turning operations, which are necessary in order to drive the transport carriage 1 to all working positions 20, 22, 23, 25 in a complex work space.”.
Ahlborn discloses, in the similar field of transfer devices (Abstract, “transfer unit), where the actuator and drive is capable of moving a loading rack into a first receiving device on a first side of the transfer trolley and removing the loading rack therefrom (Page 4, Para. 3, “The vertical support 101 of the device 100 is supported on a horizontally extending arm 105 ( FIG. 3) which is arranged on a carriage 106 which runs on a rail 107 parallel to the longitudinal axis of the entire device for transferring fermentation material. The individual pairs of levers 110 are actuated, as is shown schematically in FIG. 4, by a piston-cylinder drive 109 , which is connected to the pairs of levers 110 by a coupling rod 108 .”, where the actuator is construed as the levers 112 located on device 110, where the actuator is construed as the carriage 106 that can move the actuator across the length of the transfer trolley or transfer station 30; where a first receiving device is construed as chamber 10, where Fig. 6a to 6f shows that racks can be removed and inserted into the chamber 10 from the transfer trolley 30 through the actuator and drive system), and where the actuator and drive is also capable of moving the loading rack into a second receiving device on a second side of the transfer trolley and removing the loading rack therefrom (Figs. 6a-6f, where the second receiving device is construed as chamber 20, where the figures show that the racks can be removed and inserted into chamber 20 from the transfer trolley 30 through the actuator and drive system, where the chamber 20 is located on the opposite side of the transfer trolley compared to chamber 10). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the actuator in modified Droege to include the ability to move between both sides of the transfer trolley as taught by Ahlborn.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage autonomously allowing for the transfer of rolls onto baking trays, where the actuator can allow for the rolls to enter and exit the transfer trolley without the need to duplicate the actuator, as stated by Ahlborn, Page 3, Para. 2 from end, “This device consists of the three chambers 10 , 20 and 30 , the chamber 10 accommodating the baking trolley and the chamber 20 the fermenting trolley with the tipping trays. The transfer station 30 , that is to say the chamber between the two chambers 10 and 20, is used for transferring the rolls from the Kipptrögel apparatuses to the corresponding baking trays located underneath.”.
Regarding claim 8, modified Droege teaches the apparatus according to claim 7, as set forth above.
Modified Droege does not disclose:
wherein the at least one second receiving device is arranged on at least one of the following: a loading trolley; a loading trolley of a cooling unit; and/or a loading trolley of a proofing unit.
However, Leppich discloses where the second receiving device or any receiving device is arranged on the loading trolley (Page 6, Para. 3, “Alternatively, the transport trolley 1 can have electrical contacts which, when the transport trolley 1 is moved into the first working position in front of the oven 6, make contact with an electrical contact arranged there and ensure the power supply of the loading drives from the oven 6.”, where being arranged on is construed to mean that the trolley and receiving device are connected). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the trolley and receiving device in modified Droege to be arranged on each other as taught by Leppich.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of allowing for electrical power to be supplied to the trolley to allow the actuators that remove product carriers to function, as stated by Leppich, Page 6, Para. 3, “Alternatively, the transport trolley 1 can have electrical contacts which, when the transport trolley 1 is moved into the first working position in front of the oven 6, make contact with an electrical contact arranged there and ensure the power supply of the loading drives from the oven 6.”.
Regarding claim 9, modified Droege teaches the apparatus according to claim 7, as set forth above, discloses wherein the at least one second receiving device is assigned a transfer position in which the at least one second receiving device can be positioned on the first or second side of the transfer trolley and in which the loading rack can be moved into the at least one second receiving device and removed therefrom (Teaching from Leppich, Page 6, Para. 5 from end, “A proofing cabinet 21 is also arranged in the working space, in front of which a further working position 22 is provided. Furthermore, an oven 6 is arranged next to the proofer 21, a working position 23 being provided in front of the front thereof”, where other receiving devices have a working area or transfer position where either side of the trolley engages with the receiving device, where loading and unloading occur).
Regarding claim 13, modified Droege teaches the apparatus according to claim 2, as set forth above, discloses wherein the transfer trolley includes a frame having a first side and a second side that are open and facing each other (Teaching from Leppich, Page 7, Para. 3, “FIG. 8 shows a reason why the transport carriage 1 is preferably not provided with wall plates in the present method, at least on the front and rear. In the case of an open transport carriage 1, the baked goods carriers 11 can be introduced from both sides. It is also possible to design the loading drive in such a way that the transport frame 9, 10 can be moved out of the transport carriage 1 in both directions.”, where the frame includes a front and rear that are open and facing each other).
Regarding claim 14, modified Droege teaches the apparatus according to claim 13, as set forth above, discloses wherein the actuator includes at least one drive (Droege, Page 4, Para. 4, “handling device comprises servomotor drives.”) and at least one driver (Droege, Page 4, Para. 4, “In this case can be dispensed with sensors for position detection for the driver, provided that the servo motor drives themselves allow a sufficiently precise positioning by their design.”, where the servomotors are drives that includes drivers that allow them to be self-driven according to inputs from the sensors).
Regarding claim 15, modified Droege teaches the apparatus according to claim 14, as set forth above, discloses wherein at least one sensor are assigned to the actuator (Droege, Page 4, Para. 2, “the handling device comprises at least one sensor for position detection for the driver.”).
Modified Droege does not disclose:
at least a control unit is assigned to the actuator.
However, Leppich discloses where the loading drive or actuator of the trolley can be controlled by a control unit (Page 6, Para. 4, “The drive unit 15 is equipped with a powerful processor for creating the maps of the space in front of the scanning lasers 18. It is therefore possible that the drive unit 15 also takes over the control of the loading drive of the transport carriage 1.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the actuator in modified Droege to include a control unit as taught by Leppich.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use the control unit to determine positioning from sensors, where this can allow for communication between the sensors and actuator to occur, as stated by Leppich, Page 6, Para. 4, “The drive unit 15 is equipped with a powerful processor for creating the maps of the space in front of the scanning lasers 18. It is therefore possible that the drive unit 15 also takes over the control of the loading drive of the transport carriage 1.”.
Regarding claim 19, modified Droege teaches the apparatus according to claim 8, as set forth above, discloses wherein the at least one second receiving device is assigned a transfer position in which the at least one second receiving device can be positioned on the first or second side of the transfer trolley and in which the loading rack can be moved into the at least one second receiving device and removed therefrom (Teaching from Leppich, Page 6, Para. 5 from end, “A proofing cabinet 21 is also arranged in the working space, in front of which a further working position 22 is provided. Furthermore, an oven 6 is arranged next to the proofer 21, a working position 23 being provided in front of the front thereof”, where other receiving devices have a working area or transfer position where either side of the trolley engages with the receiving device, where loading and unloading occur).
Claims 3 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Droege et al. (WO 2013124235 A2, hereinafter Droege) in view of Leppich-Rudloff et al. (WO 2020025396 A1, hereinafter Leppich) and Ahlborn (DE 19912303 C1) in further view of Braun et al. (DE 102019108000 A1, hereinafter Braun).
Regarding claim 3, modified Droege teaches the apparatus according to claim 2, as set forth above.
Modified Droege does not disclose:
wherein the guiding device includes at least one of: a rail; a conductor track; and/or a navigation system.
However, Braun discloses, in the similar field of transport devices for loading food (Abstract, “one loading carriage (24, 24 ', 24 "), the is designed to receive a plurality of product carriers and which can be positioned in an entry position in front of the heat treatment device”), where the guiding device on the trolley can include a rail and track (Page 4, Para. 3 from end, “The guide device 28 has a first, linear guideway 30th on, with two rails in which the loading trolleys 24 , 24 ' , 24 " with their roles 26th are led. Furthermore, the guide device 28 a second, transverse to the first guide way 30th running guideway 32 on, with a method of a loading carriage 24 across the first guide track in the direction of the treatment device 12 is made possible, so as to move a loading carriage into an entry position immediately in front of the heat treatment device 12 to allow.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the guide device in modified Droege to include the rails as taught by Braun.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to automatically direct a trolley to a specific location, where the rails constrain the direction of travel, as stated by Braun, Page 4, Para. 3 from end, “method of a loading carriage 24 across the first guide track in the direction of the treatment device 12 is made possible, so as to move a loading carriage into an entry position immediately in front of the heat treatment device 12 to allow. The relevant loading trolley is in the entry position 24 ' in a defined position in front of the heat treatment device 12 so that, starting from the entry position, the treatment room can be loaded and unloaded automatically 14th , 16 is made possible.”.
Regarding claim 16, modified Droege teaches the apparatus according to claim 3, as set forth above, discloses wherein the transfer trolley includes a frame having a first side and a second side that are open and facing each other (Teaching from Leppich, Page 7, Para. 3, “FIG. 8 shows a reason why the transport carriage 1 is preferably not provided with wall plates in the present method, at least on the front and rear. In the case of an open transport carriage 1, the baked goods carriers 11 can be introduced from both sides. It is also possible to design the loading drive in such a way that the transport frame 9, 10 can be moved out of the transport carriage 1 in both directions.”, where the frame includes a front and rear that are open and facing each other).
Regarding claim 17, modified Droege teaches the apparatus according to claim 16, as set forth above, discloses wherein the actuator includes at least one drive (Droege, Page 4, Para. 4, “handling device comprises servomotor drives.”) and at least one driver (Droege, Page 4, Para. 4, “In this case can be dispensed with sensors for position detection for the driver, provided that the servo motor drives themselves allow a sufficiently precise positioning by their design.”, where the servomotors are drives that includes drivers that allow them to be self-driven according to inputs from the sensors).
Regarding claim 18, modified Droege teaches the apparatus according to claim 17, as set forth above, discloses wherein at least one sensor are assigned to the actuator (Droege, Page 4, Para. 2, “the handling device comprises at least one sensor for position detection for the driver.”).
Modified Droege does not disclose:
at least a control unit is assigned to the actuator.
However, Leppich discloses where the loading drive or actuator of the trolley can be controlled by a control unit (Page 6, Para. 4, “The drive unit 15 is equipped with a powerful processor for creating the maps of the space in front of the scanning lasers 18. It is therefore possible that the drive unit 15 also takes over the control of the loading drive of the transport carriage 1.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the actuator in modified Droege to include a control unit as taught by Leppich.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use the control unit to determine positioning from sensors, where this can allow for communication between the sensors and actuator to occur, as stated by Leppich, Page 6, Para. 4, “The drive unit 15 is equipped with a powerful processor for creating the maps of the space in front of the scanning lasers 18. It is therefore possible that the drive unit 15 also takes over the control of the loading drive of the transport carriage 1.”.
Claims 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Droege et al. (WO 2013124235 A2, hereinafter Droege) in view of Leppich-Rudloff et al. (WO 2020025396 A1, hereinafter Leppich) and Ahlborn (DE 19912303 C1) in further view of Cai et al. (CN 211316741 U1, hereinafter Cai).
Regarding claim 10, modified Droege teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, as set forth above.
Modified Droege does not disclose:
wherein the at least one second receiving device is displaceable and lockable in a transfer position.
However, Cai discloses, in the similar field of product receiving devices (Abstract, “an industrial high vacuum oven with external air cooling cooling removing moisture”), where the receiving device is displaceable and lockable (Page 2, Para. 2 from end, “2, the utility model is provided with walking wheel at the bottom of the box body, using the walking wheel to make the device has the function of moving, convenient for the worker to adjust the position of the device, then pressing the walking wheel one side of the brake sheet to limit the device, preventing the device from moving.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the second receiving device in modified Droege to include the displaceable and lockable wheels as taught by Cai.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to adjust the position of the second receiving device, as stated by Cai, Page 2, Para. 2 from end, “2, the utility model is provided with walking wheel at the bottom of the box body, using the walking wheel to make the device has the function of moving, convenient for the worker to adjust the position of the device, then pressing the walking wheel one side of the brake sheet to limit the device, preventing the device from moving.”.
Regarding claim 20, modified Droege teaches the apparatus according to claim 19, as set forth above.
Modified Droege does not disclose:
wherein the at least one second receiving device is displaceable and lockable in a transfer position.
However, Cai discloses, in the similar field of product receiving devices (Abstract, “an industrial high vacuum oven with external air cooling cooling removing moisture”), where the receiving device is displaceable and lockable (Page 2, Para. 2 from end, “2, the utility model is provided with walking wheel at the bottom of the box body, using the walking wheel to make the device has the function of moving, convenient for the worker to adjust the position of the device, then pressing the walking wheel one side of the brake sheet to limit the device, preventing the device from moving.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the second receiving device in modified Droege to include the displaceable and lockable wheels as taught by Cai.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to adjust the position of the second receiving device, as stated by Cai, Page 2, Para. 2 from end, “2, the utility model is provided with walking wheel at the bottom of the box body, using the walking wheel to make the device has the function of moving, convenient for the worker to adjust the position of the device, then pressing the walking wheel one side of the brake sheet to limit the device, preventing the device from moving.”.
Claims 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Droege et al. (WO 2013124235 A2, hereinafter Droege) in view of Cai et al. (CN 211316741 U1, hereinafter Cai).
Regarding claim 11, Droege discloses a method for automatic loading and unloading of a food treatment unit with a first receiving device (Claim 16, “automatically controlling an opening and closing a door (22, 23) of the oven (1 1, 12), for loading or unloading the oven (1 1, 12) by movement of the feed rack (14) between the oven (1 1, 12) and loading trolley (13) and for automatically controlling a cooking process after loading the oven (1 1, 12) is formed.”), comprising:
automatically moving a transfer trolley to the transfer position (Page 4, Para. 5, “a positioning device for the correct positioning of a loading trolley is provided on the oven in a working position, which allows a transfer of a feed rack between the oven and loading trolley.”);
transferring a loading rack between the transfer trolley and the second receiving device in a transfer position with an actuator arranged on the transfer trolley (Page 4, Para. 7 from end, “Furthermore, after correct positioning of a loading trolley in the working position, the central control can be designed to automatically control the opening and closing of a door of the oven, to load or unload the oven by moving the loading rack between the oven and the machine. trolley and an automatic control of a cooking process after loading the oven to effect.”, and Page 2, last Para., “By namely an integrated handling device is provided directly on the oven or on the loading cart, a loading frame with a A plurality of product carriers in a simple manner between a coupled to the oven loading trolley and the oven back and forth, as far as desired, in a fully automatic manner.”);
automatically opening or closing a door of the treatment chamber provided on the treatment unit (Page 7, Para. 2, “Depending on the design of the central controller 21, a charging or discharging process by movement of the loading frame 14 between the loading carriage 13 and the oven 1 1 and an associated opening or closing of the door 22 can be controlled automatically.”);
automatically moving the transfer trolley into a loading position (Page 7, Para. 3, “the central controller 21 can thus be designed so that, after moving a loading trolley 13 into a working position in which a locking has taken place, a loading or unloading operation is automatically carried out by displacement of the loading frame by the handling device 24 and the associated one Opening or closing the door is also automatically done and after loading with a filled loading rack 14 and closing the door 22 and an automatic program start for a suitable baking program is initiated.”); and
transferring the loading rack between the treatment unit and the transfer trolley in the loading position by the actuator arranged on the transfer trolley (Page 7, Para. 3, “the central controller 21 can thus be designed so that, after moving a loading trolley 13 into a working position in which a locking has taken place, a loading or unloading operation is automatically carried out by displacement of the loading frame by the handling device 24 and the associated one Opening or closing the door is also automatically done and after loading with a filled loading rack 14 and closing the door 22 and an automatic program start for a suitable baking program is initiated.”, where the door opening and closing occur automatically when the trolley is in both the loading and unloading positions, where the door would be open during product carrier transfers and then the door would be closed).
Droege does not disclose:
positioning a second receiving device in a transfer position.
However, Cai discloses, in the similar field of product receiving devices (Abstract, “an industrial high vacuum oven with external air cooling cooling removing moisture”), where the receiving device is displacement and lockable and can be moved around (Page 2, Para. 2 from end, “2, the utility model is provided with walking wheel at the bottom of the box body, using the walking wheel to make the device has the function of moving, convenient for the worker to adjust the position of the device, then pressing the walking wheel one side of the brake sheet to limit the device, preventing the device from moving.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the second receiving device in Droege to include the displaceable and lockable wheels as taught by Cai, where the oven would need to be locked in place first in order for a transfer position to be established for the trolley from Droege.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to adjust the position of the second receiving device, as stated by Cai, Page 2, Para. 2 from end, “2, the utility model is provided with walking wheel at the bottom of the box body, using the walking wheel to make the device has the function of moving, convenient for the worker to adjust the position of the device, then pressing the walking wheel one side of the brake sheet to limit the device, preventing the device from moving.”.
Claims 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Droege et al. (WO 2013124235 A2, hereinafter Droege) in view of Cai et al. (CN 211316741 U1, hereinafter Cai) in further view of Leppich-Rudloff et al. (WO 2020025396 A1, hereinafter Leppich).
Regarding claim 12, modified Droege teaches the method according to claim 11, as set forth above, wherein the transfer of the loading rack or product carrier by the actuator takes place via one side of the transfer trolley (Droege, Page 2, last Para., “By namely an integrated handling device is provided directly on the oven or on the loading cart, a loading frame with a A plurality of product carriers in a simple manner between a coupled to the oven loading trolley and the oven back and forth, as far as desired, in a fully automatic manner.”, where Fig. 2 shows that the handling device 24 is located one a first side of the transfer trolley).
Modified Droege does not disclose:
wherein the transfer of the loading rack by the actuator takes place via at least two different sides of the transfer trolley.
However, Leppich discloses, in the similar field of transfer devices for heat treatment of food (Abstract, “an apparatus for treating foods, comprising at least one treatment unit (6, 21)
which has at least one treatment chamber which is configured to receive product carriers with foods”), where the transfer trolley includes a drive (Abstract, “In order to further relieve the load on the personnel, the apparatus has at least one mobile drive unit, which is or can be coupled to the transport cart (1), and the drive unit has a navigation system and is configured to move the transport cart (1) automatically at least into the first working position (20-24).”), where there is a second receiving device associated with the food treatment unit that receives the loading rack or product carrier (Page 6, Para. 5 from end, “A proofing cabinet 21 is also arranged in the working space, in front of which a further working position 22 is provided. Furthermore, an oven 6 is arranged next to the proofer 21, a working position 23 being provided in front of the front thereof”, where there are multiple product receiving devices), and where the transfer trolley has an actuator that moves and removes the product carrier into another receiving device located on the second side of the transfer trolley (Page 7, Para. 3, “FIG. 8 shows a reason why the transport carriage 1 is preferably not provided with wall plates in the present method, at least on the front and rear. In the case of an open transport carriage 1, the baked goods carriers 11 can be introduced from both sides. It is also possible to design the loading drive in such a way that the transport frame 9, 10 can be moved out of the transport carriage 1 in both directions.”, where Droege discloses a loading drive on one side of the trolley that allows for product carriers to exit from one side, where Leppich teaches that both sides can be exits for product carriers and a duplication of the loading drive on the other side of the trolley would achieve this outcome). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the transfer trolley in modified Droege to include the drive and actuator on the second side for moving and removing product carriers into multiple product receiving areas as taught by Leppich.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to automate the trolley system to reduce the need for human intervention, as stated by Leppich, Abstract, “In order to further relieve the load on the personnel, the apparatus has at least one mobile drive unit, which is or can be coupled to the transport cart (1)”, and where having actuators on both sides of the trolley allows for more efficient loading and unloading without need for turning, Page 7, Para. 3, “Given such constructive requirements, it is possible to load the trolley 1 with baked goods carriers and baked goods from one side and to push the loaded transport frame 9, 10 out to the other side in order to feed it to the treatment unit. This reduces the need for turning operations, which are necessary in order to drive the transport carriage 1 to all working positions 20, 22, 23, 25 in a complex work space.”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN GUANHUA WEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
10/26/2026