DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/23/2023, was filed after the filing the instant application on 11/09/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano et al (US 10,587,326 B2), hereinafter, “Takano” in view of Hui et al (US 11,419,096 B2), hereinafter, “Hui”.
Regarding claim 1, Takano discloses: A base station (Takano: fig 5, base station 200, Section (112), col 9, lines 32-43), comprising: a transmission unit configured to transmit (Takano: fig 5 and 14, base station 200 and Wireless Communication Unit 220 (equivalent to “transmission unit”), Section (112), col 9, lines 32-43), setting information that gives an instruction (Takano: fig 5, base station 200, and UE 100A, Section (112), col 9, lines 32-43, where, in section (8)-(10), where, the base station 200 transmit control information for setting up the UE 100A), on measurement of received power of a first reference signal for interference measurement transmitted using each of a plurality of first resources (Takano: fig 5, base station 200, and UE 100A, Section (112), col 9, lines 32-43, and section (8)-(10), col 2, lines 1-32, where, the base station configures the UE and sends a reference signal for interference measurement); and
a reception unit configured to receive first report information that includes information specifying, among the plurality of first resources (Takano: fig 11-12, steps S301-S305, section (334)-(335), col 26, lines 63-67, where, “The information acquiring unit 143 acquires first received power information indicating received power of a reference signal for measurement transmitted by a target base station using a weight set for beamforming in the terminal device 100-1 (S301)”), a second resource (Takano: fig 11-12, steps S301-S305, section (334)-(337), col 26, lines 63-67 and col 27, lines 1-7, where, “received quality in the target base station is calculated based on received power (that is, received power indicated by first received power information) in the target base station and interference (that is, received power indicated by second received power information) in the environment in which beamforming is performed. Therefore, the received quality may be close to received quality when the terminal device 100-1 performs wireless communication in the environment in which beamforming is performed”), Takano does not explicitly teach: receive first report information for a second resource for which the received power is lower than or equal to a threshold value or is relatively low.
Hui teaches: receive first report information for a second resource for which the received power is lower than or equal to a threshold value or is relatively low (Hui: section (250), col 58-59, lines 65-67 and lines 1-2, where, “the wireless device may determine to retrieve the third resources from the second resources based on the receiving the one or more control information scheduling the third resources, if an RSRP of the third resources is lower than a RSRP threshold”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use “receive first report information for a second resource for which the received power is lower than or equal to a threshold value or is relatively low” as taught by Hui into Takano in order to facilitate detection of transmission errors (Hui: Section (143).
Regarding claims 2 and 4-5, Takano modified by Hui disclose: The base station according to claim 1, wherein the setting information includes the threshold value and includes information giving an instruction on use of the threshold value (Hui: section (250), col 58-59, lines 65-67 and lines 1-2, where, “the wireless device may determine to retrieve the third resources from the second resources based on the receiving the one or more control information scheduling the third resources, if an RSRP of the third resources is lower than a RSRP threshold”).
Regarding claims 3, 7 and 9, Takano modified by Hui disclose: The base station according to claim 1, wherein the transmission unit transmits a second reference signal for quality measurement using a third resource different from the plurality of first resources, and the threshold value is a value relatively defined with reference to a received power value of the second reference signal (Hui: fig 20, Section (184), col 44, lines 3-11, where, “The wireless device may transmit a second retransmission (2.sup.nd re-Tx in FIG. 20) of the first TB via a third resource of the three resources. A time duration between a starting time of the initial transmission of the first TB and the second retransmission of the first TB may be smaller than or equal to 32 sidelink slots (e.g., T≤32 slots in FIG. 20). A first SCI may associate with the initial transmission of the first TB”).
Regarding claim 6, Takano modified by Hui disclose: The base station according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of the first reference signals transmitted using the plurality of first resources is transmitted through a plurality of different first beams (Takano: fig 5, Section (112), where, “FIG. 5 is a secondary explanatory diagram for describing an example of large-scale MIMO beamforming. Referring to FIG. 5, the beams 21A and 21B described with reference to FIG. 4 are shown. For example, the beam 21A reaches an area 23A and the beam 21B reaches an area 23B. Therefore, a terminal device 100A positioned within the area 23A can receive a signal transmitted as the beam 21A. In addition, a terminal device 100B positioned within the area 23B can receive a signal transmitted as the beam 21B. The base station 200 transmits a signal addressed to the terminal device 100A as the beam 21A and transmits a signal addressed to the terminal device 100B as the beam 21B”).
Regarding claims 8 and 12, Takano modified by Hui disclose: wherein the transmission unit transmits second reference signals for quality measurement through a plurality of different second beams using a plurality of third resources (Hui: fig 20, Section (184), col 44, lines 3-11, where, “The wireless device may transmit a second retransmission (2.sup.nd re-Tx in FIG. 20) of the first TB via a third resource of the three resources. A time duration between a starting time of the initial transmission of the first TB and the second retransmission of the first TB may be smaller than or equal to 32 sidelink slots (e.g., T≤32 slots in FIG. 20). A first SCI may associate with the initial transmission of the first TB”), and the setting information includes information giving an instruction on reception of the first reference signal transmitted through each of the plurality of the first beams by using a beam with received power of corresponding one of the second reference signals maximum or larger than or equal to a predetermined value among a plurality of third beams used to receive the second reference signals transmitted through the plurality of second beams (Hui: fig 31, Section (247), col 58, lines 32-33, where, “the wireless device may not exclude the second resources in slot 2 from the candidate resource set based on a size of the second resources being larger than or equal to a size of a candidate resource in the candidate resource set. In an example, the wireless device may not exclude the second resources in slot 2 from the candidate resource set based on an RSRP of the second resources being less than a RSRP threshold”).
Regarding claims 10-11 and, 13-15, Takano modified by Hui disclose: wherein the first report information includes an identification (ID) of the second resource as information specifying the second resource (Hui: Section (153), col 36, lines 29-57, where, the first and second resources are identified by identifier).
Regarding claim 12, Takano modified by Hui disclose: Claim 12] The base station according to claim 6, wherein the transmission unit transmits second reference signals for quality measurement through a plurality of second beams using a plurality of third resources, the reception unit receives, for each of the second beams, second report information including information specifying a third beam used to receive corresponding one of the second reference signals, the setting information gives an instruction on use of the third beam to receive the first reference signal that is transmitted through the first beam, and the first report information includes information specifying the second resource for each of the third beams.
Regarding claims 16-17, Takano modified by Hui disclose: The base station according to claim 1, wherein the transmission unit transmits the setting information to a communication device, and the reception unit receives the first report information from the communication device (Takano: fig 5, base station 200, and UE 100A, Section (112), col 9, lines 32-43, and section (8)-(10), col 2, lines 1-32, where, the base station configures the UE and sends a reference signal for interference measurement).
Regarding claim 18, the claim of a first base station includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1 above. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the transmission and receiving signals for the base station, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, the claim related to a method and a second base station includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1 above. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the transmission and receiving signals for the base station using first and second reference signal, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Conclusion
/NIZAM U AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461