DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steigerwald et al. US 20120112702 (hereinafter Steig) in view of Smolenaers US 20200298722 (hereinafter Smol).
With regards to claims 1, 11, and 14 Steig discloses, a charging circuit [fig 5 traction system 174] for an energy storage device [energy storage device 12 and 90], comprising:
an input port [conductor 96 and 98], designed to receive a DC input voltage from an external charging device [charging system 92];
an output port [dc bus 176], electrically connectable to an energy storage device;
an AC/DC-inverter [inverters 54 and 144], electrically connected to the output port;
an AC electrical machine system [electromechanical device 74 and alternator 146], comprising a neutral side being electrically connected to the input port via a switching element [switches 22 and 24], so that the DC input voltage can be selectively supplied to the neutral side, further comprising a phase side being electrically connected to the AC/DC-inverter [fig 5 inverter 54/144 connections];
a controller [controller 34], at least configured to selectively operate the AC/DC-inverter and the AC electrical machine system as a voltage boost converter to increase the DC input voltage and supply it to the output port, or as an electric drive system to convert and supply a drive voltage of the energy storage device from the output port to the AC electrical machine system, or to interrupt the electrical connection between the input port and output port via the AC electrical machine system and AC/DC-inverter [Fig 5 and ¶50 “a charging voltage from external power source 132 is boosted through bi-directional dc-to-ac voltage inverter 144 via appropriate control via controller 34. The boosted charging voltage directly recharges first energy storage device 12 and recharges second energy storage device 90, if present, via boosting control of bi-directional dc-to-dc voltage converter 14. Controller 34 may also be configured to additionally control half phase modules 158, 160 of phase 168 and/or half phase modules 162, 164 of phase 170 to operate cranking inverter 144 as a two- or three-phase boost circuit in an interleaving mode during charging to reduce ripple. Further, the one-, two-, or three-phase operation during charging may maximize part-load charging efficiency. Controller 34 may also be configured to additionally control half phase modules 154, 156 of phase 166, half phase modules 158, 160 of phase 168, and half phase modules 162, 164 of phase 170 to operate cranking inverter 144 as a ac-dc converter to provide a controlled charge voltage to energy storage device 12 and power to operate traction drive system comprised of dc to ac inverter 54 and electrical machine 74 using power form internal combustion engine 172 driving alternator 146”].
Steig fails to disclose, characterized in that a DC input voltage bypass is provided, running from between the neutral side and the switching element via a selective electronic gate to the output port, said gate having a least one operational state with a conducting direction towards the output port and a reverse direction towards the input port.
However Smol discloses, characterized in that a DC input voltage bypass is provided, running from between the neutral side and the switching element via a selective electronic gate [fig 2a bypass switch 64] to the output port, said gate having a least one operational state with a conducting direction towards the output port and a reverse direction towards the input port.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the charging systems of Steig with Smol to bypass the inverter in order to protect the electrical components and in order to ensure compatibility with a broader range of external charging station hardware.
Claims 11 and 14 are rejected for similar reasons as claim 1 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
With regards to claim 2 the combination discloses, the charging circuit according to claim 1, wherein the DC input voltage bypass is bypassing the AC/DC-inverter [Smol fig 2a bypass route 60].
With regards to claim 4 the combination discloses, the charging circuit according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to measure the DC input voltage or to receive a signal from the external charging device corresponding to the DC input voltage [Smol ¶31 “the present disclosure is able to accommodate changes in the relative voltage levels in real time through implementing boost, buck, or buck-boost functions with one or multiple integrated charge controllers, whilst controlling any part of the charging current delivered from the voltage source to the voltage load. The charging current can be controlled to regulate the output current, regulate the input current, or the phase current, whilst protecting the maximum voltage and current thresholds of the components”] and, if the DC input voltage is at a pre-defined low level operate the voltage boost converter [¶30 “to boost a sub-500 Volt supply from the charging station to the greater than 500 Volt supply (e.g., 800 V)”] and if the DC input voltage is at a pre-defined high level interrupt the electrical connection between the input port and output port via the AC electrical machine system and AC/DC-inverter [¶171 “Reconfiguring the switching mechanism for external conversion may include bypassing one or more boost/buck conversion circuits to allow a direct connection between the external energy source and the electric vehicle. For example, in the embodiments illustrated in FIGS. 2A and 3A, the bypass switch 64 may be closed to allow an external source to connect directly with the battery pack 3 via bypass circuit 60” which reasonably reads that if the voltage is already high (800V) the bypass is utilized].
With regards to claim 5 the combination discloses, the charging circuit according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured, when operating the voltage boost converter, to increase a DC input voltage of 400 V to 800 V and supply it to the output port [Smol ¶53 “an onboard charger configured to support boost conversion may allow Gen3 electric car designed for a 800V power supply to be charged by plugging it into a 400V outlet, by increasing (e.g., boosting) the voltage from 400V to 800V on board the vehicle”].
With regards to claim 6 the combination discloses, the charging circuit according to claim 1, wherein the neutral side of the AC electrical machine system comprises a plurality of neutral points, each arranged in a separate parallel electrical path and with an additional selective electronic gate arranged in each path, said additional gate having at least one operational state with a conducting direction towards the neutral point and a reverse direction towards a common joint of said paths being electrically connected to the switching element and the DC input voltage bypass [Smol fig 2a each of the AC machines/motors 7 points/windings is connected to a gate/mosfet 133/134/139/140/145/146 in order to prevent reverse power flow].
With regards to claim 7 the combination discloses, the charging circuit according to claim 6, wherein the AC electrical machine system comprises a plurality of AC electrical machines, each of them providing one of said neutral points [Smol fig 1 three phase induction machines 7 and 8].
With regards to claim 9 the combination discloses, the charging circuit according to claim 1, wherein a capacitor is applied between a positive side and a negative side of the charging circuit, a second switching element is provided in series with the capacitor [Smol fig 2a switch 48 in series with capacitors 65 and 66] and these components are arranged in a way that at least one of the following configurations are achievable:
a pre-charging configuration, wherein the electrical connection between the input port and the output port via the AC electrical machine system and the AC/DC-inverter is interrupted and wherein the capacitor is chargeable by the DC input voltage supplied to the input port; an alternative pre-charging configuration, wherein the electrical connection between the input port and the output port via the AC electrical machine system and the AC/DC-inverter is enabled and wherein the capacitor is chargeable by the drive voltage supplied to the output port; a discharging configuration, wherein the electrical connection between the input port and the output port via the AC electrical machine system and the AC/DC-inverter is interrupted, the positive side and negative side of the charging circuit are electrically connected via the AC/DC-inverter and wherein energy stored in the capacitor dissipates while circulating in an electric loop formed by the capacitor, the switching element, the AC electrical machine system, the AC/DC-inverter and the negative side of the charging circuit [¶90 “A further advantage of the architecture of the embodiments of the invention, when used in electric vehicles and other applications having such capacitances, is that the buck-boost functionality provided is available to pre-charge (or discharge) capacitor 66 from the battery pack 3 and/or pre-charge (or discharge) capacitor 65 from an external source (e.g., grid 77)” which reasonably reads on both the pre-charge and discharge limitations].
With regards to claim 10 the combination discloses, the charging circuit according to claim 9, wherein the controller is configured to run at least one of the following modes:
a pre-charging mode, wherein the pre-charging configuration is created by interrupting the electrical connection between the input port and the output port via the AC electrical machine system and the AC/DC-inverter, opening the switching element and closing the second switching element; an alternative pre-charging mode, wherein the alternative pre-charging configuration is created by opening the second switching element, closing the switching element and enabling the electrical connection between the input port and the output port via the AC electrical machine system and the AC/DC-inverter; a discharging mode, wherein the discharging configuration is created by opening the second switching element, closing the switching element and interrupting the electrical connection between the input port and the output port via the AC electrical machine system and the AC/DC-inverter, while connecting the positive side and the negative side of the charging circuit via the AC/DC-inverter [¶90 above and ¶90 “the controller 17 may be able to operate in the second state (e.g., charging mode), using the usual buck-boost operation, to charge the capacitor 66 before closing the power rail interruption switch 48 and entering the first state. Similarly, controller 17 may be able to pre-charge capacitor 66 before allowing a current to be drawn from the charging station 25”].
With regards to claim 12 the combination discloses, the charging system according to claim 11, wherein a controller is configured to operate the voltage boost converter to increase the DC input voltage to a level required to charge the energy storage device, if the DC input voltage is lower, and to interrupt the electrical connection between the input port and output port via the AC electrical machine system and AC/DC-inverter, if the DC input voltage is at least at the level required to charge the energy storage device [Smol ¶31 “the present disclosure is able to accommodate changes in the relative voltage levels in real time through implementing boost, buck, or buck-boost functions with one or multiple integrated charge controllers, whilst controlling any part of the charging current delivered from the voltage source to the voltage load. The charging current can be controlled to regulate the output current, regulate the input current, or the phase current, whilst protecting the maximum voltage and current thresholds of the components. In this way, the controller (or controllers) is able to regulate the charging current from a regulated or unregulated DC source” which reasonably reads that the voltage levels are changed based on the incoming voltage and the needs of the system].
With regards to claim 13 the combination discloses, the charging system according to claim 11, further comprising an external charging device compatible with an input port of the charging circuit and configured of delivering at least one DC input voltage [Smol fig 2a charging station 25 and fig 1 port 4 and ¶73 “Current being supplied to motor 7 by a DC source connected to port 4”].
With regards to claim 15 the combination discloses, a method of operating a charging system according to claim 13, comprising the following steps:
I) Connection of an external charging device to an input port [Smol fig 2a shows connection of external charging device 25 to input port 13/14];
II) Delivery of a DC input voltage to the input port [fig 2a DC voltage is supplied to the system];
III) Detection of a voltage level of the DC input voltage by a controller [¶52 “The controller 15 is able to control onboard regulation/charging from an external unregulated DC source, onboard voltage conversion from a regulated DC source, or no regulation/conversion, via a bypass” which reasonably reads that the system regulates the voltage and would thus detect the voltage in order to regulate the voltage]; and
A) Performing the following actions, if the DC input voltage is at a pre-defined high level:
IV-A) Interruption of an electrical connection between the input port and an output port via an AC electrical machine system and a AC/DC-inverter by the controller [¶43 “The switching mechanism 16 may selectively connect the charging station 25 to controller 15 for onboard charging regulation, or connect the charging station 25 directly to the battery pack 3 via a bypass to charge the battery pack 3” which reasonably reads that the AC machine and inverter are bypassed when the voltage level is high];
V-A) Delivery of the DC input voltage to the output port via a DC input voltage bypass in a conducting direction of a selective electronic gate [fig 2a discloses that switch 64 controls the bypass];
VI-A) Charging an energy storage device electrically connected to an output port [fig 2a and ¶52 “The controller 15 is able to control onboard regulation/charging from an external unregulated DC source, onboard voltage conversion from a regulated DC source, or no regulation/conversion, via a bypass”]; or
B) Performing the following actions, if the DC input voltage is at a pre-defined low level:
IV-B) Operation of the AC/DC-inverter and the AC electrical machine system as a voltage boost converter by the controller to increase the DC input voltage [fig 2e discloses the boost mode operation];
V-B) Delivery of the increased DC input voltage to the output port via the AC/DC-inverter [fig 2e shows the increased voltage routed to the output port];
VI-B) Charging the energy storage device electrically connected to the output port [fig 2e shows the increased voltage being supplied to the battery 3].
With regards to claim 16 the combination discloses, the method according to claim 15, wherein at least one of the following steps is performed:
I-a) implemented in step I, wherein the controller is running a pre-charging mode by interrupting the electrical connection between the input port and the output port via the AC electrical machine system and the AC/DC-inverter, opening a switching element and closing a second switching element and then the DC input voltage is delivered from the plugged-in external charging device to a capacitor;
I-b) implemented in step I or performed prior to step I, wherein the controller is running an alternative pre-charging mode by opening the second switching element, closing the switching element and enabling the electrical connection between the input port and the output port via the AC electrical machine system and the AC/DC-inverter and then a drive voltage is delivered from the energy storage device to the capacitor [Smol ¶80 “the controller 17 (and/or/in conjunction with controller 15) of car 1 may use data received from the charging station 25 to determine the relevant mode of operation, including pre-charge voltage, and when to allow connection to the second input via switches 90 and 92 of input circuit 75” and ¶90 “the buck-boost functionality provided is available to pre-charge (or discharge) capacitor 66 from the battery pack 3 and/or pre-charge (or discharge) capacitor 65 from an external source (e.g., grid 77). For example, the controller 17 may be able to operate in the second state (e.g., charging mode), using the usual buck-boost operation, to charge the capacitor 66 before closing the power rail interruption switch 48 and entering the first state. Similarly, controller 17 may be able to pre-charge capacitor 66 before allowing a current to be drawn from the charging station 25”];
VII) performed after step VI-A or VI-B, wherein the controller is running a discharging mode, by opening the second switching element, closing the switching element and interrupting the electrical connection between the input port and the output port via the AC electrical machine system and the AC/DC-inverter, while connecting a positive side and a negative side of the charging circuit via the AC/DC-inverter and then energy stored in the capacitor dissipates while circulating in an electric loop formed by the capacitor, the switching element, the AC electrical machine system, the AC/DC-inverter and the negative side of the charging circuit [¶91 “controller 17 is employed to discharge the capacitor 66 by entering the second state of operation (e.g., charging mode) and utilizing buck-boost operation. The energy in the bulk capacitors is able to be either buck-boosted into battery pack 3, or discharged to a pulsed short circuit. This is achieved by making use of the motor inductance as a means of reducing current transients and protecting the drive circuits”].
With regards to claim 18 the combination discloses, the method according to claim 15, wherein the charging system forms part of a vehicle and the energy storage device of the vehicle is charged [Smol fig 2a is a vehicle charging system where the energy storage device of the vehicle is charged].
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steigerwald et al. US 20120112702 (hereinafter Steig) in view of Smolenaers US 20200298722 (hereinafter Smol) further in view of Zhu et al. US 20210155103.
With regards to claim 3 the combination discloses, the charging circuit according to claim 1, wherein the DC input voltage bypass is located electrically downstream the selective electronic gate in the conducting direction [Smol fig 2a voltage bypass 60].
The combination fails to disclose, the DC input voltage bypass is running to the output port via the AC/DC-inverter.
However, Zhu discloses, wherein the DC input voltage bypass is running to the output port via the AC/DC-inverter [fig 3b motor bypass goes to the MCU which includes an inverter].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the systems of Steig and Smol with Zhu to route the bypass through the inverter in order to improve efficiency and protect the motor.
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steigerwald et al. US 20120112702 (hereinafter Steig) in view of Smolenaers US 20200298722 (hereinafter Smol) further in view of Alam et al. US 20180215269
With regards to claim 8 the combination fails to disclose, the charging circuit according to claim 1, wherein the selective electronic gate comprises a diode.
However, Alam discloses, the charging circuit according to claim 1, wherein the selective electronic gate comprises a diode [fig 2 bypass diode 218].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the charging systems Steig and Smol with Alam to utilize a diode as the component for the electrical bypass in order to prevent current from flowing in the wrong direction to prevent damage to the system.
With regards to claim 17 the combination discloses, the method according to claim 15, wherein a diode [Alam fig 2 bypass diode 218] is used in step V-A) to deliver the DC input voltage in the conducting direction to the output port [Steig fig 5 and Smol fig 2a disclose the DC input voltage being delivered to the output port] and to prevent backflow of current in the reverse direction to the input port [Alam bypass diode 218 prevents backflow of current].
Conclusion
/NATHAN J INSTONE/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859