DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 10/23/23, have all been considered and made of record (note the attached copy of form PTO/SB/08a).
Specification
3. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-2 and 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pimentel et al. (US 2013/0243386 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Pimentel et al. (figures 1A-8A) disclose a fiber routing structure for routing and terminating optical fibres within an enclosure, the structure comprising a plurality of fibre routing trays (175a-175e) each provided with one or more fibre routing guides (153, [0067]) which receive and guide a fibre across a surface of the tray from an entry point to an exit point, at least one of the fibre routing trays (175a-175e) being provided with a mounting point for a fibre termination component ([0070-0071]); a tray support member (150) on which each of the fibre routing trays (175a-175e) is mounted, the tray support member (150) comprising a plurality of fibre conduits (153) providing routing paths between the fibre routing trays ([0067]); a base plate (105) which is adapted to receive an optical fibre from an entry point and which is provided with a first conduit (153) to route the optical fibre to a fibre conduit (153) of the tray support member ([0057-0058] and figure 1A); wherein the fibre routing trays (175a-175e) are mounted on the tray support member (150) in a stacked configuration one above the other (figure 2B), extending therefrom in cantilevered fashion (figure 2B and [0067]); wherein at least one of the fibre routing trays (175a-175e) is hingedly mounted to the tray support member (150, 164) permitting it to be pivoted away from an adjacent underlying tray to reveal and provide access to the adjacent underlying tray (figure 8A) and permitting it to be pivoted back to lie parallel to the adjacent underlying tray (figure 2A); wherein the base plate (105) further comprises a coiled fibre storage area (130) which is at least partly defined by the first conduit ([0062]); and wherein the tray support member (150) is mounted above the base plate (105), with the coiled fibre storage area (130) being situated at least partly below the tray support member (figures 1B, 2B).
With respect to claim 2, Pimentel et al. (figures 1A-8A) disclose the fiber routing structure, wherein when in a working configuration all of the trays (175a-175e) are disposed parallel to one another and each tray (175a) is successively displaced laterally relative to the next adjacent tray (175b), such that the trays are provided in a stepped configuration (figure 2B).
With respect to claim 9, Pimentel et al. (figures 1A-8A) disclose the fiber routing structure, wherein the lowermost fiber routing tray (175e) closest to the base plate (105) is supported to be spaced apart from the base plate (105), and wherein the coiled fibre storage area (130) is a continuous area located partly below the tray support member (175) and partly below the lowermost fiber routing tray (figures 1A, 2A, 2B).
With respect to claim 10, Pimentel et al. (figures 1A-8A) disclose the fiber routing structure, wherein the coiled fiber storage area (130) is located above the base plate (105).
With respect to claim 11, Pimentel et al. (figures 1A-8A) disclose the fiber routing structure, wherein each tray above the lowermost tray (175e) is hingedly mounted to the tray support member (150), permitting it to be pivoted away from the working configuration to a routing configuration in which a user may access a lower tray to route a fibre thereon (figure 2B).
With respect to claim 12, Pimentel et al. (figures 1A-8A) disclose the fiber routing structure, wherein the lowermost tray (175e) is hingedly mounted to the tray support member (150), permitting it to be pivoted away from the working configuration to a routing configuration in which a user may access a region beneath the lowermost tray (figures 1A, 2A, 2B).
With respect to claim 13, Pimentel et al. (figures 1A-8A) disclose the fiber routing structure, wherein the uppermost tray (175a) is provided with a cover ([0083]) to secure and protect a fibre and any termination components carried on the uppermost tray (figure 2B).
With respect to claim 14, Pimentel et al. (figures 1A-8A) disclose the fiber routing structure, wherein the base plate (105) further comprises a second conduit (153) to receive an optical fibre from a fibre conduit of the tray support member (150) and to route the received optical fibre to an exit point (figures 1A, 2A, 2B).
With respect to claim 15, Pimentel et al. (figures 1A-8A) disclose the fiber routing structure, wherein the coiled fibre storage area (130) is at least partly defined by the second conduit (153).
With respect to claim 16, Pimentel et al. (figures 1A-8A) disclose the fiber routing structure, wherein at least one of the fibre splice trays (175a-175e) is provided with means for receiving a communication device.
With respect to claim 17, Pimentel et al. (figures 1A-8A) disclose the fiber routing structure, wherein the communication device is received on the underside of the fibre splice tray (175a-175e).
With respect to claim 18, Pimentel et al. (figures 1A-8A) disclose the fiber routing structure, wherein the enclosure (200) comprises a removable cover ([0083]), having an internal profile that holds the fibre splice trays (175a-175e) in position when the removable cover is fitted ([0083]).
With respect to claim 19, Pimentel et al. (figures 1A-8A) disclose the fiber routing structure, wherein the internal profile comprises a stepped surface (figure 2B) defining a space for receiving one or more communication components (281).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
10. Claims 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Pimentel et al. (as cited above).
With respect to claim 3, Pimentel et al. (figure 1A) disclose the tray support member (150) comprises a body (figure 1A) on which the mounting attachments of the trays (175a-175e) are disposed.
Pimentel et al. do not explicitly disclose the mounting attachments are aligned along a plane that lies at an angle of between 20 and 70 degrees relative to the planes of the trays in the working configuration.
However, the mounting attachments being aligned along a plane that lies at an angle of between 20 and 70 degrees relative to the planes of the trays in the working configuration is considered to be obvious to obtaining higher efficiency of optical signal transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Pimentel et al. to include the above feature for the purpose of obtaining higher efficiency of optical signal transmission, and it also has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art and it is noted that the applicant does not disclose criticality in the ranges claimed. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (see MPEP § 2144.05).
With respect to claim 4, Pimentel et al. (figures 1A, 2A and 2B) disclose the fibre routing structure, wherein the tray support member (150) comprises a base (105) that is parallel to the plane of the trays (175a-175e) in the working configuration and/or a rear support that is perpendicular to the plane of the trays in a working configuration (figures 2A and 2B).
With respect to claim 5, Pimentel et al. (figures 1A, 2A and 2B) disclose the fibre routing structure, wherein the body of the tray support member (150) has a front side and a rear side, wherein the fibre routing trays (175a-175e) are mounted on the front side of the body, and wherein the coiled fibre storage area (130) is situated at least partly below the rear side of the body (figures 1A and 2B).
With respect to claim 6, Pimentel et al. (figures 1A, 2A and 2B) disclose the fibre routing structure, further comprising a support structure (200) connected to or integral with the tray support member (150), the support structure (200) having a support structure base (201) that extends behind the rear side of the body and which defines an upper boundary of the coiled fiber storage area (130), with the coiled fibre storage area being situated at least partly below the support structure base (figures 3A, 3B).
With respect to claim 7, Pimentel et al. (figures 1A, 2A and 2B) substantially discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention except for the support structure is of generally triangular configuration with the support structure base forming a first side of the triangular configuration, the support structure further comprising a rear support that mounts the support structure in fixed relationship to the base plate and forms a second side of the triangular configuration, and a body support that is integral with or mounted to the rear side of the body of the tray support member and forms a third side of the triangular configuration.
However, the support structure being of generally triangular configuration with the support structure base forming a first side of the triangular configuration, the support structure further comprising a rear support that mounts the support structure in fixed relationship to the base plate and forms a second side of the triangular configuration, and a body support that being integral with or mounted to the rear side of the body of the tray support member and forms a third side of the triangular configuration are considered to be obvious to provide higher efficiency of optical signal transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Pimentel et al. with the above features for the purpose of obtaining higher efficiency of optical signal transmission. It is noted that such a modification would have involved a mere change in the figure of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
With respect to claim 8, Pimentel et al. (figures 1A, 2A and 2B) disclose the fibre routing structure, wherein in use the support structure base (201) maintains compression on a coil of fiber stored in the coiled fiber storage area (130) to counteract the natural spring tendency of the coil to expand or uncoil (figure 1A).
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hough et al. (US 6418264 B1) disclose optical fiber connections. James et al. (US 9104007 B2) disclose a cable management.
/JENNIFER DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874