DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The status of the claims as of the response filed 5/4/2026 is as follows: Claims 1-7 are currently amended and have been considered below.
Response to Amendment
Rejection Under 35 USC 101
The claims have been amended but the 35 USC 101 rejections for claims 1-7 are upheld.
Rejection Under 35 USC 103
The amendments made to the claims introduce limitations that are not fully addressed in the previous Office action, and thus the corresponding 35 USC 103 rejections are withdrawn. However, Examiner will consider the amended claims in light of an updated prior art search and address their patentability with respect to prior art below.
Response to Arguments
Rejection Under 35 USC 101
On page 10 of the response filed 5/4/2026 Applicant argues that the amended claims do not fall into the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping of abstract idea, at least because they do not “recite any of the types of activities recognized in the MPEP as managing personal behavior, relationships, or interactions between people,” such as “storing pre-set limits on spending, filtering content, considering historical usage information while inputting data, testing a patient for nervous system malfunctions, voting, providing information to a person while avoiding interruption of their current activity, playing a dice game, assigning hair designs to balance head shape, or hedging risk.” Applicant’s arguments are fully considered, but are not persuasive. Examiner notes that the examples in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(C) are not exhaustive, and are provided to give guidance about the types of human activities that are considered abstract. Though the instant claims do not match the exact fact patterns of any of the listed examples, Examiner maintains that the recited steps of inputting various parameters to a model that has been learned via labeled teacher and test data sets with evaluation of performance metrics including a receiver operating characteristic curve and an area under the curve, and outputting from the model a determination of a probability of a given outcome, can be achieved by a human actor managing their personal behavior to fit a predictive model to a labeled teacher set of data, test/validate the model on a labeled test data set by calculating mathematical performance metrics of the model, and input new data to the model to obtain target outputs. Examiner notes that such steps can also be considered to fit into the “mathematical concepts” category of abstract idea because they describe how a predictive model (i.e. a mathematical representation) is fitted to a portion of a labeled training dataset, validated by calculating performance metrics using another portion of the labeled training dataset, and executed by providing inputs and calculating outputs using the learned mathematical relationships between input parameters. Though the claims specify that the models are machine learning models trained via machine learning processes, the underlying functions of fitting, validating, and executing a predictive model are abstract, and the machine learning nature of the models and training processes are addressed as an additional element under steps 2A – Prong 2 and 2B of the eligibility analysis. Accordingly, Examiner maintains that the claims as presently drafted recite an abstract idea under Step 2A – Prong 1.
On pages 10-11 Applicant argues that “claim 1 is merely based on or involves a mathematical concept, but does not recite a mathematical concept in the claim itself” such that claim 1 is not directed to an abstract idea. Applicant’s arguments are fully considered, but are not persuasive. Examiner maintains that the claims do recite mathematical concepts rather than simply being based on them; for example, each claim recites “determining, with the test data set, a receiver operating characteristic curve and an area under the curve” which describes numerical calculations and determinations, as well as executing the learned model based on the parameters to output a determination of a probability of different outcomes, which again recites the express calculation of a numerical output (a probability) using mathematical relationships learned during the model fitting/training process. Accordingly, Examiner maintains that the claims themselves do recite mathematical concepts rather than simply being “based on” or “involving” such concepts.
On pages 11-12 Applicant argues that that the non-final rejection ignored the 2019 PEG, “which requires that even conventional elements be considered in determining whether an abstract idea has been integrated into a practical application.” Applicant further “submits that the recitation of the various technical components integrate the alleged abstract idea (e.g., a certain method of organizing human activity or mathematical process) into a practical application of that abstract idea.” Applicant’s arguments are fully considered, but are not persuasive. Examiner notes that every additional element beyond the abstract idea itself, including those that may be considered ‘conventional’ like an information processing device comprising a determination unit and use of a machine learning process to train the model, were considered in light of the 2019 Guidance in the Step 2A – Prong 2 eligibility analysis, and were found not to provide integration into a practical application (see para. 18 of the non-final rejection mailed 2/3/2026). As explained in the non-final rejection, these additional elements are recited at a high level of generality (which Examiner notes is not an evaluation of conventionality) and are invoked as tools with which to digitize and/or automate the otherwise-abstract model fitting, validation, and execution steps such that they amount to mere instructions to “apply” the judicial exception, and thus do not provide integration into a practical application under Step 2A – Prong 2. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
On pages 12-13 Applicant argues that “The claims include specific recitations that place meaningful limits on the alleged judicial exception.” Applicant further distinguishes the instant claims from those found ineligible in Parker v. Flook, by alleging that “claim 1 expressly recites specific details on how the machine learning model, which is integral to the operations of the device, is trained.” Applicant submits that additional detail about the machine learning process has been added in the amendment, such that they provide specificity and meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and thus amount to a practical application. Applicant’s arguments are fully considered, but are not persuasive. The specificity and type of data utilized to fit, validate, and execute the model does not provide integration into a practical application because it remains part of the abstract idea itself. Even a very narrowly defined and specific abstract idea remains abstract; only the additional elements beyond the abstract idea itself may provide integration into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(a): “It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. The improvement can be provided by one or more additional elements.” See also 2106.05(a)(II): “it is important to keep in mind that an improvement in the abstract idea itself… is not an improvement in technology”). In the instant case, the content of the data utilized to fit, validate, and execute the model is core to this abstract process, and providing additional detail or specifics about the type of data does not provide a practical application. The only additional elements beyond the abstract idea itself that are recited by the claims remain an information processing device comprising a determination unit, the fact that the model is a machine learning model, as well as use of a machine learning process to train the machine learning model. These additional elements, when considered in the context of each claim as a whole, amount to instructions to “apply” the abstract idea on a computer because the otherwise-abstract steps of fitting, validating, and executing a predictive model with various datasets are merely specified as occurring on a generic computer processing device via high-level “machine learning” methods such that the otherwise-abstract steps are digitized and/or automated within a computing environment. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Such additional elements do not impose meaningful limits on the judicial exception, instead merely instructing the judicial exception to occur via machine learning in a computer rather than via mathematical processes that a human actor could otherwise achieve.
On pages 14-15 Applicant argues that “each of [the] claims includes one or more ‘additional features’ that are not well-understood, routine, or conventional” and appears to argue that the prior art fails to teach the technical features of claims 1-7 and thus they are not well-understood, routine, and conventional. Applicant’s arguments are fully considered, but are not persuasive. Examiner notes that issues of patentability over the prior art are a separate consideration to the question of eligibility under 35 USC 101; MPEP 2106.05(I) states that:
Although the courts often evaluate considerations such as the conventionality of an additional element in the eligibility analysis, the search for an inventive concept should not be confused with a novelty or non-obviousness determination. See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 91, 101 USPQ2d at 1973 (rejecting "the Government’s invitation to substitute §§ 102, 103, and 112 inquiries for the better established inquiry under § 101 "). As made clear by the courts, the "‘novelty’ of any element or steps in a process, or even of the process itself, is of no relevance in determining whether the subject matter of a claim falls within the § 101 categories of possibly patentable subject matter." Intellectual Ventures I v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1315, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1358 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (quoting Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. at 188–89, 209 USPQ at 9).
Accordingly, whether the claims are found to be novel and/or non-obvious over the prior art has no bearing on analysis of patent eligibility under 35 USC 101.
Further, Applicant has not provided any evidence that the combination of additional elements recited in claims 1-7 is unconventional. The combination of an information processing device comprising a determination unit used to perform the inputting and outputting steps of the invention as well as use of a machine learning process to train the machine learning model amount to mere instructions to “apply” the exception using generic computer components. As evidence of the generic nature of the above recited additional elements, Examiner notes Fig. 1 and paras. [0034]-[0045] of Applicant’s specification, which describe the information processing device as including many typical computer components like one or more processors, a communication interface, an input/output interface, memory/storage, etc. with the ability to execute instructions to achieve the functions of the invention. These disclosures do not indicate that the elements of the invention are particular machines, and instead provide generic examples of computer hardware, such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that any generic information processing device could be used to implement the invention. Examiner further notes para. [0050] of Applicant’s disclosure, which provides examples of the machine learning processing being “supervised learning and semi-supervised learning,” but provides no additional detail about what type of models are used, what specific supervised or semi-supervised learning techniques are utilized, or any other details about the specific machine learning training techniques or machine learning model architectures, leaving one of ordinary skill in the art to understand that any known methods of supervised or semi-supervised machine learning may be utilized to achieve the training of any compatible type of machine learning model. Further, Examiner has provided, in para. 20 of the non-final rejection mailed 2/3/2026, evidence that it is well-understood, routine, and conventional to utilize an information processing device with machine learning capabilities to train, validate, and execute diagnostic models to predict patient health conditions, as evidenced by at least Van Hooser et al. (US 20240257973 A1) [0004], [0092]-[0099], & [0104]; McGovern et al. (US 20200342958 A1) [0113], [0182], [0206], & [0251]; Taylor (Reference V on the PTO-892 mailed 2/3/2026) Pgs 5977, 5979, & 5981; and Rehman (Reference W on the PTO-892 mailed 2/3/2026) Pgs 9444-9445.
On pages 15-16 Applicant discusses Ex Parte Desjardins as avoiding evaluating claims at a high level of generality and “respectfully requests that such directive be followed” in evaluating eligibility of the instant claims. Applicant’s request is fully considered, and Examiner submits that the instant claims have been evaluated for eligibility in line with applicable patent rules, guidance, and precedential cases. While Applicant has not made any specific analogies between the instant claims and those found eligible in Desjardins (beyond characterizing the eligible claims of Desjardins as being “directed to training a machine learning model”), Examiner notes that the fact patterns of each case are different. In Desjardins, the claims reflected an improvement to how a machine learning model itself is trained and operates to address the technical problem of ‘catastrophic forgetting’ encountered in continual learning systems, which was identified and explained as a technical problem in the specification. In contrast, the instant specification does not outline a specific technical problem in machine learning technology whose solution is reflected in the claims. As noted in paras. [0002]-[0006] of the specification, the invention appears to seek to solve a problem rooted in the drawbacks of conventional business practices of thyroid condition diagnosis (i.e. a lack of consideration of certain types of data in the diagnostic process) rather than a technical problem rooted in computer technology, machine learning, or another technical field. Applicant’s specification does not outline specific technical problems with current machine learning training methodologies or model architectures; the most detailed explanation of how machine learning is utilized by the instant invention occurs in paras. [0050], [0074], [0088], [0112], [0126], [0140], & [0154] of Applicant’s disclosure, which each merely provide examples of the machine learning processing being “supervised learning and semi-supervised learning,” but provide no additional details about what type of models are used, what specific supervised or semi-supervised learning techniques are utilized, or any other details about any specific machine learning training techniques or machine learning model architectures, leaving one of ordinary skill in the art to conclude that the invention does not seek to improve machine learning technology itself as in Desjardins, but rather simply applies existing machine learning methods to the specific field of thyroid-related diagnosis. Accordingly, the use of high-level machine learning training and modelling techniques to digitize and/or automate the consideration of different types of parameters for performing thyroid-related diagnostic processes does not provide a technical improvement to a technical problem as in Desjardins, and instead amount to instructions to “apply” the exception with a computer as explained above.
For the reasons outlined above, the 35 USC 101 rejections are upheld for claims 1-7.
Rejection Under 35 USC 103
On pages 17-22 of the response Applicant argues that the cited art of record fails to teach the newly-added subject matter. Applicant’s arguments are fully considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection do not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
In the instant case, claims 1-7 are directed to information processing devices (i.e. machines), such that each of the claims falls within one of the four statutory categories. Nevertheless, the claims fall within the judicial exception of an abstract idea.
Step 2A – Prong 1
Independent claims 1-7 each recite steps that, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover certain methods of organizing human activity, e.g. managing personal behavior, relationships, or interactions between people, as well as mathematical concepts. Specifically, claim 1 (as representative) recites: An information processing device comprising a determination unit that inputs parameters that represent total protein (TP), cholinesterase (ChE), total cholesterol (TC), creatinine (CREA), and creatine phosphokinase (CPK) from a hematological examination of a subject to a learning-completed machine learning model that is trained through a machine learning process including obtaining actual medical treatment data from a set of subject data indicative of hematological examination results for subjects, splitting a learning data set based on the actual medical treatment data into a teacher data set and a test data set, training the machine learning model based on the teacher data set in which at least a portion of the teacher data set indicates a change in one or more of the parameters from the hematological examination over time and a label set that defines a corresponding value of thyroid stimulation hormone (TSH) associated with a corresponding hematological examination result represented in the actual medical treatment data, and determining, with the test data set, a receiver operating characteristic curve and an area under the curve, executes the learning-completed machine learning model based on the parameters, and outputs a determination, by the learning-completed machine learning model, of a probability that thyroid stimulation hormone (TSH) of the subject is in a range for which medical treatment is needed.
But for the recitation of generic computer components like an information processing device comprising a determination unit, and use of a high-level machine learning process to train a machine learning model, the italicized functions, when considered as a whole, describe an operation for fitting, validating, and executing a clinical diagnostic that a clinician or other medical professional could undertake by managing their personal behavior. For example, a clinician could obtain a training dataset with various input parameters and labeled outcomes reflecting actual hematological examination results and split it into a teacher data set representing changes in the input parameters over time as well as a test data set, train/fit a diagnostic model (e.g. a decision tree, regression equation, list of questions with a scoring ruleset, etc.) using the labeled teacher dataset, calculate performance metrics like ROC and AUC using the labeled test dataset, and input new information related to different blood examination measurements of a patient into the fitted model to receive a probability of a given diagnostic output, e.g. whether a subject’s TSH levels are in a certain range. Examiner notes that such steps can also be considered to fit into the “mathematical concepts” category of abstract idea because they describe how a predictive model (i.e. a mathematical representation) is fitted to a portion of a labeled training dataset, validated by calculating performance metrics using another portion of the labeled training dataset, and executed by providing inputs and calculating outputs using the learned mathematical relationships between input parameters. Accordingly, claim 1 recites an abstract idea in the form of a certain method of organizing human activity and/or mathematical concepts. Claims 2-7 recite substantially similar subject matter and functions as claim 1, while merely specifying different information types to be input to the model and different types of determinations to be output from the model (each of which are types of data that a clinician would be capable of evaluating and determining via mathematical processes) and are thus found to recite an abstract idea under the same analysis.
However, recitation of an abstract idea is not the end of the analysis. Each of the claims must be analyzed for additional elements that indicate the abstract idea is integrated into a practical application to determine whether the claim is considered to be “directed to” an abstract idea.
Step 2A – Prong 2
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, independent claims 1-7 do not include additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements of claims 1-7 include an information processing device comprising a determination unit, specifying that the learning-completed model is a machine learning model, as well as use of a machine learning process to train the machine learning model. These additional elements, when considered in the context of each claim as a whole, amount to instructions to “apply” the abstract idea on a computer because the otherwise-abstract steps of fitting, validating, and executing a predictive model are merely specified as occurring on a generic computer processing device via high-level “machine learning” methods such that the otherwise-abstract steps are digitized and/or automated within a computing environment. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Such additional elements do not impose meaningful limits on the judicial exception, instead merely instructing the judicial exception to occur via machine learning in a computer rather than via mathematical processes that a human actor could otherwise achieve. Accordingly, the additional elements of claims 1-7 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Claims 1-7 are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of an information processing device comprising a determination unit used to perform the inputting and outputting steps of the invention as well as use of a machine learning process to train the machine learning model amount to mere instructions to “apply” the exception using generic computer components. As evidence of the generic nature of the above recited additional elements, Examiner notes Fig. 1 and paras. [0034]-[0045] of Applicant’s specification, which describe the information processing device as including many typical computer components like one or more processors, a communication interface, an input/output interface, memory/storage, etc. with the ability to execute instructions to achieve the functions of the invention. These disclosures do not indicate that the elements of the invention are particular machines, and instead provide generic examples of computer hardware, such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that any generic information processing device could be used to implement the invention. Examiner further notes para. [0050] of Applicant’s disclosure, which provides examples of the machine learning processing being “supervised learning and semi-supervised learning,” but provides no additional detail about what type of models are used, what specific supervised or semi-supervised learning techniques are utilized, or any other details about the machine learning process or machine learning model architectures, leaving one of ordinary skill in the art to conclude that any known methods of supervised or semi-supervised machine learning may be utilized to achieve the training of any compatible type of machine learning model.
Further, Examiner notes that it is well-understood, routine, and conventional to utilize an information processing device with machine learning capabilities to train, validate, and execute diagnostic models to predict patient health conditions, as evidenced by at least Van Hooser et al. (US 20240257973 A1) [0004], [0092]-[0099], & [0104]; McGovern et al. (US 20200342958 A1) [0113], [0182], [0206], & [0251]; Taylor (Reference V on the accompanying PTO-892) Pgs 5977, 5979, & 5981; and Rehman (Reference W on the accompanying PTO-892) Pgs 9444-9445.
Analyzing these additional elements as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when considering the elements individually; the overall effect of the computer implementation and high-level machine learning training and modeling is to digitize and/or automate an operation for fitting, validating, and executing a clinical diagnostic model that could otherwise be achieved as a certain method of organizing human activity and/or mathematical concept. Thus, when considered as a whole and in combination, claims 1-7 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Hooser et al. (US 20240257973 A1) in view of Katsuta et al. (JP 2007147494 A) and Spurlock, III et al. (US 20190108912 A1).
Claim 1
Van Hooser teaches an information processing device comprising a determination unit (Van Hooser [0113], [0117], noting a computing device that implements software modules to perform the functions of the invention) that inputs parameters that represent examination of a subject to a learning-completed machine learning model (Van Hooser, [0004], [0061]-[0065], noting a wide variety of biomarker data of a subject obtained from a biological specimen (e.g. a blood or plasma sample) is input to a trained machine learning model; non-limiting examples of such biomarkers include metabolites like creatinine and cholesterol, immune response protein panels, inflammation protein panels, and others as listed in [0065] and Table 2 between paras. [0063] & [0064]) that is trained through a machine learning process including obtaining (Van Hooser [0097]-[0099], [0104], noting a training set of samples (i.e. a learning set) is used to train (i.e. teach) and test the machine learning models via cross-validation with different splits of the data, for example by calculating ROC and AUC metrics with a test set of data. See also [0094] & [0096] noting use of supervised models, e.g. neural networks trained with a known sample set to drive them towards a desired output, indicating that the data is labeled or annotated with known outcomes during training. See also [0098], noting that in some instances specific input metabolites (i.e. parameters from the hematological examination) that vary (i.e. change) over time are excluded from the training and/or testing of the models, indicating that in other embodiments such inputs representing changes in one or more of the inputs over time are left in for the training and/or testing of the model, such that the teacher subset of the training dataset is considered to include changes in one or more of the parameters from the hematological examination over time in at least some embodiments of the invention), executes the learning-completed machine learning model based on the parameters, and outputs a determination, by the learning-completed machine learning model, of a probability that thyroid stimulation hormone (TSH) of the subject is in a range for which medical treatment is needed (Van Hooser [0004], [0046]-[0048], noting the trained machine learning model is executed on the input data to output a classification or other indication of a disease or condition, such as a probability or likelihood that the user has a given health condition or is outside of a “normal” score range; many diseases and conditions are contemplated for prediction as exemplified in the non-limiting examples of Table 1 between paras. [0060] & [0061], including thyroid-related conditions like hypothyroidism (i.e. a condition in which a subject’s level of TSH is typically higher than normal, indicating that medical treatment is likely needed), Graves’ disease, Hashimoto’s thyroiditis, hormonal imbalance, hyperthyroidism (i.e. a condition in which a subject’s level of TSH is typically lower than normal, indicating that medical treatment is likely needed), subacute thyroiditis, etc.).
Though Van Hooser contemplates using a non-limited variety of biomarkers (e.g. those obtained from a blood specimen) as input to a trained machine learning model that outputs a probability of a given disease such as hormone imbalance or hyper/hypothyroidism (i.e. conditions that indicate a subject’s level of TSH is in a lower than normal or higher than normal range for which medical treatment is likely needed), it fails to explicitly disclose the specific parameters of total protein, cholinesterase, and creatinine phosphokinase as the inputs. However, Katsuta teaches that metabolic or endocrine conditions can be evaluated with a variety of disease-related biomarkers, including substances measured in general medical examinations such as total protein, cholinesterase, total cholesterol, creatinine, and CPK (Katsuta Pg 11 paragraph beginning “Any substance can be used…”, Pg 12 paragraph beginning “More specifically, in addition to…”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the non-limited blood specimen inputs of Van Hooser to specifically include TP, ChE, TC, CREA, and CPK as in Katsuta because Katsuta shows that such test items are obtained during general, routine medical examinations and may be used and evaluated as biomarkers of patient diseases, including metabolic or endocrine conditions (i.e. including thyroid conditions), such that inclusion of these specific inputs to the model of Van Hooser would allow for expanded consideration of these known biomarkers, thereby improving the diagnostic accuracy of the model with respect to the contemplated thyroid conditions.
Though the present combination contemplates supervised training of machine learning models to predict a desired outcome (e.g. indications of thyroid-related conditions), it fails to explicitly disclose using actual medical treatment data with labels specifically defining a corresponding value of TSH associated with a corresponding hematological examination result represented in the actual medical treatment data. However, Spurlock teaches supervised training of disease prediction machine learning models that utilize actual population patient datasets (e.g. from publicly available sources like government databases) with known outcome labels of a desired outcome (Spurlock abstract, [0043], [0052], [0067]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the supervised learning of the combination to include use of actual population data labeled with a desired model outcome as in Spurlock in order to identify patterns in the data that are known to be indicative of a desired outcome in a population of patients (as suggested by Spurlock abstract & [0052]). The result of such a combination would include the known, labeled outcome in the training dataset as in Spurlock corresponding to a measure of a contemplated predictive outcome of Van Hooser, such as a value of thyroid-related conditions like hypothyroidism, Graves’ disease, Hashimoto’s thyroiditis, hormonal imbalance, hyperthyroidism, subacute thyroiditis, etc. corresponding to actual inputs of both healthy and diseased patients.
Claim 6
Van Hooser teaches an information processing device comprising a determination unit (Van Hooser [0113], [0117], noting a computing device that implements software modules to perform the functions of the invention) that inputs parameters that represent total cholesterol (TC), (Van Hooser, [0004], [0061]-[0065], noting a wide variety of biomarker data of a subject obtained from a biological specimen (e.g. a blood or plasma sample) is input to a trained machine learning model; non-limiting examples of such biomarkers include metabolites like creatinine and cholesterol, immune response protein panels, inflammation protein panels, and others as listed in [0065] and Table 2 between paras. [0063] & [0064]) that is trained through a machine learning process including obtaining label set (Van Hooser [0097]-[0099], [0104], noting a training set of samples (i.e. a learning set) is used to train (i.e. teach) and test the machine learning models via cross-validation with different splits of the data, for example by calculating ROC and AUC metrics with a test set of data. See also [0098], noting that in some instances specific input metabolites (i.e. parameters from the hematological examination) that vary (i.e. change) over time are excluded from the training and/or testing of the models, indicating that in other embodiments such inputs representing changes in one or more of the inputs over time are left in for the training and/or testing of the model, such that the teacher subset of the training dataset is considered to include changes in one or more of the parameters from the hematological examination over time in at least some embodiments of the invention), executes the learning-completed machine learning model based on the parameters, and outputs a determination, by the learning-completed machine learning model, of a probability that the subject is affected with painless thyroiditis (Van Hooser [0004], [0046]-[0048], noting the trained machine learning model is executed on the input data to output a classification or other indication of a disease or condition, such as a probability or likelihood that the user has a given health condition or is outside of a “normal” score range; many diseases and conditions are contemplated for prediction as exemplified in the non-limiting examples of Table 1 between paras. [0060] & [0061], including thyroid-related conditions like hypothyroidism, Graves’ disease, Hashimoto’s thyroiditis, hormonal imbalance, hyperthyroidism, subacute thyroiditis (i.e. painless thyroiditis), etc.).
Though Van Hooser contemplates using a non-limited variety of biomarkers (e.g. those obtained from a blood specimen) as input to a trained machine learning model that outputs a probability of a given disease such as subacute thyroiditis (i.e. painless thyroiditis), it fails to explicitly disclose the specific parameters of cholinesterase and creatinine phosphokinase as the inputs. However, Katsuta teaches that diseases like metabolic or endocrine conditions can be evaluated with a variety of disease-related biomarkers, including substances measured in general medical examinations such as total cholesterol, cholinesterase, creatinine, and CPK (Katsuta Pg 11 paragraph beginning “Any substance can be used…”, Pg 12 paragraph beginning “More specifically, in addition to…”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the non-limited blood specimen inputs of Van Hooser to specifically include TC, ChE, CREA, and CPK as in Katsuta because Katsuta shows that such test items are obtained during general, routine medical examinations and may be used and evaluated as biomarkers of patient diseases, including metabolic or endocrine conditions (i.e. including thyroid conditions), such that inclusion of these specific inputs to the model of Van Hooser would allow for expanded consideration of these known biomarkers, thereby improving the diagnostic accuracy of the model with respect to the contemplated thyroid conditions.
Though the present combination contemplates supervised training of machine learning models to predict a desired outcome (e.g. indications of thyroid-related conditions), it fails to explicitly disclose using actual medical treatment data with labels specifically defining a corresponding value indicative of whether a subject associated with a corresponding hematological examination result represented in the actual medical treatment data is affected with painless thyroiditis. However, Spurlock teaches supervised training of disease prediction machine learning models that utilize actual population patient datasets (e.g. from publicly available sources like government databases) with known outcome labels of a desired outcome (Spurlock abstract, [0043], [0052], [0067]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the supervised learning of the combination to include use of actual population data labeled with a desired model outcome as in Spurlock in order to identify patterns in the data that are known to be indicative of a desired outcome in a population of patients (as suggested by Spurlock abstract & [0052]). The result of such a combination would include the known, labeled outcome in the training dataset as in Spurlock corresponding to a measure of a contemplated predictive outcome of Van Hooser, such as a value of thyroid-related conditions like subacute thyroiditis (i.e. painless thyroiditis) corresponding to actual inputs of both healthy and diseased patients.
Claims 2-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Hooser in view of Karlov et al. (US 7392199 B2) and Spurlock.
Claim 2
Van Hooser teaches an information processing device comprising a determination unit (Van Hooser [0113], [0117], noting a computing device that implements software modules to perform the functions of the invention) that inputs parameters that represent (Van Hooser, [0004], [0061]-[0065], noting a wide variety of biomarker data of a subject obtained from a biological specimen (e.g. a blood or plasma sample) is input to a trained machine learning model; non-limiting examples of such biomarkers include metabolites like creatinine and bilirubin, immune response protein panels, inflammation protein panels, and others as listed in [0065] and Table 2 between paras. [0063] & [0064]) that is trained through a machine learning process including obtaining (Van Hooser [0097]-[0099], [0104], noting a training set of samples (i.e. a learning set) is used to train (i.e. teach) and test the machine learning models via cross-validation with different splits of the data, for example by calculating ROC and AUC metrics with a test set of data. See also [0098], noting that in some instances specific input metabolites (i.e. parameters from the hematological examination) that vary (i.e. change) over time are excluded from the training and/or testing of the models, indicating that in other embodiments such inputs representing changes in one or more of the inputs over time are left in for the training and/or testing of the model, such that the teacher subset of the training dataset is considered to include changes in one or more of the parameters from the hematological examination over time in at least some embodiments of the invention), executes the learning-completed machine learning model based on the parameters, and outputs a determination, by the learning-completed machine learning model, of a probability that thyroid stimulation hormone (TSH) of the subject is in a normal value range (Van Hooser [0004], [0046]-[0048], noting the trained machine learning model is executed on the input data to output a classification or other indication of a disease or condition, such as a probability or likelihood that the user has a given health condition or is outside of a “normal” score range; many diseases and conditions are contemplated for prediction as exemplified in the non-limiting examples of Table 1 between paras. [0060] & [0061], including thyroid-related conditions like hypothyroidism (i.e. a condition in which a subject’s level of TSH is typically higher than normal, indicating that medical treatment is likely needed), Graves’ disease, Hashimoto’s thyroiditis, hormonal imbalance, hyperthyroidism (i.e. a condition in which a subject’s level of TSH is typically lower than normal, indicating that medical treatment is likely needed), subacute thyroiditis, etc.).
Though Van Hooser contemplates using a non-limited variety of biomarkers (e.g. those obtained from a blood specimen) as input to a trained machine learning model that outputs a probability of a given disease such as hormone imbalance or hyper/hypothyroidism (i.e. conditions that indicate a subject’s level of TSH is in a lower than normal or higher than normal range for which medical treatment is likely needed), it fails to explicitly disclose the specific parameters of total protein and neutrophil as the inputs. However, Karlov teaches that thyroid health conditions can be evaluated with a variety of disease-related biomarkers, including substances measured in standard blood analyses such as total protein, creatinine, neutrophils, and total bilirubin (Karlov Col6 L59 – Col7 L66). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the non-limited blood specimen inputs of Van Hooser to specifically include TP, CREA, Neu, and T-bill as in Karlov because Karlov shows that such parameters are obtained during standard blood analyses and may be used and evaluated as biomarkers of patient diseases, including thyroid conditions, such that inclusion of these specific inputs to the model of Van Hooser would allow for expanded consideration of these known biomarkers, thereby improving the diagnostic accuracy of the model with respect to the contemplated thyroid conditions.
Though the present combination contemplates supervised training of machine learning models to predict a desired outcome (e.g. indications of thyroid-related conditions), it fails to explicitly disclose using actual medical treatment data with labels specifically defining a corresponding value of TSH associated with a corresponding hematological examination result represented in the actual medical treatment data. However, Spurlock teaches supervised training of disease prediction machine learning models that utilize actual population patient datasets (e.g. from publicly available sources like government databases) with known outcome labels of a desired outcome (Spurlock abstract, [0043], [0052], [0067]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the supervised learning of the combination to include use of actual population data labeled with a desired model outcome as in Spurlock in order to identify patterns in the data that are known to be indicative of a desired outcome in a population of patients (as suggested by Spurlock abstract & [0052]). The result of such a combination would include the known, labeled outcome in the training dataset as in Spurlock corresponding to a measure of a contemplated predictive outcome of Van Hooser, such as a value of thyroid-related conditions like hypothyroidism, Graves’ disease, Hashimoto’s thyroiditis, hormonal imbalance, hyperthyroidism, subacute thyroiditis, etc. corresponding to actual inputs of both healthy and diseased patients.
Claim 3
Van Hooser teaches an information processing device comprising a determination unit (Van Hooser [0113], [0117], noting a computing device that implements software modules to perform the functions of the invention) that inputs parameters that represent creatinine (CREA), total cholesterol (TC), (Van Hooser, [0004], [0061]-[0065], noting a wide variety of biomarker data of a subject obtained from a biological specimen (e.g. a blood or plasma sample) is input to a trained machine learning model; non-limiting examples of such biomarkers include metabolites like creatinine and cholesterol, immune response protein panels, inflammation protein panels, and others as listed in [0065] and Table 2 between paras. [0063] & [0064]) that is trained through a machine learning process including obtaining (Van Hooser [0097]-[0099], [0104], noting a training set of samples (i.e. a learning set) is used to train (i.e. teach) and test the machine learning models via cross-validation with different splits of the data, for example by calculating ROC and AUC metrics with a test set of data. See also [0098], noting that in some instances specific input metabolites (i.e. parameters from the hematological examination) that vary (i.e. change) over time are excluded from the training and/or testing of the models, indicating that in other embodiments such inputs representing changes in one or more of the inputs over time are left in for the training and/or testing of the model, such that the teacher subset of the training dataset is considered to include changes in one or more of the parameters from the hematological examination over time in at least some embodiments of the invention), executes the learning-completed machine learning model based on the parameters, and outputs a determination, by the learning-completed machine learning model, of a probability that the subject is affected with Graves' disease (Van Hooser [0004], [0046]-[0048], noting the trained machine learning model is executed on the input data to output a classification or other indication of a disease or condition, such as a probability or likelihood that the user has a given health condition or is outside of a “normal” score range; many diseases and conditions are contemplated for prediction as exemplified in the non-limiting examples of Table 1 between paras. [0060] & [0061], including thyroid-related conditions like hypothyroidism, Graves’ disease, Hashimoto’s thyroiditis, hormonal imbalance, hyperthyroidism, subacute thyroiditis, etc.).
Though Van Hooser contemplates using a non-limited variety of biomarkers (e.g. those obtained from a blood specimen) as input to a trained machine learning model that outputs a probability of a given disease such as Graves’ disease, it fails to explicitly disclose the specific parameters of alkaline phosphatase and total protein as the inputs. However, Karlov teaches that thyroid health conditions can be evaluated with a variety of disease-related biomarkers, including substances measured in standard blood analyses such as creatinine, total cholesterol, alkaline phosphatase, and total protein (Karlov Col6 L59 – Col7 L66). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the non-limited blood specimen inputs of Van Hooser to specifically include CREA, TC, ALP, and TP as in Karlov because Karlov shows that such parameters are obtained during standard blood analyses and may be used and evaluated as biomarkers of patient diseases, including thyroid conditions, such that inclusion of these specific inputs to the model of Van Hooser would allow for expanded consideration of these known biomarkers, thereby improving the diagnostic accuracy of the model with respect to the contemplated thyroid conditions.
Though the present combination contemplates supervised training of machine learning models to predict a desired outcome (e.g. indications of thyroid-related conditions), it fails to explicitly disclose using actual medical treatment data with labels specifically defining a corresponding value indicative of whether a subject associated with a corresponding hematological examination result represented in the actual medical treatment data is affected with Graves’ disease. However, Spurlock teaches supervised training of disease prediction machine learning models that utilize actual population patient datasets (e.g. from publicly available sources like government databases) with known outcome labels of a desired outcome (Spurlock abstract, [0043], [0052], [0067]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the supervised learning of the combination to include use of actual population data labeled with a desired model outcome as in Spurlock in order to identify patterns in the data that are known to be indicative of a desired outcome in a population of patients (as suggested by Spurlock abstract & [0052]). The result of such a combination would include the known, labeled outcome in the training dataset as in Spurlock corresponding to a measure of a contemplated predictive outcome of Van Hooser, such as a value of thyroid-related conditions like Graves’ disease corresponding to actual inputs of both healthy and diseased patients.
Claim 5
Van Hooser teaches an information processing device comprising a determination unit (Van Hooser [0113], [0117], noting a computing device that implements software modules to perform the functions of the invention) that inputs parameters that represent (Van Hooser, [0004], [0061]-[0065], noting a wide variety of biomarker data of a subject obtained from a biological specimen (e.g. a blood or plasma sample) is input to a trained machine learning model; non-limiting examples of such biomarkers include metabolites like creatinine, immune response protein panels, inflammation protein panels, and others as listed in [0065] and Table 2 between paras. [0063] & [0064]) that is trained through a machine learning process including obtaining (Van Hooser [0097]-[0099], [0104], noting a training set of samples (i.e. a learning set) is used to train (i.e. teach) and test the machine learning models via cross-validation with different splits of the data, for example by calculating ROC and AUC metrics with a test set of data. See also [0098], noting that in some instances specific input metabolites (i.e. parameters from the hematological examination) that vary (i.e. change) over time are excluded from the training and/or testing of the models, indicating that in other embodiments such inputs representing changes in one or more of the inputs over time are left in for the training and/or testing of the model, such that the teacher subset of the training dataset is considered to include changes in one or more of the parameters from the hematological examination over time in at least some embodiments of the invention), executes the learning-completed machine learning model based on the parameters, and outputs a determination, by the learning-completed machine learning model, of a probability that the subject is affected with Graves' disease or painless thyroiditis (Van Hooser [0004], [0046]-[0048], noting the trained machine learning model is executed on the input data to output a classification or other indication of a disease or condition, such as a probability or likelihood that the user has a given health condition or is outside of a “normal” score range; many diseases and conditions are contemplated for prediction as exemplified in the non-limiting examples of Table 1 between paras. [0060] & [0061], including thyroid-related conditions like hypothyroidism, Graves’ disease, Hashimoto’s thyroiditis, hormonal imbalance, hyperthyroidism, subacute thyroiditis (i.e. painless thyroiditis), etc.).
Though Van Hooser contemplates using a non-limited variety of biomarkers (e.g. those obtained from a blood specimen) as input to a trained machine learning model that outputs a probability of a given disease such as Graves’ disease or subacute thyroiditis (i.e. painless thyroiditis), it fails to explicitly disclose the specific parameters of alkaline phosphatase, total protein, y glutamyl transpeptidase, and white blood cells as the inputs. However, Karlov teaches that thyroid health conditions can be evaluated with a variety of disease-related biomarkers, including substances measured in standard blood analyses such as alkaline phosphatase, creatinine, total protein, gamma glutamyl tran (i.e. y glutamyl transpeptidase), and leukocytes (i.e. white blood cells) (Karlov Col6 L59 – Col7 L66). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the non-limited blood test measurement inputs of Van Hooser to specifically include ALP, CREA, TP, yGPT, and WBC as in Karlov because Karlov shows that such parameters are obtained during standard blood analyses and may be used and evaluated as biomarkers of patient diseases, including thyroid conditions, such that inclusion of these specific inputs to the model of Van Hooser would allow for expanded consideration of these known biomarkers, thereby improving the diagnostic accuracy of the model with respect to the contemplated thyroid conditions.
Though the present combination contemplates supervised training of machine learning models to predict a desired outcome (e.g. indications of thyroid-related conditions), it fails to explicitly disclose using actual medical treatment data with labels specifically defining a corresponding value indicative of whether a subject associated with a corresponding hematological examination result represented in the actual medical treatment data is affected with Graves’ disease or painless thyroiditis. However, Spurlock teaches supervised training of disease prediction machine learning models that utilize actual population patient datasets (e.g. from publicly available sources like government databases) with known outcome labels of a desired outcome (Spurlock abstract, [0043], [0052], [0067]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the supervised learning of the combination to include use of actual population data labeled with a desired model outcome as in Spurlock in order to identify patterns in the data that are known to be indicative of a desired outcome in a population of patients (as suggested by Spurlock abstract & [0052]). The result of such a combination would include the known, labeled outcome in the training dataset as in Spurlock corresponding to a measure of a contemplated predictive outcome of Van Hooser, such as a value of thyroid-related conditions like Graves’ disease, subacute thyroiditis (i.e. painless thyroiditis), etc. corresponding to actual inputs of both healthy and diseased patients.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Hooser in view of Dodds (US 20110093298 A1) and Spurlock.
Claim 4
Van Hooser teaches an information processing device comprising a determination unit (Van Hooser [0113], [0117], noting a computing device that implements software modules to perform the functions of the invention) that inputs parameters that represent Van Hooser, [0004], [0061]-[0065], noting a wide variety of biomarker data of a subject obtained from a biological specimen (e.g. a blood or plasma sample) is input to a trained machine learning model; non-limiting examples of such biomarkers include metabolites like creatinine and cholesterol, immune response protein panels, inflammation protein panels, and others as listed in [0065] and Table 2 between paras. [0063] & [0064]) that is trained through a machine learning process including obtaining (Van Hooser [0097]-[0099], [0104], noting a training set of samples (i.e. a learning set) is used to train (i.e. teach) and test the machine learning models via cross-validation with different splits of the data, for example by calculating ROC and AUC metrics with a test set of data. See also [0098], noting that in some instances specific input metabolites (i.e. parameters from the hematological examination) that vary (i.e. change) over time are excluded from the training and/or testing of the models, indicating that in other embodiments such inputs representing changes in one or more of the inputs over time are left in for the training and/or testing of the model, such that the teacher subset of the training dataset is considered to include changes in one or more of the parameters from the hematological examination over time in at least some embodiments of the invention), executes the learning-completed machine learning model based on the parameters, and outputs a determination, by the learning-completed machine learning model, of a probability that the subject is affected with Graves' disease or painless thyroiditis (Van Hooser [0004], [0046]-[0048], noting the trained machine learning model is executed on the input data to output a classification or other indication of a disease or condition, such as a probability or likelihood that the user has a given health condition or is outside of a “normal” score range; many diseases and conditions are contemplated for prediction as exemplified in the non-limiting examples of Table 1 between paras. [0060] & [0061], including thyroid-related conditions like hypothyroidism, Graves’ disease, Hashimoto’s thyroiditis, hormonal imbalance, hyperthyroidism, subacute thyroiditis (i.e. painless thyroiditis), etc.).
Though Van Hooser contemplates using a non-limited variety of biomarkers (e.g. those obtained from a blood specimen) as input to a trained machine learning model that outputs a probability of a given disease such as Graves’ disease or subacute thyroiditis (i.e. painless thyroiditis), it fails to explicitly disclose the specific parameters of thyroid hormone FT3, thyroid hormone FT4, FT3/FT4, and alkaline phosphatase as the inputs. However, Dodds teaches that thyroid health conditions can be evaluated with a variety of disease-related biomarkers, including substances measured in comprehensive diagnostic test panel such as a complete thyroid profile indicating FT3 and FT4 (and thus also representing a ratio of FT3/FT4), alkaline phosphatase, and creatinine (Dodds [0081]-[0085]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the non-limited blood specimen inputs of Van Hooser to specifically include FT3, FT4, ALP and CREA as in Dodds because Dodds shows that such parameters are obtained during comprehensive diagnostic testing and may be used and evaluated as biomarkers of patient diseases, including thyroid conditions, such that inclusion of these specific inputs to the model of Van Hooser would allow for expanded consideration of these known biomarkers, thereby improving the diagnostic accuracy of the model with respect to the contemplated thyroid conditions.
Though the present combination contemplates supervised training of machine learning models to predict a desired outcome (e.g. indications of thyroid-related conditions), it fails to explicitly disclose using actual medical treatment data with labels specifically defining a corresponding value indicative of whether a subject associated with a corresponding hematological examination result represented in the actual medical treatment data is affected with Graves’ disease or painless thyroiditis. However, Spurlock teaches supervised training of disease prediction machine learning models that utilize actual population patient datasets (e.g. from publicly available sources like government databases) with known outcome labels of a desired outcome (Spurlock abstract, [0043], [0052], [0067]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the supervised learning of the combination to include use of actual population data labeled with a desired model outcome as in Spurlock in order to identify patterns in the data that are known to be indicative of a desired outcome in a population of patients (as suggested by Spurlock abstract & [0052]). The result of such a combination would include the known, labeled outcome in the training dataset as in Spurlock corresponding to a measure of a contemplated predictive outcome of Van Hooser, such as a value of thyroid-related conditions like Graves’ disease, subacute thyroiditis (i.e. painless thyroiditis), etc. corresponding to actual inputs of both healthy and diseased patients.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Hooser in view of Saito (US 20190139440 A1) and Spurlock.
Claim 7
Van Hooser teaches an information processing device comprising a determination unit (Van Hooser [0113], [0117], noting a computing device that implements software modules to perform the functions of the invention) that inputs parameters that represent creatinine (CREA), total cholesterol (TC), (Van Hooser, [0004], [0061]-[0065], noting a wide variety of biomarker data of a subject obtained from a biological specimen (e.g. a blood or plasma sample) is input to a trained machine learning model; non-limiting examples of such biomarkers include metabolites like creatinine and cholesterol, immune response protein panels, inflammation protein panels, and others as listed in [0065] and Table 2 between paras. [0063] & [0064]) that is trained through a machine learning process including obtaining (Van Hooser [0097]-[0099], [0104], noting a training set of samples (i.e. a learning set) is used to train (i.e. teach) and test the machine learning models via cross-validation with different splits of the data, for example by calculating ROC and AUC metrics with a test set of data. See also [0098], noting that in some instances specific input metabolites (i.e. parameters from the hematological examination) that vary (i.e. change) over time are excluded from the training and/or testing of the models, indicating that in other embodiments such inputs representing changes in one or more of the inputs over time are left in for the training and/or testing of the model, such that the teacher subset of the training dataset is considered to include changes in one or more of the parameters from the hematological examination over time in at least some embodiments of the invention), executes the learning-completed machine learning model based on the parameters, and outputs a determination, by the learning-completed machine learning model, of a probability that the subject is affected with thyrotoxicosis (Van Hooser [0004], [0046]-[0048], noting the trained machine learning model is executed on the input data to output a classification or other indication of a disease or condition, such as a probability or likelihood that the user has a given health condition or is outside of a “normal” score range; many diseases and conditions are contemplated for prediction as exemplified in the non-limiting examples of Table 1 between paras. [0060] & [0061], including thyroid-related conditions like hypothyroidism, Graves’ disease, Hashimoto’s thyroiditis, hormonal imbalance, hyperthyroidism (i.e. a cause of thyrotoxicosis), subacute thyroiditis, etc.).
Though Van Hooser contemplates using a non-limited variety of biomarkers (e.g. those obtained from a blood specimen) as input to a trained machine learning model that outputs a probability of a given disease such as hormone imbalance or hyperthyroidism (i.e. conditions considered equivalent to thyrotoxicosis which occurs when there is too much thyroid hormone in a subject’s body), it fails to explicitly disclose the specific parameters of cholinesterase, creatine phosphokinase, and basophil as the inputs. However, Saito teaches that health conditions can be evaluated with a variety of lifestyle biomarkers, including substances measured in blood tests such as creatinine, total cholesterol, cholinesterase, creatine kinase, and basophil (Saito [0092], [0165]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the non-limited blood specimen inputs of Van Hooser to specifically include CREA, TC, ChE, CPK, and Ba as in Saito because Saito shows that such test items are commonly obtained and evaluated as biomarkers of patient health conditions, such that inclusion of these specific inputs to the model of Van Hooser would allow for expanded consideration of these known biomarkers, thereby improving the diagnostic accuracy of the model with respect to the contemplated thyroid conditions.
Though the present combination contemplates supervised training of machine learning models to predict a desired outcome (e.g. indications of thyroid-related conditions), it fails to explicitly disclose using actual medical treatment data with labels specifically defining a corresponding value indicative of whether a subject associated with a corresponding hematological examination result represented in the actual medical treatment data is affected with thyrotoxicosis. However, Spurlock teaches supervised training of disease prediction machine learning models that utilize actual population patient datasets (e.g. from publicly available sources like government databases) with known outcome labels of a desired outcome (Spurlock abstract, [0043], [0052], [0067]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the supervised learning of the combination to include use of actual population data labeled with a desired model outcome as in Spurlock in order to identify patterns in the data that are known to be indicative of a desired outcome in a population of patients (as suggested by Spurlock abstract & [0052]). The result of such a combination would include the known, labeled outcome in the training dataset as in Spurlock corresponding to a measure of a contemplated predictive outcome of Van Hooser, such as a value of thyroid-related conditions like hyperthyroidism (i.e. a cause of thyrotoxicosis) corresponding to actual inputs of both healthy and diseased patients.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Razia et al. (Reference U on the accompanying PTO-892) and Chaubey et al. (Reference V on the accompanying PTO-892) describe thyroid disease prediction using machine learning.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAREN A HRANEK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3684