DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-8 and 10-22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
in claim 1, line 17, “the power of the first power converter” lacks antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 3/6/26 with respect to the amended AND/OR claim language is accepted. The amendments have addressed the previous indefiniteness type rejections with respect to the AND/OR claim language.
Applicant's arguments filed 3/6/26 with respect to claiming the power source input electrically connected to the DC Bus have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues “a power source input electrically connected to the DC bus and configured to receive an Alternating Current (AC) voltage from an AC source” is consistent with the specification. Examiner does not dispute that the claim language is original claim language which thus has support in the written description. Nevertheless, Examiner finds the claim language misleading and in contradiction to the disclosure, making the claim indefinite when interpreted in light of the disclosure. Examiner contends the claim language states the AC input is connected to the DC bus, that is, looking at Figure 3, the AC input from 303 would be connected to DC bus 304, which is not the case. Instead, the input from 303 is connected to 304 through converter 102. Examiner believes the claim language should be amended to make clear the power source input is electrically connected to the DC bus through a first converter.
Applicant's arguments filed 3/6/26 with respect to the rejections under Duan in view of Thirumurthy are not persuasive.
Examiner contends that in the obviousness type rejection of Duan in view of Thirumurthy, the secondary reference is only relied upon to teach the claim limitation of “a controller communicatively connected to each of the first power converter and the second power converter, wherein the controller is configured to control each of the first power converter and the second power converter” and that it was well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a high level controller to control first and second power converters in order to improve load sharing, protection and reliability and one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to implement a shared high level controller. Examiner maintains it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to implement a high level controller for the system of power converters.
In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which Applicant relies (i.e., the objective technical problem solved is the reduction of the physical size, weight, and cost of the primary power converter by intentionally undersizing it; reducing converter size by deliberately undersizing it; sizing power converters relative to load to reduce physical dimensions) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to Applicant's argument that the cited prior art references are directed to solving entirely different problems, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, both of the prior art references relate to power distribution and energy management.
Applicant argues Duan provides no suggestion that would motivate a skilled artisan to design a primary converter with a power rating lower than the connected load, which is not the claim language presented. As for the actual claim limitation of “wherein the power of the first power converter is lower than the electric load connected to the DC bus, thereby introducing a load factor smaller than 1”, Applicant does not specify the time period for the determination of the load factor and one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood there are numerous, routine time periods where the power converter’s power would be less than the load, such as when the first and second converters are sharing power to the load above 50% load factor and when the renewable sources are providing significant load contribution.
In response to Applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In response to Applicant’s argument that the specific problem solved by Applicant is not mentioned in the references, is not a requirement of the rejection, as long as the claim limitations read upon the combined references. Examiner maintains it was well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a controller for first and second converters and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 10-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 3-4, recite “a power source input electrically connected to the DC bus and configured to receive an Alternating Current (AC) voltage from an AC source” is not consistent with the disclosure in which the power source input is electrically connected to the AC bus, making the claim, when interpreted in light of the specification indefinite. For the purpose of examination, the claim shall be interpreted as ‘a power source input electrically connected to the DC bus through a first converter and configured to receive an Alternating Current (AC) voltage from an AC source’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 10-15, 17-18 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan (CN 104578046) in view of Thirumurthy (US 11,399,065).
With respect to claim 1, Duan discloses a Direct Current (DC) distribution system comprising: a Direct Current bus (Fig. 1 DC bus) configured to operate at direct current (DC); a power source input electrically connected to the DC bus and configured for to receive an Alternating Current (AC) voltage from an AC source (Fig. 1 AC source connected to 1), wherein at least one of an electrical load (Fig. 1 DC-DC-AC 1,2) is electrically connected to the DC bus and configured to operate at DC and an additional power source electrically connected to the DC bus, wherein a first power converter (Fig. 1 1 AC-DC-DC) is electrically connected to the DC bus and the power source input, wherein the first power converter is configured to convert AC received at the power source input to DC for the DC bus, wherein the second power converter (Fig. 1 2) is electrically connected to the DC bus and the electrical load or to the DC bus and the additional power source, wherein the second power converter is configured to convert DC from the DC bus to DC or to convert DC or AC from the additional power source to DC, and wherein the first power converter and/or the second power converter comprise a converter (Fig. 3a converter) based on solid state transformer (SST) technology, and wherein the power of the first power converter is lower than (Fig. 1 requires plural sources to power the load) the electric load connected to the DC bus, thereby introducing a load factor smaller than 1 (Fig. 1 average divided by peak < 1). Duan does not require a controller communicatively connected to each of the first power converter and the second power converter, wherein the controller is configured to control each of the first power converter and the second power converter.
Thirumurthy discloses a controller (Fig. 6 606) communicatively connected to each of the power generators (Fig. 6 618-626), wherein the controller is configured to control each of the power generators. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to implement a controller communicatively connected to each of the first power converter and the second power converter, wherein the controller is configured to control each of the first power converter and the second power converter, in order to optimize the capacity of the power converters.
With respect to claim 2, Duan in view of Thirumurthy make obvious the DC distribution system according to claim 1, wherein the first power converter comprises the converter based on SST technology (paragraph 30, solid state transformer).
With respect to claim 3, Duan in view of Thirumurthy make obvious the DC distribution system according to claim 2, wherein the first power converter comprises, in series: a first AC/DC converter (Fig. 3a AC\DC on AC side) configured to rectify the AC voltage to a DC voltage and provide the DC voltage to a DC/AC converter (Fig. 3a DC\AC); the DC/AC converter configured to convert the DC voltage to a converted AC voltage, which is lower (Fig. 3a AC connection is high voltage side, DC connection is low voltage side) than the AC voltage from the AC source, and configured to provide the converted AC voltage to the SST technology (Fig. 3a high frequency transformer); the SST technology configured to drop the AC voltage to a predetermined value and configured to provide the dropped AC voltage to a second AC/DC converter (Fig. 3a AC\DC on DC side); and the second AC/DC converter configured to provide a regulated DC voltage to the DC bus.
With respect to claim 5, Duan in view of Thirumurthy make obvious the DC distribution system according to claim 1, wherein the second power converter comprises the converter based on SST technology (paragraph 30, SST).
With respect to claim 10, Duan in view of Thirumurthy make obvious the DC distribution system according to claim 1 as set forth above, comprising a virtual power plant (VVP) (Thirumurthy column 11, lines 14-16) connected to the controller and to an open power market (Fig. 6 602-612), and configured to provide use information to the controller.
With respect to claim 11, Duan in view of Thirumurthy make obvious the DC distribution system according to claim 1, comprising a fleet management controller (Fig. 6 602-612) connected to the controller and configured to manage charging of a fleet of electric vehicles (Fig. 6 616).
With respect to claim 12, Duan in view of Thirumurthy make obvious the DC distribution system according to claim 1 as set forth above, and Duan remains silent as to the load.
Thirumurthy discloses wherein the electric load includes an electric vehicle charger (Fig. 6 616), an electric trolley system, and/or building loads (Fig. 6 614). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention wherein the electric load includes an electric vehicle charger, an electric trolley system, and/or building loads, in order to optimize the power capacity to the loads.
With respect to claim 13, Duan in view of Thirumurthy make obvious the DC distribution system according to claim 1, wherein the power source input is connected to an AC grid (Fig. 1 AC symbol), to an AC power generator and/or to a mechanical power source, and/or wherein one or more additional power sources are electrically connected to the DC bus, wherein the one or more additional power sources include solar panels (Fig. 1 PV), wind turbines (Fig. 1 wind symbol), and/or energy storages (Fig. 1 battery).
With respect to claim 14, Duan in view of Thirumurthy make obvious a power convertor for use in a DC distribution system according to claim 1, wherein the power convertor comprises, in series: a first AC/DC converter (Fig. 3a AC\DC on AC side) configured to rectify an AC voltage to a DC voltage and provide the DC voltage to a DC/AC converter (Fig. 3a DC\AC); the DC/AC converter configured to convert the DC voltage to a converted AC voltage, which is lower (Fig. 3a DC\AC converts high voltage side to low voltage side) than the AC voltage from the AC source, and configured to provide the converted AC voltage to a SST technology (Fig. 3a high frequency transformer); the SST technology configured to drop (Fig. 3a voltage drop from high voltage side to low voltage side) the AC voltage to a predetermined value and provide the dropped AC voltage to a second AC/DC converter (Fig. 3a AC\DC on DC side); and the second AC/DC converter configured to output a regulated DC voltage.
With respect to claim 15, Duan in view of Thirumurthy make obvious the DC distribution system according to claim 2, wherein the first power converter comprises, in series: a first AC/DC converter (Fig. 3a AC\DC on the AC side) configured to rectify the AC voltage to a DC voltage and provide the DC voltage to a DC/AC converter (Fig. 3a DC\AC); the DC/AC converter configured to convert the DC voltage to a converted AC voltage and configured to provide the converted AC voltage to the SST technology (Fig. 3a high frequency transformer); the SST technology configured to drop (Fig. 3a converts from high voltage side to low voltage side) the AC voltage to a predetermined value and configured to provide the dropped AC voltage to a second AC/DC converter (Fig. 3a AC\DC on DC side); and the second AC/DC converter configured to provide a regulated DC voltage to the DC bus.
With respect to claim 17, Duan in view of Thirumurthy make obvious the DC distribution system according to claim 15, wherein the DC bus is operating at a low voltage DC (paragraph 5, low voltage direct current side).
With respect to claim 18, Duan in view of Thirumurthy make obvious the DC distribution system according to claim 3, wherein the DC bus is operating at a low voltage DC (paragraph 5, low voltage direct current side).
With respect to claim 21, Duan in view of Thirumurthy make obvious the DC distribution system according to claim 5, wherein the DC bus is operating at a MV or LV DC (paragraph 5, low voltage direct current side).
With respect to claim 22, Duan in view of Thirumurthy make obvious the DC distribution system according to claim 1, comprising a virtual power plant (VVP) (Thirumurthy column 11, lines 14-16) connected to the controller and to an open power market (Fig. 6 602-612). Thirumurthy remains silent as to the open power market including a frequency containment reserve (FCR) market, and configured to provide use information to the controller. It was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect to an open power market including a frequency containment reserve (FCR) market, and configured to provide use information to the controller. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect to an open power market including a frequency containment reserve (FCR) market, and configured to provide use information to the controller, in order to stabilize the frequency of the grid.
Claim(s) 4, 6-8, 16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan (CN 104578046) in view of Thirumurthy (US 11,399,065) and in view of Zhang (US 2023/0396063).
With respect to claim 4, Duan in view of Thirumurthy make obvious the DC distribution system according to claim 3 as set forth above. Duan does not specify the voltage of the first AC/DC converter.
Zhang discloses a first power converter (Fig. 2 220) having a first AC/DC converter (Fig. 2 221), wherein the first AC/DC converter is configured to provide a low voltage (LV) DC to the DC/AC converter (paragraph 54, AC/DC converter 221configured to convert the alternating-current mains electricity received by the rectifier module 220 into a low-voltage direct current). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the first AC/DC converter is configured to provide a low voltage (LV) DC to the DC/AC converter, in order to transform the available low voltage AC to the DC connection of the DC/AC converter.
With respect to claim 6, Duan in view of Thirumurthy make obvious the DC distribution system according to claim 5, wherein the second power converter (Fig. 1 DC-DC-AC converter 2) comprises, in series: a DC/AC converter (Fig. 3c DC\AC) configured to convert the DC voltage from the DC bus to a converted AC voltage, which is lower (Fig. 1 DC/AC converts from the low side) than the AC voltage (Fig. 1 AC voltage from high side) from the AC source, and configured to provide the converted AC voltage to the SST technology (Fig. 3c high frequency transformer); the SST technology configured convert the converted AC voltage to a predetermined value and configured to provide the converted AC voltage to a second AC/DC converter (Fig. 3c AC\DC); and the second AC/DC converter configured to provide a regulated DC voltage to the electrical load (Fig. 3c DC/DC and DC/AC load) Duan remains silent as to the voltage of the DC load.
Zhang discloses a second power converter (Fig. 1 122) with a DC/AC converter (Fig. 1 DC/AC in 122) with the SST technology (Fig. 1 high frequency transformer in 122) configured to drop the AC voltage to a predetermined value (Fig. 1 rectified 1000Vac dropped to produce 400 Vdc) and configured to provide the dropped AC voltage to a second AC/DC converter (Fig. 1 AC/DC converter in 122). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SST technology configured to drop the AC voltage to a predetermined value and configured to provide the dropped AC voltage to a second AC/DC converter, in order to lower the bus voltage to the load voltage.
With respect to claim 7, Duan in view of Thirumurthy and Zhang make obvious the DC distribution system according to claim 6, wherein the second power converter is configured to provide a low voltage (LV) DC (Zhang Fig. 1 400Vdc) to the electrical load.
With respect to claim 8, Duan in view of Thirumurthy make obvious the DC distribution system according to claim 5 as set forth above, wherein the first power converter comprises a first AC/DC converter (Fig. 3a AC\DC) configured to rectify the AC voltage. Duan remains silent as to the rectified voltage level.
Zhang discloses a first AC/DC converter (Fig. 2 221) configured to rectify the AC voltage (Fig. 2 100Vac) to a medium voltage (MV) DC or a low voltage (LV) voltage (Fig. 2 rectified 1000 Vac) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement to rectify the AC voltage to a medium voltage (MV) DC or a low voltage (LV) voltage, in order to provide the rectified voltage to the SST for conversion to the load voltage.
With respect to claim 16, Duan in view of Thirumurthy make obvious the DC distribution system according to claim 15 as set forth above, wherein the first power converter comprises a first AC/DC converter (Fig. 3a AC\DC) configured to rectify the AC voltage. Duan remains silent as to the rectified voltage level.
Zhang discloses a first AC/DC converter (Fig. 2 221) configured to rectify the AC voltage (Fig. 2 100Vac) to a medium voltage (MV) DC or a low voltage (LV) voltage (Fig. 2 rectified 1000 Vac) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the first AC/DC converter is configured to provide a low voltage (LV) DC to the DC/AC converter, in order to provide the rectified voltage to the SST for conversion to the load voltage.
With respect to claim 19, Duan in view of Thirumurthy make obvious the DC distribution system according to claim 5, wherein the second power converter comprises, in series: a DC/AC converter (Fig. 3c DC\AC on DC side) configured to convert the DC voltage from the DC bus to a converted AC voltage and configured to provide the converted AC voltage to the SST technology (Fig. 3c high frequency transformer); the SST technology configured to convert the AC voltage to a predetermined value and configured to provide the converted AC voltage to a second AC/DC converter (Fig. 3c AC\DC); and the second AC/DC converter configured to provide a regulated DC voltage to the electrical load (Fig. 3c DC/DC and DC/AC load). Duan remains silent as to the voltage level to provide to the load.
Zhang discloses a second power converter (Fig. 1 122) with a DC/AC converter (Fig. 1 DC/AC in 122) with the SST technology (Fig. 1 high frequency transformer in 122) configured to drop the AC voltage to a predetermined value (Fig. 1 rectified 1000Vac dropped to produce 400 Vdc) and configured to provide the dropped AC voltage to a second AC/DC converter (Fig. 1 AC/DC converter in 122). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SST technology configured to drop the AC voltage to a predetermined value and configured to provide the dropped AC voltage to a second AC/DC converter, in order to lower the bus voltage to the load voltage.
With respect to claim 20, Duan in view of Thirumurthy and Zhang make obvious the DC distribution system according to claim 19, wherein the second power converter is configured to provide a low voltage (LV) DC (Zhang Fig. 1 400 Vdc) to the electrical load.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARRY R BEHM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838