DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/26/2026
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 1/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the infrared illumination layer has a variable thickness” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 8. Claim 8 recites in part: “a high index coating.” The term “a high index coating” in claim 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “a high index coating” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes any refractive index will meet this limitation.
Regarding Claim 10. Claim recites the limitation " the infrared illumination layer " in. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes it will be interpreted as the illumination layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20200333615 A1 to Blomstedt et al.
Regarding Claim 1. Blomstedt discloses a display comprising: a waveguide having a first face and a second face (Fig. 1A waveguide 10), the first face disposed opposite the second face with respect to the waveguide (See Fig. 1A); an in-coupling grating disposed on the first face (Fig. 1A in-coupling grating 31), the in-coupling grating configured to couple light into the waveguide to propagate internally reflected light in a first direction (As shown in Fig. 1A and Fig. 3); and a plurality of out-coupling gratings disposed on at least one of the first face and the second face (Fig. 1A), the plurality of out-coupling gratings configured to receive the internally reflected light and to couple the internally reflected light out of the waveguide (as shown in Fig. 1A).
Regarding Claim 2. Blomstedt further discloses a spreader disposed on at least one of the first face and the second face of the waveguide (Fig. 3 exit pupil expander (EPE) grating 32), the spreader configured to propagate the internally reflected light in the first direction and to further propagate the internally reflected light in a second, different direction (as shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 9. Blomstedt further discloses the waveguide corresponds to an illumination layer (See Fig. 1A).
Regarding Claim 14. Blomstedt further discloses a visible light waveguide, the visible light waveguide configured to present digital content (See Fig. 1A and para 27).
Regarding Claim 15. Blomstedt further discloses the internally reflected light coupled out of the waveguide comprises out-coupled light (See Fig. 1A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blomstedt as applied to claim 2 in view of US 20180210205 A1 to Grey.
Regarding Claim 3. As stated above, Blomstedt discloses all the limitations of base claim 2.
Blomstedt does not specifically disclose at least one nano-pattern selected from lines, meta-grating, holes, and pillars.
However, Grey discloses an optical expander wherein at least one nano-pattern selected from lines, meta-grating, holes, and pillars (See at least Fig. 4) as the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP2143(I)(B), KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include that at least one nano-pattern selected from lines, meta-grating, holes, and pillars.
Claims 5-8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blomstedt as applied to claim 1 in view of US 20190056591 A1 to Tervo et al.
Regarding Claim 5. As stated above, Blomstedt discloses all the limitations of base claim 1.
Blomstedt does not specifically disclose a width of each out-coupling grating of the plurality of out-coupling gratings is approximately equal to a width of the in-coupling grating.
However, Tervo discloses parameters associated with a grating structure may include, but are not limited to, grating period, grating line width, grating fill factor, grating depth, slant angle, line shape, surface pattern, and modulation direction to achieve a desired purpose or function is well understood in the art. (See para 37). The width of each out-coupling grating and the width of the in-coupling grating are result-effective variables. In that, it is well understood in the art to optimize to achieve a desired purpose or function.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include that a width of each out-coupling grating of the plurality of out-coupling gratings is approximately equal to a width of the in-coupling grating. Furthermore, it has been held that that determining the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05 (II (A) and (B)).
Regarding Claim 6. Tervo further discloses the plurality of out-coupling gratings comprises at least one nano-pattern selected from lines, meta-grating, holes, pillars, saw-tooth, slanted, and multi-tier (See at least Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 7. Tervo further discloses the in-coupling grating comprises at least one nano-pattern selected from lines, meta-grating, holes, pillars, saw-tooth, slanted, and multi-tier (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 8. Tervo further discloses a high index coating disposed on at least one of a surface of the in-coupling grating and a surface of an out-coupling grating of the plurality of out-coupling gratings (Fig. 4B coating 405a, para 42 to improve diffraction efficiency).
Regarding Claim 17. Tervo further discloses the plurality of out-coupling gratings comprises at least one of a surface relief grating, a liquid crystal grating, and a volume phase grating.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blomstedt as applied to claim 9 in view of US 20190056591 A1 to Tervo et al.
Regarding Claim 10. As stated above, Blomstedt discloses all the limitations of base claim 9.
Blomstedt does not specifically disclose the infrared illumination layer has a variable thickness.
However, Tervo discloses a waveguide with variable thickness (See at least Fig. 3). as the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP2143(I)(B), KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include that the infrared illumination layer has a variable thickness.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blomstedt as applied to claim 1 in view of US 10962787 B1 to Lou et al.
Regarding Claim 13. As stated above, Blomstedt discloses all the limitations of base claim 1.
Blomstedt further discloses a first out-coupling grating of the plurality of out-coupling gratings is disposed a first distance away from the in-coupling grating (as shown in Fig. 1A), a second out-coupling grating of the plurality of out-coupling gratings is disposed a second distance away from the in-coupling grating (as shown in Fig. 1A), wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance (See Fig. 1A)
Blomstedt does not specifically disclose the first out-coupling grating exhibits a first diffraction efficiency and the second out-coupling grating exhibits a second diffraction efficiency greater than the first efficiency.
However, Lou discloses a waveguide with variable tooth height (See at least Fig. 7A) where the diffraction efficiency of the depth-modulated slanted tooth surface relief grating significantly increases as the grating depth increases (See Col 10 lines 23-25). as the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP2143(I)(B), KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include that the first out-coupling grating exhibits a first diffraction efficiency and the second out-coupling grating exhibits a second diffraction efficiency greater than the first efficiency.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blomstedt as applied to claim 15 in view of US 20210041692 A1 to Zhang et al.
Regarding Claim 16. As stated above, Blomstedt discloses all the limitations of base claim 15.
Blomstedt does not specifically disclose a light sensor, the light sensor configured to detect at least a portion of the out-coupled light that is reflected off an eye of a user.
However, Zhang discloses a light sensor, the light sensor configured to detect at least a portion of the out-coupled light that is reflected off an eye of a user (See at least Fig. 2, Fig. 7 and para 25). as the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP2143(I)(B), KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include a light sensor, the light sensor configured to detect at least a portion of the out-coupled light that is reflected off an eye of a user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/EDMOND C LAU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871