DETAILED ACTION
Application and Claims Status
Claims 47-66 were pending. In the amendment as filed on 8/5/2026, applicants have amended claims 47-64; cancelled claims 65-66; and added no new claims. Therefore, claims 47-64 are currently pending and claims 47-64 are examined herein.
Specification
The objection to the specification (abstract) is withdrawn based on Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Objections
The objections to claims 48-55, 58-61, and 63-66 due to various minor informalities are withdrawn based on Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
The rejection of claims 64-66 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn based on Applicant’s amendments. Applicant has removed the phrases: “an SOS1-mediated disease or disorder,” “a disease or disorder caused by the interaction of SOS1 with Ras or SOS1 with Rac,” and “a KRAS-mediated disease or disorder”.
The rejection of claim 65 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for lack of antecedent basis is withdrawn based on Applicant’s cancellation of the claim.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112(a)
The rejection of claims 47-66 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) (Written Description) is withdrawn based on Applicant’s amendments. Specifically, Applicant has removed the term “prodrug” from all claims containing this term.
The rejection of claims 64-66 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) (Enablement for Cancer) is withdrawn based on Applicant’s amendments. Specifically, Applicant has amended their claim to recite the short list of enabled cancer, which are “pancreatic cancer, lung cancer, or colorectal cancer”, for which Applicant has provided support in their specification (Table 1, pages 284-286; Table 2, pages 286-287).
The rejection of claims 64-66 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) (Enablement for “SOS1 mediated disease or disorder”, etc. generally) is withdrawn based on Applicant’s amendments. Specifically, Applicant has removed the phrases “an SOS1-mediated disease or disorder”, “a disease or disorder caused by the interaction of SOS1 with Ras or SOS1 with Rac”, and “a KRAS-mediated disease or disorder” from claim 64.
The rejection of claims 64-66 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) (Scope of Enablement – Prevention) is withdrawn based on Applicant’s arguments. Applicant argues that “in the present application, ‘treating/treatment’ and ‘preventing/prevention’ are two independent and mutually exclusive definitions”. This is found persuasive.
Double Patenting
The provisional rejection of claims 47-61, 63-66 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 29-30, 45-48 of copending Application No. 18/556,862 is withdrawn because reference claims 29-30, and 45-48 that contained overlapping subject matter have been cancelled from Application No. 18/556,862. The new claims of 18/556,862 do not overlap in subject matter with the claims of the instant application.
The provisional rejection of claims 47-61, 63-66 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1-4, 6-11 of copending Application No. 19/119,798 is maintained because there are still outstanding rejections.
Claim 47-61, 63-66 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1-4, 6-11 of copending Application No. 19/119,798 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Reference claims 1 and 5 teach a genus and species, respectively, that read on the genus of instant claim 1. Reference claim 1 teaches the following S components:
; linkers L embraced by the LA notation of instant claim 1; and the following E components, as examples:
Further, reference claim 6 teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising the same, which overlaps in scope with instant claim 63. Reference claims 7-8 teach a method of use in treating an SOS-1 mediated disorder, or a cancer with the reference compounds, which overlaps in scope with instant claim 64. Reference claim 11 teaches a method of use for the treatment of a KRAS-mediated disease, wherein the KRAS mutant is one or more of KRAS G12C, KRAS G12D, GRAS G13D, and GRAS G12V, which reads on instant claims 65-66.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented
New Objections/Rejections
(Not Necessitated by Claim Amendment)
Claim Objections
Claim 47 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In the limitation of R3”, the “1-3 halogens” should be amended to recite either “1 to 3 halogens” or “1, 2, or 3 halogens”. Appropriate correction is required.
The image of S7a’ is blurry and illegible. For instance, what is the R group between the thiophene and aniline NH? Appropriate correction is required.
The word “and” should be between the limitations of R7 an R8 so as to recite “R7 is C1-C6 alkyl; and…”
Claim 50 is objected to because of the following informality: the image of S7a” is blurry and illegible. For instance, what is the letter associated with the substituent of the phenyl bring? Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 54 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The image of LA is blurry and illegible.
After the term “X” is -C(O)-;” and before point (3), the word “or” should be inserted.
The claim recites the following terms with both brackets and underlines: “LA[[-2]]”, “LA[[-3]]”, and “LA[[-4]]”. The combined bracketed and underlined notation makes it unclear if Applicant is trying to remove the bracketed term, or keep the bracketed terms. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 55 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Again, there is combined bracketed and underlined notation in the claim (e.g. “[[LA-2]](1)”) that needs to be corrected for clarity. Applicant should amend all occurrences. Appropriate correction is required.
At the bottom of page 9, in the definition of L3, Applicant has previously amended the claim to provide strikethroughs for all instances of L3 that contain the k’ and k’’ variable. However, Applicant has missed the following compound, which also needs to be removed with a strikethrough:
Claim 62 is objected to because of the following informality: commas should be separating each of the claimed species, and additionally, the word “or” should be inserted between the last two species of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 64 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 64 is rejected as vague and indefinite. The current claim recites “a method for treating a cancer…comprising: administering the compound, or the stereoisomer, the enantiomer, the diastereomer, the deuteride, the hydrate, the solvate, or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof according to claim 47…”. Is Applicant administering any amount (which could be suboptimal and have no therapeutic benefit), or a therapeutically effective amount? Examiner recommends adding a “therapeutically effective amount” into the claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 47-53, 55, 58-61, and 63-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
This is a written description rejection.
The analysis for adequate written description considers the following:
(a) Actual reduction to practice;
(b) Disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas;
(c) Sufficient relevant identifying characteristics, such as (i) complete/partial structure, (ii) physical and/or chemical properties, and (iii) functional characteristics when coupled with known or disclosed correlation with structure; and
(d) Representative number of samples.
A lack of adequate written description issue arises if the knowledge and level of skill in the art would not permit one skilled in the art to immediately envisage the product claimed from the disclosed process. See, e.g., Fujikawa v. Wattanasin, 93 F.3d 1559, 1571,39 USPQ2d 1895, 1905 (Fed. Cir. 1996) (a "laundry list" disclosure of every possible moiety does not constitute a written description of every species in a genus because it would not "reasonably lead" those skilled in the art to any particular species); In re Ruschig, 379 F.2d 990, 995, 154 USPQ 118, 123 (CCPA 1967).
An applicant may also show that an invention is complete by disclosure of sufficiently detailed, relevant identifying characteristics which provide evidence that applicant was in possession of the claimed invention, i.e., complete or partial structure, other physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or some combination of such characteristics.
In particular, the specification as originally filed fails to provide sufficient written description on the bases of any of the agents demonstrating wherein possession of use of the following formula of LA of claim 47:
Claim 47 recites Formula I comprising a vast variety of subgenus alternatives of binding moiety linker, degron moieties, and/or combination thereof, wherein the Markush grouping embraces different chemical species that do not belong to the same recognized chemical class and/or do not share substantial structural similarity. It is noted ring A, B, C, X’’, X’’’, L3, could be a bond or variety of groups, e.g. S(O), S(O2)-, etc. such that instant claimed LA moiety:
,
comprising combinations of ring A, B, C, X’’, X’’’ and L3 do not share substantial structural similarity.
Instant claims 47-53, 55, 58-61, and 63-64 recite linker moiety comprising variety of subgroups further substituted with different groups and combination thereof, wherein the combination of linker groups do not belong to the same recognized chemical class and/or share substantial structural feature, e.g.
,
.
The claims lack written description because the genus of LA has substantial variance while the specification lacks sufficient variety of species to reflect the variance within the genus, and because of the lack of common structural attributes of the claimed genus, combined with a correlation between structure and function. Since there is only minimal structure similarity to the Markush alternative of compounds of Formula I, one can conclude that the instantly claimed compounds are substantially structurally different. Further, there is no common use that flows from the shared structure features. Instant claimed compound species exhibit variety of inhibitory activity in 3D cell proliferation assay of different KRAS mutant human cell, ranging from <=50 nM to >=100 nM, to not detected (See instant Table 1, pages 284-286), which further attest common use is not fully established from the shared minimal common structure.
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
A "representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure "indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us]."
Thus, claims 47-53, 55, 58-61, and 63-64 are rejected under 35 USC 112(a), (Written Description).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 47-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan et al. (WO 2022/061348 A1, published March 24, 2022, effectively filed September 16, 2020, cited on IDS filed 2/12/2024)(hereinafter, ‘Chan’) in view of Arista et al. (WO 2021053495 A1, published March 25, 2021)(hereinafter, ‘Arista’).
Regarding bifunctional degrader targeting at SOS1 protein (son of sevenless homolog 1), Chan teaches compound of Formula I to XV, or an enantiomer, solvate, hydrate, pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof and pharmaceutical composition thereof, comprising SOS1 protein binding moiety, linker moiety (L) and ubiquitin ligase-binding moiety RE, as modulators of SOS1 protein through SOS1 degradation/inhibition for treating disease/disorder mediated by SOS1 or Ras (e.g. cancer, etc.) (See abstract; page 2, [0007]-[0082], [00110], Examples A1 to A70, claims 1-159).
Regarding instantly claimed SOS1 binding moiety as recited in instant claims 47-51, Chan teaches a variety of embodiments as SOS1 binding moieties (See [00110]-[00116]):
Of particular note, Formula XXIV-c of Chan reads on the S moiety of instant claims.
Regarding linker moieties recited in instant claims 47, 52-57, Chan teaches embodiments comprising a variety of linker groups and combinations thereof (See [0275]-[00305]):
Of particular note, RL of Chan reads on instant L3 and rings A, B, and C; and ZL of Chan reads on X” and X’” of instant claims.
Furthermore, Chan teaches embodiments comprising 3,9-diazaspiro[5.5]undecane
,
,
,
, etc. that read on instant recited ring A, B, C, and combination thereof, e.g.
,
(See [00297]-[00298], [00302]-[00305]).
Regarding the small molecule ligand of an E3 ubiquitin ligase complex and instant claims 58-61, Chan teaches embodiments comprising variety of RE as CRBN E3 binding moiety, e.g. EC-I, EC-II, etc. (See [00120]-[00123], [00159], [00165]):
.
Regarding claim 62, Chan teaches bifunctional compound species comprising SOS1 binding moiety and linker moiety that are similar to instant claimed moiety, e.g. A15, A16, A19, etc.
Regarding claim 63, Chan teaches pharmaceutical composition comprising compound of formula I and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient (See [0008],[00320], claims 141-145).
Regarding claim 64, Chan teaches a method of treating cancer (claims 150-154).
The difference between the compounds of Chan and the instantly claimed compounds is the combination of linker moiety and the ubiquitin ligase-binding moiety.
Arista teaches bifunctional compound of Formula I, or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, comprising various protein binding moiety, linker moiety (L) and ubiquitin ligase-binding moiety for treating disease/disorder mediated by various target proteins (e.g. cancer, etc.) (See abstract; page 2, lines 11-26; claims 1-209):
.
Arista teaches variety of Targeting Ligase Binder, e.g. TLB-I to TLB-IX, etc. (See page 2, line 22 to page 8, lines 1-13):
Of particular note, ligase binder TLB-IX, wherein Rd6 is H, halogen, C1-6 alkyl, C1-6 alkoxyl, etc. reads on instant E moiety recited in instant claims 58-61.
Arista teaches a variety of linker moieties (See page 8, lines 14 to 27):
Arista teaches linker moiety that are similar to instantly claimed linker moiety (See page 9, lines 10-17):
..
Arista also teaches Targeting Ligase Binder-Linker, e.g. TLB-L-I to TLB-L-IX (See page 10, lines 17-22 to page 24, lines 1-10):
(See page 28, line 5).
Arista teaches various embodiments comprising targeting ligase binder-Linker that read on instant E moiety and very similar to instant linker moiety (See page 301, 302, etc.):
.
Arista teaches bifunctional compound BF-IV, BF-V-A, BF-V-B, etc. comprising the targeting ligand, the linker moiety, and the targeting ligase binder (See page 29, lines 3-23; page 30, lines 12-22; page 31, lines 1-26):
Arista teaches various targeting ligand, e.g. ARAF, BRAF, KRAS, KRAS G12V/C/D etc. (See Table 1 starting from page 34). It is noted the targeting ligand KRAS read on instant SOS1 which is associated/interacted with KRAS pathway.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of instant application to explore more SOS1 modulator/inhibitor comprising SOS1 binding moiety, linker moiety, and ULM moiety, based on the combined teachings of Chan and Arista, together with optimization based on general knowledge of structure similarity and bioisosteric modification for SAR study of bifunctional degraders, in order to arrive at instantly claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success. At the time the instant invention was made, it was already known that bifunctional SOS1 modulator comprising SOS binding moiety, linker moiety, ULM moiety targeting at SOS1 degradation, e.g.
could be made, as taught by Chan. Arista further teaches variety of ubiquitin binding moiety, linker groups and combination thereof, e.g.
,
that could combine with various targeting ligand, including KRAS that is associated with SOS1.
According to M.P.E.P. § 2144.09, a prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). A skilled artisan would be motivated to further explore more bifunctional SOS1 modulators based on combined teachings of Chan and Arista, and reasonably expect further exploration/optimization together with general knowledge of structure similarity and bioisosteric modification would provide more alternative bifunctional compounds as SOS1/KRAS modulator. The exploration of different linker moiety and attachment for the targeting ligand moiety and ULM moiety based on general knowledge of structural similarity and bioisosteric modification are within the knowledge of ordinary skilled in the art as illustrated in Chan and Arista.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention based on the combined teachings of prior art and general knowledge of structure similarity/bioisosteric modification and proteasome-mediated degradation of targeting protein. Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
/L.A.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1624
/SUSANNA MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1624