Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed December 12, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-15 are pending. Claims 1, 8, 10 and 12-13 have been amended by the Applicant. Applicant’s amendments have overcome claim objections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al, US 11756755 [Huang] in view of Zhang, CN204720401.
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses (figs.1-15) an operating mechanism, comprising an operating mechanism housing (1), and a second operating shaft assembly (2), a second transmission structure (11), an energy storage structure (7, 8) and a power output structure (4) which are respectively disposed in the operating mechanism housing (1), where the second operating shaft assembly (2) is in driving fit with the second transmission structure (11); the second operating shaft assembly (2) rotates around an axis of the second operating shaft assembly (2) to drive the second transmission structure (11) to reciprocate; the energy storage structure (7, 8) comprises an energy storage shaft (6) and a second energy storage spring structure (7, 8);
one end of the second energy storage spring structure (7, 8) is in driving connection to the energy storage shaft (6) while the other end of the second energy storage spring structure (7, 8) is arranged rotatably; the second transmission structure (11) is in driving fit with the energy storage shaft (6) to drive the energy storage shaft to rotate, so that the second energy storage spring structure (7, 8) stores energy; the second energy storage spring structure (7, 8) releases energy after turning past a second dead center position to drive the energy storage shaft (6) to rotate; the energy storage shaft (6) comprises an energy storage shaft gear (10).
Huang fails to explicitly disclose the power output structure comprises a power output gear shaft; and the energy storage shaft gear is engaged with the power output gear shaft to drive the power output gear shaft to rotate.
Zhang discloses (figs.1-5) a circuit breaker comprising an operating mechanism where a power output structure (4) comprises a power output gear shaft; and the energy storage shaft gear (9) is engaged with the power output gear (7) shaft to drive the power output gear (7) shaft to rotate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the operating mechanism of Huang with the teaching of the operating mechanism of Zhang, thereby providing an operating mechanism making the contact system under the effect of elastic energy storage assembly, there is larger closing speed and good connection performance.
Regarding claim 2, Huang and Zhang further disclose where a gear radius of the energy storage shaft gear (10) is greater than a gear (9) radius of the power output gear shaft.
Regarding claim 3, Huang and Zhang further disclose, where the second transmission structure (11) comprises a second transmission rack (1103); the second operating shaft assembly (2) comprises a second operating shaft (2), and a second drive gear (9) which is disposed on the second operating shaft (2) and rotates synchronously with the second operating shaft (2); and the second drive gear (9) is engaged with the second transmission rack (1103); and the second transmission structure (11) further comprises a second transmission structure driving portion (1102); the second transmission structure driving portion (1102) is a second driving finger which extends and protrudes to the energy storage shaft (6); the energy storage shaft (6) further comprises a second driven structure, the second driven structure comprising two energy storage shaft force-loading sides (603) spaced from each other; and the second transmission structure driving portion is located between the two energy storage shaft force-loading sides (603), and cooperates with the two energy storage shaft force-loading sides (603) respectively to drive the energy storage shaft (6) to rotate in two opposite directions.
Regarding claim 5, Huang and Zhang further disclose, where the energy storage shaft (6) further comprises an energy storage shaft body (603); the energy storage shaft gear (10) is a sector gear and is located at one radial end of the energy storage shaft body (603); two energy storage shaft force-loading sides are located at the other radial end of the energy storage shaft body; and two energy storage shaft connecting columns (601) are spaced on an axial end of the energy storage shaft body (603) in parallel.
Regarding claim 6, Huang and Zhang further disclose, where the operating mechanism comprises two symmetrical energy storage shafts (6, 14), and two symmetrical power output gear shafts (3, 15); and the energy storage shaft gears of the two energy storage shafts (6, 14) are engaged with the two power output gear shafts (3, 15), respectively.
Regarding claim 7, Huang and Zhang further disclose, where the power output structure (4) further comprises an output structure bracket [Huang, see.fig.3} which is disposed in the operating mechanism housing (1) and fixedly connected to the operating mechanism housing (1); and two power output gear shafts (3, 15) are rotatably disposed on both sides of the output structure bracket {fig.3] respectively, and each power output gear shaft (3, 15) is located between the output structure bracket and the operating mechanism housing (1).
Regarding claim 8, Huang and Zhang further disclose, where the output structure bracket [Huang, see figs.3 and 5] comprises an operating shaft mounting hole formed in a middle of the output structure bracket, and a second operating shaft (2) of the second operating shaft assembly (2) is rotatably inserted in the operating shaft mounting hole.
Regarding claim 9, Huang and Zhang further disclose, where the output structure bracket [Huang, figs.3 and 5] comprises two single-sided structural brackets [figs.3 and 5] that are opposed to cooperate with each other; and the two single-sided structural brackets are fixedly connected to a pair of opposite sidewalls [Huang, figs.9-10] of the operating mechanism housing (1), respectively.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang and Zhang and further in view of Zheng et al, CN 209104016 [Zheng].
Regarding claim 4, Huang and Zhang fail to explicitly disclose wherein the energy storage shaft further comprises an energy storage shaft connecting column disposed on an axial end of the energy storage shaft; the second energy storage spring structure comprises a second energy storage spring, a spring supporting rod, a spring supporting seat and a limiting shaft; the spring supporting seat is fixedly disposed on the operating mechanism housing; one end of the spring supporting rod is rotatably connected to the energy storage shaft connecting column, while the other end of the spring supporting rod passes through the spring supporting seat and is then connected to the limiting shaft; the limiting shaft is in limiting fit with the spring supporting seat to prevent the spring supporting rod from detaching from the spring supporting seat; the second energy storage spring is disposed to sleeve the spring supporting rod, and two ends of the second energy storage spring are in elastic contact with the spring supporting rod and the spring supporting seat, respectively; the energy storage shaft rotates and drives the spring supporting rod to move relative to the spring supporting seat through the energy storage shaft connecting column, so that the second energy storage spring is compressed for energy storage; the energy storage shaft comprises two energy storage shaft connecting columns which are spaced form each other in parallel, and two sets of second energy storage spring structures are respectively disposed on two radial sides of the energy storage shaft and cooperate with the two energy storage shaft connecting columns, respectively; and the operating mechanism comprises two symmetrical energy storage shafts, and the spring supporting rods of the second energy storage spring structures are located between the two energy storage shafts and rotatably connected to the corresponding the two energy storage shaft connecting columns of the two energy storage shafts.
Zheng discloses (figs.40-51) an operating mechanism where the energy storage shaft (4) further comprises an energy storage shaft connecting column (31) disposed on an axial end of the energy storage shaft (4); a second energy storage spring structure (42) comprises a second energy storage spring (44), a spring supporting rod (43a, 43b), a spring supporting seat (432) and a limiting shaft (pin); the spring supporting seat (432) is fixedly disposed on an operating mechanism housing (32, 33); one end of the spring supporting rod (43a, 43b) is rotatably connected to the energy storage shaft connecting column (31), while the other end of the spring supporting rod (43a, 43b) passes through the spring supporting seat (432) and is then connected to the limiting shaft (pin); the limiting shaft (pin) is in limiting fit with the spring supporting seat (432) to prevent the spring supporting rod (43a, 43b) from detaching from the spring supporting seat (432); the second energy storage spring (44) is disposed to sleeve the spring supporting rod (43a, 43b), and two ends of the second energy storage spring (44) are in elastic contact with the spring supporting rod (43a, 43b) and the spring supporting seat (432), respectively; the energy storage shaft (4) rotates and drives the spring supporting rod (43a, 43b) to move relative to the spring supporting seat (432) through the energy storage shaft connecting column (31), so that the second energy storage spring (44) is compressed for energy storage; the energy storage shaft (4) comprises two energy storage shaft connecting columns (46) which are spaced form each other in parallel, and two sets of second energy storage spring structures (42) are respectively disposed on two radial sides of the energy storage shaft (4) and cooperate with the two energy storage shaft connecting columns (46), respectively; and the operating mechanism comprises two symmetrical energy storage shafts (46), and the spring supporting rods (43a, 43b) of the second energy storage spring structures (42) are located between the two energy storage shafts (46) and rotatably connected to the corresponding the two energy storage shaft connecting columns (46) of the two energy storage shafts (46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the operating mechanism of Huang with the teaching of the operating mechanism of Zheng, thereby providing a drive device that is miniature in size, easy to assembly, reliable and ensure rapid switching speed of the operating mechanism.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang and Zhang and further in view of Valivainio et al, US 9478373 [Valivainio].
Regarding claim 14, Huang and Zhang fail to explicitly disclose a switching device, comprising the operating mechanism (of Huang or Zhang) of claim 14; and wherein the switching device further comprises a conductive device which is in driving connection to the operating mechanism; the conductive device comprises a conductive device housing, and a contact system and an arc extinguishing system which are disposed in the conductive device housing and used in cooperation therewith; the contact system comprises a moving contact mechanism pivotally disposed on the conductive device housing, and a static contact cooperating with the moving contact mechanism; the operating mechanism is in driving connection to the moving contact mechanism and thus drives the moving contact mechanism to rotate, so that the moving contact mechanism and the static contact are closed or opened; and
the moving contact mechanism comprises a contact support which is disposed pivotally, and a moving contact assembly inserted in the contact support, wherein both ends of the contact support protrude out of two radial ends of the contact support; two static contacts are disposed on both sides of the moving contact mechanism to cooperate with both ends of the moving contact assembly; and the arc extinguishing system comprises two arc extinguishing chambers which are disposed on both sides of the contact system respectively, of claim 15.
Valivainio discloses (figs.1-3) a switching device, where the switching device further comprises a conductive device which is in driving connection to the operating mechanism; the conductive device comprises a conductive device housing (100), and a contact system (112, 114, 116) and an arc extinguishing system (120, 124) which are disposed in the conductive device housing (100) and used in cooperation therewith; the contact system (112, 114, 116) comprises a moving contact mechanism (110) pivotally disposed on the conductive device housing (110), and a static contact (114, 116) cooperating with the moving contact mechanism (110); the operating mechanism is in driving connection to the moving contact mechanism (110) and thus drives the moving contact mechanism (110) to rotate, so that the moving contact mechanism (110) and the static contact (114, 116) are closed or opened; and
the moving contact mechanism (110) comprises a contact support which is disposed pivotally, and a moving contact assembly (112) inserted in the contact support, where both ends of the contact support protrude out of two radial ends of the contact support; two static contacts (114, 116) are disposed on both sides of the moving contact mechanism (110) to cooperate with both ends of the moving contact assembly (112); and the arc extinguishing system comprises two arc extinguishing chambers (120), 124) which are disposed on both sides of the contact system (114, 116, 112) respectively, of claim 15.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the operating mechanism of Huang with the teaching of the switching device of Valivainio, thereby providing a circuit breaker with an automatic opening/closing function.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 10, the prior art fails to teach or show, alone or in combination, the claimed operating mechanism further comprises an auxiliary switch and an auxiliary switch driving structure which are disposed in the operating mechanism housing, respectively; the second operating shaft assembly further comprises an auxiliary drive gear which is disposed on a second operating shaft of the second operating shaft assembly and rotates synchronously therewith; the auxiliary switch driving structure comprises an auxiliary driven rack, and the auxiliary drive gear is engaged with the auxiliary driven rack; and the second operating shaft rotates to drive the auxiliary switch driving structure to move through a cooperation of the auxiliary drive gear and the auxiliary driven rack, so as to trigger the auxiliary switch.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM A BOLTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833