DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to Reply to Restriction Requirement received 8 September 2025.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-4, in the reply filed on 8 September 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 5-13 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a heat radiation member in claims 1 and 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuronuma et al. (US 2019/0257319 A1; hereinafter Kuronuma ‘319) in view of Kuronuma et al. (US 2019/0203724 A1; hereinafter Kuronuma ‘724).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Kuronuma ‘319 discloses a motor pump (Figure 1), comprising: an impeller [1] accommodating a permanent magnet [5]; a pump casing [2] accommodating the impeller [1]; a motor stator [6] having a plurality of stator coils [6B]; a motor casing [3] accommodating the motor stator [6]; a heat radiation member [20] closing an accommodation space (paragraph 0062: “interior of the motor casing 3” and paragraph 0067: “housing space”) formed in the motor casing [3]; and lead wires [17] connected to the stator coils [6B] and arranged in the accommodation space (paragraph 0062: “interior of the motor casing 3” and paragraph 0067: “housing space”); wherein the lead wires [17] are arranged radially outside a suction port [15] coupled to a liquid flow channel [14] formed in the motor casing [3] (paragraphs 0041-0042, 0046, 0053, 0062, 0066-0070, and Figures 1-2, 4A, and 7). Kuronuma ‘319 discloses terminals of the lead wires [17] being coupled to a drive circuit, but does not disclose how the terminals of the lead wires are coupled to the drive circuit, specifically not disclosing a substrate. Kuronuma ‘724, however, teaches a similar motor pump [20] comprising: an impeller [21] accommodating a permanent magnet [22]; a pump casing [24] accommodating the impeller [21]; a motor stator [23] having a plurality of stator coils [23b]; a motor casing [25] accommodating the motor stator [23]; a member [29] closing an accommodation space (see interior of motor casing [25]) formed in the motor casing [25]; and a substrate [23d] connected to the stator coils [23b] and arranged in the accommodation space (see interior of motor casing [25]); wherein the substrate [23d] is arranged radially outside a suction port [20a] coupled to a liquid flow channel (paragraph 0049: “a single fluid flow path”) formed in the motor casing [25] (paragraphs 0043, 0047-0049, 0057-0058, 0062, 0081-0082, and Figures 2-4). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Kuronuma ‘319’s motor pump to include a substrate connected to the stator coils and arranged radially outside the suction port in the accommodation space because Kuronuma ‘724 teaches that this configuration electrically connects the stator windings to the power supply (paragraph 0058). Additionally, it is notoriously well known in the art to utilize a substrate of a circuit board to mechanically hold and electrically connect electronic components.
Regarding claim 3, the modified Kuronuma ‘319 discloses the motor pump according to claim 1, wherein the substrate [23d of Kuronuma ‘724] is covered with a potting material [50] filled in the accommodation space (paragraph 0062: “interior of the motor casing 3” and paragraph 0067: “housing space”) (paragraph 0062 and Figures 1 and 7; wherein once the substrate [23d of Kuronuma ‘724] is arranged in the accommodation space of Kuronuma ‘319 for the reasons provided above, it directly follows that the substrate would be covered with the potting material [50]).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Kuronuma ‘319 discloses the motor pump according to claim 3, wherein the potting material [50] is filled in the accommodation space (paragraph 0062: “interior of the motor casing 3” and paragraph 0067: “housing space”), forming a gap (see “gap” in annotated Figure 7 below) adjacent to the heat radiation member [20] (paragraph 0062 and annotated Figure 7 below).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Pezzillo (US 2,535,695), Ihle et al. (US 2010/0158723 A1), and Miyasaka (US 2019/0234425 A1) which disclose similar motor pumps.
/AUDREY B. WALTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746