DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendments to the claims filed on 20 January 2026. Claims 1 – 4 are pending and currently being examined.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a heat radiation member” in claim Claims 1 and 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Re Claim 1, this claim recites the limitation “the stator core” in Lines 10 – 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of prior art analysis, the limitation a stator core will be assumed instead.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang (PG Pub US 20150044076 A1).
Annotated Figure 3 of Huang
In Re Claim 1, Huang discloses a motor pump (the disclosed fan in the title is a motor driven air pump), comprising: an impeller (2) accommodating a permanent magnet (see annotated figure above; this is a well known component that is located in the hub 218); a pump casing (a casing is part of any conventional centrifugal fan that has an inlet and outlet disclosed in paragraph [0057]) accommodating the impeller (2); a motor stator (12) having a plurality of stator coils (paragraph [0061]: “plurality of coils”); a motor casing (4) accommodating the motor stator (paragraph [0068]: “The motor 1 is disposed on the base 4”); a heat radiation member (13; paragraph [0069]: “frame 13 is made of metal material such as, for example but not limited to, copper, iron, aluminum, or any metal with high thermal conductivity”) closing an accommodation space (133) formed in the motor casing (4), the heat radiation member (13) being arranged between the motor casing (4) and a suction port (where A3 flows into in Figure 4; paragraph [0067] describes flow A3); a substrate (14; paragraph [0061]) connected to the stator coils (paragraph [0063]: “the coils winding around the pole arms 121 are electrically connected to the first circuit board 14”) and arranged in the accommodation space (133); and a heat transfer ring (131; note that it is an integral part of / one piece construction with heat radiation member 13, and is therefore capable of heat transfer to the radiation member 13) mounted on the substrate (see annotated figure above; paragraph [0063]: “ the first circuit board 14 is telescoped to the bushing 131”) between the heat radiation member (13) and a stator core (121; Figure 6A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuronuma (PG Pub US 20190257319 A1) in view of Huang (PG Pub US 20150044076 A1).
In Re Claim 1, Kuronuma discloses a motor pump (title; Figure 1), comprising: an impeller (1) accommodating a permanent magnet (5); a pump casing (2) accommodating the impeller (1); a motor stator (6) having a plurality of stator coils (6b); a motor casing (3) accommodating the motor stator (6); a heat radiation member (20a/20) closing an accommodation space (paragraph [0062]: “interior of the motor casing 3”; paragraph [0067]: “housing space”) formed in the motor casing (3), the heat radiation member (20) being arranged between the motor casing (3) and a suction port (15); a substrate (paragraph [0053]: “drive circuit” is known to be a circuit board) connected to the stator coils (paragraph [0053]: “Three lead wires 17 (see FIG. 2) are coupled to the stator coils 6B, and terminals of the lead wires 17 are coupled to a drive circuit”); and a heat transfer ring (20b) between the heat radiation member (20a/20) and a stator core (6A); (paragraphs [0041],[0042],[0046],[0053],[0062],[0066] – [0070]; Figures 1, 2, 4A, 7).
Kuronuma does not disclose that the substrate is in the accommodation space between the heat radiation member and the stator core and the heat transfer ring is mounted on the substrate.
Annotated Figure 6B of Huang
However, Huang discloses that the substrate (14) is in the accommodation space (133) between the heat radiation member (13) and the stator core (121) and the heat transfer ring (131; see shaded region in annotated figure 6B above; note that it is an integral part of / one piece construction with heat radiation member 13 and is therefore capable of heat transfer to the heat radiation member 13; the stator core 121 is mounted at 1311 therefore any heat generated by the stator core would be transferred to ring 131) is mounted on the substrate (Annotated Figure 3 above; paragraphs [0062],[0063]); Figures 6A,6B).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to mount the implied substrate of Kuronuma to the heat transfer ring between the heat radiation member and the stator core as taught by Huang for the purpose of making the device compact (the substrate/drive circuit of Kuronuma appears to be outside the apparatus as evidenced by the lead wires 17 in Figure 2, Huang’s modification would bring the drive circuit/substrate into the apparatus thus making it more compact). Note that ring (131) of Huang is analogous to ring (20b) of Kuronuma because they are both in a heat transfer path from the stator core to the heat radiation member.
In Re Claim 2, the combined references above disclose all the limitations of Claim 1, and in the modified apparatus, the substrate (14) of Huang would be mounted to ring (20b) of Kuronuma, therefore the substrate (14) of Huang would be mounted radially outside suction port (15) of Kuronuma coupled to a liquid flow channel (14) of Kuronuma formed in the motor casing (3) of Kuronuma.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuronuma (PG Pub US 20190257319 A1) in view of Huang (PG Pub US 20150044076 A1) and further in view of Lin (PG Pub US 20120269666 A1).
In Re Claim 3, Kuronuma and Huang disclose all the limitations of Claim 1, and although Kuronuma discloses potting material in the accommodating space and Huang separately discloses a substrate in the accommodating space, Kuronuma and Huang do not explicitly disclose that the substrate is covered with the potting material.
However, Lin discloses that substrate (50) is covered with potting material (160) (paragraph [0035]; Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to cover the substrate of Kuronuma / Lin with the potting material as taught by Lin for the purpose of improving waterproofing properties and improve durability of the product (paragraph [0034] of Lin).
Annotated Figure 7 of Kuronuma
In Re Claim 4, the combined references above disclose all the limitations of Claim 3, and above annotated Figure 7 of Kuronuma discloses that the potting material (50; paragraph [0062]) is filled in the accommodation space (paragraph [0062]: “interior of the motor casing 3”; paragraph [0067]: “housing space”), forming a gap (see annotated figure 7 above) adjacent to heat radiation member (20a/20).
Response to Arguments
Applicant has argued on Page 7 of Applicant’s Response that “Nowhere does '319 disclose any intermediate thermally conductive ring positioned between the stator core and the heat radiation member .. .. The Office Action does not identify any structure in '319 that corresponds to or performs the functions of Applicant's heat transfer ring.”.
Examiner’s Response: Fixing ring (20b) reads on a thermally conductive ring (paragraph [0067] clearly states that the ring (20b) has a high thermal conductivity). The fixing ring (20b) is clearly positioned between stator core (6a) and heat radiation member (20a/20) as depicted in Figure 1. Further, the ring (20b) makes direct contact with the stator core (6A) as stated in paragraph [0068] and depicted in Figure 1, therefore any heat generated by the stator core (6A) is transferred by conduction to the ring (20b) and subsequently to heat radiation member (20a/20).
The rest of Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of new grounds of rejection in this office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/D.G.K/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/NATHAN C ZOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746