DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1 – 12) drawn to a compound represented by the following Chemical Formula 1, an optical isomer thereof, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof: [Chemical Formula l]
wherein R1-4, X, Y1-3, L and ring A are defined and the species election of compound 80 of structure
in the reply filed on March 9th, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 14 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II (a method for treating or preventing cancer), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 9th, 2026.
However, the initial search of the species election of compound 80 of structure
found that the species was free of the prior art. Thus, the search was expanded to include compounds wherein instant A is an heteroaryl and instant L is NH2; hence species wherein instant A is an heteroaryl and instant L is NH2 but all other substituents are the same as the elected species are rejoined. Nevertheless, any chemical species wherein instant A is not an heteroaryl, instant L is not NH2, and all other substituents differ from the elected species remain withdrawn. Moreover, the restriction requirement dated January 7th, 2026 between Groups I and II is still maintained.
Hence claims 1 – 12 are being examined on the merits herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 7, and 9 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Publication Number WO 99/09016 to Wissner et. al. (herein after Wissner’016; cited on the IDS dated October 23rd, 2023).
Regarding claims 1 – 7, and 9 – 12, Wissner’016 teach compounds of formula 1:
(claims 3 – 5)(page 4 lines 18 – 19) wherein reference R1 and R4 are H (page 5 line 10); reference n is 0 (page 8 line 8); reference Z is -NH- (page 5 line 8); reference X is phenyl ring (page 4 line 23) substituted with an ortho-OCH3 (claims 6 and 7) (page 4 line 28) and meta-phenyl (page 4 line 30); reference R3 is -OCH3- (claim 2)(page 5 line 14); and wherein reference R2 is
(claim (page 6 line 16) wherein reference R5 are H (page 7 line 6).
Moreover, Wissner’016 teach that compounds of the disclosure which encompasses compounds with the above structural features, may be administered orally as well as by intravenous, intramuscular, or subcutaneous routes (page 45 lines 15 – 16) and mixed with adjuvants (claim 9) such as flavoring agents, coloring agents, preserving agents, and antioxidants (page 45 lines 20 – 22). Furthermore, Wissner’016 teach in an example that the compounds of the disclosure that compounds of the disclosure which encompasses compounds with the above structural features, inhibit EGFR (claim 10) (page 38 Table 1 lines 15 – 18 and page 40 Table 2 lines 15 – 30), and Human Epidermoid Tumors (A431), that is skin cancer (claim 12) in BALB/c nu/nu female mice (page 42 lines 40 – 52 and page 43 lines 1 – 27).
While, Wissner’016 fails to specifically teach an embodiment for the compound of chemical structure
; wherein instant X = N; instant R1 = -ORX2 wherein instant RX2 = CH3; wherein instant Y1 = Y2 = Y3 = CRY wherein instant RY = H; instant A = phenyl; instant L = -NH-; instant R3 is -CZ1=CZ2Z3- wherein instant Z1 = Z2 = Z3 = H; and instant R4 = -CH3; the prior art of Wissner’016 did teach all of the above structural features in lists of alternative structural features that were expected to work in combination with each other as compound species of reference formula 1 that can be formulated into pharmaceutical compositions useful in the treatment of cancer through the inhibition of HER2 and/or EGFR.
Regarding claim 11, recitation for the pharmaceutical composition of claim 10 wherein the pharmaceutical composition inhibits at least one selected from the group consisting of HER2 L869R, HER2 L755S, HER2 T798I, HER2 T862A, EGFR G719A, EGFR L861Q, EGFR S768I, EGFR G719A/S768I, and EGFR Dell9/T790M, this recitation is interpreted as a functional limitation that does not describe structural features of the composition but the capabilities of the composition. Thus, since the prior art of Wissner’016 taught all of the above structural features in lists of alternative structural features that were expected to work in pharmaceutical formulations useful in treating cancer through the inhibition of HER2 and/or EGFR and since these embodiments are structurally similar to the instant structural features a prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979)(MPEP 2144.09(I)). Hence one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that a pharmaceutical composition comprising the prior art optimized embodiment for a compound species of structure
would be capable of at least one selected from the group consisting of HER2 L869R, HER2 L755S, HER2 T798I, HER2 T862A, EGFR G719A, EGFR L861Q, EGFR S768I, EGFR G719A/S768I, and EGFR Dell9/T790M.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify and optimize the teachings of Wissner’016 for compounds of reference formula I with the instant structural features. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize the scaffold of reference formula I to improve the inhibition potential off the compound. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the prior art taught that structural features in lists of alternative structural features that were expected to work.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Publication Number WO 99/09016 to Wissner et. al. (herein after Wissner’016; cited on the IDS dated October 23rd, 2023) as applied to claims 1 – 7, and 9 – 12 above, and further in view of Ali et. al. ((2014) Input of Isosteric and Bioisosteric Approach in Drug Design, J. Chem. Soc. Pak., 36, page 150-169).
The teachings of Wissner’016 as it relates to claim 1, from which claim 8 depend, are given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here.
However, while Wissner’016 teach the embodiments for a compound of chemical structure
; wherein instant X = N; instant R1 = -ORX2 wherein instant RX2 = CH3; wherein instant Y1 = Y2 = Y3 = CRY wherein instant RY = H; instant A = phenyl; instant L = -NH-; instant R3 is -CZ1=CZ2Z3- wherein instant Z1 = Z2 = Z3 = H; and instant R4 = -CH3; Wissmer’016 fails to teach a compound of structure
with the chemical name of N-(4-((5-(furan-2-yl)-2-methoxyphenyl)amino)-7-methoxyquinazolin-6-yl)acrylamide (claim 8).
Nevertheless, Ali et. al. teach that isosterism or bioisosterism is one of the approaches most frequently used in the design of new molecules (page 150 column 1 paragraph 1). Furthermore, Ali et. al. teach that this approach is now commonly used in advance drug design to optimize lead compound by rational molecular modification in order to improve its pharmacokinetic i.e. absorption, distribution, metabolism and excretion (ADME) or pharmacodynamic i.e. receptor, enzyme or channel level behavior (page 150 column 1 paragraph 1). Specifically, Ali et. al. teach that benzene/phenyl of structure
and furan of the structure
are ring equivalents (page 153 column 1 Figure 1). Thus Ali et. al. suggest the ability to substitute a phenyl/benzene ring for a furan ring with a reasonable expectation that compounds with either ring system would have similar biological properties.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the instant application to modify and optimize the teachings of Wissner’016 for compounds of reference formula I with the instant structural features in view of Ali et.al. that is to replace the phenyl with a furan ring. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification and have a reasonable expectation of success because both phenyl/benzene and furan are ring equivalents and would be reasonable expected to at least have the same biological properties.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 –2, 4 – 6, and 11 – 20, of copending Application No. US 18/692229 to Ko et. al. (herein after Ko’229).
Ko’229 recite a compound represented by Formula (I), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt or stereoisomer thereof:
(reference claim 1); wherein (reference) ring A is an unsubstituted furan (reference claim 5); (reference) Y1 is N; (reference) Y2 is CR2 wherein (reference) R2 is H (reference claim 2); (reference) Y3 is CR3 wherein (reference) R3 is H; (reference) X2 is H; (reference) X1 is CH3; (reference) L is
wherein (reference) Z is
and (reference) Z1-3 are H (reference claim 4). Moreover, Ko’229 recite the compound, or pharmaceutically acceptable salt or stereoisomer thereof according to (reference) claim 1; wherein: (reference) L is
(reference claim 6). Furthermore, Ko’229 recite a pharmaceutical composition comprising the one or more compound as of Formula (I) according to any one of as recited in (reference) claim 1, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt or stereoisomer thereof: and a pharmaceutically acceptable additive (reference claim 11).
However, Ko’229 fail to recite a compound of [Chemical Formula l]
wherein ring A is in the meta position from the amino group (instant claims 1 – 8). Moreover, Ko’229 fail to recite a pharmaceutical composition (instant claim 9) wherein the composition inhibits HER2 and/or EGFR (instant claim 10); wherein the pharmaceutical composition inhibits at least one selected from the group consisting of HER2 L869R, HER2 L755S, HER2 T798I, HER2 T862A, EGFR G719A, EGFR L861Q, EGFR S768I, EGFR G719A/S768I, and EGFR Dell9/T790M (instant claim 11); or wherein the cancer is one or more selected from the group consisting of a series of cancers (instant claim 12).
Nevertheless, given that the only difference between compounds of copending Ko’229 and the instant application is the location of ring A, that is in the meta position for Ko’229 and in the ortho position of the instant application both conflicting applications contain structural isomers of each other. Thus compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977) (MPEP 2144.09(II)).
Moreover, in regards to a pharmaceutical composition wherein the composition inhibits HER2 and/or EGFR (instant claim 10); wherein the pharmaceutical composition inhibits at least one selected from the group consisting of HER2 L869R, HER2 L755S, HER2 T798I, HER2 T862A, EGFR G719A, EGFR L861Q, EGFR S768I, EGFR G719A/S768I, and EGFR Dell9/T790M (instant claim 11); or wherein the cancer is one or more selected from the group consisting of a series of cancers (instant claim 12); these recitations are interpreted as functional limitations that do not describe structural features or components of the pharmaceutical composition but the capabilities of the pharmaceutical composition. Thus, since copending Ko’229 recites all of the above structural features in lists of alternative structural features and since these embodiments are structurally similar to the instant structural features a prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979)(MPEP 2144.09(I)). Hence one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that a pharmaceutical composition comprising compounds of copending Ko’229 modified for ring A in the meta position would be capable of inhibiting at least one HER2 and/or EGFR mutations selected from the group consisting of HER2 L869R, HER2 L755S, HER2 T798I, HER2 T862A, EGFR G719A, EGFR L861Q, EGFR S768I, EGFR G719A/S768I, and EGFR Dell9/T790M as a way of treating cancer.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
Claims 1 – 12 are rejected.
/DAWANNA SHAR-DAY WHITE/Examiner, Art Unit 1627