DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on September 29, 2026. Claims 1-3, 5-20, and 22 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-20, and 22 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9-10, 13-14 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over Soriaga et al Patent No. :( US 11,329,780 B2) hereinafter referred as Soriaga, in view of YU et al US Patent Application No.:( US 2024111,425,531 B2) hereinafter referred as YU.
For claim 1, Soriaga discloses a terminal positioning method, comprising:
obtaining, by a receiving end device, first reference signal configuration information and a first reference signal corresponding to the first reference signal configuration information (710 fig. 7)( column 2, lines 7-9 discloses the determining the line-of- sight between the transmitter and the receiver using the first reference signal ) and (column 2 lines 16-21);
obtaining, by the receiving end device, Non Line of Sight (NLOS)/Line of Sight (LOS) identification information and a measurement value ( column 2, lines 11-15 determining, by the wireless device, at least based on the comparison of the first time to the second time, which of the first reference signal followed the LOS path between the transmitter and the wireless device), the NLOS/LOS identification information being obtained in accordance with the first reference signal configuration information ( column 12, lines 55-61 discloses the identify the line of sight (LOS) based on the traffic reference signals); and the first reference signal corresponding to the first reference signal configuration information ( column 2, lines 28-31 disclosing the first reference with the configuration of the frequency band). However, Soriaga discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the transmitting, by the receiving end device, the NLOS/LOS identification information and the measurement value to a Location Management Function (LMF) entity, the measurement value and the NLOS/LOS identification information being used to position a target terminal as recited in claim 1.
YU from the same or analogous art teaches the transmitting, by the receiving end device, the NLOS/LOS identification information and the measurement value to a Location Management Function (LMF) entity (column 5, lines 1-7), the measurement value and the NLOS/LOS identification information being used to position a target (column 9, lines 17-22 and 47-51). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the transmitting, by the receiving end device, the NLOS/LOS identification information and the measurement value to a Location Management Function (LMF) entity, the measurement value and the NLOS/LOS identification information being used to position a target terminal as taught by YU into the physical layer NON-LINE-OF-SIGTH path discrimination of Soriaga.
The transmitting, by the receiving end device, the NLOS/LOS identification information and the measurement value to a Location Management Function (LMF) entity, the measurement value and the NLOS/LOS identification information being used to position a target terminal can be modify/implemented by combining the transmitting, by the receiving end device, the NLOS/LOS identification information and the measurement value to a Location Management Function (LMF) entity, the measurement value and the NLOS/LOS identification information being used to position a target terminal with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of YU into the physical layer NON-LINE-OF-SIGTH path discrimination of Soriaga. As disclosed in YU, the motivation for the combination would be to use the transmitting, by the receiving end device, the NLOS/LOS identification information and the measurement value to a Location Management Function (LMF) entity, the measurement value and the NLOS/LOS identification information being used to position a target terminal that will improve the localization position accuracy and better signal quality utilization becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 2, Soriaga discloses the terminal positioning method, wherein the NLOS/LOS identification information is used to indicate a reliability level of a link between the receiving end device and a transmitting end device, or a reliability level of a measurement value corresponding to the link ( column 13, lines 16-25).
For claim 9, Soriaga discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the receiving, by a Location Management Function (LMF) entity, device NLOS/LOS identification information and a measurement value transmitted by a receiving end device; and positioning, by the (LMF) entity, device, the target terminal in accordance with the NLOS/LOS identification information and the measurement value as recited in claim 9.
YU from the same or analogous art teaches the receiving, by a Location Management Function (LMF) entity, device NLOS/LOS identification information and a measurement value transmitted by a receiving end device (column 5, lines 1-7); and positioning, by the (LMF) entity, device, the target terminal in accordance with the NLOS/LOS identification information and the measurement value(column 9, lines 17-22 and 47-51). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the receiving, by a Location Management Function (LMF) entity, device NLOS/LOS identification information and a measurement value transmitted by a receiving end device; and positioning, by the (LMF) entity, device, the target terminal in accordance with the NLOS/LOS identification information and the measurement value as taught by YU into the physical layer NON-LINE-OF-SIGTH path discrimination of Soriaga.
The receiving, by a Location Management Function (LMF) entity, device NLOS/LOS identification information and a measurement value transmitted by a receiving end device; and positioning, by the (LMF) entity, device, the target terminal in accordance with the NLOS/LOS identification information and the measurement value can be modify/implemented by combining the receiving, by a Location Management Function (LMF) entity, device NLOS/LOS identification information and a measurement value transmitted by a receiving end device; and positioning, by the (LMF) entity, device, the target terminal in accordance with the NLOS/LOS identification information and the measurement value with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of YU into the physical layer NON-LINE-OF-SIGTH path discrimination of Soriaga. As disclosed in YU, the motivation for the combination would be to use the receiving, by a Location Management Function (LMF) entity, device NLOS/LOS identification information and a measurement value transmitted by a receiving end device; and positioning, by the (LMF) entity, device, the target terminal in accordance with the NLOS/LOS identification information and the measurement value that will improve the localization position accuracy and better signal quality utilization becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 10, Soriaga discloses the terminal positioning method, wherein the NLOS/LOS identification information is used to represent a reliability level of a link between the receiving end device and a transmitting end device, or a reliability level of a measurement value corresponding to the link ( column 13, lines 16-25).
For claim 13, Soriaga discloses a receiving end device (UE, figure 3), comprising a memory 370 (figure 3), a transceiver 340/350 (figure 3) and a processor 360 (figure 3) , wherein the memory is configured to store therein a computer program, and the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under the control of the processor,
wherein the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory to:
obtain first reference signal configuration information and a first reference signal corresponding to the first reference signal configuration information(710 fig. 7)( column 2, lines 7-9 discloses the determining the line-of- sight between the transmitter and the receiver using the first reference signal ) and (column 2 lines 16-21);
obtain NLOS/LOS identification information and a measurement value ( column 2, lines 11-15 determining, by the wireless device, at least based on the comparison of the first time to the second time, which of the first reference signal followed the LOS path between the transmitter and the wireless device), the NLOS/LOS identification information being obtained in accordance with the first reference signal configuration information ( column 12, lines 55-61 discloses the identify the line of sight (LOS) based on the traffic reference signals) and the first reference signal corresponding to the first reference signal configuration information ( column 2, lines 28-31 disclosing the first reference with the configuration of the frequency band). Soriaga discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of transmit the NLOS/LOS identification information and the measurement value to a Location Management Function (LMF) entity, device measurement value and the NLOS/LOS identification information being used by the LMF entity to position a target terminal; or position the target terminal in accordance with the NLOS/LOS identification information and the measurement value as recited in claim 13.
However, Soriaga discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the transmit the NLOS/LOS identification information and the measurement value to a Location Management Function (LMF) entity, device measurement value and the NLOS/LOS identification information being used by the LMF entity to position a target terminal; or position the target terminal in accordance with the NLOS/LOS identification information and the measurement value as recited in claim 13.
YU from the same or analogous art teaches the transmit the NLOS/LOS identification information and the measurement value to a Location Management Function (LMF) entity, device measurement value and the NLOS/LOS identification information being used by the LMF entity to position a target terminal (column 5, lines 1-7); or position the target terminal in accordance with the NLOS/LOS identification information and the measurement value (column 9, lines 17-22 and 47-51). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the transmit the NLOS/LOS identification information and the measurement value to a Location Management Function (LMF) entity, device measurement value and the NLOS/LOS identification information being used by the LMF entity to position a target terminal; or position the target terminal in accordance with the NLOS/LOS identification information and the measurement value as taught by YU into the physical layer NON-LINE-OF-SIGTH path discrimination of Soriaga.
The transmit the NLOS/LOS identification information and the measurement value to a Location Management Function (LMF) entity, device measurement value and the NLOS/LOS identification information being used by the LMF entity to position a target terminal; or position the target terminal in accordance with the NLOS/LOS identification information and the measurement value can be modify/implemented by combining the transmit the NLOS/LOS identification information and the measurement value to a Location Management Function (LMF) entity, device measurement value and the NLOS/LOS identification information being used by the LMF entity to position a target terminal; or position the target terminal in accordance with the NLOS/LOS identification information and the measurement value with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of YU into the physical layer NON-LINE-OF-SIGTH path discrimination of Soriaga. As disclosed in YU, the motivation for the combination would be to use the transmitting the the NLOS/LOS identification information and the measurement value to a Location Management Function (LMF) entity finding the position the target terminal that will improve the localization position accuracy and better signal quality utilization becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 14, Soriaga discloses the receiving end device, wherein the NLOS/LOS identification information is used to represent a reliability level of a link between the receiving end device and a transmitting end device, or a reliability level of a measurement value corresponding to the link ( column 13, lines 16-25).
For claim 22, Soriaga discloses a Location Management Function (LMF) entity, comprising a memory, a transceiver and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store therein a computer program, and the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under the control of the processor, wherein the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory to implement the terminal positioning method (Claim 22 have been analyzed and rejected with the same rationale as claim 9 applied above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-8, 11-12 and 15-20 are objected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH AREVALO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642