DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 02/24/2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 5, 7-8, 11, 14-15 and 17 have been amended, no claims have been canceled, and no claims have been added. Thus, claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application.
Claim Objections
3. In light of Applicant's Amendment of 02/24/2026, the objection to claims 5-6 and 17-20 set forth in the Office Action of 12/22/2025, is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9, 12-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura et al. (hereinafter “Nakamura”) (Pub. No.: JP 2006330300 cited in IDS filed 08/05/2025, English translation appended).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura discloses a mounting assembly (fan mounting portion 10, as stated in Paragraph [0042]) for an electrical fan (fan 20, as discussed in Paragraphs [0042]- [0044]), comprising:
a limiting member (limiting assembly LA or abutment plates 41&42 &43, as presented in Paragraphs [0048] &[0049] and/or holding portions 40, as discussed in Paragraph [0047]-[0049]) arranged on a side wall (abutment plates 41&42 &43 and/or holding portions 40 that are directly and/or indirectly arranged on mounting wall M1, as illustrated in annotated Figure 2) of a cabinet (equipment housing 1, see Paragraphs [0051]&[0052]), wherein the limiting member (limiting assembly LA that is defined by abutment plates 41&42 &43 and/or holding portions 40) is configured so that a cavity (hollow area or cavity C, as depicted in annotated Figure 2) is formed between the side wall (the cavity C is clearly being formed between the mounting wall M1 and/or abutment plates 41 &42 &43 and/or holding portions 40) and the limiting member (limiting assembly LA that is defined by abutment plates 41&42 &43 and/or holding portions 40), wherein the cavity (hollow area or cavity C) is configured for receiving the electrical fan (wherein the cavity C, as depicted in annotated Figure 4, is surely configured for receiving the electrical fan 20), the limiting member (limiting assembly LA that is defined by the abutment plates 41 & 42 &43 and/or holding portions 40) is configured to define an opening (opening O40, as best seen in annotated Figure 2) through which the electrical fan (fan 20) is inserted into the cavity (inserted into the cavity C) along an insertion direction (indicated by the arrow DD, as shown in annotated Figure 2); and
a stopping member (defined by abutment protrusions 50 and/or cylindrical protrusions 51 protruding from the inner surface of the cover portion 1b, as discussed in Paragraph [0051]) arranged on a cover (arranged on the cover portion 1b, as stated in Paragraph [0051]) of the cabinet (of the equipment housing 1).
Particularly, Nakamura demonstrates the fan mounting assembly 10, that, as stated in Paragraph [0047], is being configured “to mount the fan 20 covered with a vibration-proof member 30 so that the back surface of the fan 20, which forms the exhaust surface, faces the ventilation holes 6, 6 formed on the side of the main body part 1a of the equipment housing 1”.
Notably, in Paragraph [0044], Nakamura discloses as how: The vibration-damping member 30, which is interposed between the fan 20 and the equipment housing 1 to prevent the vibrations generated by the fan 20 from being transmitted to the equipment housing 1, is integrally molded from rubber and has an approximately rectangular ring shape. The vibration-proof member 30 is equipped with a peripheral covering portion 31a that covers the peripheral side of the fan 20, front engagement portions 31b, 31b... that abut against the four corner portions of the front of the fan 20 and engage the fan 20, and rear engagement portions 31c, 31c... that abut against the four corner portions of the back of the fan 20 and engage the fan 20, and a fan holding portion 31 that holds the fan 20, and the vibration-proof member 30 covers the periphery of the fan 20 with an elastic material and holds it, thereby absorbing vibrations emitted by the fan 20.
Essentially, as seen immediately above, Nakamura’s mounting assembly is designed such that the limiting member or limiting assembly LA, which is defined by the abutment plates 41&42 &43 and/or holding portions 40, is being directly and/or indirectly arranged on a side wall or mounting wall M1 of a cabinet or device housing 1, wherein the limiting member or limiting assembly LA or abutment plates 41&42 &43 and/or holding portions 40, is configured so that a cavity C is formed between the side wall or mounting wall M1, a bottom wall BW1 of the cabinet or device 1 and the limiting member or limiting assembly LA or abutment plates 41&42 &43 and/or holding portions 40.
As best seen in annotated Figure 2, Nakamura explicitly exhibits as how the cavity C being configured for receiving the fan 20 in combination of the seismic isolation member 30 while the limiting member or limiting assembly LA that is defined by the abutment plates 41&42 &43 and/or holding portions 40 is configured to define cavity C comprising an opening O40 through which the combination of the fan 20 and isolation member 30 being inserted into the cavity C along an insertion direction DD.
In this disclosure, Nakamura specifically teaches that: The cover portion 1b of the equipment housing 1 has three abutment protrusions 50, 50... protruding from the inner surface of the cover portion 1b. When the cover portion 1b is fixed to the main body portion 1a, these abut against the upper surface of the vibration-proof member 30 that covers the fan 20 mounted in the fan mounting portion 10, and secure the fan 20 and the vibration-proof member 30 in place. Each of the abutment protrusions 50, 50... is approximately rectangular in plan view, and has four cylindrical protrusions 51, 51... that are abutted at positions corresponding to the four vertices of the rectangle, and four approximately rectangular plate-shaped connecting protrusions 52, 52... that correspond to each side of the rectangle and connect adjacent cylindrical protrusions 51, 51. The protruding length of the cylindrical protrusions 51, 51 is made longer than the protruding length of the connecting protrusions 52, 52, so that when the cover portion 1b is fixed to the main body portion 1a, the cylindrical protrusions 51, 51 abut against the upper surface of the vibration-proof member 30 covering the fan 20. The cylindrical projections 51 are arranged to abut against the thick portions 34 on the upper surface of the vibration-proof member 30 (see Paragraph [0051]).
In fact, the abutment protrusions 50 and/or cylindrical protrusions 51 protruding from the inner surface of the cover portion 1b, which are designated as the stopping portion, are clearly being adapted to press the electrical fan 20 in the insertion direction DD when the cover 1b is mounted on the side wall M1, otherwise, the system cannot normally operate.
Thus, Nakamura appears to disclose all aspects of Applicant’s claimed invention.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 12-13, Nakamura substantially discloses the mounting assembly, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, in Paragraph [0050], Nakamura expressly staters that: the fan 20 covered with the vibration-proof member 30 is mounted on the fan mounting portion 10, the duct portion 32 formed on the rear surface of the vibration-proof member 30 is mounted on the upper side.
Further, in Paragraph [0051], Nakamura specifies that: When the cover portion 1b is fixed to the main body portion 1a, these abut against the upper surface of the vibration-proof member 30 that covers the fan 20 mounted in the fan mounting portion 10, and secure the fan 20 and the vibration-proof member 30 in place.
Clearly, as best seen in annotated Figures 2 & 5-6, Nakamura evidently demonstrates as how the peripheral surface contact plate 41 is capable of being utilized as a first cushion FC that is arranged between the limiting member or limiting assembly LA and the side wall M1 to provide cushion for the electrical fan 20 and/or how the bottom surface of the member 50, which is disposed between the abutment protrusions 50 and/or cylindrical protrusions 51 that are designated as the stopping member and the electrical fan 20, can be utilized as a second cushion SC, as instantly claimed.
In other words, as displayed in annotated Figures 2 & 5 & 6, Nakamura obviously demonstrates as how the at least one mounting assembly comprises: a second cushion SC arranged between the stopping member and the electrical fan and/or how a first cushion FC arranged between the limiting member and the side wall to provide cushion for the electrical fan, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 9, Nakamura discloses a cabinet (defined by an equipment housing 1, as discussed in Paragraph [0039]-[0041]) comprising:
side walls (as best seen immediately below) and a bottom wall (BW1) forming an internal space (fan units receiving space RS, as depicted in annotated Figure 2) for receiving electrical devices (fans 20, as stated in Paragraph [0041]); and
a cover (lid 1b, as presented in Paragraph [0039] & [0042]) for covering the internal space (for covering the receiving space RS) and at least one mounting assembly according to claim 1 (fan mounting portion 10, as stated in Paragraph [0042]) for mounting at least one electrical fan (for mounting the fan 20) on at least one of the side walls (side wall with plurality of ventilation holes).
Therefore, Nakamura appears to disclose all aspects of Applicant’s claimed invention.
Regarding claims 4-5 and 16-17, Nakamura substantially discloses the mounting assembly, as claimed and detailed above. Additionally, as best seen immediately below, Nakamura evidently illustrates the limiting member or limited assembly LA that is defined by the abutment plates 41&42 &43 and/or holding portions 40 comprises: a pair of half portions or holding portions 40 arranged at opposite sides of the electrical fan 20 or each of half portions 40 arranged at opposite sides of the electrical fan 20.
Further, in Paragraph [0048], Nakamura explicitly teaches as how: rear abutment plates 43, 43... that abut against the rear engagement portions 31c, and the peripheral abutment plates 41, 41..., front abutment plates 42, 42... and rear abutment plates 43, 43... are formed integrally with the bottom surface of the main body portion 1a of the equipment housing 1. In addition, the front contact plates 42, 42... and the back contact plates 43, 43... are approximately triangular in shape so as to contact the two lower corners of the approximately square front and back of the fan 20 and the vibration-proof member 30 so as not to obstruct the ventilation of the fan 20, and are designed to cover the front and back of the vibration-proof member 30 from the center down. The thickness of the front contact plates 42, 42…and the rear contact plates 43, 43...
Still further, in Paragraph [0057], Nakamura notes that: When the fan 20 and the vibration-proof member 60 are clamped between the slide holding parts 40, 40..., the rear abutment plates 43, 43... of the slide holding parts 40, 40... are inserted into the inside of the duct part 62 through the cutout 62a of the duct part 62, and the cutout 62a is blocked by the rear abutment plates 43, 43...
In fact, with reference to annotated Figure 2, Nakamura explicitly exhibits as how the rear abutment portion 43 is being bent away from the electrical fan 20 as well as being attached on the side wall and/or how the front contact plate 42 or second bent portion being bent towards the electrical fan 20 while being adapted to further limit the electrical fan 20 together with the side wall without blocking airflow provided by the electrical fan 20 and/or how the peripheral contact plates 41 or intermediate portion being arranged between the first bent portion or rear abutment portion 43 and second bent portion or front contact plate 42 and surely being adapted to further limit the electrical fan 20 between the intermediate portions of the half portions, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Nakamura substantially discloses the mounting assembly, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, as best seen in annotated Figures 2& 8, Nakamura evidently demonstrates as how the limiting member or limiting assembly LA, which is defined by the abutment plates 41&42 &43 and/or holding portions 40, is being integrally formed.
As best seen immediately above, Nakamura evidently demonstrates as how the limiting member or limiting assembly LA comprises: a pair of first bent portions or rear abutment plates 43, which are necessarily being bent away from the electrical fan 20, and being adapted to be attached on the side wall and/or a limiting portion LP adapted to limit the electrical fan 20 together with the side wall and/or how the limiting portion LP comprising at least one vent for airflow provided by the electrical fan 20 to pass through and/or a pair of intermediate portions arranged between the limiting portion and the pair of first bent portions and adapted to limit the electrical fan 20 therebetween, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claims 6 and 18-20, Nakamura substantially discloses the mounting assembly, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, in Paragraph [0044], Nakamura especially teaches as how: The vibration-proof member 30 is equipped with a peripheral covering portion 31a that covers the peripheral side of the fan 20, front engagement portions 31b, 31b... that abut against the four corner portions of the front of the fan 20 and engage the fan 20, and rear engagement portions 31c, 31c... that abut against the four corner portions of the back of the fan 20 and engage the fan 20, and a fan holding portion 31 that holds the fan 20, and the vibration-proof member 30 covers the periphery of the fan 20 with an elastic material and holds it, thereby absorbing vibrations emitted by the fan 20.
As best seen in annotated Figure 2, Nakamura evidently demonstrates as how the first cushion FC comprises the fan holding portion 31 or inner portion that holds the fan 20 and covers the periphery of the fan. Clearly, disclosing this fan holding portion 31, Nakamura specifically teaches the first portion that is being arranged between the second bent portion SB and the electrical fan 20 while being attached to the inner surface.
As such, the Examiner must assert that the first cushion FC comprises at least one of: a first portion or fan holding portion arranged between the second bent portion SB and the electrical fan 20 and/or a second portion arranged between the intermediate portion and the electrical fan and/or a third portion arranged between the side wall and the electrical fan, as instantly claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 7, 10-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura in view of Hirota et al. (hereinafter “Hirota”) (Publication No.: CN204810779 (U) cited in IDS filed 10/24/2023, English translation appended).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Nakamura substantially discloses the mounting assembly, as claimed and detailed above.
However, although Nakamura discloses the majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, he is still silent as to the specifics regarding a fourth portion of the cushion.
Nonetheless, Hirota in the same field of endeavor teaches another mounting assembly, very similar to that seen in annotated Figure 2, and performs as how the bracket 6 is being equipped with elastic shape parts (6d, 6e, 6f, 6g), and these elastic shape parts (6d, 6e, 6f, 6g) are connected to the fan 5 embedded in the bracket 6 (see Abstract).
Notably, in Paragraphs [0046]-[0049], Hirota teaches: The fan 5, which is mounted on the bracket 6, is subjected to force in the thickness direction by the elastic shaped portions 6d, 6e, 6f, and 6g, and as shown in FIG9, after assembly, the abutting portions 3c, 3d, and 3e abut against the fan 5 from the opposite side of the aforementioned force application direction. In this way, the abutting parts 3c, 3d, and 3e abut against the fan 5, thereby restricting the displacement of the assembled fan 5 in the thickness direction. Therefore, the fan 5 can be assembled onto the lower housing 3 without any shaking. Furthermore, the contact parts 3c, 3d, and 3e are equivalent to the first contact part. In addition, as shown in Figure 6, guide-shaped portions 3c-1, 3d-1, and 3e-1 are formed in the abutment portions 3c, 3d, and 3e to guide the bracket 6 toward the assembly direction C. For example, the assembly guides 3c-1, 3d-1, and 3e-1 are formed by bending the ends of the small pieces that become the abutments 3c, 3d, and 3e in the thickness direction of the fan 5 and in a direction that separates them from the fan 5.
Additionally, as shown in annotated Figure 4, “the bracket 6 has an outwardly curved portion 6i-1 formed on one side of the width direction, and an L-shaped portion 6i-2 extending along the assembly direction formed on the other side of the width direction” (see Paragraph [0051]).
With reference to annotated Figure 5, Hirota evidently illustrates as how a plug or connector 5b of the electrical fan 5 can be inserted into a socket arranged on a fixed part arranged in an internal space of the cabinet 1.
In this disclosure, Hirota undoubtedly describes the methodology of gripping and moving a cover 2 for the cabinet or lower housing 3 to cover the internal space to make a first cushion or cushion portion C1 press the electrical fan 5.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using a cushion having a fourth portion arranged on a bottom wall, as taught by Hirota, in the mounting assembly, as part of an obvious combination of known prior art structures, in this case the use of a cushion portion in the mounting assembly, to achieve predictable results, in this case, to control the air flow through the system. See KSR; MPEP 2141 III A.
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that the first cushion would be further comprising a fourth portion that would be further arranged on a bottom wall of the cabinet opposite to the cover.
Regarding claim 10, Nakamura discloses the cabinet (defined by the equipment housing 1, as discussed in Paragraph [0039]-[0041]), as claimed and detailed above. Additionally, as best seen immediately below, Nakamura evidently illustrates the limiting member or limited assembly LA that is defined by the abutment plates 41&42 &43 and/or holding portions 40 comprises: a pair of half portions or holding portions 40 arranged at opposite sides of the electrical fan 20.
However, although Nakamura discloses the majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, he does not explicitly disclose specifics regarding the half portions.
Hirota in the same field of endeavor teaches another mounting assembly, very similar to that seen in annotated Figure 2, and performs as how the bracket 6 is being equipped with elastic shape parts (6d, 6e, 6f, 6g), and these elastic shape parts (6d, 6e, 6f, 6g) are connected to the fan 5 embedded in the bracket 6 (see Abstract).
Notably, in Paragraphs [0046]-[0049], Hirota teaches: The fan 5, which is mounted on the bracket 6, is subjected to force in the thickness direction by the elastic shaped portions 6d, 6e, 6f, and 6g, and as shown in FIG9, after assembly, the abutting portions 3c, 3d, and 3e abut against the fan 5 from the opposite side of the aforementioned force application direction. In this way, the abutting parts 3c, 3d, and 3e abut against the fan 5, thereby restricting the displacement of the assembled fan 5 in the thickness direction. Therefore, the fan 5 can be assembled onto the lower housing 3 without any shaking. Furthermore, the contact parts 3c, 3d, and 3e are equivalent to the first contact part. In addition, as shown in Figure 6, guide-shaped portions 3c-1, 3d-1, and 3e-1 are formed in the abutment portions 3c, 3d, and 3e to guide the bracket 6 toward the assembly direction C. For example, the assembly guides 3c-1, 3d-1, and 3e-1 are formed by bending the ends of the small pieces that become the abutments 3c, 3d, and 3e in the thickness direction of the fan 5 and in a direction that separates them from the fan 5.
Additionally, as shown in annotated Figure 3, “the bracket 6 has an outwardly curved portion 6i-1 formed on one side of the width direction, and an L-shaped portion 6i-2 extending along the assembly direction formed on the other side of the width direction” (see Paragraph [0051]).
Likewise, in Paragraph [0052], Hirota specifies that: an abutment portion 3c-2 is formed on the side surface 3A of the lower housing 3, and an abutment portion 3f is formed on the bottom surface 3B of the lower housing 3.
Most importantly, however, is the structure of Hirota's mounting assembly that includes a coupling socket which is provided within the internal space and/or power plug or connector 5b.
As shown in annotated Figure 5, Hirota states that as how: fan 5 is, for example, a cooling fan for heat dissipation, which is composed of a square frame. In addition, the fan 5 is powered via wire 5a and connector 5b, thereby causing the fan 5 to rotate and generate airflow.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using a fixed part arranged in the internal space and/or a coupling socket and/or a power plug, as taught by Hirota, in the mounting assembly, as part of an obvious combination of known prior art structures, in this case the use of a fixed part and/or a coupling socket and/or power plug in the mounting assembly, to achieve predictable results, in this case, to control the air flow through the system. See KSR; MPEP 2141 III A.
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that the mounting assembly of Nakamura would be further comprising: at least one fixed part that would be further arranged in the internal space and would be further adapted for a socket to be further arranged thereon and/or the socket would be further adapted to further receive a plug of the electrical fan to further provide electrical connections for the electrical fan, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 11, Nakamura discloses a mounting assembly (fan mounting portion 10, as stated in Paragraph [0042]) for an electrical fan (fan 20, as discussed in Paragraphs [0042] -[0044]), comprising:
a limiting member (limiting assembly LA or abutment plates 41&42 &43, as presented in Paragraphs [0048] &[0049] and/or holding portions 40, as discussed in Paragraph [0047]-[0049]) arranged on a side wall (abutment plates 41&42 &43 and/or holding portions 40 that are directly and/or indirectly arranged on mounting wall M1, as illustrated in annotated Figure 2) of a cabinet (equipment housing 1, see Paragraphs [0051]&[0052]), wherein the limiting member (limiting assembly LA that is defined by abutment plates 41&42 &43 and/or holding portions 40) is configured so that a cavity (hollow area or cavity C, as depicted in annotated Figure 2) is formed between the side wall (the cavity C is clearly being formed between the mounting wall M1 and/or abutment plates 41 &42 &43 and/or holding portions 40) and the limiting member (limiting assembly LA that is defined by abutment plates 41&42 &43 and/or holding portions 40), wherein the cavity (hollow area or cavity C) is configured for receiving the electrical fan (wherein the cavity C, as depicted in annotated Figure 4, is surely configured for receiving the electrical fan 20).
Particularly, Nakamura’s mounting assembly is designed such that the limiting member, which is defined by the abutment plates 41&42 &43 and/or holding portions 40, is being directly and/or indirectly arranged on a side wall or mounting wall M1 of a cabinet or device housing 1, wherein the limiting member or abutment plates 41&42 &43 and/or holding portions 40, is configured so that a cavity C is formed between the side wall or mounting wall M1 and the limiting member or abutment plates 41&42 &43 and/or holding portions 40.
As best seen in annotated Figure 2, Nakamura evidently demonstrates as how the peripheral surface contact plate 41 is capable of being utilized as a first cushion FC that is arranged between the limiting member or limiting assembly LA and the side wall M1 to provide cushion for the electrical fan 20.
However, although Nakamura discloses the majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, he does not explicitly disclose specifics regarding the cavity and/or method steps.
Hirota in the same field of endeavor teaches another mounting assembly, very similar to that seen in annotated Figure 2, and performs as how the bracket 6 is being equipped with elastic shape parts (6d, 6e, 6f, 6g), and these elastic shape parts (6d, 6e, 6f, 6g) are connected to the fan 5 embedded in the bracket 6 (see Abstract).
Hirota discloses a mounting assembly (fixed structure of fan, as stated in Abstract) for an electrical fan (fan 5, as discussed in Paragraphs [0035] - [0037]), comprising:
a limiting member (support or bracket 6, as presented in Paragraphs [[0035] - [0038]) arranged on a side wall (arranged on the side 3A, as stated in Paragraph [0043] &[0045]) of a cabinet (side 3A of the lower housing 3, see Paragraphs [0042]&[0043]), wherein the limiting member (support or bracket 6) is configured so that a cavity (cavity C6, as depicted in annotated Figures 2 &5) is formed between the side wall (the cavity C6 is clearly being formed between the side 3A and support or bracket 6) and the limiting member (support or bracket 6), wherein the cavity (the cavity C6) is configured for receiving the electrical fan (wherein the cavity C6, as depicted in annotated Figure 5, is surely configured for receiving the electrical fan 5), the limiting member (support or bracket 6) is configured to define an opening (opening O30, as best seen in annotated Figure 3) through which the electrical fan (fan 20) is inserted into the cavity (inserted into the cavity C).
Particularly, Hirota demonstrates as how the electrical fan 5 is being inserted into a limiting member that is defined by a support or bracket 6 of the fixed structure of fan, as stated in Abstract).
Hirota, in Paragraph [0035], explicitly teaches that: the fan 5 is powered via wire 5a and connector 5b, thereby causing the fan 5 to rotate and generate airflow.
Notably, in Paragraphs [0046]-[0049], Hirota details: the fan 5 can be assembled onto the lower housing 3 without any shaking. Furthermore, the contact parts 3c, 3d, and 3e are equivalent to the first contact part. In addition, as shown in Figure 6, guide-shaped portions 3c-1, 3d-1, and 3e-1 are formed in the abutment portions 3c, 3d, and 3e to guide the bracket 6 toward the assembly direction C. For example, the assembly guides 3c-1, 3d-1, and 3e-1 are formed by bending the ends of the small pieces that become the abutments 3c, 3d, and 3e in the thickness direction of the fan 5 and in a direction that separates them from the fan 5.
Likewise, in Paragraph [0052], Hirota states that: an abutment portion 3c-2 is formed on the side surface 3A of the lower housing 3, and an abutment portion 3f is formed on the bottom surface 3B of the lower housing 3.
Most importantly, however, is the structure of Hirota's mounting assembly that includes a coupling socket, which is provided within the internal space and/or power plug or connector 5b.
Surely, with reference to annotated Figure 5, Hirota evidently illustrates as how a plug or connector 5b of the electrical fan 5 can be inserted into a socket arranged on a fixed part arranged in an internal space of the cabinet 1.
In this disclosure, Hirota more clearly describes the methodology of gripping and moving a cover 2 for the cabinet or lower housing 3 to cover the internal space to make a first cushion or cushion portion C1 press the electrical fan 5.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using a fixed part arranged in the internal space and/or a coupling socket and/or a power plug, as taught by Hirota, in the mounting assembly of Nakamura, as part of an obvious combination of known prior art structures, in this case the use of a fixed part and/or a coupling socket and/or power plug in the mounting assembly, to achieve predictable results, in this case, to control the air flow through the system. See KSR; MPEP 2141 III A.
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that the mounting assembly of Nakamura would be further comprising: a plug of the electrical fan that would be further inserted into a socket arranged on a fixed part arranged in an internal space of the cabinet and/or a cover for the cabinet would be further covering the internal space to further make a first cushion to further press the electrical fan, as instantly claimed.
Likewise, with respect to the particular method step claimed, to the extent that the prior art apparatus meets the structural limitations of the apparatus as claimed, it will obviously perform the method steps as claimed. It has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2112.01(I)".
Thus, the Examiner must assert that Nakamura/Hirota’s analysis directly and/or indirectly describes the methodology of mounting an electrical fan in a cabinet.
In a broad sense, the combination of Nakamura and Hirota certainly performs method steps of mounting an electrical fan in a cabinet comprising: gripping the electrical fan and/or moving and inserting the electrical fan into a cavity formed between a side wall of the cabinet and a limiting member of a mounting assembly and/or inserting a plug of the electrical fan into a socket arranged on a fixed part arranged in an internal space of the cabinet and/or and gripping and moving a cover for the cabinet to cover the internal space to make a first cushion press the electrical fan, as instantly claimed.
Moreover, with respect to the recitation of "automated mean", it should be noted that this limitation appears as a part of a preamble. With respect to the preamble, it should be noted that the preamble of the claims does not provide enough patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and a portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951).
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant's arguments filed 02/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are
not persuasive. Applicant’s argument resides in contention that “Nakamura does not disclose every element of amended claim 1” (see Applicant’s Remarks at page 8, last paragraph).
In particular, Applicant argues that, because “a limiting member arranged on a side wall of a cabinet, wherein the limiting member is configured so that a cavity is formed between the side wall, a bottom wall of the cabinet, and the limiting member (see Applicant’s Remarks at page 7, last paragraph), and because “The slide holders 40 do not form the "cavity between the side wall, a bottom wall of the cabinet, and the limiting member.” (see Applicant’s Remarks at page 8, last paragraph), the Applicant disagrees with the combinations of the references in arriving at the claimed invention.
Further, Applicant argues that since “because “Nakamura shows the "slide holders 40" having "peripheral abutment plates 41," "front abutment plates 42," and "back contact plates 43” (see Applicant’s Remarks page 8, last paragraph), and thus, “Nakamura does not disclose "a limiting member arranged on a side wall of a cabinet, wherein the limiting member is configured so that a cavity is formed between the side wall, a bottom wall of the cabinet, and the limiting member," as recited in amended claim 1” (see Applicant’s Remarks page 8, last paragraph).
However, as stated above in the analysis for the independent claim 1, Nakamura reference performs functional relationships existing between abutment plates 41&42&43 and holding portions 40 and main body or side wall 1a or mounting wall M1 of the device housing 1.
As best seen in annotated Figure 6, Nakamura explicitly illustrates as how the limiting member or limiting assembly LA or abutment plates 41&42 &43 is structurally supported by or fixed to or directly touching the side wall 1a or being arranged adjacent to the side wall 1a. Surely, as best seen immediately below, the limiting member or limiting assembly LA or abutment plates 41&42 &43 is being arranged on a side wall 1a of a cabinet, as instantly claimed.
Further, with reference to annotated Figure 2, contrary to Applicant’s assertion, the Examiner pointed out that based on the structural arrangement of the limiting member or limiting assembly LA, as three distinct boundaries collectively define a space or cavity C.
In other words, the limiting member or limiting assembly LA, including the abutment plates 41&42 &43 and holding portions 40, is clearly configured so that a cavity C is being formed between the side wall or mounting wall M1, a bottom wall BW1 of the cabinet or device 1, and the limiting member LA, as otherwise the system cannot normally operate.
Indeed, there is no specific structure claimed or otherwise disclosed by Applicant which makes this interpretation unreasonable. In fact, the claim language regarding the “limiting member" is certainly very broad by its nature.
Clearly, Nakamura discloses all the structural limitations of the claim and is therefore fully capable of carrying out, any and all uses of such a structure as recited in the claims.
For clarity, the Examiner notes that "under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. The plain meaning of a term means the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention (see MPEP 2111).
With regard to Hirota, the crux of Applicant's arguments is that the teachings of Hirota does not remedy the aforesaid deficiencies in the teachings of Nakamura (see Applicant's Remarks at page 9, second paragraph).
Applicant's assertions of the allowability of claims 7, 10-11 and 14 are based on the alleged distinction between the Nakamura reference and the claimed invention. Since the arguments related to the Simmons reference were unpersuasive, it is believed that the rejections of claims 7, 10-11 and 14 under 35 USC §103 are deemed appropriate.
Conclusion
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in
this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP
§ 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37
CFR 1.136(a).
MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/L.P/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/ESSAMA OMGBA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746