DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-5, 7-11 and 13-17 are pending.
Claims 1, 3, 9, 11, 13, and 14 are amended.
This Action is Made Final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that claim 1 is not indefinite and that “the active gas compounds may be supplied separately without the compounds listed as oxidants.” This argument is not persuasive because claim 1 contains at least the limitation “the dissolved or condensed oxidant and the reactive radicals species, and/or the at least one oxidant in gaseous form…” in which the oxidant is required. If the oxidant is required only in the alternative with the active gas it is not clear if all subsequent limitations referring to the oxidant are optional.
The applicant argues that Gervais does not disclose “an aqueous liquid stream containing sulphur oxyanions being mixed in a sparger device”. This argument is not persuasive because Gervais teaches that the material being are synthetic effluents contains S2O32- with distilled water which is a sulphur oxyanion in a aqueous stream (see pg. 2 section 2.1). Gervais further teaches that at least the embodiment in which ozone is added is mixed in a sparger device (sparging rate is given, therefore there is a sparger device, the claims do not limit the type of sparger device) (see Abstract).
The applicant argues that “Gervais does not disclose or teach how to obtain selective radicals with a long lifetime and large range of action…” This argument is not persuasive because it is not directed to claimed limitations. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., how to obtain selective radicals with a long lifetime and large range of action) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Obtaining “selective radicals…” is a result or motivation of/for the method steps not additional step. The prior art does not need to disclose the same motivation for a method or device as taught in the instant invention. Further the result of a method is inherently the same if the method is the same.
The applicant argues that Gervais “does not disclose of hint that s sparger device would enhance the oxidation of sulphur oxyanions”. This argument is not persuasive because Gervais discloses a sparger device. The additional embodiments disclosed by Gervais do not discount the sparger embodiment disclosed by Gervais.
The applicant argues that Fan does not disclose “a storage tank after each reaction tank” or a sparger device. This argument is not persuasive because Fan teaches a storage tank (tank 2) in fluid connection after the mixing device (jet mixer 1) (see Fan pg. 3, 1st paragraph, fig. 1). The applicant states that Fan discloses the microbubble generator connected to the reaction tank. It is not clear what “microbubble generator” the applicant is referring to. Further Fan is not used to teach the sparger. The sparger is disclosed by Gervais.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1:
The claim states “at least one oxidant in gaseous form and/or active gas”, the claim further states “thereby obtaining…oxidant microbubbles…and/or…the at least one oxidant…” Therefore it appears that the at least one oxidant is required to be mixed in the at least one sparger because it is required in both alternatives to be “mixed with the aqueous liquid stream”. The phrase “and/or” in line 4 renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear if the claims are open to not including the oxidant, such that all limitations between “an aqueous liquid stream…is mixed, in at least one sparger device, with at least one oxidant in gaseous form and/or active gas” and “wherein the oxidant is…and wherein the active gas is…” are optional .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gervais et al, the article “Comparative efficiency of three advanced oxidation processed or thiosalts oxidation in mine-impacted water” (cited in IDS).
Regarding Claim 1:
Gervais teaches the method for oxidation of sulphur oxyanions contained in a stream of aqueous liquid, wherein in the method an aqueous liquid stream containing sulphur oxyanions is mixed, in at least one sparger device (sparging rate is given therefore a sparging device is inherently used) (see Abstract), with at least one oxidant in gaseous form (ozone) and/or active gas, thereby obtaining, mixed within the aqueous liquid stream, oxidant microbubbles (ozone microbubbles) (see abstract) containing reactive radicals species (hydroxyl radicles form in the presence of O3) (see section 3.2.1 pH influence on S species evolution) in contact with dissolved or condensed oxidant and the aqueous liquid stream (zone microbubbles are added to the effluent) (See section 2.3.2 O3-microbbules), and/or reactive radicals species in contact with the at least one oxidant in gaseous form and the aqueous liquid stream, the dissolved or condensed oxidant and the reactive radicals species, and/or the at least one oxidant in gaseous form and the reactive radicals species, are allowed to contact sulphur oxyanions (S2O32-) contained in the aqueous liquid stream and to oxidize sulphur oxyanions contained in the aqueous liquid stream to sulphate and/or to other sulphur oxidation states, by an oxidative reaction of the sulphur oxyanions with the reactive radicals species (goal to correlate the oxidation of the thiosalts…) (see section 2.3.2), thereby forming sulphate and/or other sulphur oxidation states containing aqueous liquid stream, wherein the oxidant is one or more of hydrogen peroxide, oxygen, ozone (ozone) (see Abstract, section 2.3.2, section 3.2), and air; a mixture of N2 and at least one of hydrogen peroxide, oxygen, and ozone, or a mixture of air and at least one of hydrogen peroxide, oxygen, and ozone; and wherein the active gas is sodium hypochlorite, or peracid (active gas is not required).
Regarding Claim 2:
Gervais teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the method is performed in acidic, neutral or alkaline conditions (pH from 7.30 to 2.54) (see section 3.2.1).
Regarding Claim 5:
Gervais teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the reactive radicals species are carbonate radicals, hydroxyl radicals (see section 3.2.1), and/or other reactive radicals species having a reactivity lower than that of the hydroxyl radicals.
Regarding Claim 8:
Gervais teaches the method according to claim 1 wherein in the method SO32-, S2O32-, S3O62-, S4O63-, and/or other sulphur oxyanions are oxidized to sulphate and/or to other sulphur oxidation states (S2O32- to SO42-) (see section 3.2.1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gervais et al, the article “Comparative efficiency of three advanced oxidation processed or thiosalts oxidation in mine-impacted water” as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fan et al (CN 106745654, English machine translation provided).
Regarding Claim 3:
Gervais teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein a respective storage vessel (ozone is distributed in the effluent, therefore there is inherently a vessel in connection with the sparger) (see section 2.3.2) is located in fluid connection after each sparger device, wherein sulphate and/or other sulphur oxidation states containing effluent in liquid form is obtained from the storage vessel (oxidation occurs in the vessel) (see section 2.3.2).
Gervais does teach wherein the method comprises discharging the sulphate and/or other sulphur oxidation states containing effluent in liquid form from the storage vessel, or feeding the sulphate and/or other sulphur oxidation states containing effluent in liquid form from the storage vessel to a next oxidation segment.
Fan teaches a method for oxidation of sulphur comprising a respective storage vessel (air lift oxide A: tank 2) (see pg. 3, 1st paragraph fig. 1) is located in fluid connection after each mixing device (jet mixer 1) (see pg. 3, 1st paragraph, fig. 1), wherein sulphate and/or other sulphur oxidation states containing effluent in liquid form is obtained from the storage vessel (see pg. 2, 2nd paragraph), wherein the method comprises discharging the sulphate and/or other sulphur oxidation states containing effluent in liquid form from the storage vessel, or feeding the sulphate and/or other sulphur oxidation states containing effluent in liquid form from the storage vessel to a next oxidation segment (jet mixer B) (see pg. 2, 4th paragraph, fig. 1).
Gervais and Fan are analogous inventions in the art of sulphur oxidation. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to add the step of transferring the effluent of Gervais to a next oxidation segment, as disclosed by Fan because the use of graded oxidation reduces the consumption of oxidizing agent (see Fan, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 4:
Gervais, as modified, teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein unused oxidant is recycled in gaseous form from the storage vessel to a gas storage (any location that holds the gas is considered to be “gas storage”) containing the at least one oxidant in gaseous form (see Fan, fig. 1, annotated below) or to a vaporizor unit.
Regarding Claim 9:
Gervais teaches the method according to claim 1.
Gervais does not teach wherein the sparger device forms an oxidation segment with the respective storage vessel, wherein two or more oxidation segments are arranged in parallel and/or in series.
Fan teaches a mixing device (jet mixer 1) (see pg. 3, 1st paragraph, fig. 1) forms an oxidation segment with the respective storage vessel, wherein two or more oxidation segments are arranged in parallel and/or in series (see fig. 1, Abstract).
Gervais and Fan are analogous inventions in the art of sulphur oxidation. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to add to add the oxidation segment in series with the oxidation segment of Gervais, as disclosed by Fan because the use of graded oxidation reduces the consumption of oxidizing agent (see Fan, Abstract).
Claim(s) 7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gervais et al, the article “Comparative efficiency of three advanced oxidation processed or thiosalts oxidation in mine-impacted water”.
Regrading Claim 7:
Gervais teaches the method according to claim 1.
Gervais does not teach wherein the oxidant is hydrogen peroxide, a mixture of N2 and hydrogen peroxide, or a mixture of hydrogen peroxide and air in the same embodiment as a sparging device.
Gervais further teaches hydrogen peroxide as an oxidant for sulphur oxyanion oxidation (see section 3.3 and 2.3.3). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to replace the oxidant in the ozone embodiment of Gervais with hydrogen peroxide, as disclosed by Gervais, because it is the simple substitution of one known oxidant with another known oxidant, obviously resulting in the oxidation of the sulphur compounds, with an expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 10:
Gervais teaches the method of claim 1.
Gervais is silent as to the temperature at which the oxidant is fed to the sparger device.
Gervais further teaches that the temperature effects the oxidation reaction (“thiosalt oxidation slows down at low temperatures”) (see section 3.3.2.1, Table 5, abstract). Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the temperature and use a temperature between 10-100°C in order to optimize the oxidation reaction. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re
Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Claim(s) 11, 13-15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gervais et al, the article “Comparative efficiency of three advanced oxidation processed or thiosalts oxidation in mine-impacted water” in view of Fan et al (CN 106745654, English machine translation provided).
Regarding Claim 11:
Gervais teaches the apparatus for oxidation of sulphur oxyanions contained in a stream of aqueous liquid, the apparatus comprising a sparger device (sparging rate is given therefore a sparging device is inherently used) (see Abstract) configured to, in acidic, neutral or alkaline conditions ( pH from 7.30 to 2.54) (see section 3.2.1), mix an aqueous liquid stream containing sulphur oxyanions (thiosalts), with at least one oxidant (ozone) in gaseous form, obtain, mixed within the aqueous liquid stream, oxidant microbubbles (ozone microbubbles) containing reactive radicals species (hydroxyl) in contact with dissolved or condensed oxidant and the aqueous liquid stream (see section 3.2.1), and/or reactive radicals species in contact with the at least one oxidant in gaseous form and the aqueous liquid stream, and allow the dissolved or condensed oxidant and the reactive radicals species, and/or the at least one oxidant in gaseous form and the reactive radicals species, to contact sulphur oxyanions contained in the aqueous liquid stream and to oxidize sulphur oxyanions contained in the aqueous liquid stream to sulphate and/or to other sulphur oxidation states, by an oxidative reaction of the sulphur oxyanions with the reactive radicals species, to form sulphate and/or other sulphur oxidation states containing aqueous liquid stream (S2O32- to SO42-) (see section 3.2.1), wherein the apparatus comprises a storage vessel (vessel is inherent to hold the effluent and oxidant mixed together) located in fluid connection after the sparger device.
Gervais does not teach wherein the storage vessel comprises a discharge pipeline for discharging sulphate and/or other sulphur oxidation states containing effluent in liquid form from the storage vessel, or for feeding the effluent in liquid form from the storage vessel to a next oxidation segment.
Fan teaches an apparatus for oxidation of sulphur comprising a respective storage vessel (air lift oxide A: tank 2) (see pg. 3, 1st paragraph fig. 1) is located in fluid connection after each mixing device (jet mixer 1) (see pg. 3, 1st paragraph, fig. 1), wherein the storage vessel comprises a discharge pipeline (waste gas outlet 10) (see pg. 3, 1st paragraph, fig. 1) for discharging sulphate and/or other sulphur oxidation states containing effluent in liquid form from the storage vessel, or for feeding the effluent in liquid form from the storage vessel to a next oxidation segment (jet mixer B) (see pg. 2, 4th paragraph, fig. 1).
Gervais and Fan are analogous inventions in the art of sulphur oxidation. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to add the discharge pipeline and next oxidation segment to the storage vessel of Gervais, disclosed by Fan because the use of graded oxidation reduces the consumption of oxidizing agent (see Fan, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 13:
Gervais, as modified, teaches the apparatus according to claim 11, further comprising recycling means to recycle unused oxidant in gaseous form from the storage vessel to an optional gas storage (any location that holds gas is considered to be “gas storage”) containing the at least one oxidant in gaseous form or to a vaporizor unit (see Fan, fig. 1, annotated above).
Regarding Claim 14:
Gervais, as modified, teaches the apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the sparger device forms an oxidation segment with the respective storage vessel, wherein the apparatus comprises two or more oxidation segments arranged in parallel and/or in series (see Fan fig. 1, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 15:
Gervais, as modified, teaches the apparatus according to claim 11, wherein a pump (NikuniKTM32N brand pump ) is configured to feed the aqueous liquid stream containing sulphur oxyanions to the sparger device (see Gervais section 2.3.2).
Regarding Claim 17:
Gervais, as modified, teaches the apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the aqueous liquid stream containing sulphur oxyanions is mixed, in the at least one sparger device, with the at least one oxidant in gaseous form (see Gervais section 2.3.2).
Gervais does not teach wherein the oxidant is hydrogen peroxide, a mixture of N2 and hydrogen peroxide, or a mixture of hydrogen peroxide and air in the same embodiment as a sparging device.
Gervais further teaches hydrogen peroxide as an oxidant for sulphur oxyanion oxidation (see section 3.3 and 2.3.3). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to replace the oxidant in the ozone embodiment of Gervais with hydrogen peroxide, as disclosed by Gervais, because it is the simple substitution of one known oxidant with another known oxidant, obviously resulting in the oxidation of the sulphur compounds, with an expectation of success.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gervais et al, the article “Comparative efficiency of three advanced oxidation processed or thiosalts oxidation in mine-impacted water” and Fan et al (CN 106745654, English machine translation provided) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Krishnan et al (US 2016/0293978).
Regarding Claim 16:
Gervais, as modified, teaches the apparatus according to claim 11.
Gervais does not teach a fan is configured to feed the at least one oxidant in gaseous form from a gas storage to the sparger device.
Krishnan teaches a fan to feed an oxidant and that the fan can be used in place of a pump (see para. 0036).
Gervais, as modified, and Krishnan are analogous inventions in the art of feeding oxidants. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the fan of Krishnan to the gas storage device od Gervais (as modified by Fan) because it is the simple addition of a known device for moving gases to a device the required the flow of gas, obviously resulting in the flow of gas from the gas storage to the sparger, with an expectation of success. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CLAIRE A NORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779 5/14/2026