DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Recognizing Food, Container and Residue To Estimate Area Ratio of Consumed And Leftover Food
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of poor quality drawings; Figs. 1-3, 5, and 8-12 have poor line quality, blurry text characters, fonts that are too small to read, and unclear/blurry black and white images all of which are poor quality reproductions that do not have satisfactory reproduction characteristics contrary to 37 CFR 1.84(l). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 recites “acquire related information related to a target in a recognition target image which is a post-image obtained through photographing before and after treatment on a container that stores the target”. This claim element has several clarity issues. To start with, the disclosed invention requires inputting an image in order to recognize/segment the “recognition target image” but no such element in present in the claim. The “acquiring” is limited to so-called “related information” while an unclear “to extract” phrase indefinitely refers to extracting the (already acquired) related data and the recognition target image.
Furthermore, the phrase “a recognition target image which is a post-image obtained through photographing before and after treatment on a container that stores the target” is not intelligible. How can a single image be “obtained through photographing before and after” some act such as the “treatment”? This error is repeated later in the claim as “a pre-stored pre-image obtained through the photographing before and after the treatment”. Also, what is meant by a “pre-stored pre-image”? Do these terms refer to a single entity or two different images (one of which is pre-stored and the other is a pre-image)? What is a “pre-image” particularly in reference to photographing before and after the “treatment”.
Moreover, “treatment on a container” is so far abstracted from the disclosed invention as to lose all meaning whatsoever. The disclosed invention is directed to segmenting an image of a food container such as a dinner plate such that an estimate may be formed regarding the amount of leftover food after a human has eaten. The machine learning model is trained with images taken before and after a human being eats the food contained on/in the plate. The abstracted term “treatment” is so wholly divorced from the disclosed act of a human eating food as to be completely unclear and indefinite.
Claim 1 further recited “estimate a ratio of the target in the recognition target image based on the recognition result and an area ratio in a pre-stored pre-image obtained through the photographing before and after the treatment”. A ratio requires two elements consisting of numerator and denominator. As such, to what does a “ratio of the target” refer? What is the denominator; a ratio of what? The same issue is repeated for the area ratio; an area ratio of what? Is the “ratio of the target” different than the “area ratio” and, if not, how does these ratios relate to the “a pre-stored pre-image obtained through the photographing before and after the treatment”?
Independent claims 5 and 7 are parallel to claim 1 and are rejected for the same reasons as above. Claims 2-4 are rejected due to their dependency upon claim 1.
Independent claims 4, 6 and 8 indefinitely recite
“accept a learning post-image obtained through photographing before and after treatment on a container that stores a target, a learning mask image corresponding to the post-image, and learning data including related information related to the target as an input” see the rejections above regarding image before and after which is even more unclear reading a “post-image” which infers taken after but the claim nonetheless also specifies photographing the post image before “treatment”. See also the rejection above regarding “treatment”,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu {Lu, Ya, et al. "An artificial intelligence-based system to assess nutrient intake for hospitalised patients." IEEE transactions on multimedia 23 (2020): 1136-1147} and Takahashi (US 2015/0206259 A1).
Claim 1
In regards to claim 1, Lu discloses a recognition device comprising:
a memory, and at least one processor coupled to the memory {see section V Experimental Results in which the disclosed model was implemented in software running on a computer with a processor to produce the disclosed test results summarized in tables I-V}, the at least one processor being configured to:
acquire related information related to a target in a recognition target image which is a post-image obtained through photographing before and after treatment on a container that stores the target, and to extract recognition target data which is a combination of the recognition target image and the related information {section IIIA Data Capture in which RGB-D image pairs were captured of food trays before and after hospital patients ate their meals while noting that “treatment” corresponds to a person eating food stored in or on a container that stores the target (e.g. food item(s)). Note that the “related information” may include the Depth image which is related to the food items for estimating area/volume. See also Section IIIB Data Annotation, Fig. 4 in which the related information” may also be the 7 hyper categories (main course, side dish, vegetable, sauce, etc. and/or the 521 fine grained categories; and/or annotations for the container (plate)/background and types of plates (e.g. main plate, salad bowl, packaged containers, etc.); weight, and/or the nutrient annotations of each food item. See also section IIB Food Database particularly the annotations (related information) including food categories, food locations for pixel-level food segmentation map};
accept the recognition target data as an input to a model learned in advance and output a recognition result obtained by recognizing an area where at least the container, the target, and a portion other than the target are divided by an output of the model
{See Section IV, Fig. 5 (copied below) employing a Multi-task Contextual Network (MTCNet) which is a model learned in advance an outputs a “recognition” result recognizing an area where each food type and plate type occur in the image in order to segment the image into container (plate), target (e.g. one of the food items) and “a portion other than the target” (e.g. a different food items or category such as a sauce. Note that the BRI of “a portion other than the target” specifically includes a sauce as per [0023] of the instant specification distinguishing between food and leftovers such as sauce};
}; and
wherein the model recognizes the area by converting the recognition target image into a feature amount map and calculating the feature amount map in a weighting manner by latent information obtained from the related information {Section IVA including final food prediction segmentation map which is generated by converting the recognition target image into a feature amount map of the Deep CNNs in which calculated in a weighted manner by latent information within the layers that are obtained from the related information (e.g. food type, plate type)}.
Takahashi is an analogous reference from the same field of computer vision for estimating food amounts including the amount remaining after someone has eaten a meal. See abstract, Figs. 1, 2, 5 and 7 including remaining amount detection module 104.
Takahashi also teaches estimating a ratio of the target in the recognition target image based on the recognition result and an area ratio in a pre-stored pre-image obtained through the photographing before and after the treatment {Figs. 6, 7, 8, 12-14 including step S32 and Fig. 9 calculate area ratio S65, [0027]-[0030] camera 8 directed downward to photograph table and plates at predetermined intervals such as every 30 seconds, [0042]-[00wherein the table images including container area 1316, dish (food) area, and an area ratio part 1318 that calculates/estimates a ratio of the target (food)
See also remaining amount detection module 104 that detects remaining amount of food left in the container [0041] based on the recognition result as per [0057]-[0058] in which color differences and shapes are used to recognize containers and food (dishes).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified Lu’s food/plate segmentation model that already
outputs a recognition result obtained by recognizing an area where at least the container, the target, and a portion other than the target are divided by an output of the model to include estimating a ratio of the target in the recognition target image based on the recognition result and an area ratio in a pre-stored pre-image obtained through the photographing before and after the treatment as taught by Takahashi because doing so enables wait staff to provide better service to the customer as motivated by Takahashi in [????], because doing so provides a convenient summary measurement of the amount of leftover food using a conventional area ratio, because there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 2
In regards to claim 2, Lu discloses wherein, in the model, the related information is configured to be converted into the latent information by a fully combined layer, and an information source of the related information is set as one or more pieces of information {see the Deep (fully connected) convolutional neural network (Deep CNN) in Section IVA, Fig. 5. which the related information is converted into the latent information by a fully combined layer, and an information source of the related information (see mapping of claim 1 for various types of “related information”) is set as one or more pieces of information
Claim 3
In regards to claim 3, Lu discloses wherein the model performs weighted feature amount map calculation processing on a channel component or a spatial component of the feature amount map {see section IVA including initial feature map on a channel (heightxwidthxchannel) component or spatial component in the segmentation branches}.
Claims 5 and 7
The rejection of device claim 1 above applies mutatis mutandis to the corresponding limitations of method claim 5 and computer readable medium claim 7 while noting that the rejection above cites to both device and method disclosures. For the computer readable storage medium storing program limitations of claim 7 see Lu section V Experimental Results in which the disclosed model was implemented in software stored on a computer readable medium and running on a computer with a processor to produce the disclosed test results summarized in tables I-V}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu.
Claim 4
In regards to claim 4, Lu discloses a model learning device comprising:
a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory {see section V Experimental Results in which the disclosed model was implemented in software running on a computer with a processor to produce the disclosed test results summarized in tables I-V}, the at least one processor being configured to:
accept a learning post-image obtained through photographing before and after treatment on a container that stores a target, a learning mask image corresponding to the post-image, and learning data including related information related to the target as an input
{section IIIA Data Capture in which RGB-D image pairs were captured of food trays before and after hospital patients ate their meals while noting that “treatment” corresponds to a person eating food stored in or on a container that stores the target (e.g. food item(s)). Note that the “related information” may include the Depth image which is related to the food items for estimating area/volume. See also Section IIIB Data Annotation, Fig. 4 in which the related information” may also be the 7 hyper categories (main course, side dish, vegetable, sauce, etc. and/or the 521 fine grained categories; and/or annotations for the container (plate)/background and types of plates (e.g. main plate, salad bowl, packaged containers, etc.); weight, and/or the nutrient annotations of each food item. See also section IIB Food Database particularly the annotations (related information) including food categories, food locations for pixel-level food segmentation map (learning mask)};
convert the image into a feature amount map by a model, and calculate the feature amount map in a weighting manner by latent information obtained from the related information to output a mask image in which an area where at least the container, the target, and a portion other than the target are divided is recognized as a recognition result
{See Section IV, Fig. 5 (copied below) employing a Multi-task Contextual Network (MTCNet) which is a model learned in advance to convert the image into a feature amount map recognizing an area where each food type and plate type occur in the image in order to output a mask image (segment the image) into container (plate), target (e.g. one of the food items) and “a portion other than the target” (e.g. a different food items or category such as a sauce. Note that the BRI of “a portion other than the target” specifically includes a sauce as per [0023] of the instant specification distinguishing between food and leftovers such as sauce. Further as to output a mask image, see the segmentation map and Fig. 4 illustrating the segmented image (mask image)}; and
digitize a difference between the mask image of the recognition result and a mask image included in the learning data as a loss and update a parameter of the model to reduce the loss {this passage generally refers to model training that updates model parameter(s) based on loss. See IVB including equations (1)-(3) and Section VA segmentation network trained with Adadelta optimizer and categorical cross entropy loss}.
Claims 6 and 8
The rejection of device claim 4 above applies mutatis mutandis to the corresponding limitations of method claim 6 and computer readable medium claim 8. For the computer readable storage medium storing program limitations of claim 8 see Lu section V Experimental Results in which the disclosed model was implemented in software stored on a computer readable medium and running on a computer with a processor to produce the disclosed test results summarized in tables I-V}.
/MICHAEL ROBERT CAMMARATA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667