DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1 and 4-6 are pending.
Withdrawn Rejections
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from the previous Office Action are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Teranishi et al. (WO 2021/085389 A1; English-language equivalent US 2024/0114908 A1 referred to herein).
The applied reference has a common assignee and inventors with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, 18 October 2019, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Teranishi et al. teach throughout the reference an agricultural and horticultural fungicide compositions comprising a 2,6-dioxo-3,6-dihydropyrimidine compound and may contain other ingredients including a fungicide, an insecticide/acaricide, a nematicide, a soil pesticide, a plant regulator, a synergist, a fertilizer, a soil conditioner, and an animal feed (Abstract; [0001], [0006], [0023], [0076]-[0078], [0658]-[0660], [0710], [0788], etc.; Claims 2, 5-8).
Regarding claim 1, Teranishi et al. teach compounds of formula (I)
wherein the substituents A, Q and X1-X3 overlap with the instantly claimed compounds ([0007]-[0023], [0081], [0900]-[0901], [0904]-[0905]; Tables 2-3, 6-7; Claim 2). Teranishi et al. specifically teach compounds such as:
([0859], [0873]; Table 2, A-17 to A-19; Table 3, A-41 to A-42, A-57, and many others).
Teranishi et al. do not explicitly disclose compositions comprising a compound of formula (I) and at least one additional compound selected from the group consisting of thiophanate-methyl, triflumizole, cyflufenamid, iminoctadine acetate, iminoctadine albesilate, picarbutrazox, ipflufenoquin, fluxapyroxad, cymoxanil, tebufenozide, prothioconazole, mefentrifluconazole, potassium phosphite, florylpicoxamid, metyltetraprole, captan, fipronil, fludioxonil, chlorantraniliprole, fluopyram, abamectin, sulfoxaflor, Bacillus subtilis, Pseudomonas rhodesiae, sodium hydrogen carbonate, potassium bicarbonate, orange oil, linalool, thymol, neem oil, mancozeb, and mineral oils, as recited in instant claim 1.
However, Teranishi et al. teach that the compositions may contain other ingredients including a fungicide, an insecticide/acaricide, a nematicide, a soil pesticide, a plant regulator, a synergist, a fertilizer, a soil conditioner, and an animal feed ( [0658]-[0660], [0710], [0788], etc.). Teranishi et al. teach that the additional fungicides include thiophanate methyl ([0667]), triflumizole ([0692]), abamectin ([0728]), etc. Teranishi et al. further teach that containing such other ingredients may cause a synergistic effect ([0658]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to prepare compositions according to Teranishi et al. comprising a compound of formula (I) and at least one component selected from the group consisting of a fungicide, an insecticide/acaricide, a nematicide, a soil pesticide, a plant regulator, a synergist, a fertilizer, a soil conditioner, and an animal feed. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select thiophanate methyl, triflumizole, abamectin, and others as the additional fungicide, with the reasonable expectation that the combination would be fungicidally effective and may exhibit synergism.
Regarding claim 4, Teranishi et al. teach that the agricultural and horticultural fungicide of the present invention contains at least one selected from the compound (II) and a salt thereof as an active ingredient. The amount of the compound (II) or a salt thereof included in the agricultural and horticultural fungicide of the present invention is not particularly limited as long as it shows the bactericidal effect ([0586], [0635], [0801]). Teranishi et al. teach that additional examples of the other ingredients can include a fungicide, an insecticide/acaricide, a nematicide, a soil pesticide, a plant regulator, a synergist, a fertilizer, a soil conditioner, and an animal feed that are conventionally known ([0658]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to determine through routine experimentation the effective ratio of the compound of formula (I) and at least one additional compound to control fungi, insects, acaricides and nematicides, as reasonably suggested by Teranishi et al.
Regarding claims 5-6, Teranishi et al. teach the fungicide is for seed treatment ([0049], [0656]-[0657], [0913], [0916], [0919], etc.; Claim 6).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the instantly claimed combination of a compound of formula (I) and at least one compound selected from the group listed exhibits synergistic results. These results for this combination of compounds are not in any way suggested by the disclosure of Teranishi et al.
The examiner respectfully argues that the data in Tables 3-12 of the instant specification are not commensurate in scope with the instant claims. The compounds of formula (I) recited in Tables 3-12 all share common structural features, such as R1 is isopropyl; R6 is H or CH3; X3 is -CH2-CH(CH3 or isopropyl)-NH-CO-isopropyl or tert-butyl; A is -CH2CHOH- or CH2CH(OCH2CN); and Q is 2-methoxyphenyl or 2-methoxy-5-fluorophenyl. Therefore, the substituents at these positions are structurally similar and have minor differences. However, the instant claims include a large number of varying substituents at the positions R1, X3, A and Q that are not structurally similar to the compounds in Tables 3-12. Thus, the limited number of species tested in Tables 3-12 of the instant specification is not a representative number of species for the entire genus of compounds instantly claimed.
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bantle et al. (EP 0 748 800 A2).
Bantle et al. teach throughout the reference α1-adrenergic receptor antagonists of formula I useful for the treatment of diseases involving directly or indirectly an obstruction of the lower urinary tract (Abstract; Claims 1-23).
Regarding claim 1, Bantle et al. teach that the compound of formula I includes 1-benzyl-3-{3-[4-(2-methoxyphenyl)piperazin-1-yl]propyl}-5-hydroxyiminomethyl-2,4(1H,3H)-pyrimidinedione (pg. 39, Example 31):
Bantle et al. do not explicitly disclose compositions comprising the compound of formula I and at least one other component selected from the group consisting of thiophanate-methyl, triflumizole, cyflufenamid, iminoctadine acetate, iminoctadine albesilate, picarbutrazox, ipflufenoquin, fluxapyroxad, cymoxanil, tebufenozide, prothioconazole, mefentrifluconazole, potassium phosphite, florylpicoxamid, metyltetraprole, captan, fipronil, fludioxonil, chlorantraniliprole, fluopyram, abamectin, sulfoxaflor, Bacillus subtilis, Pseudomonas rhodesiae, sodium hydrogen carbonate, potassium bicarbonate, orange oil, linalool, thymol, neem oil, mancozeb, and mineral oils, as recited in instant claim 1.
However, Bantle et al. teach that the compounds of Formula I will be administered as pharmaceutical compositions and are comprised of, in general, a compound of Formula I in combination with at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient, such as mineral oil (pg. 7, ln. 15-28).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to prepare compositions according to Bantle et al. comprising a compound of formula I, such as the compound of Example 31, and a liquid excipient, such as mineral oil. Such would have been obvious because Bantle et al. teach that compounds of formula I specifically include 1-benzyl-3-{3-[4-(2-methoxyphenyl)piperazin-1-yl]propyl}-5-hydroxyiminomethyl-2,4(1H,3H)-pyrimidinedione (Example 31), and the compounds of Formula I will be administered as pharmaceutical compositions in combination with at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient. Acceptable excipients are non-toxic, aid administration, and do not adversely affect the therapeutic benefit of the compound of Formula I. Such excipient may be any solid, liquid, semisolid or, in the case of an aerosol composition, gaseous excipient that is generally available to one of skill in the art. Liquid and semisolid excipients include mineral oil (pg. 7, ln. 15-26).
Regarding claim 4, Bantle et al. teach that the amount of a compound of Formula I in the composition may vary widely depending upon the type of formulation, size of a unit dosage, kind of excipients and other factors known to those of skill in the art of pharmaceutical sciences. In general, the final composition will comprise from 0.000001%w to 10.0%w of the compound of Formula I, preferably 0.00001%w to 1.0%w, with the remainder being the excipient or excipients (pg. 7, ln. 33-36).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to determine through routine experimentation the effective ratio of the compound of formula (I) and excipients, as reasonably suggested by Bantle et al.
The examiner respectfully points out the following from MPEP 2144.05: “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969); Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed.Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments are the same as above. Therefore, the examiner’s response above is repeated here as well.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 4-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5-6 of copending Application No. 17/767,749 in view of Harriman et al. (WO 2013/071169 A1).
The instant claims and the ‘749 Application both claim an agricultural and horticultural fungicide composition comprising a 2,6-dioxo-3,6-dihydropyrimide compound as the active ingredient. The ‘749 Application claims a compound according to formula (I):
wherein the substituents for A, Q and X1-X3 are the same as or overlap with the corresponding substituents in the instant claims.
The ‘749 Application does not claim at least one additional active component selected from the group consisting of the compounds instantly claimed.
Harriman et al. teach thienopyrimidine derivatives of formula (I) that are useful as fungicides ([00205]-[00209]). The thienopyrimidine derivatives are structurally similar to the instantly claimed compounds, wherein the pyrimidine ring of the instant claims is replaced with a thienopyrimidine ring. Harriman et al. teach that the compositions according to the invention can, in the use form as fungicides, also be present together with other active substances, e.g. with herbicides, insecticides, growth regulators, fungicides or else with fertilizers, as pre-mix or, if appropriate, not until immediately prior to use (tank mix). Examples of other active substances include triflumizol, cyflufenamid, iminoctadine, iminoctadine-triacetate, iminoctadine-tris(albesilate), cymoxanil, prothioconazole, mancozeb, and others ([0243], [0246], [0261], [0263]-[0264]). Mixing the compounds of formula I or the compositions comprising them in the use form as fungicides with other fungicides results in many cases in an expansion of the fungicidal spectrum of activity being obtained or in a prevention of fungicide resistance development. Furthermore, in many cases, synergistic effects are obtained ([00238]-[00239]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to prepare compositions according to the ‘749 Application claims further comprising an additional active such as those instantly claimed in order to expand the fungicidal spectrum of activity being obtained or in a prevent fungicide resistance development, and possibly obtain synergistic effects, as reasonably suggested by Harriman et al.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments are the same as above. Therefore, the examiner’s response above is repeated here as well.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/N.W.S/Examiner, Art Unit 1616
/ERIN E HIRT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616