DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-8, 10-25 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. This NON-FINAL communication is the first action on the merits.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application filed in PRO 63/180054 on 04/26/2021 under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.
Claims 1-8, 10-12, 14, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 14, 19, recite “solve an optimization problem to estimate a position of the target, wherein the optimization problem minimizes a cost function”. It is unclear how a position of a target is estimated by minimizing a cost function. A broadly described cost function does not seem like enough information to perform the limitations. The examiner has interpreted these limitations as solving an optimization problem in order to find a position of a target.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 10-17, 22-25, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Handa (US 20210122045).
Regarding Claim 1, Handa discloses the following limitations:
A light detection and ranging (LiDAR) system, comprising: (Handa – [0245] a laser as a transmission source… a receptor, which records laser pulse transit time… a solid-state 3D staring array LIDAR camera)
an array of optical components, the array comprising: (Handa – [0245])
n1 illuminators configured to illuminate a point in space, and (Handa – [0245], [0243] LIDAR sensor(s) 1764 may be used for object and pedestrian detection… vehicle 1700 may include multiple LIDAR sensors 1764)
n2 detectors configured to observe the point in space, (Handa – [0243], [0245])
wherein n1 x n2> 2 and the n1 illuminators and n2 detectors are situated in a non-collinear arrangement; and (Handa – [Fig. 17A], [0243], [0245])
at least one processor coupled to the array of optical components and configured to: (Handa – [0138] a computer system having one or more processors executes executable instructions stored on a computer-readable memory that, as a result of being executed, cause the computer system to perform the operations illustrated in FIG. 13 and described below.)
determine a first time-of-flight set corresponding to a first location of the LiDAR system at a first time, (Handa – [0216] neural network may take as its input at least some subset of parameters, such as bounding box dimensions, ground plane estimate obtained (e.g. from another subsystem), output from IMU sensor(s) 1766 that correlates with vehicle 1700 orientation, distance, 3D location estimates of object obtained from neural network and/or other sensors (e.g., LIDAR sensor(s) 1764 or RADAR sensor(s) 1760), among others.)
wherein the first time-of-flight set includes a respective entry for each unique illuminator-detector pair of the n1 illuminators and n2 detectors, (Handa – [0245])
wherein the first time-of-flight set includes, for each unique illuminator-detector pair, a respective measured time-of-flight of a first optical signal emitted by an illuminator of the unique illuminator-detector pair at the first time and from the first location, reflected by a target at the point in space, and (Handa – [0243], [0245])
detected by a detector of the unique illuminator-detector pair, determine a second time-of-flight set corresponding to a second location of the LiDAR system at a second time, (Handa – [0243], [0245], [0098] given the initial object pose estimate and robot configuration, K concurrent simulations may be initialized, and at every time step the real robot actions u.sub.t may be copied to all K simulations. In various examples, the object pose can change when the hand establishes contact, and this may be modeled by the simulator. In various embodiments, the object pose and the observation of the ith simulation may be defined as p.sub.t.sup.(i) and o.sub.t.sup.(i), and the ground truth observations may be defined as o.sub.t.sup.(gt). In various embodiments, given a cost function C, the current best pose estimate at time t may be the pose of the i*th simulation, p.sub.t.sup.(i*), where the i*th simulation may be the one that incurs the lowest average cost across some past time window T: [0189] At least one embodiment may be constructed using the techniques described above. In at least one embodiment, the robot can be an autonomous vehicle, and the evaluation and generation networks can be implemented using a computer system on the autonomous vehicle.)
wherein the second time-of-flight set includes a respective entry for each unique illuminator-detector pair of the n1 illuminators and n2 detectors, (Handa – [0098], [0189], [0243], [0245])
wherein the second time-of-flight set includes, for each unique illuminator-detector pair, a respective measured time-of- flight of a second optical signal emitted by the illuminator of the unique illuminator-detector pair at the second time and from the second location, reflected by the target, and detected by the detector of the unique illuminator- detector pair, and (Handa – [0098], [0189], [0243], [0245])
solve an optimization problem to estimate a position of the target, wherein the optimization problem minimizes a cost function that takes into account the first time-of-flight set and the second time-of-flight set. (Handa – [0098], [0189], [0243], [0245], [0087] the above cost function is minimized in real-time using the Sequential Least-Squares Quadratic Programming (“SLSQP”) algorithm. [0091] In at least one embodiment, a sample-based optimization algorithm is utilized that periodically updates the states and parameters of the simulations according to a cost function that captures how well the observations of each simulation match with those of the real world.)
Regarding Claim 2, Handa further discloses:
wherein the cost function is a function of at least (Handa – [0091], [0098])
(a) coordinates of the n1 illuminators, (Handa – [0091], [0098], [0088] In at least one embodiment, a teleoperation instance is initialized by registering the studio cameras with the robot base coordinate system via an initial, static robot pose and the initial observation of the human hand. In at least one embodiment, the human hand model axes and robot end-effector axes is approximately aligned such that direction of movements are preserved between human hand motion and robot motion.)
(b) coordinates of the n2 detectors, (Handa – [0088], [0091], [0098])
(c) the first time-of-flight set, and (Handa – [0088], [0091], [0098], [0245])
(d) the second time-of-flight set. (Handa – [0088], [0091], [0098], [0245])
Regarding Claims 3, 16, Handa further discloses:
wherein the cost function is quadratic. (Handa – [0087])
Regarding Claim 4, Handa further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to solve the optimization problem, in part, by (Handa – [0091], [0138])
minimizing a sum of (a) squared differences between each entry in the first time-of-flight set and a respective first estimated time-of-flight, (Handa – [0087], [0083] in at least one embodiment, the cost function for kinematic retargeting may be chosen as:
wherein the respective first estimated time-of-flight is calculated from known coordinates of the respective illuminator-detector pair at the first time and an unknown position of the target, and (Handa – [0083], [0088], [0098], [0245])
(b) squared differences between each entry in the second time-of-flight set and a respective second estimated time-of- flight, (Handa – [0083], [0088], [0098], [0245])
wherein the respective second estimated time-of-flight is calculated from known coordinates of the respective illuminator-detector pair at the second time and the unknown position of the target. (Handa – [0083], [0088], [0098], [0245])
Regarding Claim 5, Handa further discloses:
wherein the n1 illuminators comprise a first illuminator and a second illuminator and the n2 detectors comprise a first detector and a second detector. (Handa – [0243], [0245])
Regarding Claim 7, Handa further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: (Handa – [0138])
determine a third time-of-flight set corresponding to a third location of the LiDAR system at a third time, (Handa – [0243], [0245])
wherein the third time-of-flight set includes a respective entry for each unique illuminator-detector pair of the n1 illuminators and n2 detectors, (Handa – [0243], [0245])
wherein the third time-of-flight set includes, for each unique illuminator-detector pair, a respective measured time-of- flight of a third optical signal emitted by the illuminator of the unique illuminator-detector pair at the third time and from the third location, reflected by the target, and detected by the detector of the unique illuminator- detector pair, and (Handa – [0243], [0245])
wherein the cost function takes into account the third time-of-flight set. (Handa – [0083], [0243], [0245])
Regarding Claim 10, Handa further discloses:
further comprising an inertial navigation system (INS) or a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) coupled to the at least one processor and configured to: (Handa – [0174] In at least one embodiment, sensor data may be received from, for example and without limitation, global navigation satellite systems (“GNSS”) sensor(s) 1758 (e.g., Global Positioning System sensor(s)), RADAR sensor(s) 1760, ultrasonic sensor(s) 1762, LIDAR sensor(s) 1764, inertial measurement unit (“IMU”)sensor(s) 1766 (e.g., accelerometer(s),)
determine a first estimate of the first location of the LiDAR system at the first time and/or (Handa – [0216], [0243], [0245])
determine a second estimate of the second location of the LiDAR system at the second time, and (Handa – [0098], [0216], [0243], [0245])
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to obtain the first estimate and/or the second estimate from the INS or GNSS. (Handa – [0138], [0174])
Regarding Claims 11, 23, Handa further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: (Handa – [0138])
estimate a motion of the target. (Handa – [0138], [0088] the human hand model axes and robot end-effector axes is approximately aligned such that direction of movements are preserved between human hand motion and robot motion. [0239] Pulse Doppler RADAR sensor(s))
Regarding Claims 12, 24, Handa further discloses:
further comprising a radar subsystem coupled to the at least one processor, and (Handa – [0138], [0239])
wherein the at least one processor is configured to estimate the motion of the target using Doppler information obtained from the radar subsystem. (Handa – [0088], [0138], [0239])
Regarding Claim 13, Handa discloses the following limitations:
A method performed by a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) system comprising at least three unique illuminator-detector pairs, (Handa – [0083], [0243], [0245], [0057] The present document describes a system and method for estimating the pose of an object while the object is being manipulated by a robotic hand, claw, or manipulator.)
each of the at least three unique illuminator-detector pairs having one of n1 illuminators configured to illuminate a volume of space and one of n2 detectors configured to observe the volume of space, (Handa – [0216], [0243], [0245])
wherein n1 x n2> 2, and (Handa – [0243], [0245])
wherein the n1 illuminators and n2 detectors are situated in a non-collinear arrangement, the method comprising: (Handa – [Fig. 17A], [0243], [0245])
at each of a plurality of locations of the LiDAR system, each of the plurality of locations corresponding to a respective time, (Handa – [0098], [0243], [0245])
for each of the at least three unique illuminator-detector pairs, measuring a respective time-of-flight of a respective optical signal emitted by the illuminator, reflected by a target in the volume of space, and detected by the detector; and (Handa – [0243], [0245])
solving an optimization problem to estimate a position of the target. (Handa – [0087], [0091], [0098], [0189], [0243], [0245])
Regarding Claim 14, Handa further discloses:
wherein the optimization problem minimizes a cost function that takes into account at least a subset of the measured times of flight. (Handa – [0087], [0091], [0098], [0189], [0243], [0245])
Regarding Claim 15, Handa further discloses:
wherein the cost function is a function of at least (Handa – [0087], [0091], [0098], [0189], [0243], [0245])
(a) positions of the n1 illuminators, (Handa – [0243], [0245])
(b) positions of the n2 detectors, and (Handa – [0243], [0245])
(c) the at least a subset of the measured times of flight. (Handa – [0243], [0245])
Regarding Claim 17, Handa further discloses:
wherein solving the optimization problem comprises minimizing a sum of squared differences. (Handa – [0083], [0087], [0091])
Regarding Claim 22, Handa further discloses:
further comprising: estimating each of the plurality of locations using an inertial navigation system (INS) or a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS). (Handa – [0174])
Regarding Claim 25, Handa further discloses:
wherein the optimization problem jointly estimates the position of the target and the motion of the target. (Handa – [0087], [0088], [0216])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 103
Claims 6, 8, 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Handa (US 20210122045).
Regarding Claim 6, Handa further discloses:
wherein the optimization problem is (Handa – [0087], [0091], [0098], [0189], [0243], [0245])
wherein: X is a first vector representing the position of the target, (Handa – [0088], [0216], [0086] In some examples, the vectors r.sub.i may not only capture distance and direction from one task space to another, but their expression in local coordinates may further contain information on how the coordinate systems, and thereby fingertips, are oriented with one another.
lt,1 is a second vector representing coordinates of the first illuminator at a time t, (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0098], [0216], [0243], [0245])
lt,2 is a third vector representing coordinates of the second illuminator at the time t, (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0098], [0216], [0243], [0245])
at,1 is a fourth vector representing coordinates of the first detector at the time t, (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0098], [0216], [0243], [0245])
at,2 is a fifth vector representing coordinates of the second detector at the time t, (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0098], [0216], [0243], [0245])
c is a speed of light, (Handa – [0245])
τt,11 is the measured time-of-flight of the first optical signal emitted by the first illuminator at the time t, reflected by the target, and detected by the first detector, (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0098], [0216], [0243], [0245])
τt,12 is the measured time-of-flight of the first optical signal emitted by the first illuminator at the time t, reflected by the target, and detected by the second detector, (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0098], [0216], [0243], [0245])
τt,21 is the measured time-of-flight of the first optical signal emitted by the second illuminator at the time t, reflected by the target, and detected by the first detector, and (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0098], [0216], [0243], [0245])
τt,22 is the measured time-of-flight of the first optical signal emitted by the second illuminator at the time t, reflected by the target, and detected by the second detector. (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0098], [0216], [0243], [0245])
In the alternative, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand from Handa that a position of a target can be found using the optimizations and cost functions. The claimed optimization problem provides generic vector fitting that is a known and obvious part of SLSQP.
Regarding Claim 8, Handa further discloses:
wherein the n1 illuminators comprise a first illuminator and a second illuminator and the n2 detectors comprise a first detector and a second detector, and wherein the optimization problem is (Handa – [0087], [0091], [0098], [0189], [0243], [0245])
wherein: X is a first vector representing the position of the target, (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0216])
lt,1 is a second vector representing coordinates of the first illuminator at a time t, (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0098], [0216], [0243], [0245])
lt,2 is a third vector representing coordinates of the second illuminator at the time t, (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0098], [0216], [0243], [0245])
at,1 is a fourth vector representing coordinates of the first detector at the time t, (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0098], [0216], [0243], [0245])
at,2 is a fifth vector representing coordinates of the second detector at the time t, (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0098], [0216], [0243], [0245])
c is a speed of light, (Handa – [0245])
τt,11 is the measured time-of-flight of the first optical signal emitted by the first illuminator at the time t, reflected by the target, and detected by the first detector, (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0098], [0216], [0243], [0245])
τt,12 is the measured time-of-flight of the first optical signal emitted by the first illuminator at the time t, reflected by the target, and detected by the second detector, (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0098], [0216], [0243], [0245])
τt,21 is the measured time-of-flight of the first optical signal emitted by the second illuminator at the time t, reflected by the target, and detected by the first detector, and (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0098], [0216], [0243], [0245])
τt,22 is the measured time-of-flight of the first optical signal emitted by the second illuminator at the time t, reflected by the target, and detected by the second detector. (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0098], [0216], [0243], [0245])
Regarding Claim 18, Handa further discloses:
wherein the n1 illuminators comprise a first illuminator and a second illuminator and the n2 detectors comprise a first detector and a second detector, and wherein the optimization problem is (Handa – [0087], [0091], [0098], [0189], [0243], [0245])
wherein: X is a first vector representing the position of the target, (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0216])
lt,1 is a second vector representing coordinates of the first illuminator at a time t, (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0098], [0216], [0243], [0245])
lt,2 is a third vector representing coordinates of the second illuminator at the time t, (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0098], [0216], [0243], [0245])
at,1 is a fourth vector representing coordinates of the first detector at the time t, (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0098], [0216], [0243], [0245])
at,2 is a fifth vector representing coordinates of the second detector at the time t, (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0098], [0216], [0243], [0245])
c is a speed of light, (Handa – [0245])
τt,11 is the measured time-of-flight of the respective optical signal emitted by the first illuminator at the time t, reflected by the target, and detected by the first detector, (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0098], [0216], [0243], [0245])
τt,12 is the measured time-of-flight of the respective optical signal emitted by the first illuminator at the time t, reflected by the target, and detected by the second detector, (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0098], [0216], [0243], [0245])
τt,21 is the measured time-of-flight of the respective optical signal emitted by the second illuminator at the time t, reflected by the target, and detected by the first detector, and (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0098], [0216], [0243], [0245])
τt,22 is the measured time-of-flight of the respective optical signal emitted by the second illuminator at the time t, reflected by the target, and detected by the second detector. (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0098], [0216], [0243], [0245])
In the alternative, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand from Handa that a position of a target can be found using the optimizations and cost functions. The claimed optimization problem provides generic vector fitting that is a known and obvious part of SLSQP.
Regarding Claim 19, Handa further discloses:
wherein the optimization problem is (Handa – [0087], [0091], [0098], [0189], [0243], [0245])
wherein: X is a first vector representing the position of the target, (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0216])
lt,i is a second vector representing coordinates of an ith illuminator of the n1 illuminators at a time t, (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0098], [0216], [0243], [0245])
at,i is a third vector representing coordinates of a jth detector of the n2 detectors at the time t, (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0098], [0216], [0243], [0245])
c is a speed of light, (Handa – [0245])
τt,ij is the measured time-of-flight of the respective optical signal emitted by the ith illuminator at the time t, reflected by the target, and detected by the jth detector, (Handa – [0086], [0088], [0098], [0216], [0243], [0245])
T is a number of measurements, and f(·) is a cost function. (Handa – [0087], [0091], [0098], [0189], [0243], [0245])
In the alternative, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand from Handa that a position of a target can be found using the optimizations and cost functions. The claimed optimization problem provides generic vector fitting that is a known and obvious part of SLSQP.
Regarding Claim 20, Handa further discloses:
wherein the cost function is quadratic. (Handa – [0087])
Regarding Claim 21, Handa further discloses:
wherein a value of T is at least ten. (Handa – [Fig. 17A], [0243], [0245])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure or directed to the state of art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
The following is a brief description for relevant prior art that was cited but not applied:
Zhang (US 20200191913) describes a wireless scanning system comprises: a transmitter, a receiver, and a processor. The transmitter is configured for transmitting a first wireless signal using a plurality of transmit antennas towards an object in a venue through a wireless multipath channel of the venue.
/BRANDON JAMES HENSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645