DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-12 (Group I) in the reply filed on 04/09/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-24 (Group II), claims 25-30 and 31-36 (Group III) and claims 37-46 (Group IV) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions II, II and IV, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/09/2026.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "at least one of the maximum film thickness value and the minimum film thickness value determined based on the film thickness of the substrate measured before polishing" in last 3 lines. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2019/0389029 to Nakamura (Nakamura).
In Reference to Claim 1
Nakamura discloses a polishing apparatus (abstract), comprising:
a polishing table (Fig. 1, 30 for instance) supporting a polishing pad (20);
a polishing head (10) having a plurality of concentrically divided pressure chambers (C1-C6, see figure 2), for pressing a substrate (Fig. 1, Wf for instance) against the polishing surface of the polishing pad (20);
a plurality of pressure regulators (R1-R6, see figure 2) coupled to the pressure chambers;
a film thickness sensor (Fig.1, 70 for instance) embedded in the polishing table (30), the film thickness sensor being configured to output a signal corresponding to a film thickness of the substrate (¶ [0027], [0029]); and
an operation controller (90 for instance) configured to control a pressure of each of the pressure chambers individually through the pressure regulators (¶ [0032], [0037]),
wherein the operation controller (90) is configured to:
obtain information related to a specific position, which is a part of a circumference of the substrate (of the wafer Wf for instance), and calculate a control target film thickness value in a control target area including the specific position and an average film thickness value of the entire substrate (¶ [0042]-[0043]); and
control the pressure in the pressure chamber of the polishing head corresponding to the specific position so that a difference between the control target film thickness value and the average film thickness value of the entire substrate is reduced (¶ [0044], [0040]).
In Reference to Claim 6
Nakamura discloses the polishing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the control target film thickness value is an average value of the film thickness values within the control target area (see ¶ [0043] and [0044], control target area N for instance).
In Reference to Claim 7
Nakamura discloses the polishing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the operation controller (90 for instance) is configured to: measure a film thickness of the control target area including the specific position during polishing based on the signal output from the film thickness sensor; and control the pressure in the pressure chamber of the polishing head corresponding to the specific position based on the measured film thickness (see ¶ [0040]).
In Reference to Claim 8
Nakamura discloses the polishing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the operation controller is configured to: divide a plurality of pressing areas on the substrate divided corresponding to the pressure chambers into a specific pressing area including the control target area and an other pressing area excluding the specific pressure area; calculate an average film thickness value in the other pressing area based on the film thickness of the substrate; and control the pressure in the pressure chamber corresponding to the other pressing area so that a difference between the average film thickness value in the other pressing area and the average film thickness value of the entire substrate is reduced (see ¶ [0040]-[0044], pressing areas related to thickness areas N for instance and factoring deviations from average thickness when polishing).
In Reference to Claim 9
Nakamura discloses the e polishing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the operation controller is configured to: obtain information related to a reference position, which is a part of the circumference of a reference substrate that is different from the substrate; detect physical quantities corresponding to the film thickness of an area on the substrate including the reference position by the film thickness sensor during polishing of the reference substrate; obtain a plurality of data corresponding to the film thickness of the reference substrate based on a plurality of signals sent from the film thickness sensor; and associate each of data with the film thickness of the reference substrate when obtaining each of data (see ¶ [0040]-[0044], pressing areas related to thickness areas N for instance).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2019/0389029 to Nakamura (Nakamura) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2003/0068889 to Kamada (Kamada).
In Reference to Claim 2
Nakamura discloses the polishing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the operation controller (90 for instance) is configured to identify the specific position based on a film thickness of the substrate (¶ [0042]-[0043], positions on the wafer surface for instance), but does not teach “... measured before polishing ....”
Kamada is related to polishing apparatus (Fig. 1, see also abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein an operation controller (Fig. 1, 20 for instance) that is configured to identify a film thickness of a substrate (a wafer for instance, see abstract) measured before polishing (see step (b), abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Nakamura wherein the operation controller (of Nakamura) is configured to identify the specific position based on a film thickness of the substrate (of Nakamura) measured before polishing (as taught Kamada), so as to use an art known technique (of providing steps for polishing a substrate including measuring thickness before polishing as taught by Kamada) into the system of Nakamura and predictably polish the substrate to a thickness as determined.
In Reference to Claim 10
Nakamura discloses the polishing apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the operation controller is configured to determine the reference position based on the film thickness of the reference substrate (¶ [0042]-[0043], positions N on the wafer surface for instance), but does not teach “... measured before polishing ....”
Kamada is related to polishing apparatus (Fig. 1, see also abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein an operation controller (Fig. 1, 20 for instance) that is configured to determine a reference position based on a film thickness of a reference substrate (a wafer for instance, see abstract) measured before polishing (see step (b), abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Nakamura wherein the operation controller (of Nakamura) is configured to determine the reference position based on the film thickness of the reference substrate (of Nakamura) measured before polishing (as taught Kamada), so as to use an art known technique (of providing steps for polishing a substrate including measuring thickness before polishing as taught by Kamada) into the system of Nakamura and predictably polish the substrate to a thickness as determined.
Claim(s) 3-5 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2019/0389029 to Nakamura (Nakamura) in view of US Patent 10,569,381 to Yoshida (Yoshida).
In Reference to Claim 3
Nakamura discloses the polishing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the operation controller is configured to determine a film thickness of a substrate including variations in thickness (see ¶ [0029]), except explicitly, "... wherein the operation controller is configured to: determine a maximum film thickness position at which a maximum film thickness value is obtained and a minimum film thickness position at which a minimum film thickness value is obtained, based on a film thickness of the substrate measured before polishing; and determine at least one of the maximum film thickness position and the minimum film thickness position as the specific position ....”
Yoshida is related to polishing apparatus (Fig. 1, see also abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein an operation controller (Fig. 1, 90 for instance) that is configured to determine a maximum film thickness position at which a maximum film thickness value is obtained and a minimum film thickness position at which a minimum film thickness value is obtained (Fig. 19, at H1 and H2 for instance), based on a film thickness of the substrate measured before polishing (see c. 2, l. 8-16); and determine at least one of the maximum film thickness position and the minimum film thickness position as the specific position (of H1 or H2 for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Nakamura wherein the operation controller (of Nakamura) is configured to determine a maximum film thickness position at which a maximum film thickness value is obtained and a minimum film thickness position at which a minimum film thickness value is obtained (as taught by Yoshida), based on a film thickness of the substrate (of Nakamura) measured before polishing (as taught by Yoshida); and determine at least one of the maximum film thickness position and the minimum film thickness position as the specific position (as taught by Yoshida), so as to use an art known technique (of providing steps for polishing a substrate including measuring of a minimum thickness and maximum thickness of a wafer as taught by Yoshida) into the system of Nakamura and predictably polish the substrate to a predetermined thickness.
In Reference to Claim 4
Nakamura discloses the polishing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the operation controller is configured to determine a film thickness of a substrate including variations in thickness (see ¶ [0029]), calculate a difference between the average film thickness value of the entire substrate (see figure 4 for instance), except explicitly, "... wherein the operation controller is configured to: determine a maximum film thickness value and a minimum film thickness value based on the film thickness of the substrate measured before polishing; calculate a difference between the average film thickness value of the entire substrate and the maximum film thickness value, and a difference between the average film thickness value of the entire substrate and the minimum film thickness value; and determine a position on the substrate where the film thickness value with a largest difference is obtained as the specific position ....”
Yoshida is related to polishing apparatus (Fig. 1, see also abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein an operation controller (Fig. 1, 90 for instance) that is configured to determine a maximum film thickness value and a minimum film thickness value based on the film thickness of the substrate (Fig. 19, at H1 and H2 for instance) measured before polishing (see c. 2, l. 8-16); and determine a position on the substrate where the film thickness value with a largest difference is obtained as the specific position (such as H1 for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Nakamura wherein the operation controller (of Nakamura) is configured to determine a maximum film thickness value and a minimum film thickness value based on the film thickness of the substrate measured before polishing (as taught by Yoshida); calculate a difference between the average film thickness value of the entire substrate (of Nakamura) and the maximum film thickness value (using the average thickness relative to a maximum thickness as taught by Yoshida), and a difference (as taught by Yoshida) between the average film thickness value of the entire substrate (of Nakamura) and the minimum film thickness value (using the average thickness relative to a minimum thickness as taught by Yoshida); and determine a position on the substrate where the film thickness value with a largest difference is obtained as the specific position (as taught by Yoshida), so as to use an art known technique (of providing steps for polishing a substrate including measuring of a minimum thickness and maximum thickness of a wafer and steps to final desired thickness as taught by Yoshida) into the system of Nakamura and predictably polish the substrate to a predetermined thickness.
In Reference to Claim 5
Nakamura discloses the polishing apparatus according to claim 1, except, "... wherein the control target film thickness value corresponds to at least one of the maximum film thickness value and the minimum film thickness value determined based on the film thickness of the substrate measured before polishing ....”
Yoshida is related to polishing apparatus (Fig. 1, see also abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein a control target film thickness value (Fig. 19, area at H1 for instance) corresponds to at least one of a maximum film thickness value and a minimum film thickness value determined based on a film thickness of a substrate measured before polishing (at least a maximum, see also c. 2, l. 8-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Nakamura wherein the control target film thickness value (of Nakamura) corresponds to at least one of the maximum film thickness value and the minimum film thickness value determined based on the film thickness of the substrate measured before polishing (as taught by Yoshida), so as to use an art known technique (of providing steps for polishing a substrate including measuring of a minimum thickness and maximum thickness of a wafer and steps to final desired thickness as taught by Yoshida) into the system of Nakamura and predictably polish the substrate to a predetermined thickness.
In Reference to Claim 11
Nakamura discloses the polishing apparatus according to claim 1, except, "... wherein the operation controller is configured to control at least one of a rotational speed of the polishing head and a rotational speed of the polishing table so that the film thickness sensor crosses the control target area ....”
Yoshida is related to polishing apparatus (Fig. 1, see also abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein an operation controller (Fig. 1, 90 for instance) is configured to control at least one of a rotational speed of the polishing head and a rotational speed of the polishing table so that the film thickness sensor (15 for instance, see also figures 8 and 11) crosses the control target area (see c. 12, l. 12-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Nakamura wherein the operation controller (of Nakamura) is configured to control at least one of a rotational speed of the polishing head and a rotational speed of the polishing table so that the film thickness sensor crosses the control target area (as taught by Yoshida), so as to use an art known technique (of providing steps for polishing a substrate including controlling speed of the rotatory members and steps to final desired thickness as taught by Yoshida) into the system of Nakamura and predictably polish the substrate to a predetermined thickness.
In Reference to Claim 12
Nakamura, as modified by Yoshida, discloses the polishing apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the operation controller (of Nakamura) is configured to: determine a reference position and a relative angle of the polishing head based on a relationship between the reference position of a circumferential angle of the substrate and the rotational angle of the polishing head; and control at least one of the rotational speed of the polishing head and the rotational speed of the polishing table based on the determined relative angle (as taught by Yoshida, see c. 12, l. 12-39).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, as cited in the Notice of References Cited, are cited to show polishing apparatus for wafer systems.
Conclusion
/WAYNE A LAMBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745