DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 8-9 of the response, filed 08/12/2026, with respect to the rejection of Claims 9 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. , have been fully considered and are persuasive. The dependence of Claims 9 and 11 has been changed, and thus the indefiniteness has been removed from Claims 9 and 11. Therefore, the rejection of Claims 9 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 08/12/2026, regarding the rejections made under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1), have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that Chwolka fails to disclose the added limitation to Claim 1 of the first flexible portion being filled between the fan and first housing member. In particular, the applicant argues that Chwolka is totally silent about the first flexible portion 242 being filled between the housing element 212 and the fan 110 to avoid a hard contact between the fan 110 and the housing element 212. Therefore, the applicant argues that the rejections should be withdrawn. The Office respectfully disagrees. First, it is housing elements 122 and 124 that comprise the claimed housing, not housing element 212. Second, the first flexible portion 242 (and second flexible portion 570) of Chwolka does prevent direct contact between the fan 110 and the housing 122, 124, as shown by Figures 3 & 5.
[AltContent: textbox (Flexible portions 242, 570 prevent direct contact between the housing 122, 124 and fan 110)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Flexible portions 242 and 570 are placed to avoid direct contact between the housing 122, 124 and fan 110. If the limitation of being “filled between the fan and first housing member” implies a specific structure of the first flexible portion beyond avoiding contact between the fan and first housing member, then that specific structure should be claimed. Otherwise, Chwolka still discloses this limitation, as the first and second flexible portions 242, 570 of Chwolka fill the space between the housing 122, 124 and the fan 110 the avoid direct contact between the housing and the fan. Chwolka still discloses each and every limitation of amended Claim 1. Therefore, the applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, and the rejections made under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) are maintained.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were filed on 08/20/2024, 01/07/2025, and 06/11/2025. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chwolka (DE 102015116990 A1).
Regarding Claim 1: Chwolka discloses a fan assembly (Figure 5), comprising a housing comprising a first housing member (122) and a second housing member (124); a fan (110); and a flexible member (242, 570; Paragraphs [0038] & [0051]) located between two ends of the fan and the housing (Figure 5), the fan being fixed within the housing by the flexible member, the flexible member being configured to avoid a direct contact between the fan and the housing (Figures 3 & 5, see above), and the second housing member being detachably connected to the first housing member to release or fix the fan and the flexible member (Figure 5; Paragraph [0037]); wherein the flexible member comprises a first flexible portion (242), provided between the fan and the first housing member to support the fan (Figure 5), the first flexible portion being filled between the fan and the first housing member (Figures 3 & 5); and a second flexible portion (570), at least a part of the second flexible portion being provided between the fan and the second housing member to clamp the fan together with the first flexible portion (Figure 5)..
Regarding Claim 4: Chwolka discloses the fan assembly according to Claim 1, wherein the first flexible portion is provided independently from the second flexible portion (Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 6: Chwolka discloses the fan assembly according to Claim 4, wherein the first flexible portion is a rubber pad, and the second flexible portion is a rubber sleeve (Paragraphs [0038] & [0051]).
Regarding Claim 5: Chwolka discloses the fan assembly according to Claim 1, wherein a part of the second flexible portion is clamped between the first housing member and the second housing member to seal a gap between the first housing member and the second housing member (Figure 5; Paragraph [0051]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. See previous office action for reasons for indication of allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL L SEHN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745