DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Applicant’s submission filed 07/27/2026 has been received and entered. Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15 and 18-19 have been cancelled. Claims 55, 58-60 and 74-75 have been amended. Accordingly, claims 54-55, 58-60, 68-69 and 73-75 are pending and under current examination.
Status of Prior Rejections/Response to Argument
The objection to claims 55, 58-60 and 74-75 is withdrawn:
Applicant’s amendment to claim 55, 58-60 and 74-75 is effective to obviate the objection on record. The objection is withdrawn.
The rejection to claims 58 and 75 under 35 USC 112(b) is withdrawn:
Applicant’s amendment to claim 58 and 75 obviates the rejection on record. The rejection is withdrawn.
This is a second non-final rejection. The Examiner has re-evaluated the priority date of instant application.
Priority
The instant application is a national stage entry of PCT application PCT/US2022/025208, filed 10/25/2023 under 35 USC 371. Acknowledgement is made of the applicant’s claim for benefit to prior-filed U.S. provisional patent application 63/179,684, which was filed 04/26/2021. However, the limitation of “an AAV Cap-Mac capsid protein” in the independent claim 54 is only disclosed in the PCT application PCT/US2022/025208, which was filed 04/18/2022. Therefore claim 54 and the dependent claims 55, 58-60, 68-69 and 73-75 have a priority date of 04/18/2022 but fail the benefit of priority from the ‘684 Provisional application dated 04/26/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 54-55, 58-60, 68-69 and 73-75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (WO 2020/210570 A2, cited in IDS) in view of Chuapoco et al. (BioRxiv, online on January 09, 2022, cited in IDS).
Gao et al. teach compositions and methods for expressing one or more Ganglioside GM3 synthase (GM3S) isoforms in a cell or subject (Abstract).
Regarding claim 54, Gao et al. teach a recombinant adeno-associated virus (rAAV) comprising: (i) a capsid protein; and (ii) an isolated nucleic acid (p4, L12-13). An isolated nucleic acid comprising: (i) a first region comprising a first adeno-associated virus (AAV) inverted terminal repeat (ITR); and (ii) a second region comprising a transgene having a nucleic acid sequence encoding one or more monosialodihexosylganglioside synthase (GM3S) protein isoforms. GM3S isoforms including one or more 1a Type 1 isoforms, 1a Type 2 isoforms, 1b Type 1 isoforms, 1b Type 2 isoforms, 1c isoforms, and combinations thereof (see p1, L21-22). In some embodiments, a transgene is flanked by AAV ITRs (p3, L26-27).
Gao et al. do not teach the rAAV comprises an AAV Cap-Mac capsid protein. However, this was disclosed by Chuapoco et al. at the time of instant invention.
Chuapoco et al. teach AAV.CAP-Mac, an engineered AAV variant that enables systemic, brain-wide gene delivery in infants of two Old World primate species—the rhesus macaque (Macaca mulatta) and the green monkey (Chlorocebus sabaeus) (Abstract).
Regarding claim 54, Chuapoco et al. teach AAV.CAP-Mac, an engineered AAV9 variant that efficiently transduces multiple neuronal subtypes throughout cortical and subcortical brain regions of infant Old World primates after IV administration (p4, L86-88).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao et al.’s rAAV comprising GM3S Ia Type 2 protein isoforms, and use AAV.CAP-Mac capsid protein as taught by Chuapoco et al.. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to use AAV.CAP-Mac capsid protein since Gao et al. teach GM3 synthase (GM3S) deficiency is a rare monogenic neurological disorder (p1, L9), which requires the therapeutic rAAV efficiently deliver to the brain (see p4, L17), and Chuapoco et al. teach AAV.CAP-Mac capsid can efficiently transduces multiple neuronal subtypes throughout cortical and subcortical brain regions, which is beneficial for the gene therapy. There would be a reasonable expectation of success of having AAV.CAP-Mac capsid protein since Chuapoco et al. teach the CAP-Mac selection and mutation sites comparing to AAV9 (see figure 1).
Regarding claims 55, Gao et al. teach in some embodiments, an isolated nucleic acid includes an RNA transcript having one or more initiation codons (referred to as M1, M2, M3, etc.) which encodes one or more variants of a GM3S isoform (e.g., one or more variants of a Ia Type 1 isoform, one or more variants of a Ia Type 2 isoform, one or more variants of a lb Type I isoform, one or more variants of a lb Type 2 isoform, etc.). An initiation codon may be a codon encoding a methionine (M, encoded by AUG codon) or a codon encoding an amino acid that is not methionine but is capable of initiation of protein translation (e.g., leucine, encoded by CUG codon) (p8, L10-16).
Regarding claim 58, following the discussion above, Gao et al. teach in some embodiments, a transgene further comprises a Kozak sequence (GCCACC) operably linked to the nucleic acid sequence encoding the one or more GM3S protein isoforms (p3, L16-17).
Regarding claim 59, Gao et al. teach each of the one or more GM3S protein isoforms comprises or consists of the amino acid sequence set forth in any one of SEQ ID NOs: 8-10 (p3, L19-20). Herein the SEQ ID NO: 8 is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 8 as recited in instant claim (sequence alignment is provided).
Regarding claim 60, following the discussion above, Gao et al. teach in some embodiments, a transgene further comprises a promoter operably linked to the nucleic acid sequence encoding the one or more GM3 synthase protein isoforms. In some embodiments, a promoter is a chicken beta-actin (CBA) promoter (p3, L21-23).
Regarding claim 68, the disclosure provides an isolated nucleic acid comprising the sequence set forth in any one of SEQ ID NOs: 1-7 (p3, L31-32), herein the of SEQ ID NO:1 is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 1 as recited in instant claim (sequence alignment is provided).
Regarding claim 69, following the discussion above, Gao et al. teach in some embodiments, an isolated nucleic acid described by the disclosure comprises one or more miRNA binding sites (p4, L1-2).
Regarding claim 73, following the discussion above, Gao et al. teach in some embodiments, an rAAV vector or rAAV particle comprises a mutant ITR that lacks a functional terminal resolution site (TRS, p15, L23-24). A rAAV vector comprising an ITR lacking a functional TRS produces a self-complementary rAAV vector (p15, L29-30).
Regarding claim 74, following the discussion above, Gao et al. teach in some embodiments, an isolated nucleic acid includes an RNA transcript having one or more initiation codons (referred to as M1, M2, M3, etc.) which encodes one or more variants of a GM3S isoform (e.g., one or more variants of a Ia Type 1 isoform, one or more variants of a Ia Type 2 isoform, one or more variants of a lb Type I isoform, one or more variants of a lb Type 2 isoform, etc.). This teaching reads on the rAAV encodes one or more GM3S Ia Type 2 protein isoforms can be translated from an M3 initiation codon.
Regarding claim 75, following the discussion above, Gao et al. teach in some embodiments, a transgene further comprises a Kozak sequence (GCCACC) operably linked to the nucleic acid sequence encoding the one or more GM3S protein isoforms (p3, L16-17).
Double Patenting
Claims 54-55, 60, 68-69 and 74 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6-8 of U.S. Patent No. US 12553036 B2. in view of Chuapoco et al. (BioRxiv, online on January 09, 2022, cited in IDS). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent renders obvious to the instant claims.
Regarding claims 54-55, 68 and 74, it is noted that claims 55 and 74 are product-by-process claims, which are directed to GM3S Ia Type 2 protein isoforms. Patent claim 1 teaches an isolated nucleic acid comprising a first region comprising a first adeno-associated virus (AAV) inverted terminal repeat (ITR); and a second region comprising a transgene comprising a nucleic acid sequence that consists of the nucleotide sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 43 and encodes a GM3S Ia Type 2 protein isoform. The SEQ ID NO: 43 in patent claim 1 is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 43 in instant claim 68. Patent claim 4 teaches the isolated nucleic acid further comprising a third region comprising a second ITR wherein the first region and the third region flank the transgene. Patent claim 8 teaches a vector comprising the isolated nucleic acid.
The patent claims do not teach the isolated nucleic acid is in an rAAV which having AAV Cap-Mac capsid protein. However, this was disclosed by Chuapoco et al.. Chuapoco et al. teach AAV.CAP-Mac, an engineered AAV9 variant that efficiently transduces multiple neuronal subtypes throughout cortical and subcortical brain regions of infant Old World primates after IV administration (p4, L86-88). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the isolated nucleic acid comprising GM3S Ia Type 2 protein isoforms of the patent, and have this isolated nucleic acid in an rAAV comprising AAV.CAP-Mac capsid protein as taught by Chuapoco et al.. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to use AAV.CAP-Mac capsid protein to efficiently transduce the rAAVs to multiple neuronal subtypes throughout cortical and subcortical brain regions. There would be a reasonable expectation of success of having AAV.CAP-Mac capsid protein since Chuapoco et al. teach the CAP-Mac selection and mutation site comparing to AAV9 (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 60, patent claims 2-3 teach the transgene comprising promoter operably linked to the nucleic acid sequence encoding the GM3 synthase Ia Type 2 protein isoform, wherein the promoter is a chicken beta-actin (CBA) promoter.
Regarding claim 69, patent claim 6-7 teach the isolated nucleic acid comprises a fourth region comprising one or more miRNA binding sites, render obvious to instant claim.
Claims 54-55, 60, 68-69 and 74 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 42-43, 57-59 and 61-62 of copending Application No. 19/446,200 (reference application) in view of Chuapoco et al. (BioRxiv, online on January 09, 2022, cited in IDS). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims render obvious to the instant claims. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claims 54-55, 68 and 74, it is noted that claims 55 and 74 are product-by-process claims, which are directed to GM3S Ia Type 2 protein isoforms. Co-pending claims 42-43 and 57-59 teach a recombinant adeno-associated virus (rAAV) comprising a capsid protein and an isolated nucleic acid comprising: (a) a first region comprising a first adeno-associated virus (AAV) inverted terminal repeat (ITR); and (b) a second region comprising a transgene comprising a nucleic acid sequence that consists of the nucleotide sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 43 and encodes a GM3S Ia Type 2 protein isoform, wherein the capsid can be AAV9 capsid protein or a variant thereof, and the transgene further comprises a promoter operably linked to the nucleic acid sequence encoding the GM3 synthase Ia Type 2 protein isoform. The promoter is a chicken beta-actin (CBA) promoter. The SEQ ID NO: 43 in co-pending claim 42 is 100% identical to the SEQ ID NO: 43 in instant claim 68.
The co-pending claims do not teach an AAV Cap-Mac capsid protein. However, this was disclosed by Chuapoco et al.. Chuapoco et al. teach AAV.CAP-Mac, an engineered AAV9 variant that efficiently transduces multiple neuronal subtypes throughout cortical and subcortical brain regions of infant Old World primates after IV administration (p4, L86-88). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rAAV comprising GM3S Ia Type 2 protein isoforms of the co-pending claims, and use AAV.CAP-Mac capsid protein as taught by Chuapoco et al.. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to use AAV.CAP-Mac capsid protein to efficiently transduce the rAAVs to multiple neuronal subtypes throughout cortical and subcortical brain regions. There would be a reasonable expectation of success of having AAV.CAP-Mac capsid protein since Chuapoco et al. teach the CAP-Mac selection and mutation site comparing to AAV9 (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 60, co-pending claims 57 and 58 teach the transgene comprising a promoter operably linked to the nucleic acid sequence encoding the GM3 synthase Ia Type 2 protein isoform, wherein the promoter is a chicken beta-actin (CBA) promoter.
Regarding claim 69, co-pending claims 61-62 teach the rAAV comprises a fourth region comprising one or more miRNA binding sites, rendering obvious to instant claim.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/Q.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1633
/FEREYDOUN G SAJJADI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1699
Sequence Alignment
SEQ ID NO: 8 in instant application v.s. SEQ ID NO: 8 in WO 2020/210570 (PCT/US2020/027585):
SEQ ID NO: 1 in instant application v.s. SEQ ID NO: 1 in WO 2020/210570 (PCT/US2020/027585):
