DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on February 25, 2025 have/has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner. Initialed copies of supplied IDS(s) forms are included in this correspondence.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “knob module” (claim 11); “buttons” (claim 11) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 (line 15), Examiner suggests -- a cylinder axis (AXIS) [[in]] is known --
Claims 1-23 appear to interchange “user” and “tested subject”. Examiner suggests keeping with a single term, either “user” or “tested subject”.
Claim 21, Examiner suggests -- The system of claim 18 is further configured to --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 16 not been further treated for art purposes.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a) computer module that provides…claim 1
b) communication module that allows…claim 1
c) reliable spherocylindrical module that allows…claim 1
d) a SPH adjustment module the allows…claim 1
e) an output module that allows…in claim 1
f) an objective refraction module with which…in claim 5
g) acquisition control module for the tested subject to trigger…claim 10
h) voice-controlled module that can use user’s voice to change… claim 11
i) authorization module to secure…claim 19
j) image module for measuring pupil distances…claim 21
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, the claim recites “reliable spherocylindrical module…is known to be accurate and reliable” which are subjective/relative terms (MPEP 2173.05(b)). Specifically, neither the claims nor specification provide any objective metric to what is “reliable” and “accurate”. Examiner will understand such features to be lexicographical and referring to an objective refraction module/system.
Claims 2-23 are rejected as dependent upon claim 1.
As to claim 3, the claim recites “but is not limited to” which is exemplary language and thus unclear whether the limitations are required or not (MPEP 2173.05(d)).
As to claim 3, the claim recites “a keyboard…communication with the computer module includes inputting personal information; inputting data from an old prescription” which is both the product (system of claim 1) and the method steps of using (inputting the data). The metes and bounds are unclear since whether the system and keyboard infringes the claim, or if the user/operating using the keyboard to input the data infringes the claim (MPEP 2173.05(p)).
As to claim 3, the claim recites “personal information” and “data from an old prescription” which are subjective terms (MPEP 2173.05(b)). Specifically, what is, or is not considered “personal information”? Also, how old is old? Furthermore, the type of data input to the keyboard does not patentably distinguish the keyboard. Examiner will understand claim 3 such that so long as the prior art teaches a keyboard, claim 3 will be taught.
As to claim 6, the claim recites “all the other optical aberrations of the eye” which lacks antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)).
As to claim 7, the claim recites “the objective cylinder power” which lacks antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)).
As to claim 7, the claim recites “the confidence level” which lacks antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)).
As to claim 7, the claim recites “the confidence level” which is a subjective term (MPEP 2173.05(b)). Specifically, it is unclear what is intended by a “confidence level”. Applicant’s specification contains no details on what such feature is, or how it is determined. For purposes of compact prosecution, so long as the prior art objectively determines cylinder power, such limitation is met.
As to claim 12, which recites “but is not limited to” is exemplary language and thus unclear whether the limitations are required or not (MPEP 2173.05(d)).
As to claim 13, the claim recites “the system of claim 1 is further configured to be connected to a communication network…” which is a function that does not follow from the recited structure of the system (MPEP 2173.05(g)). Specifically, the metes and bounds are unclear whether the system of claim 1 necessarily possesses such internet connectivity, or if some other component/element is required for such function (MPEP 2173.05(g)) - Notwithstanding the permissible instances, the use of functional language in a claim may fail "to provide a clear-cut indication of the scope of the subject matter embraced by the claim" and thus be indefinite. In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 213 (CCPA 1971). For example, when claims merely recite a description of a problem to be solved or a function or result achieved by the invention, the boundaries of the claim scope may be unclear. Halliburton Energy Servs., Inc. v. M-I LLC, 514 F.3d 1244, 1255, 85 USPQ2d 1654, 1663 (Fed. Cir. 2008)).
As to claim 14, the claim recites “the system of claim 1 is further configured to have a video communication channel between the operator and tested subject” which is a function that does not follow from the recited structure of the system (MPEP 2173.05(g)). Specifically, the metes and bounds are unclear whether the system of claim 1 necessarily possesses such video communication, or if some other component/element is required for such function (MPEP 2173.05(g)) - Notwithstanding the permissible instances, the use of functional language in a claim may fail "to provide a clear-cut indication of the scope of the subject matter embraced by the claim" and thus be indefinite. In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 213 (CCPA 1971). For example, when claims merely recite a description of a problem to be solved or a function or result achieved by the invention, the boundaries of the claim scope may be unclear. Halliburton Energy Servs., Inc. v. M-I LLC, 514 F.3d 1244, 1255, 85 USPQ2d 1654, 1663 (Fed. Cir. 2008)).
As to claim 15, the claim recites “the system of claim 1 is further configured to have an audio communication channel between the operator and the tested subject” which is a function that does not follow from the recited structure of the system (MPEP 2173.05(g)). Specifically, the metes and bounds are unclear whether the system of claim 1 necessarily possesses such audio communication, or if some other component/element is required for such function (MPEP 2173.05(g)) - Notwithstanding the permissible instances, the use of functional language in a claim may fail "to provide a clear-cut indication of the scope of the subject matter embraced by the claim" and thus be indefinite. In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 213 (CCPA 1971). For example, when claims merely recite a description of a problem to be solved or a function or result achieved by the invention, the boundaries of the claim scope may be unclear. Halliburton Energy Servs., Inc. v. M-I LLC, 514 F.3d 1244, 1255, 85 USPQ2d 1654, 1663 (Fed. Cir. 2008)).
As to claim 23, which recites “such as an…” is exemplary language and thus unclear whether the limitations are required or not (MPEP 2173.05(d)).
As to claims 10, 11, 19, 21, the claim limitations “an acquisition control module…to trigger” “voice-controlled module that can use”; “authorization module to secure”; “image module for measuring pupil distances” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
A) as to the acquisition control module, Applicant’s specification appears to disclose only a proverbial black box (24a) without the necessary structure, material, acts to perform the function.
B) as to the voice-controlled module, Applicant’s specification fails to disclose any structure, material, acts to perform the function.
C) as to the authorization module, Applicant’s specification appears to disclose only a proverbial black box (33) without the necessary structure, material, acts to perform the function.
D) as to the image module for measuring pupil distances, Applicant’s specification provides a “face scanning system”, however such feature is a computer and associated computer implemented function and does not provide the necessary algorithm to determine the pupil distances (MPEP 2181.II.B - Mere reference to a general purpose computer with appropriate programming without providing an explanation of the appropriate programming, or simply reciting "software" without providing detail about the means to accomplish a specific software function, would not be an adequate disclosure of the corresponding structure to satisfy the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Aristocrat, 521 F.3d at 1334, 86 USPQ2d at 1239; Finisar, 523 F.3d at 1340-41, 86 USPQ2d at 1623).
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15, 17-18, 20, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Seriani (US 2014/0129259).
As to claim 1, Seriani teaches a refraction system for self-refraction or remote refraction of human eyes (Seriani Figs. 1-10), comprising:
a) a phoropter module that allows to place a plurality of optical lenses in front of a tested eye for refractive corrections (Seriani Fig. 4 - 141, 142; para. [0089]);
b) a vision chart module that displays letters or pictures for the tested eye to see and to determine the best corrected visual acuity BCVA by a tested subject (Seriani Fig. 4 - 145; para. [0099]);
c) a computer module that provides control to the refraction system (Seriani Fig. 3 - 10, 110, 130);
d) a communication module that allows a user or an operator to communicate with the computer module (Seriani Fig. 3 - 160; para. [0077]-[0081]), wherein the user is the subject under test and an operator is someone who assists the user (tested subject) for a refraction test, and communicating with the computer module includes recording the best corrected visual acuity for the eye BCVA (Seriani Fig. 3 - 160; para. [0077]-[0081]);
e) a reliable spherocylindrical module (Seriani Fig. 4 - 143, 144; para. [0097]) that allows the refraction system to obtain an initial spherocylindrical correction of the eye, wherein the spherocylindrical error consists of a spherical power (SPH1), and a cylinder power (CYL) and a cylinder (AXIS), wherein the cylinder power (CYL) and a cylinder (AXIS) in known to be accurate and reliable (Seriani Fig. 4 - 143, 144; para. [0097]; [0118] - wavefront aberrometer);
f) a SPH adjustment module (Seriani Fig. 4 - 142; para. [0089]) that allows the user or an operator to adjust spherical power of the phoropter module on top of the initial spherocylindrical correction of the eye so that an updated spherical power (SPH) is subjectively determined (Seriani Fig. 4 - 142; para. [0089]; Fig. 7 - 730; para. [0157]);
g) an output module that allows to present a new refractive prescription that includes the updated spherical power SPH, the cylinder power CYL and cylinder AXIS, and the best corrected visual acuity BCVA (Seriani FIg. 2 - 30A, 20B, 30C, 30D; Fig. 3 - 160, 170; para. [0076]-[0081]).
As to claim 2, Seriani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Seriani teaches wherein a plurality of optical lenses are lenses with fixed refractive powers or lenses with refractive properties that are electrically adjusted (Seriani Fig. 3 - 142).
As to claim 3, Seriani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Seriani teaches the communication module is a keyboard (Seriani para. [0076], [0077]).
As to claim 4, Seriani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Seriani teaches the reliable spherocylindrical module is a lensometer module with which a pair of eyeglasses can be measured, and from which an initial spherocylindrical correction of the tested eyes can be communicated to the computer module (Seriani Fig. 4 - 144).
As to claim 5, Seriani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Seriani teaches the reliable spherocylindrical module is an objective refraction module with which the tested eye can be measured for obtaining an initial spherocylindrical correction of the tested eye (Seriani Fig. 4 - 143, 144; para. [0097]; [0118] - wavefront aberrometer).
As to claim 6, Seriani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 5, and Seriani teaches the objective refraction module is a wavefront aberrometer which measures not only an initial spherocylindrical correction of the tested eye but also all the other optical aberrations in the eye (Seriani para. [0118] - wavefront aberrometer).
As to claim 7, Seriani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 6, and Seriani teaches include providing a range of cylinder power with the objective cylinder power for at least some eyes (Seriani Fig. 4 - 141, 142, 143, 144; para. [0089], [0090]) or determining a quality metrics for at least one of
a) measuring the confidence level in the objectively determined cylinder power and cylinder axis in addition to the objective sphero-cylinder correction (Seriani Fig. 4 - 141, 142, 143, 144; para. [0089], [0090, [0094]),
b) assessing/displaying quality of vision corrections for a plurality of cylinder power (Seriani Fig. 4 - 141, 142, 143, 144; para. [0089], [0090]).
As to claim 8, Seriani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 7, and Seriani teaches using the quality metrics to perform a subjective refraction with a phoropter in a plurality of modes: I) one mode for the subjective determination of spherical power only, II) one mode for the subjective determination of both sphere power and cylinder power (Seriani Fig. 4 - 141, 142; para. [0089], [0090], [0135]).
As to claim 9, Seriani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 6, and Seriani teaches further configured to provide optical vision diagnosis derived from all the other optical aberrations in the eye (Seriani Fig. 2; Fig. 3 - 180, 170, 50, 160; para. [0095]).
As to claim 10, Seriani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Seriani teaches further configured to have an acquisition control module for the tested subject to trigger and review wavefront measurements himself or herself (Seriani Fig. 3 - 160, 170; para. [0076], [0077]).
As to claim 11, Seriani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Seriani teaches the SPH adjustment module is achieved using one of the following:
a) a knob module that can be turned by the user for changing spherical power of the phoropter module (Seriani Fig. 3 - 160, 170; para. [0076], [0077]);
b) a voice-controlled module that can use user's voice to change spherical power of the phoropter module (Seriani Fig. 3 - 160, 170; para. [0076], [0077]);
c) a plurality of buttons that that can be pushed by the user to change spherical power of the phoropter module (Seriani Fig. 3 - 160, 170; para. [0076], [0077]).
As to claim 12, Seriani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Seriani teaches the output module includes but is not limited to a) a printer that is connected to the computer module; b) a display device that is connected to the computer module (Seriani para. [0076], [0086]).
As to claim 13, Seriani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Seriani teaches further configured to a communication network and internet for remote refraction (Seriani Fig. 2).
As to claim 14, Seriani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Seriani teaches configured to have a video communication channel between the operator and the tested subject (Seriani Fig. 2; para. [0046]).
As to claim 15, Seriani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Seriani teaches an audio communication channel between the operator and the tested subject (Seriani Fig. 2; para. [0077]).
As to claim 17, Seriani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 13, and Seriani teaches an optical shop, ophthalmology business, optometry office, an online business organization (Seriani Fig. 2; para. [0033]).
As to claim 18, Seriani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Seriani teaches the system is pladced in an enclosure configured as a kiosk (Seriani para. [0039]).
As to claim 20, Seriani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 18, and Seriani teaches a real-time video monitor system using at least a video camera (Seriani para. [0085]).
As to claim 23, Seriani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 18, and Seriani teaches a retina imaging system (Seriani Fig. 5 - 153; para. [0108]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seriani as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Lelouch (US 4,070,102).
As to claim 19, Seriani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 18, but doesn’t specify an authorization module to secure a door of the kiosk. In the same field of endeavor Lelouch teaches an eye testing kiosk having an authorization module/lock (Lelouch Fig. 1 - 6; col. 5:49-51). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide a lock since, as taught by Lelouch, such locks are well known to secure doors of kiosks (Lelouch Fig. 1 - 6; col. 5:49-51).
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seriani as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Lastinger et al. (US 2018/0108436 - Lastinger).
As to claim 21, Seriani teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 18, but doesn’t specify an image module for measuring pupil distances of the tested eyes. In the same field of endeavor Lastinger teaches an imaging module (Lastinger Fig. 5 - 504) for measuring pupil distances of the tested eyes (Lastinger Fig. 5 - 504; para. [0045], [0048]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide such interpupillary distance measurement since, as taught by Lastinger, such data allows for assisting with fitting glasses (Lastinger para. [0005], [0045]).
As to claim 22, Seriani in view of Lastinger teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 21, and Lastinger further teaches the image module is further configured as a face scanner module (Lastinger Fig. 5 - 504; para. [0048]) that acquire image of the tested subject in a plurality of perspectives (Lastinger Fig. 5 - 504; para. [0048]), wherein the acquired images can be used for trying-on eyeglasses frames online (Lastinger para. [0049]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Lastinger et al. (US 11,189,366); Seriani (US 9,230,062); Dyer (US 5,914,772); Marino et al. (US 2004/0141152); Franz et al. (US 2003/0117580) are cited as additional examples of systems for self/remote refraction.
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 January 8, 2026