DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
No claim is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on October 10, 2025.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I in the reply filed on October 10, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claims 31, 48, and 50, i.e., the independent claims, all recite in various forms a conduit passing through the bearing. This is not found persuasive because having a conduit passing through the bearing for all of the independent claims is not the sole reason why the application received the Requirements for Restriction/Election. As listed in the Species shown in the previous Office Action, the species are deemed to lack unity of invention because they are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1. The application contains claims directed to more than one species of the generic invention. Applicant also fails to submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions/Species to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the terms “access opening,” in line 10 of claim 31, are not disclosed in the original disclosure. Clarification is respectfully requested.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
the head assembly comprises: a body and a plate as recited in line 6 of claim 31 (Fig. 2A shows that the plate arrangement 21 and plate 21 are a portion of the tail assembly 14 and not an element of the head assembly 12. See also paragraphs [0119], [0126] and [0141]. It is unclear why the hierarchy of components are conflating between the specification and the claims? Clarification is respectfully requested);
the first axis passes through the access opening as recited in line 18 of claim 31 (the terms “access opening” are not disclosed in the original disclosure and not shown in the original drawings);
the second rotary coupling bearing as recited in line 2 of claim 35 (Claim 35 depends on claim 31. Claim 31 already recited two bearings (the rotatable conduit portion bearing in line 9 and the bearing in line 19 of claim 31), it is unclear if the original Specification and drawings disclose a total of three bearings? Clarification is respectfully requested);
the rotary electrical connector… wherein the conduit passes through the rotary electrical connector as recited in lines 1-3 of claim 36; and
the pivot connection comprises a rotatable conduit portion bearing as recited in lines 1-2 of claim 38 (Claim 38 depends on claims 37 and 31. Claim 31 already recited a rotatable conduit portion bearing (line 9 of claim 31), it is unclear if the original Specification and drawings disclose a total of two rotatable conduit portion bearings?); and
the forces that act upon the head assembly to the mount so as to remove the primary load path away from a first one of the at least one rotary coupling as recited in lines 8-9 of claim 48 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“mounting portion” in claim 31, where the “portion” is the placeholder and the “mounting” is the functional language;
“rotary electrical connector” in claim 36, where the “connector” is the placeholder and the “rotary electrical” is the functional language;
“pivot connection” in claim 37, where the “connection” is the placeholder and the “pivot” is the functional language;
“bearing arrangement” in claims 47 and 49, where the “arrangement” is the placeholder and the “bearing” is the functional language; and
“rotary coupling” in claim 48, where the “coupling” is the placeholder and the “rotary” is the functional language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 31-50 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The disclosure, as originally filed, does not disclose that the head assembly comprises: a body and a plate as recited in line 6 of claim 31. Fig. 2A shows that the plate arrangement 21 and plate 21 are a portion of the tail assembly 14 and not an element of the head assembly 12. See also paragraphs [0119], [0126] and [0141]. It is unclear why the hierarchy of components are conflating between the specification and the claims? Clarification is respectfully requested.
The disclosure, as originally filed, does not disclose that the liquid cannon second rotary coupling bearing as recited in line 2 of claim 35 (Claim 35 depends on claim 31. Claim 31 already recited two bearings (the rotatable conduit portion bearing in line 9 and the bearing in line 19 of claim 31), it is unclear if the original Specification and drawings disclose a total of three bearings?
The disclosure, as originally filed, does not disclose that the pivot connection comprises a rotatable conduit portion bearing as recited in lines 1-2 of claim 38 (Claim 38 depends on claims 37 and 31. Claim 31 already recited a rotatable conduit portion bearing (line 9 of claim 31), it is unclear if the original Specification and drawings disclose a total of two rotatable conduit portion bearings? Clarification is respectfully requested
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 35 recites the limitation "the mount" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In claim 38, line 2, the recitation “a rotatable conduit portion bearing” appears to be a double inclusion of the “rotatable conduit portion bearing” recited in line 9 of claim 31.
Claim 48 recites the limitation "the conduit coupled between the nozzle and inlet about at least one rotary coupling" in line 3. It appears to be idiomatically and/or grammatically incorrect. It is unclear it the term “about” refers to “near by” or “around” or something else? Clarification is respectfully requested. Similar rejection applies to line 3 of claim 49.
Claim 48 recites the limitation "the forces that act upon the head assembly to the mount so as to remove the primary load path away from a first one of the at least one rotary coupling" in lines 8-9. It appears to be idiomatically and/or grammatically incorrect. A “path” is a physical element, it is unclear how the bearing being configured to form a primary load path… and then “remove” the primary load path away…?! Similar rejection applies to claim 49. Clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 46 depends on claim 31, the subject matter of claim 31 is a liquid cannon. The terms “mountable to,” in line 2 of claim 46 clearly indicated that the “transfer chute” is NOT a part of the subject matter because it is not positively recited in the claim. Therefore, the limitations from line 2-4 of claim 46 fail to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
The above are just examples of inconsistencies and problematic issues noted by the Examiner. Applicant is advised to carefully review and amend the application to correct other deficiencies. For the purpose of examination, the claims will be examined as best understood by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 31-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 김우진 Kim (KR100924802. Kim hereinafter. See attached English translation By Google Patents).
With respect to claim 31, Kim discloses a liquid cannon (Figs. 1-6e) for (capable of being) use in discharging a liquid (Figs. 5a-6e and Abstract), the liquid cannon comprising: a head assembly (generally covered by 120 and 14 and the unmarked plate above 12 with a fastener connecting 11; 110 and 11), a tail assembly (elements under 14 and 11), an inlet (33) for the liquid, and a conduit (fluid passage with arrows from 33 to 1 shown in Fig. 4); wherein: the head assembly comprises: a body (elements generally covered by 120 and 110) and a plate (14 and the unmarked plate above 12. Fig. 4) connected together to define at least part of a head assembly compartment; a nozzle (1); a rotatable conduit portion bearing (of third rotating body 40); an access opening (covered by 120); and a cap (120) configured to (capable of) connect to the body to cap the access opening; the conduit comprises a rotatable conduit portion (at third rotating body 40) that is fluidly connected to the nozzle and operably connected to the rotatable conduit portion bearing such that the rotatable conduit portion is rotatable about a first (horizontal) axis of the rotatable conduit portion bearing, thereby accommodating vertical angular movement of the nozzle; the conduit extends through the rotatable conduit portion bearing in a direction that is parallel to the first axis; the first axis passes through (across) the access opening (Fig. 1); the head assembly is mounted to a bearing (of first rotating body 20, second rotating body 30); the tail assembly comprises a sleeve (12) defining at least part of a tail assembly compartment (defined by 12), and a mounting portion (top rim of 12 and 14); the mounting portion is configured to (capable of) be mounted to the bearing (via 14) such that the head assembly is rotatable with respect to the tail assembly at the bearing; the mounting portion is disposed between the sleeve and the body; the mounting portion is configured to (capable of) enable the liquid cannon to be mounted to a structure (15, 31); the conduit provides a flowpath for the liquid between the inlet and the nozzle; the conduit passes through the sleeve of the tail assembly, the bearing and the head assembly; the head assembly compartment is sealed (covered) from an (outer) environment of the liquid cannon; the tail assembly compartment is sealed (covered) from the (outer) environment of the liquid cannon; and at least one of the head assembly compartment and the tail assembly compartment houses a controller (PCB 130) that is configured to (capable of) control a drive means (61, 62 and the transfer members shown in Fig. 4) of the liquid cannon to drive movement of the nozzle.
With respect to claim 32, Kim discloses wherein at least a portion of the conduit (above 14) is arranged and configured to (capable of) rotate relative to the mounting portion.
With respect to claim 33, Kim discloses wherein the bearing provides a load path (around the bearing) between the head assembly and the mounting portion (same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
With respect to claim 34, Kim discloses wherein one or more dynamic seals (unmarked connections and O-rings around bearings of 40) are present concentric with the axis of the bearing.
With respect to claim 35, Kim discloses wherein the inlet is attached to the mount (top rim of 12 and 14) and a second rotary coupling bearing (lower bearing at 14) permits rotation of the (top portion of the) conduit and the head assembly relative to the inlet (same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
With respect to claim 36, Kim discloses wherein a rotary electrical connector (elements from PCB 130 to 61, 62 and to 72, 82) provides continuity of electrical connection between the head assembly and the tail assembly, wherein the conduit passes through the rotary electrical connector (at least 72, 82).
With respect to claim 37, Kim discloses wherein: the nozzle is mounted by a pivot connection (left and right ends of 40. Fig. 4) enabling the vertical angular movement of the nozzle; and liquid to the nozzle flows through the (right) pivot connection.
With respect to claim 38, Kim discloses wherein the pivot connection comprises a rotatable conduit portion bearing (of third rotating body 40. Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 39, Kim discloses wherein the rotatable conduit portion bearing forms a load path (around the bearing) for forces between the nozzle and the body (same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
With respect to claim 40, Kim discloses wherein the pivot connection further comprises one or more dynamic seals (unmarked connections and O-rings around bearings of 40).
With respect to claim 41, Kim discloses wherein when the mounting portion is mounted to the structure, the sleeve and a portion of the conduit is configured to penetrate the structure (Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 42, Kim discloses the head assembly including at least one sensor (in PCB 130 to follow the program’s electronical instructions. Page 10, second paragraph) housed therein.
With respect to claim 43, Kim discloses wherein the at least one sensor includes at least one of rotational orientation of the head assembly and/or nozzle, or any combination of two or more thereof (Figs 5a-6e. Page 10, second and sixth paragraphs).
With respect to claim 44, Kim discloses wherein rotation of the head assembly at the bearing is driven by an arrangement including a driven pinion gear engaging with a ring gear or by a worm drive or by a belt drive or by direct fluid power (Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 45, Kim discloses the liquid cannon of claim 37, including electrical (from PCB 130), mechanical (pulleys, belt and gears shown in Fig, 4), pneumatic or hydraulic drive means to actuate vertical angular movement of the nozzle and/or rotation of the head assembly (Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 46, Kim discloses wherein the liquid cannon is mountable (can be mounted) to a transfer chute such that liquid discharged from the nozzle is directed within an interior space of the transfer chute wherein the tail assembly projects through a portion, such as a wall, of the transfer chute. Alternatively, part 15 and nozzle mounting portion 12 of Kim can be considered as a “transfer chute,” then, Kim discloses the tail assembly projects through a portion, such as a wall, of the transfer chute (Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 47, Kim discloses wherein the nozzle is mounted for (capable of) vertical angular movement to the body by a bearing arrangement laterally positioned with respect to one side of the nozzle or is mounted for vertical angular movement by bearing arrangements laterally positioned with respect to both sides of the nozzle (Fig. 4. Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
With respect to claim 48, Kim discloses a liquid cannon (Figs. 1-6e) for (capable of being) use in discharging a liquid (Figs. 5a-6e and Abstract), the liquid cannon having an inlet (33) for the liquid and a conduit (fluid passage with arrows from 33 to 1 shown in Fig. 4) providing a flowpath for the liquid between the inlet and at least one nozzle (1), the conduit coupled between the nozzle and inlet about at least one rotary coupling (82), the liquid cannon including a head assembly (generally covered by 120 and 14 and the unmarked plate above 12 with a fastener connecting 11; 110 and 11) having a body (elements generally covered by 120 and 110) supporting the at least one nozzle, and a mount (top rim of 12, 14 and 15) for supporting the head assembly, a bearing (of first rotating body 20, second rotating body 30) disposed between the head assembly and the mount for (capable of) rotationally supporting the head assembly relative to the mount, the conduit being configured to (capable of) pass through the bearing, and wherein the bearing being configured to (capable of) form a primary load path (around the bearing. Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention) for forces that act upon the head assembly to the mount so as to remove the primary load path away from a first one of the at least one rotary coupling (53. Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
With respect to claim 49, Kim discloses wherein the at least one nozzle is able to move with at least two degrees of freedom (vertical and horizontal rotations) and the conduit being coupled between the nozzle and inlet about a plurality of the rotary couplings (82, 72, 14, 90, 51, 53, 54), the at least two degrees of freedom including slew rotation at the bearing disposed between the head assembly and the mount; and luff rotation by movement of the at least one nozzle relative to the to the body of the head assembly, the luff rotation being through a bearing arrangement (of third rotating body 40) laterally positioned with respect to at least one side of the nozzle, the bearing arrangement being configured to (capable of) form a primary load path (around the bearing. Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention) for forces that act upon the nozzle to the body of the head assembly so as to remove the primary load path away from a second one of the plurality of rotary couplings (72. Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
With respect to claim 50, Kim discloses a liquid cannon (Figs. 1-6e) for (capable of being) use in discharging a liquid (Figs. 5a-6e and Abstract), the liquid cannon comprising: a head assembly (generally covered by 120 and 14 and the unmarked plate above 12 with a fastener connecting 11; 110 and 11) comprising a body (elements generally covered by 120 and 110) and a nozzle (1), a tail assembly (elements under 14 and 11) configured to (capable of) mount the liquid cannon to a structure (15, 31 and the fountain. Page 3, fourth paragraph), an inlet (33) for the liquid, and a conduit (fluid passage with arrows from 33 to 1 shown in Fig. 4) providing a flow path for the liquid between the inlet and the nozzle; wherein: the head assembly is mounted to a bearing (of first rotating body 20, second rotating body 30); the tail assembly comprises a sleeve (12) defining a mounting portion (top rim of 12 and 14); the mounting portion configured to (capable of) be mounted to the bearing such that the head assembly is rotatable with respect to the tail assembly at the bearing; and wherein the mounting portion is configured to (capable of) enable the liquid cannon to be mounted to the structure such that the head assembly is locatable in an interior space of the structure and the tail assembly protrudes outside of the interior space of the structure for reducing the head space required for the liquid cannon within the interior space of the structure (Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to show the art with respect to a liquid cannon: Kubacak et al., McMillan et al., Relyea, Goldenberg et al., Marchese Clauss et al., Cavin et al. and Trapp.
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 October 28, 2025