DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 7/8/2026 (hereafter the amendments) are entered for prosecution. Claims 1-2, 4, 7-10, 12, and 14-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4, 7-10, 12, and 14-20 have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant correctly acknowledges that “When the UE switches from the Pcell to the Scell, the Pcell is [] not the carrier of the PUCCH.” Remarks at 10.
Applicant nonetheless contends that “the Pcell is not ‘in a gap’” because “The UE may still be performing other uplink transmissions (like PUSCH) on that cell” and that “As shown above, independent Claim 1 requires performing an uplink transmission only if it does not overlap with the UL gap.” Remarks at 10 and 13 (emphasis added). The contention is unpersuasive because it is not supported by claim limitation. The claim does not impose any restriction on UL transmission during UL gap much less “performing an uplink transmission only if it does not overlap with the UL gap.”
Applicant further contends that “Additionally, in amended independent Claims 1 and 9, the UL gap configuration is now recited as being for managing transmission power of the UE.” Remarks at 10-11. As discussed in detail in the rejection of claims 1 and 9, UL gap configuration being for managing transmission power of the UE is intended use of the configuration that does not impose any limitation on the steps performed by a UE or the structure of the UE. Even if it does, the cited references disclose the usage. Applicant’s contention is persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Further, the first information is now recited as including two separate configurations - a first configuration indicating the periodicity of the UL gap and a second configuration indicating the length of the UL gap - and the UE separately identifies the periodicity based on the first configuration and identifies the length based on the second configuration”. Remarks at 10-11 (emphasis added). Using “first information” and “second information” in a claim does not necessarily require the information to be different from another. As discussed in claim interpretation below, the length of the UL gap is mentioned only once in the specification, in paragraph [0035] of the publication, which states:
“On the other hand, configurations related to the uplink gap may be configured by the base station to the user equipment through higher layer signaling (e.g., higher layer messages, radio resource control (RRC) signaling, and RRC messages), and in this case, the period and length of the uplink gap may be configured.”
Applicant’s separate-configuration argument and separate-identification argument is not persuasive because the arguments are neither supported by claim language nor by the specification
Claim Interpretation
The broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of “uplink (UL) gap” includes “interval(s)” or “duration(s)” in the time domain that is somehow related to uplink (UL), because, according to [0035] of PGPub of the instant application, “On the other hand, in the disclosure, the uplink cell that does not perform uplink transmission during the uplink gap times 212 and 214 may be referred to as a deactivated uplink cell. In addition, in the disclosure, the uplink cell that performs uplink transmission at times 211 and 213 other than the uplink gap time may be referred to as an activated uplink cell.” (Emphasis added.) See also time domain / time-dependent pattern in Fig.2. The BRI of UL gap, therefore, includes slot(s) or symbol(s) specified by the time domain pattern for a PUCCH cell because those slot(s) or symbol(s) are “interval(s)” or “duration(s)” in the time domain related to PUCCH.
The BRI of the phrases “identifying, based on the first configuration, the periodicity of the UL gap” and “identifying, based on the second configuration, the length of the UL gap,” as recited in claims 1 and 9, encompasses receiving, from a base station, first information indicating an uplink (UL) gap configuration, wherein the first information includes a first configuration indicating a periodicity of a UL gap and a second configuration indicating a length of the UL gap, as also recited in claims 1 and 9.
First, information indicated by a configuration would be identified by receiving the information. Second, the length of the UL gap is mentioned only once in the specification, in paragraph [0035] of the publication, which states:
“On the other hand, configurations related to the uplink gap may be configured by the base station to the user equipment through higher layer signaling (e.g., higher layer messages, radio resource control (RRC) signaling, and RRC messages), and in this case, the period and length of the uplink gap may be configured.” (emphasis added)
The original disclosure does not support “identifying the periodicity of the UL gap” or “identifying the length of the UL gap” as operations separate from receiving configuration information related to the UL gap. Accordingly, if claims 1 and 9 are interpreted as requiring an additional “identifying” operation separate from the operation of receiving the configuration information, claims 1 and 9 would lack written-description support under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a).
Claim Objection
The phrase “through first cell” recited in claims 4 and 12 should read “through the first cell”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-10, 14-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hugl et al. (US 20220240244 A1, hereafter Hugl) in view of Zhang et al. (WO 2019157680 A1, hereafter Zhang). The English translation of Zhang is referred to for the text relied upon.
Regarding claim 1, Hugl discloses:
A method (Fig.5) performed by a user equipment (UE) operating in carrier aggregation (CA) using a first cell and a second cell (Pcell, Scell, more than one serving cell) in a communication system (Abstract, One method may include configuring at least one user equipment (UE) with a configuration for more than one serving cell for physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission within at least one physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) cell group; [0022] For URLLC services, low latency is important. Therefore, it had been proposed to enable PUCCH carrier switching for HARQ-ACK feedback which, e.g., for inter-band TDD with different UL/DL configurations can lead to some latency benefits. [0038] The example shown in FIG. 1 is provided based on the assumption that two cells are applicable for PUCCH transmission (Pcell & Scell); [0048] In some example embodiments, the network entity performing one or more of the procedures depicted in FIG. 5 may include or be included in a UE, SL UE, relay UE, mobile station, mobile device, stationary device, a wireless transmit/receive unit, IoT device or sensor, or the like.; See also [0049]), the method comprising:
receiving (510), from a base station (gNB), first information (Figs.1-4; time domain / time-dependent pattern) indicating an uplink (UL) gap configuration (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern; slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Scell, when Pcell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots. Similarly, slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Pcell, when Scell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots.) (Figs.1-4; [0027] Certain example embodiments described herein relate to the selection mechanism the UE would use to select a cell for PUCCH transmission in the case of PUCCH cell switching based on semi-static configuration (i.e., Alternative 2). One example embodiment may relate to the semi-static configuration of a cell carrying the PUCCH at certain times (i.e., time domain pattern of cell for PUCCH). [0038] ... The example shown in FIG. 1 is provided based on the assumption that two cells are applicable for PUCCH transmission (Pcell & Scell)—Pcell is associated with ‘0’ and SCell is associated with a value of ‘1’ in the configured time-domain pattern, that the configured reference SCS as well as the SCS of two cells is 15 kHz SCS (i.e. slot length of 1 ms), and that the time-domain configuration granularity is on slot level and the periodicity of the pattern is 5 ms (i.e., pattern length of 5 slots). For the example, the gNB configured the pattern ‘00011’ for the 5 ms periodicity with slot granularity (i.e. lms granularity for the 15 kHz SCS). [0039] Based on the configured time-domain pattern for the PUCCH cell of ‘00011’, the UE may determine the PUCCH cell given by the pattern. Namely, for slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0, the UE may determine the Pcell to be the cell for PUCCH transmission. This is shown as shaded grey for slots 0 to 2 and 5 to 7 in the example of FIG. 1. Based on the pattern with the ‘1’s, the Scell may be configured as the cell for PUCCH transmission, which means that for slots# {3,4}+k*pattern_length, k≥0, the SCell is selected. [0049] As illustrated in the example of FIG. 5, at 505, the method may include receiving, from a gNB, configuration information with more than one serving cell for PUCCH transmission within at least one PUCCH cell group. In addition, the method may include, at 510, receiving, from the gNB, configuration information with a time-dependent pattern of the applicable PUCCH cell.; See also [0034] and Figs.1-4) for managing transmission power of the UE (The phrase “for managing transmission power of the UE” is not afforded a patentable weight because it is an intended use of a UL gap, and it does not have impact on the method performed by the UE. Even if it does, Hugl’s time domain / time-dependent pattern is for managing UE transmission power, because the transmission power is managed by performing an uplink transmission according to the pattern), wherein the first information (Figs.1-4; time domain / time-dependent pattern) includes a first configuration (Figs.2-4; time domain pattern periodicity, periodicity of the time-domain pattern, configurable periodicity, 5 ms periodicity) indicating a periodicity (Figs.2-4, time domain pattern periodicity, periodicity of the time-domain pattern, configurable periodicity, 5 ms periodicity) of a UL gap (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern; slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Scell, when Pcell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots. Similarly, slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Pcell, when Scell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots.) associated with the first cell (the determined cell for PUCCH transmission; Pcell during slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 (i.e., during UL gap(s) for Scell); Scell during slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 (i.e., during UL gap(s) for Pcell)) (Figs.1-4, [0034] According to certain embodiments, the gNB may further configure the UE with a time-dependent pattern of the applicable PUCCH cell. The granularity of the time-domain pattern may be defined in the specification (fixed) or may be configurable to the UE. The granularity of the time-domain pattern may be in multiple of slots (N slots) or symbols (M symbols). In one example, the granularity may be 2 symbols, 7 symbols (for normal CP, 6 symbols for extended CP) or a slot to align with the Release-16 PUCCH configuration of allowing slot or sub-slot based PUCCH configuration. The periodicity of the time-domain pattern may be pre-determined in the specification or may be based on RRC configuration. In one example implementation, the configurable periodicity may have the same candidate values as the TDD UL/DL configuration (e.g., 0.5, 0.625, 1, 1.25, 2, 2.5, 3, 4, 5 and 10 ms). [0039] Based on the configured time-domain pattern for the PUCCH cell of ‘00011’, the UE may determine the PUCCH cell given by the pattern. Namely, for slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0, the UE may determine the Pcell to be the cell for PUCCH transmission. This is shown as shaded grey for slots 0 to 2 and 5 to 7 in the example of FIG. 1. Based on the pattern with the ‘1’s, the Scell may be configured as the cell for PUCCH transmission, which means that for slots# {3,4}+k*pattern_length, k≥0, the SCell is selected. [0054] In some embodiments, a periodicity of the time-domain pattern may be fixed in the specification or determined based on radio resource configuration (RRC). According to one embodiment, the configuration of the time-domain pattern may include a reference subcarrier spacing (SCS) to determine a timing and granularity of the time-domain pattern; See also [0038]) and a second configuration (Figs.1-4, lengths of slots or symbols where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern) indicating a length (lengths of slots or symbols where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern) of the UL gap (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern; slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Scell, when Pcell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots. Similarly, slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Pcell, when Scell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots.) associated with the first cell (the determined cell for PUCCH transmission; Pcell during slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 (i.e., during UL gap(s) for Scell); Scell during slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 (i.e., during UL gap(s) for Pcell)) ([0034] [0038]-[0039] [0054]);
identifying (510, 515), based on the first configuration (Figs.2-4; time domain pattern periodicity, periodicity of the time-domain pattern, configurable periodicity, 5 ms periodicity), the periodicity (Figs.2-4, time domain pattern periodicity, periodicity of the time-domain pattern, configurable periodicity, 5 ms periodicity) of the UL gap (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern; slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Scell, when Pcell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots. Similarly, slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Pcell, when Scell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots.) ([0034] [0038]-[0039] [0054]);
identifying (510, 515), based on the second configuration (Figs.1-4, lengths of slots or symbols where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern), the length (lengths of slots or symbols where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern) of the UL gap (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern; slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Scell, when Pcell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots. Similarly, slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Pcell, when Scell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots.) ([0038] FIG. 1 illustrates an example of the baseline operation of the cell selection for PUCCH based on semi-static configuration, according to an embodiment. The example shown in FIG. 1 is provided based on the assumption that two cells are applicable for PUCCH transmission (Pcell & Scell)—Pcell is associated with ‘0’ (hence when the pattern indicates ‘0’, Pcell (not Scell) is the cell for PUCCH transmission) and SCell is associated with a value of ‘1’ (hence when the pattern indicates ‘1’, Scell (not Pcell) is the cell for PUCCH transmission) in the configured time-domain pattern,… For the example, the gNB configured the pattern ‘00011’ for the 5 ms periodicity with slot granularity (i.e. 1ms granularity for the 15 kHz SCS). [0039] Based on the pattern with the ‘1’s, the Scell may be configured as the cell for PUCCH transmission; [0049] In an embodiment, the method may include, at 515, determining the cell for PUCCH transmission of a required UCI transmission based on the configured time-dependent pattern.; See also Figs.2-4 and descriptions thereof.); and
performing (530) an uplink transmission (UCI transmission) through the first cell (the determined cell for PUCCH transmission; Pcell during slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 (i.e., during UL gap(s) for Scell); Scell during slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 (i.e., during UL gap(s) for Pcell)) in case that the uplink transmission (UCI transmission) does not overlap with the UL gap (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern; slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Scell, when Pcell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots. Similarly, slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Pcell, when Scell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots.) ([0050] As further illustrated in the example of FIG. 5, the method may include, at 520, performing UCI multiplexing and PUCCH resource determination according to the configuration used on the determined cell for PUCCH transmission. The method may also include, at 525, determining the validity of PUCCH resource on the determined cell for PUCCH transmission. In an embodiment, the method may include, at 530, UCI transmission on PUCCH on the determined cell for PUCCH transmission or on PUSCH.; A cell transmits PUCCH when the cell for PUCCH transmission according to the pattern. In other words, the cell’s PUCCH transmission does not overlap with “slot(s) or symbol(s) where the cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern”.).
Hugl further disclose the first information is received as RRC configuration ([0028] Certain embodiments may be based on gNB configuration (such as RRC) determining the PUCCH cell given a semi-statically configured timing relation (i.e., time pattern) of the cell carrying PUCCH. An embodiment provides for operation for the time-dependent configuration of a cell which is to carry the PUCCH and the related PUCCH resource selection. Example embodiments consider different options on the RRC configuration of the time-dependent PUCCH cell as well as the operation for cells having different subcarrier spacings (SCS).; See also [0034], [0036], [0054], [0055]).
Hugl does not disclose transmitting, to the base station, second information in response to the RRC configuration.
However, Zhang discloses:
transmitting, to a base station (network device), second information (an acknowledgment message for confirming the configuration information) in response to RRC configuration (configuration information carried by RRC signaling) (Fig.4; pp.10-11, Step 401: The terminal device receives the high layer signaling sent by the network device, where the high layer signaling includes at least configuration information related to the terminal device receiving or transmitting the physical layer signal; Step 402: The terminal device sends, to the network device, an acknowledgment message for confirming the configuration information, where the acknowledgment message is carried by MAC signaling or physical layer signaling. In step 401, the terminal device receives configuration information sent by the network device for the terminal device to send or receive a signal related to a physical layer. The configuration information is carried by the high layer signaling, and the high layer signaling may be RRC signaling or MAC signaling.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Hugl to comprise transmitting, to the base station, second information in response to the RRC configuration as taught by Zhang, so that the transmission reliability of the transmission configuration itself is improved and/or the configuration effective blur period during configuration is reduced. (Zhang, p.11, According to the foregoing embodiment, after receiving the configuration information related to receiving or transmitting the physical layer signal, the terminal device receives or sends at least MAC signaling or physical layer signaling for confirming the configuration information. . Thereby, the transmission reliability of the transmission configuration itself is improved and/or the configuration effective blur period during configuration is reduced.).
Regarding claims 2, 8, 10, and 15, Hugl discloses:
wherein the first information (Figs.1-4; time domain / time-dependent pattern) is received (transmitted) based on a radio resource control (RRC) message (message for radio resource configuration (RRC))(See [0028], [0034], [0036], [0054], [0055]) and includes information indicating the periodicity (periodicity of the time-domain pattern) of the UL gap (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern; slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Scell, when Pcell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots. Similarly, slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Pcell, when Scell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots.) and information indicating the length (lengths of slots or symbols where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern) of the UL gap (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern; slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Scell, when Pcell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots. Similarly, slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Pcell, when Scell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots.) ([0034] According to certain embodiments, the gNB may further configure the UE with a time-dependent pattern of the applicable PUCCH cell. The granularity of the time-domain pattern may be defined in the specification (fixed) or may be configurable to the UE. The granularity of the time-domain pattern may be in multiple of slots (N slots) or symbols (M symbols). In one example, the granularity may be 2 symbols, 7 symbols (for normal CP, 6 symbols for extended CP) or a slot to align with the Release-16 PUCCH configuration of allowing slot or sub-slot based PUCCH configuration. The periodicity of the time-domain pattern may be pre-determined in the specification or may be based on RRC configuration. In one example implementation, the configurable periodicity may have the same candidate values as the TDD UL/DL configuration (e.g., 0.5, 0.625, 1, 1.25, 2, 2.5, 3, 4, 5 and 10 ms). [0039] Based on the configured time-domain pattern for the PUCCH cell of ‘00011’, the UE may determine the PUCCH cell given by the pattern. Namely, for slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0, the UE may determine the Pcell to be the cell for PUCCH transmission. This is shown as shaded grey for slots 0 to 2 and 5 to 7 in the example of FIG. 1. Based on the pattern with the ‘1’s, the Scell may be configured as the cell for PUCCH transmission, which means that for slots# {3,4}+k*pattern_length, k≥0, the SCell is selected. [0054] In some embodiments, a periodicity of the time-domain pattern may be fixed in the specification or determined based on radio resource configuration (RRC). According to one embodiment, the configuration of the time-domain pattern may include a reference subcarrier spacing (SCS) to determine a timing and granularity of the time-domain pattern).
Regarding claim 7, Hugl discloses:
A method (Fig.6) performed by a base station in a communication system ([0051] In some example embodiments, the network entity performing the method of FIG. 6 may include or be included in a base station, access node, node B, eNB, gNB, NG-RAN node, transmission-reception points (TRPs), high altitude platform stations (HAPS), relay station or the like.), the method comprising:
transmitting (610), to a user equipment (UE) operating in carrier aggregation (CA) using a first cell and a second cell (Pcell, Scell, more than one serving cell) (Abstract, One method may include configuring at least one user equipment (UE) with a configuration for more than one serving cell for physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission within at least one physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) cell group; [0022] For URLLC services, low latency is important. Therefore, it had been proposed to enable PUCCH carrier switching for HARQ-ACK feedback which, e.g., for inter-band TDD with different UL/DL configurations can lead to some latency benefits. [0038] The example shown in FIG. 1 is provided based on the assumption that two cells are applicable for PUCCH transmission (Pcell & Scell); See also [0049]), first information (Figs.1-4; time domain / time-dependent pattern) indicating an uplink (UL) gap configuration (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern; slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Scell, when Pcell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots. Similarly, slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Pcell, when Scell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots.) (Figs.1-4; [0027] Certain example embodiments described herein relate to the selection mechanism the UE would use to select a cell for PUCCH transmission in the case of PUCCH cell switching based on semi-static configuration (i.e., Alternative 2). One example embodiment may relate to the semi-static configuration of a cell carrying the PUCCH at certain times (i.e., time domain pattern of cell for PUCCH). [0038] ... The example shown in FIG. 1 is provided based on the assumption that two cells are applicable for PUCCH transmission (Pcell & Scell)—Pcell is associated with ‘0’ and SCell is associated with a value of ‘1’ in the configured time-domain pattern, that the configured reference SCS as well as the SCS of two cells is 15 kHz SCS (i.e. slot length of 1 ms), and that the time-domain configuration granularity is on slot level and the periodicity of the pattern is 5 ms (i.e., pattern length of 5 slots). For the example, the gNB configured the pattern ‘00011’ for the 5 ms periodicity with slot granularity (i.e. lms granularity for the 15 kHz SCS). [0039] Based on the configured time-domain pattern for the PUCCH cell of ‘00011’, the UE may determine the PUCCH cell given by the pattern. Namely, for slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0, the UE may determine the Pcell to be the cell for PUCCH transmission. This is shown as shaded grey for slots 0 to 2 and 5 to 7 in the example of FIG. 1. Based on the pattern with the ‘1’s, the Scell may be configured as the cell for PUCCH transmission, which means that for slots# {3,4}+k*pattern_length, k≥0, the SCell is selected. [0052] As illustrated in the example of FIG. 6, the method may include, at 605, configuring at least one UE with a configuration for more than one serving cell for PUCCH transmission within at least one PUCCH cell group. The method may also include, at 610, configuring the at least one UE with a configuration for a time-domain pattern or time-dependent pattern of an applicable PUCCH cell within the at least one PUCCH cell group.; See also [0034] and Figs.1-5) for managing transmission power of the UE (The phrase “for managing transmission power of the UE” is not afforded a patentable weight because it is an intended use of a UL gap, and it does not have impact on the method performed by the base station. Even if it does, Hugl’s time domain / time-dependent pattern is for managing UE transmission power, because the transmission power is managed by performing an uplink transmission according to the pattern), wherein the first information (Figs.1-4; time domain / time-dependent pattern) includes a first configuration (Figs.2-4; time domain pattern periodicity, periodicity of the time-domain pattern, configurable periodicity, 5 ms periodicity) indicating a periodicity (Figs.2-4, time domain pattern periodicity, periodicity of the time-domain pattern, configurable periodicity, 5 ms periodicity) of a UL gap (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern; slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Scell, when Pcell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots. Similarly, slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Pcell, when Scell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots.) associated with the first cell (the determined cell for PUCCH transmission; Pcell during slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 (i.e., during UL gap(s) for Scell); Scell during slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 (i.e., during UL gap(s) for Pcell)) (Figs.1-4, [0034] According to certain embodiments, the gNB may further configure the UE with a time-dependent pattern of the applicable PUCCH cell. The granularity of the time-domain pattern may be defined in the specification (fixed) or may be configurable to the UE. The granularity of the time-domain pattern may be in multiple of slots (N slots) or symbols (M symbols). In one example, the granularity may be 2 symbols, 7 symbols (for normal CP, 6 symbols for extended CP) or a slot to align with the Release-16 PUCCH configuration of allowing slot or sub-slot based PUCCH configuration. The periodicity of the time-domain pattern may be pre-determined in the specification or may be based on RRC configuration. In one example implementation, the configurable periodicity may have the same candidate values as the TDD UL/DL configuration (e.g., 0.5, 0.625, 1, 1.25, 2, 2.5, 3, 4, 5 and 10 ms). [0039] Based on the configured time-domain pattern for the PUCCH cell of ‘00011’, the UE may determine the PUCCH cell given by the pattern. Namely, for slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0, the UE may determine the Pcell to be the cell for PUCCH transmission. This is shown as shaded grey for slots 0 to 2 and 5 to 7 in the example of FIG. 1. Based on the pattern with the ‘1’s, the Scell may be configured as the cell for PUCCH transmission, which means that for slots# {3,4}+k*pattern_length, k≥0, the SCell is selected. [0054] In some embodiments, a periodicity of the time-domain pattern may be fixed in the specification or determined based on radio resource configuration (RRC). According to one embodiment, the configuration of the time-domain pattern may include a reference subcarrier spacing (SCS) to determine a timing and granularity of the time-domain pattern; See also [0038]) and a second configuration (Figs.1-4, lengths of slots or symbols where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern) indicating a length (lengths of slots or symbols where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern) of the UL gap (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern; slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Scell, when Pcell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots. Similarly, slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Pcell, when Scell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots.) associated with the first cell (the determined cell for PUCCH transmission; Pcell during slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 (i.e., during UL gap(s) for Scell); Scell during slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 (i.e., during UL gap(s) for Pcell)) ([0034] [0038]-[0039] [0054]); and
wherein the UL gap (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern; slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Scell, when Pcell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots. Similarly, slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Pcell, when Scell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots.) associated with the first cell (the determined cell for PUCCH transmission; Pcell during slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 (i.e., during UL gap(s) for Scell); Scell during slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 (i.e., during UL gap(s) for Pcell)) ([0034] [0038]-[0039] [0054]) is identified based on the periodicity (Figs.2-4, time domain pattern periodicity, periodicity of the time-domain pattern, configurable periodicity, 5 ms periodicity) of the UL gap (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern; slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Scell, when Pcell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots. Similarly, slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Pcell, when Scell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots.) and the length (lengths of slots or symbols where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern) of the UL gap (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern; slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Scell, when Pcell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots. Similarly, slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Pcell, when Scell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots.) ([0038] FIG. 1 illustrates an example of the baseline operation of the cell selection for PUCCH based on semi-static configuration, according to an embodiment. The example shown in FIG. 1 is provided based on the assumption that two cells are applicable for PUCCH transmission (Pcell & Scell)—Pcell is associated with ‘0’ (hence when the pattern indicates ‘0’, Pcell (not Scell) is the cell for PUCCH transmission) and SCell is associated with a value of ‘1’ (hence when the pattern indicates ‘1’, Scell (not Pcell) is the cell for PUCCH transmission) in the configured time-domain pattern,… For the example, the gNB configured the pattern ‘00011’ for the 5 ms periodicity with slot granularity (i.e. 1ms granularity for the 15 kHz SCS). [0039] Based on the pattern with the ‘1’s, the Scell may be configured as the cell for PUCCH transmission; [0049] In an embodiment, the method may include, at 515, determining the cell for PUCCH transmission of a required UCI transmission based on the configured time-dependent pattern.; See also Figs.2-4 and descriptions thereof such as [0034] [0054].), and
wherein an uplink reception (UCI reception) is performed (615) through the first cell (the determined cell for PUCCH transmission; Pcell during slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 (i.e., during UL gap(s) for Scell); Scell during slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 (i.e., during UL gap(s) for Pcell)) in case that the uplink reception (UCI reception) does not overlap with the UL gap (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern; slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Scell, when Pcell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots. Similarly, slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Pcell, when Scell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots.) ([0050] As further illustrated in the example of FIG. 5, the method may include, at 520, performing UCI multiplexing and PUCCH resource determination according to the configuration used on the determined cell for PUCCH transmission. The method may also include, at 525, determining the validity of PUCCH resource on the determined cell for PUCCH transmission. In an embodiment, the method may include, at 530, UCI transmission on PUCCH on the determined cell for PUCCH transmission or on PUSCH.; A cell transmits PUCCH when the cell for PUCCH transmission according to the pattern. In other words, the cell’s PUCCH transmission does not overlap with “slot(s) or symbol(s) where the cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern”.).
Hugl further disclose the first information is transmitted as RRC configuration ([0028] Certain embodiments may be based on gNB configuration (such as RRC) determining the PUCCH cell given a semi-statically configured timing relation (i.e., time pattern) of the cell carrying PUCCH. An embodiment provides for operation for the time-dependent configuration of a cell which is to carry the PUCCH and the related PUCCH resource selection. Example embodiments consider different options on the RRC configuration of the time-dependent PUCCH cell as well as the operation for cells having different subcarrier spacings (SCS).; See also [0034], [0036], [0054], [0055]).
Hugl does not disclose receiving, from the UE, second information as a response to the RRC configuration .
However, Zhang discloses:
receiving, from a user equipment (terminal device), second information (an acknowledgment message for confirming the configuration information) as a response to RRC configuration (configuration information carried by RRC signaling) (Fig.4; pp.10-11, Step 401: The terminal device receives the high layer signaling sent by the network device, where the high layer signaling includes at least configuration information related to the terminal device receiving or transmitting the physical layer signal; Step 402: The terminal device sends, to the network device, an acknowledgment message for confirming the configuration information, where the acknowledgment message is carried by MAC signaling or physical layer signaling. In step 401, the terminal device receives configuration information sent by the network device for the terminal device to send or receive a signal related to a physical layer. The configuration information is carried by the high layer signaling, and the high layer signaling may be RRC signaling or MAC signaling.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Hugl to comprise receiving, from the user equipment, second information in response to the RRC configuration as taught by Zhang, so that the transmission reliability of the transmission configuration itself is improved and/or the configuration effective blur period during configuration is reduced. (Zhang, p.11, According to the foregoing embodiment, after receiving the configuration information related to receiving or transmitting the physical layer signal, the terminal device receives or sends at least MAC signaling or physical layer signaling for confirming the configuration information. . Thereby, the transmission reliability of the transmission configuration itself is improved and/or the configuration effective blur period during configuration is reduced.).
Regarding claim 9, Hugl discloses:
A user equipment (UE) (Fig.7B, 20) operating in carrier aggregation (CA) using a first cell and a second cell (Pcell, Scell, more than one serving cell) in a communication system (Abstract, One method may include configuring at least one user equipment (UE) with a configuration for more than one serving cell for physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission within at least one physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) cell group; [0022] For URLLC services, low latency is important. Therefore, it had been proposed to enable PUCCH carrier switching for HARQ-ACK feedback which, e.g., for inter-band TDD with different UL/DL configurations can lead to some latency benefits. [0038] The example shown in FIG. 1 is provided based on the assumption that two cells are applicable for PUCCH transmission (Pcell & Scell); [0069] FIG. 7B illustrates an example of an apparatus 20 according to another embodiment. In an embodiment, apparatus 20 may be a node or element in a communications network or associated with such a network, such as a UE, communication node, mobile equipment (ME), mobile station, mobile device, stationary device, IoT device, or other device.; See also [0049]), the UE comprising:
a transceiver (Fig.7B, 28); and
a controller (Fig.7B, 22, 24) coupled with the transceiver (Fig.7B, 28) and configured to:
receive (510), from a base station (gNB), first information (Figs.1-4; time domain / time-dependent pattern) indicating an uplink (UL) gap configuration (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern; slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Scell, when Pcell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots. Similarly, slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Pcell, when Scell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots.) (Figs.1-4; [0027] Certain example embodiments described herein relate to the selection mechanism the UE would use to select a cell for PUCCH transmission in the case of PUCCH cell switching based on semi-static configuration (i.e., Alternative 2). One example embodiment may relate to the semi-static configuration of a cell carrying the PUCCH at certain times (i.e., time domain pattern of cell for PUCCH). [0038] ... The example shown in FIG. 1 is provided based on the assumption that two cells are applicable for PUCCH transmission (Pcell & Scell)—Pcell is associated with ‘0’ and SCell is associated with a value of ‘1’ in the configured time-domain pattern, that the configured reference SCS as well as the SCS of two cells is 15 kHz SCS (i.e. slot length of 1 ms), and that the time-domain configuration granularity is on slot level and the periodicity of the pattern is 5 ms (i.e., pattern length of 5 slots). For the example, the gNB configured the pattern ‘00011’ for the 5 ms periodicity with slot granularity (i.e. lms granularity for the 15 kHz SCS). [0039] Based on the configured time-domain pattern for the PUCCH cell of ‘00011’, the UE may determine the PUCCH cell given by the pattern. Namely, for slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0, the UE may determine the Pcell to be the cell for PUCCH transmission. This is shown as shaded grey for slots 0 to 2 and 5 to 7 in the example of FIG. 1. Based on the pattern with the ‘1’s, the Scell may be configured as the cell for PUCCH transmission, which means that for slots# {3,4}+k*pattern_length, k≥0, the SCell is selected. [0049] As illustrated in the example of FIG. 5, at 505, the method may include receiving, from a gNB, configuration information with more than one serving cell for PUCCH transmission within at least one PUCCH cell group. In addition, the method may include, at 510, receiving, from the gNB, configuration information with a time-dependent pattern of the applicable PUCCH cell.; See also [0034] and Figs.1-4) for managing transmission power of the UE (The phrase “for managing transmission power of the UE” is not afforded a patentable weight because it is an intended use of a UL gap, and it does not have impact on the structure of the UE. Even if it does, Hugl’s time domain / time-dependent pattern is for managing UE transmission power, because the transmission power is managed by performing an uplink transmission according to the pattern), wherein the first information (Figs.1-4; time domain / time-dependent pattern) includes a first configuration (Figs.2-4; time domain pattern periodicity, periodicity of the time-domain pattern, configurable periodicity, 5 ms periodicity) indicating a periodicity (Figs.2-4, time domain pattern periodicity, periodicity of the time-domain pattern, configurable periodicity, 5 ms periodicity) of a UL gap (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern; slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Scell, when Pcell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots. Similarly, slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Pcell, when Scell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots.) associated with the first cell (the determined cell for PUCCH transmission; Pcell during slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 (i.e., during UL gap(s) for Scell); Scell during slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 (i.e., during UL gap(s) for Pcell)) (Figs.1-4, [0034] According to certain embodiments, the gNB may further configure the UE with a time-dependent pattern of the applicable PUCCH cell. The granularity of the time-domain pattern may be defined in the specification (fixed) or may be configurable to the UE. The granularity of the time-domain pattern may be in multiple of slots (N slots) or symbols (M symbols). In one example, the granularity may be 2 symbols, 7 symbols (for normal CP, 6 symbols for extended CP) or a slot to align with the Release-16 PUCCH configuration of allowing slot or sub-slot based PUCCH configuration. The periodicity of the time-domain pattern may be pre-determined in the specification or may be based on RRC configuration. In one example implementation, the configurable periodicity may have the same candidate values as the TDD UL/DL configuration (e.g., 0.5, 0.625, 1, 1.25, 2, 2.5, 3, 4, 5 and 10 ms). [0039] Based on the configured time-domain pattern for the PUCCH cell of ‘00011’, the UE may determine the PUCCH cell given by the pattern. Namely, for slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0, the UE may determine the Pcell to be the cell for PUCCH transmission. This is shown as shaded grey for slots 0 to 2 and 5 to 7 in the example of FIG. 1. Based on the pattern with the ‘1’s, the Scell may be configured as the cell for PUCCH transmission, which means that for slots# {3,4}+k*pattern_length, k≥0, the SCell is selected. [0054] In some embodiments, a periodicity of the time-domain pattern may be fixed in the specification or determined based on radio resource configuration (RRC). According to one embodiment, the configuration of the time-domain pattern may include a reference subcarrier spacing (SCS) to determine a timing and granularity of the time-domain pattern; See also [0038]) and a second configuration (Figs.1-4, lengths of slots or symbols where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern) indicating a length (lengths of slots or symbols where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern) of the UL gap (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern; slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Scell, when Pcell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots. Similarly, slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Pcell, when Scell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots.) associated with the first cell (the determined cell for PUCCH transmission; Pcell during slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 (i.e., during UL gap(s) for Scell); Scell during slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 (i.e., during UL gap(s) for Pcell)) ([0034] [0038]-[0039] [0054]),
identify (510, 515), based on the first configuration (Figs.2-4; time domain pattern periodicity, periodicity of the time-domain pattern, configurable periodicity, 5 ms periodicity), the periodicity (Figs.2-4, time domain pattern periodicity, periodicity of the time-domain pattern, configurable periodicity, 5 ms periodicity) of the UL gap (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern; slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Scell, when Pcell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots. Similarly, slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Pcell, when Scell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots.) ([0034] [0038]-[0039] [0054]);
identify (510, 515), based on the second configuration (Figs.1-4, lengths of slots or symbols where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern), the length (lengths of slots or symbols where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern) of the UL gap (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern; slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Scell, when Pcell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots. Similarly, slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Pcell, when Scell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots.) ([0038] FIG. 1 illustrates an example of the baseline operation of the cell selection for PUCCH based on semi-static configuration, according to an embodiment. The example shown in FIG. 1 is provided based on the assumption that two cells are applicable for PUCCH transmission (Pcell & Scell)—Pcell is associated with ‘0’ (hence when the pattern indicates ‘0’, Pcell (not Scell) is the cell for PUCCH transmission) and SCell is associated with a value of ‘1’ (hence when the pattern indicates ‘1’, Scell (not Pcell) is the cell for PUCCH transmission) in the configured time-domain pattern,… For the example, the gNB configured the pattern ‘00011’ for the 5 ms periodicity with slot granularity (i.e. 1ms granularity for the 15 kHz SCS). [0039] Based on the pattern with the ‘1’s, the Scell may be configured as the cell for PUCCH transmission; [0049] In an embodiment, the method may include, at 515, determining the cell for PUCCH transmission of a required UCI transmission based on the configured time-dependent pattern.; See also Figs.2-4 and descriptions thereof.); and
perform (530) an uplink transmission (UCI transmission) through the first cell (the determined cell for PUCCH transmission; Pcell during slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 (i.e., during UL gap(s) for Scell); Scell during slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 (i.e., during UL gap(s) for Pcell)) in case that the uplink transmission (UCI transmission) does not overlap with the UL gap (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern; slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Scell, when Pcell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots. Similarly, slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Pcell, when Scell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots.) ([0050] As further illustrated in the example of FIG. 5, the method may include, at 520, performing UCI multiplexing and PUCCH resource determination according to the configuration used on the determined cell for PUCCH transmission. The method may also include, at 525, determining the validity of PUCCH resource on the determined cell for PUCCH transmission. In an embodiment, the method may include, at 530, UCI transmission on PUCCH on the determined cell for PUCCH transmission or on PUSCH.; A cell transmits PUCCH when the cell for PUCCH transmission according to the pattern. In other words, the cell’s PUCCH transmission does not overlap with “slot(s) or symbol(s) where the cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern”.).
Hugl further disclose the first information is received as RRC configuration ([0028] Certain embodiments may be based on gNB configuration (such as RRC) determining the PUCCH cell given a semi-statically configured timing relation (i.e., time pattern) of the cell carrying PUCCH. An embodiment provides for operation for the time-dependent configuration of a cell which is to carry the PUCCH and the related PUCCH resource selection. Example embodiments consider different options on the RRC configuration of the time-dependent PUCCH cell as well as the operation for cells having different subcarrier spacings (SCS).; See also [0034], [0036], [0054], [0055]).
Hugl does not disclose the controller is configured to transmit, to the base station, second information in response to the RRC configuration.
However, Zhang discloses:
transmitting, to a base station (network device), second information (an acknowledgment message for confirming the configuration information) in response to RRC configuration (configuration information carried by RRC signaling) (Fig.4; pp.10-11, Step 401: The terminal device receives the high layer signaling sent by the network device, where the high layer signaling includes at least configuration information related to the terminal device receiving or transmitting the physical layer signal; Step 402: The terminal device sends, to the network device, an acknowledgment message for confirming the configuration information, where the acknowledgment message is carried by MAC signaling or physical layer signaling. In step 401, the terminal device receives configuration information sent by the network device for the terminal device to send or receive a signal related to a physical layer. The configuration information is carried by the high layer signaling, and the high layer signaling may be RRC signaling or MAC signaling.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the controller of Hugl to be configured to transmit, to the base station, second information in response to the RRC configuration as taught by Zhang, so that the transmission reliability of the transmission configuration itself is improved and/or the configuration effective blur period during configuration is reduced. (Zhang, p.11, According to the foregoing embodiment, after receiving the configuration information related to receiving or transmitting the physical layer signal, the terminal device receives or sends at least MAC signaling or physical layer signaling for confirming the configuration information. . Thereby, the transmission reliability of the transmission configuration itself is improved and/or the configuration effective blur period during configuration is reduced.).
Regarding claim 14, Hugl discloses:
A base station (Fig.7A, 10) in a communication system ([0056] FIG. 7A illustrates an example of an apparatus 10 according to an embodiment. In an embodiment, apparatus 10 may be a node, host, or server in a communications network or serving such a network. For example, apparatus 10 may be a network node, a sensing node, satellite, base station, a Node B, an evolved Node B (eNB), 5G Node B or access point, next generation Node B (NG-NB or gNB), TRP, HAPS, integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, and/or a WLAN access point, associated with a radio access network, such as a LTE network, 5G or NR. In some example embodiments, apparatus 10 may be an eNB in LTE or gNB in 5G.), comprising:
a transceiver (Fig.7A, 18); and
a controller (Fig.7A, 12, 14) coupled with the transceiver (Fig.7A, 18) and configured to:
transmitting (610), to a user equipment (UE) operating in carrier aggregation (CA) using a first cell and a second cell (Pcell, Scell, more than one serving cell) (Abstract, One method may include configuring at least one user equipment (UE) with a configuration for more than one serving cell for physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission within at least one physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) cell group; [0022] For URLLC services, low latency is important. Therefore, it had been proposed to enable PUCCH carrier switching for HARQ-ACK feedback which, e.g., for inter-band TDD with different UL/DL configurations can lead to some latency benefits. [0038] The example shown in FIG. 1 is provided based on the assumption that two cells are applicable for PUCCH transmission (Pcell & Scell); See also [0049]), first information (Figs.1-4; time domain / time-dependent pattern) indicating an uplink (UL) gap configuration (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern; slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Scell, when Pcell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots. Similarly, slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Pcell, when Scell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots.) (Figs.1-4; [0027] Certain example embodiments described herein relate to the selection mechanism the UE would use to select a cell for PUCCH transmission in the case of PUCCH cell switching based on semi-static configuration (i.e., Alternative 2). One example embodiment may relate to the semi-static configuration of a cell carrying the PUCCH at certain times (i.e., time domain pattern of cell for PUCCH). [0038] ... The example shown in FIG. 1 is provided based on the assumption that two cells are applicable for PUCCH transmission (Pcell & Scell)—Pcell is associated with ‘0’ and SCell is associated with a value of ‘1’ in the configured time-domain pattern, that the configured reference SCS as well as the SCS of two cells is 15 kHz SCS (i.e. slot length of 1 ms), and that the time-domain configuration granularity is on slot level and the periodicity of the pattern is 5 ms (i.e., pattern length of 5 slots). For the example, the gNB configured the pattern ‘00011’ for the 5 ms periodicity with slot granularity (i.e. lms granularity for the 15 kHz SCS). [0039] Based on the configured time-domain pattern for the PUCCH cell of ‘00011’, the UE may determine the PUCCH cell given by the pattern. Namely, for slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0, the UE may determine the Pcell to be the cell for PUCCH transmission. This is shown as shaded grey for slots 0 to 2 and 5 to 7 in the example of FIG. 1. Based on the pattern with the ‘1’s, the Scell may be configured as the cell for PUCCH transmission, which means that for slots# {3,4}+k*pattern_length, k≥0, the SCell is selected. [0052] As illustrated in the example of FIG. 6, the method may include, at 605, configuring at least one UE with a configuration for more than one serving cell for PUCCH transmission within at least one PUCCH cell group. The method may also include, at 610, configuring the at least one UE with a configuration for a time-domain pattern or time-dependent pattern of an applicable PUCCH cell within the at least one PUCCH cell group.; See also [0034] and Figs.1-5) for managing transmission power of the UE (The phrase “for managing transmission power of the UE” is not afforded a patentable weight because it is an intended use of a UL gap, and it does not have impact on the structure of the base station. Even if it does, Hugl’s time domain / time-dependent pattern is for managing UE transmission power, because the transmission power is managed by performing an uplink transmission according to the pattern), wherein the first information (Figs.1-4; time domain / time-dependent pattern) includes a first configuration (Figs.2-4; time domain pattern periodicity, periodicity of the time-domain pattern, configurable periodicity, 5 ms periodicity) indicating a periodicity (Figs.2-4, time domain pattern periodicity, periodicity of the time-domain pattern, configurable periodicity, 5 ms periodicity) of a UL gap (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern; slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Scell, when Pcell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots. Similarly, slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Pcell, when Scell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots.) associated with the first cell (the determined cell for PUCCH transmission; Pcell during slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 (i.e., during UL gap(s) for Scell); Scell during slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 (i.e., during UL gap(s) for Pcell)) (Figs.1-4, [0034] According to certain embodiments, the gNB may further configure the UE with a time-dependent pattern of the applicable PUCCH cell. The granularity of the time-domain pattern may be defined in the specification (fixed) or may be configurable to the UE. The granularity of the time-domain pattern may be in multiple of slots (N slots) or symbols (M symbols). In one example, the granularity may be 2 symbols, 7 symbols (for normal CP, 6 symbols for extended CP) or a slot to align with the Release-16 PUCCH configuration of allowing slot or sub-slot based PUCCH configuration. The periodicity of the time-domain pattern may be pre-determined in the specification or may be based on RRC configuration. In one example implementation, the configurable periodicity may have the same candidate values as the TDD UL/DL configuration (e.g., 0.5, 0.625, 1, 1.25, 2, 2.5, 3, 4, 5 and 10 ms). [0039] Based on the configured time-domain pattern for the PUCCH cell of ‘00011’, the UE may determine the PUCCH cell given by the pattern. Namely, for slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0, the UE may determine the Pcell to be the cell for PUCCH transmission. This is shown as shaded grey for slots 0 to 2 and 5 to 7 in the example of FIG. 1. Based on the pattern with the ‘1’s, the Scell may be configured as the cell for PUCCH transmission, which means that for slots# {3,4}+k*pattern_length, k≥0, the SCell is selected. [0054] In some embodiments, a periodicity of the time-domain pattern may be fixed in the specification or determined based on radio resource configuration (RRC). According to one embodiment, the configuration of the time-domain pattern may include a reference subcarrier spacing (SCS) to determine a timing and granularity of the time-domain pattern; See also [0038]) and a second configuration (Figs.1-4, lengths of slots or symbols where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern) indicating a length (lengths of slots or symbols where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern) of the UL gap (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern; slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Scell, when Pcell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots. Similarly, slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Pcell, when Scell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots.) associated with the first cell (the determined cell for PUCCH transmission; Pcell during slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 (i.e., during UL gap(s) for Scell); Scell during slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 (i.e., during UL gap(s) for Pcell)) ([0034] [0038]-[0039] [0054]); and
wherein the UL gap (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern; slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Scell, when Pcell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots. Similarly, slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Pcell, when Scell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots.) associated with the first cell (the determined cell for PUCCH transmission; Pcell during slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 (i.e., during UL gap(s) for Scell); Scell during slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 (i.e., during UL gap(s) for Pcell)) ([0034] [0038]-[0039] [0054]) is identified based on the periodicity (Figs.2-4, time domain pattern periodicity, periodicity of the time-domain pattern, configurable periodicity, 5 ms periodicity) of the UL gap (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern; slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Scell, when Pcell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots. Similarly, slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Pcell, when Scell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots.) and the length (lengths of slots or symbols where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern) of the UL gap (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern; slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Scell, when Pcell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots. Similarly, slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Pcell, when Scell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots.) ([0038] FIG. 1 illustrates an example of the baseline operation of the cell selection for PUCCH based on semi-static configuration, according to an embodiment. The example shown in FIG. 1 is provided based on the assumption that two cells are applicable for PUCCH transmission (Pcell & Scell)—Pcell is associated with ‘0’ (hence when the pattern indicates ‘0’, Pcell (not Scell) is the cell for PUCCH transmission) and SCell is associated with a value of ‘1’ (hence when the pattern indicates ‘1’, Scell (not Pcell) is the cell for PUCCH transmission) in the configured time-domain pattern,… For the example, the gNB configured the pattern ‘00011’ for the 5 ms periodicity with slot granularity (i.e. 1ms granularity for the 15 kHz SCS). [0039] Based on the pattern with the ‘1’s, the Scell may be configured as the cell for PUCCH transmission; [0049] In an embodiment, the method may include, at 515, determining the cell for PUCCH transmission of a required UCI transmission based on the configured time-dependent pattern.; See also Figs.2-4 and descriptions thereof such as [0034] [0054].), and
wherein an uplink reception (UCI reception) is performed (615) through the first cell (the determined cell for PUCCH transmission; Pcell during slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 (i.e., during UL gap(s) for Scell); Scell during slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 (i.e., during UL gap(s) for Pcell)) in case that the uplink reception (UCI reception) does not overlap with the UL gap (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern; slots# { 0,1,2}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Scell, when Pcell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots. Similarly, slots# {3,4}+k *pattern_length, k≥0 are UL gap(s) for Pcell, when Scell is the cell for PUCCH transmission at those slots.) ([0050] As further illustrated in the example of FIG. 5, the method may include, at 520, performing UCI multiplexing and PUCCH resource determination according to the configuration used on the determined cell for PUCCH transmission. The method may also include, at 525, determining the validity of PUCCH resource on the determined cell for PUCCH transmission. In an embodiment, the method may include, at 530, UCI transmission on PUCCH on the determined cell for PUCCH transmission or on PUSCH.; A cell transmits PUCCH when the cell for PUCCH transmission according to the pattern. In other words, the cell’s PUCCH transmission does not overlap with “slot(s) or symbol(s) where the cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern”.).
Hugl further disclose the first information is transmitted as RRC configuration ([0028] Certain embodiments may be based on gNB configuration (such as RRC) determining the PUCCH cell given a semi-statically configured timing relation (i.e., time pattern) of the cell carrying PUCCH. An embodiment provides for operation for the time-dependent configuration of a cell which is to carry the PUCCH and the related PUCCH resource selection. Example embodiments consider different options on the RRC configuration of the time-dependent PUCCH cell as well as the operation for cells having different subcarrier spacings (SCS).; See also [0034], [0036], [0054], [0055]).
Hugl does not disclose the controller is configured to receive, from the UE, second information as a response to the RRC configuration .
However, Zhang discloses:
receiving, from a user equipment (terminal device), second information (an acknowledgment message for confirming the configuration information) as a response to RRC configuration (configuration information carried by RRC signaling) (Fig.4; pp.10-11, Step 401: The terminal device receives the high layer signaling sent by the network device, where the high layer signaling includes at least configuration information related to the terminal device receiving or transmitting the physical layer signal; Step 402: The terminal device sends, to the network device, an acknowledgment message for confirming the configuration information, where the acknowledgment message is carried by MAC signaling or physical layer signaling. In step 401, the terminal device receives configuration information sent by the network device for the terminal device to send or receive a signal related to a physical layer. The configuration information is carried by the high layer signaling, and the high layer signaling may be RRC signaling or MAC signaling.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the controller of Hugl to be configured to receive, from the user equipment, second information in response to the RRC configuration as taught by Zhang, so that the transmission reliability of the transmission configuration itself is improved and/or the configuration effective blur period during configuration is reduced. (Zhang, p.11, According to the foregoing embodiment, after receiving the configuration information related to receiving or transmitting the physical layer signal, the terminal device receives or sends at least MAC signaling or physical layer signaling for confirming the configuration information. . Thereby, the transmission reliability of the transmission configuration itself is improved and/or the configuration effective blur period during configuration is reduced.).
Regarding claims 16 and 19, Hugl discloses:
wherein the first information further includes a cell index of the first cell ([0035] … The configuration may contain, for each time-domain indication, an index of the cell used for PUCCH transmission. The index of the PUCCH cell may be given by RRC configuration (i.e., specific PUCCH cell index, 0 . . . K) or may be implicitly given by the serving cell index. [0055] … According to an embodiment, the configuration of the time-domain pattern may include, for each time-domain indication, an index of the cell used for PUCCH transmission, and the index of the PUCCH cell may be given by RRC configuration or implicitly given by the serving cell index.)
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hugl in view of Zhang, and in further view of and Chen et al. (US 20220278784 A1, hereafter Chen).
Regarding claim 4,
Hugl and Zhang do not disclose: performing, during the UL gap, a downlink reception through first cell.
However, Chen discloses:
performing, during a UL gap (time when 2.1G FDD UL CC without the grey uplink resources), a downlink reception (DL reception on 2.1G FDD DL CC) through a first cell (2.1G FDD cell) Fig.6, [0056] FIG. 6 depicts examples of resource allocations 600, 602, which can each include multiple CCs. Resource allocations 600, 602 each include a CC used for 3.5 gigahertz (G) TDD, a CC used for 2.1G FDD for downlink (DL), and a CC used for 2.1G FDD for uplink (UL)... In resource allocation 602, uplink transmissions can be supported or can otherwise occur as time division duplexed (as indicated in the grey uplink resources) on the 3.5G TDD CC and the 2.1G FDD UL CC (e.g., such that only one CC is used at a time for uplink transmission).).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Hugl and Zhang in such a way that a downlink reception is performed during the UL gap through the first cell as taught by Chen, in order to achieve high downlink throughput taking advantage of concurrent downlink receptions from high power cellular base station (Chen, [0026]).
Regarding claim 12,
Hugl and Zhang do not disclose: the controller is configured to perform, during the UL gap, a downlink reception through first cell.
However, Chen discloses:
performing, during a UL gap (time when 2.1G FDD UL CC without the grey uplink resources), a downlink reception (DL reception on 2.1G FDD DL CC) through a first cell (2.1G FDD cell) Fig.6, [0056] FIG. 6 depicts examples of resource allocations 600, 602, which can each include multiple CCs. Resource allocations 600, 602 each include a CC used for 3.5 gigahertz (G) TDD, a CC used for 2.1G FDD for downlink (DL), and a CC used for 2.1G FDD for uplink (UL)... In resource allocation 602, uplink transmissions can be supported or can otherwise occur as time division duplexed (as indicated in the grey uplink resources) on the 3.5G TDD CC and the 2.1G FDD UL CC (e.g., such that only one CC is used at a time for uplink transmission).).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the controller of Hugl and Zhang in such a way that a downlink reception is performed by the controller during the UL gap through the first cell as taught by Chen, in order to achieve high downlink throughput taking advantage of concurrent downlink receptions from high power cellular base station (Chen, [0026]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hugl in view of Zhang, and in further view of and Kumagawa et al. (WO 2022157950 A1, hereafter Kumagawa). As English translation of Kumagawa, EP 4284089 A1 is referred to for the text relied upon.
Regarding claim 17, Hugl discloses:
The UL gap configuration (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern) is associated with a PUCCH cell switching ([0027] Certain example embodiments described herein relate to the selection mechanism the UE would use to select a cell for PUCCH transmission in the case of PUCCH cell switching based on semi-static configuration (i.e., Alternative 2). One example embodiment may relate to the semi-static configuration of a cell carrying the PUCCH at certain times (i.e., time domain pattern of cell for PUCCH)).
Hugl and Zhang do not disclose: transmitting, to the base station, UE capability information, the UE capability information being associated with the PUCCH cell switching.
However, Kumagawa discloses:
transmitting, to a base station, UE capability information, the UE capability information being associated with a PUCCH cell switching ([0124] The type of UCI to which the PUCCH carrier switching is applied may be specified in a technical specification or configured by the RRC. [0126] From among the multiple options in the above-described embodiments, the option to be used may be configured by using a higher-layer parameter, may be transmitted to the base station 10 by the terminal 20 as UE capability, may be specified in a technical specification, and/or may be configured by using a higher-layer parameter and transmitted to the base station 10 as UE capability. [0127] Information indicating whether the terminal 20 supports the PUCCH carrier switching may be specified as UE capability information of the terminal 20. [0128] Information indicating whether the terminal 20 supports the PUCCH carrier switching based on a timing pattern may be specified as UE capability information of the terminal 20. [0129] Information indicating whether the terminal 20 supports the PUCCH carrier switching based on a semi-static configuration may be specified as UE capability information of the terminal 20.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Hugl and Zhang to transmit UE capability information as taught by Kumagawa, in order to facilitate the base station’s PUCCH cell switching related management for URLLC (Kumagawa, [0003]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hugl in view of Zhang, and in further view of and Gao et al. (US 20240205917 A1, hereafter Gao).
Regarding claim 18,
Hugl and Zhang do not disclose: wherein the first cell and the second cell are asynchronous to each other.
However, Gao discloses:
wherein a first cell and a second cell are asynchronous to each other ([0306] The embodiments of the present disclosure are illustrated by taking a case of synchronous CA between different carriers as an example, that is, when boundaries of radio frames on different carriers are aligned, slot boundaries of different carriers having the same SCS are also aligned. It should be noted that it may also be applied in a case of asynchronous CA, that is, slot numbers between different carriers differ by a fixed offset value (offset). [0307] According to the embodiments of the present disclosure, when PUCCH carrier switching needs to be performed, a second time unit for PUCCH transmission on a second carrier after the switching is determined based on a first time unit for the PUCCH transmission on a first carrier before the PUCCH carrier switching. Therefore, a time unit for PUCCH transmission on a carrier after PUCCH carrier switching is determined without the need for notification or instruction by additional signaling, so as to ensure a normal implementation of transmission during PUCCH carrier switching without adding additional signaling overhead.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first cell and the second cell of Hugl and Zhang to be asynchronous to each other as taught by Gao, in order to take advantage of PUCCH cell switching in case of asynchronous CA (Hugl, [0027]; Gao, [0306], [0307]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hugl in view of Zhang, and in further view of and Kumagawa and Gao.
Regarding claim 20, Hugl discloses:
The UL gap (slot(s) or symbol(s) where a cell is not the cell for PUCCH transmission per time domain / time-dependent pattern) is associated with a PUCCH cell switching ([0027] Certain example embodiments described herein relate to the selection mechanism the UE would use to select a cell for PUCCH transmission in the case of PUCCH cell switching based on semi-static configuration (i.e., Alternative 2). One example embodiment may relate to the semi-static configuration of a cell carrying the PUCCH at certain times (i.e., time domain pattern of cell for PUCCH)).
Hugl and Zhang do not disclose: wherein the controller is configured to transmit, to the base station, UE capability information, the UE capability information being associated with the PUCCH cell swithcing, and wherein the first cell and the second cell are asynchronous to each other.
However, Kumagawa discloses:
transmitting, to a base station, UE capability information, the UE capability information being associated with a PUCCH cell switching ([0124] The type of UCI to which the PUCCH carrier switching is applied may be specified in a technical specification or configured by the RRC. [0126] From among the multiple options in the above-described embodiments, the option to be used may be configured by using a higher-layer parameter, may be transmitted to the base station 10 by the terminal 20 as UE capability, may be specified in a technical specification, and/or may be configured by using a higher-layer parameter and transmitted to the base station 10 as UE capability. [0127] Information indicating whether the terminal 20 supports the PUCCH carrier switching may be specified as UE capability information of the terminal 20. [0128] Information indicating whether the terminal 20 supports the PUCCH carrier switching based on a timing pattern may be specified as UE capability information of the terminal 20. [0129] Information indicating whether the terminal 20 supports the PUCCH carrier switching based on a semi-static configuration may be specified as UE capability information of the terminal 20.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the controller of Hugl and Zhang to transmit UE capability information as taught by Kumagawa, in order to facilitate the base station’s PUCCH cell switching related management for URLLC (Kumagawa, [0003]).
Hugl, Zhang, and Kumagawa do not disclose: wherein the first cell and the second cell are asynchronous to each other.
However, Gao discloses:
wherein a first cell and a second cell are asynchronous to each other ([0306] The embodiments of the present disclosure are illustrated by taking a case of synchronous CA between different carriers as an example, that is, when boundaries of radio frames on different carriers are aligned, slot boundaries of different carriers having the same SCS are also aligned. It should be noted that it may also be applied in a case of asynchronous CA, that is, slot numbers between different carriers differ by a fixed offset value (offset). [0307] According to the embodiments of the present disclosure, when PUCCH carrier switching needs to be performed, a second time unit for PUCCH transmission on a second carrier after the switching is determined based on a first time unit for the PUCCH transmission on a first carrier before the PUCCH carrier switching. Therefore, a time unit for PUCCH transmission on a carrier after PUCCH carrier switching is determined without the need for notification or instruction by additional signaling, so as to ensure a normal implementation of transmission during PUCCH carrier switching without adding additional signaling overhead.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first cell and the second cell of Hugl, Zhang, and Kumagawa to be asynchronous to each other as taught by Gao, in order to take advantage of PUCCH cell switching in case of asynchronous CA (Hugl, [0027]; Gao, [0306], [0307]).
Conclusion
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418