DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment and arguments, with respect to claims 16-29 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new ground(s) of rejection are made in view of Wang et al (WO 2022/056806 A1) and Xu et al (US 2022/0303729 A1) as discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-17, 19-22, 24-26 & 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al (WO 2022/056806 A1) (hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claims 16 & 26, Wang teaches a user equipment (120) in a wireless communication system (1), wherein the UE comprising: a transceiver (630); and a processor (610) coupled with the transceiver and configured to
receive, from a base station, RRC release message including a multicast configuration for a multicast and broadcast (MBS) session and transition from a radio resource control (RRC) connected state to an RRC inactive state and stop receiving the MBS session based on the RRC release message (Wang teaches that the terminal device receives an RRC release msg from the BS and suspend the MBS service; par [74]);
receive, from the base station (200), a paging message for a group notification, wherein the paging message includes a temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) (Wang teaches that when the MBS data is reached, the network pages the terminal device to wake up the terminal device to receive the MBS service in par [75]; Wang further teaches that the paging message includes TMGI in par [115]));
identify that the UE has joined the MBS session based on the TMGI (Wang teaches that when the terminal receives the RRC release, it stores the TMGI in par [97]; and then when it receives the MBS paging message, it uses the TMGI to identify/use the MBS service in par[115]), and
apply the multicast configuration received in the RRC release message based on the identification (see par [83,84,87,97,105,115]).
Regarding claims 17 & 22, Wang further teaches monitoring that the paging channel for group notification addressed with a paging RNTI (see par [103-114]).
Regarding claims 19 & 24, Wang further teaches that the UE transmits to the base station its capability regarding a support for one or more group-radio network temporary identifiers (G-RNTIs) for an MBS multicast service (see par [90-97] where the terminal sends 1st configuration information to the network to determine the MBS paging area supported by the terminal for an MBS service with a corresponding G-RNTI).
Regarding claim 20, Wang further teach that RRC release include PTM config information (Wang teaches that the RRC release message includes TMGI & G-RNTI in par [83] and that TMGI/G-RNTI is/are PTM configuration information in par [58]).
Regarding claims 21 & 28, Wang teaches a base station (110) in a wireless communication system (1), the base station comprising: a transceiver (630); and a processor (610) coupled with the transceiver and configured to
transmit, to a user equipment (terminal), RRC release message including a multicast configuration for a multicast and broadcast (MBS) session and transition from a radio resource control (RRC) connected state to an RRC inactive state and stop transmitting the MBS session based on the RRC release message (Wang teaches that the network sends terminal device an RRC release msg to suspend the MBS service; par [74]);
Transmit to the UE a paging message for a group notification, wherein the paging message includes a temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) (Wang teaches that when the MBS data is reached, the network pages the terminal device to wake up the terminal device to receive the MBS service in par [75]; Wang further teaches that the paging message includes TMGI in par [115])) so that the UE could join the MBS session based on the TMGI and resume the MBS session (Wang teaches that when the terminal receives the RRC release, it stores the TMGI in par [97]; and then when it receives the MBS paging message, it uses the TMGI to join the MBS service in par[115]; See also par [83,84,87,105]).
Regarding claim 25, Wang further teach that RRC release include PTM config information (Wang teaches that the RRC release message includes TMGI & G-RNTI in par [83] and that TMGI/G-RNTI is/are PTM configuration information in par [58]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18, 23, 27 & 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (WO 2022/056806 A1) in view of Xu et al (US 2022/0303729 A1) (hereinafter “Xu”).
Regarding claims 18 and 23, Wang does not explicitly teach that the terminal remains in inactive state while receiving the MBS service. However, Xu explicitly teaches that the terminal receives MBS service while remaining in the inactive state to lower power consumption (See par [71, 101, 102]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply Xu’s teaching of UE receiving MBS service while in inactive state in Wang’s system with the motivation being to reduce power consumption.
Regarding claim 27, Wang further teaches monitoring that the paging channel for group notification addressed with a paging RNTI (see par [103-114]). Wang does not explicitly teach that resuming MBS session while UE remains in inactive state. However, Xu explicitly teaches that the terminal resumes the MBS service while remaining in the inactive state to lower power consumption (See par [71, 101, 102]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply Xu’s teaching of UE receiving MBS service while in inactive state in Wang’s system with the motivation being to reduce power consumption.
Regarding claim 29, Wang does not explicitly teach that UE stays in inactive state. However, Xu explicitly teaches that the terminal resumes the MBS service while remaining in the inactive state to lower power consumption (See par [71, 101, 102]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply Xu’s teaching of UE receiving MBS service while in inactive state in Wang’s system with the motivation being to reduce power consumption.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al (US 2022/0046689 A1) teaches RRC release message including MBS config information.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
HUY D. VU
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461