DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments to Claims 1,2,5,23,30, in the submission filed 5/4/2026 are acknowledged and accepted.
Cancellation of Claim 4 is acknowledged and accepted.
In view of the amendments to the claims, objections to claims and rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn.
Pending Claims are 1-3,5,7-11,13-17,19,21,23,25,27,29-30. Claims 6,12,18,20,22,24,26,28, were canceled previously.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments (Remarks, filed 5/4/2026) have been considered, but, respectfully, are not found persuasive.
a) Vojtisek, holographic elements 21 and 22 are both part of a secondary illumination system and function together to transport and direct light from the light source toward the separate primary hologram 11. Accordingly, holographic elements 21 and 22 are both illumination elements and do not correspond to a light-shaping HOE and an imaging HOE as required by the present claims. The imaging function in Vojtisek is instead performed exclusively by the separate primary hologram 11, which is physically distinct from the secondary hologram system.
Applicant’s arguments of the unworkability of the combination, due to holographic elements 21 and 22 being both illumination elements and do not correspond to a light-shaping HOE and an imaging HOE, appear to be based on a literal application of the actual structure of fig 2 to the actual structure of fig 1. However, that is not the proper standard for the analysis required under 35 USC 103(a). The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Keller at 881, goes on to revisit the long history of the U.S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals (CCPA) regarding the nature of suggestion established by the combined teachings of the references rather than the actual results of a physical, bodily incorporation:
To justify combining reference teachings in support of a rejection it is not necessary that a device shown in one reference can be physically inserted into the device shown in the other. In re Griver, 53 CCPA 815, 354, F.2d 377, 148 USPQ 197 (1966); In re Billingsley, 47 CCPA 1108, 279 F.2d 689, 126 USPQ 370 (1960). The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. In re Wood, 599 F.2d 1032, 202 USPQ 171 (CCPA 1979); In re Passal, 57 CCPA 1151, 426 F.2d 828, 165 USPQ 720 (1970); In re Richman, 57 CCPA 1060, 424 F.2d 1388, 165 USPQ 509 (1970); In re Rosselet, 52 CCPA 1533, 347 F.2d 847, 146 USPQ 183 (1965).
Vojtisek in embodiment of fig 1,2, teaches a light source (16) transmitting light to an imaging HOE (11) and a light shaping HOE (21) arranged between them to perform spectral filtering. Vojtisek in fig 2 also teaches that holograms can be placed on the outer surfaces of a waveguide and transmit light from one hologram to another. This design suggests that the imaging HOE (11) and light shaping HOE(21) can be on the outer surfaces of the waveguide. Hence the combination teaches the optical system with the imaging HOE and light shaping HOE on the outer surfaces of the optical waveguide.
The structure taught in the combined teachings of the references, as set forth above, is an optical system. Because the structure of the combined system is the same as that claimed, it must inherently perform the same function of the optical system. See MPEP § 2112.01.
b) Vojtisek emphasizes the use of a separate, exchangeable primary hologram 11. This exchangeability is a central feature of Vojtisek because the secondary hologram system is intended to illuminate different primary holograms to generate different luminous signatures. Integrating the primary hologram into the waveguide structure, as required by the amended claims, would eliminate this modularity and would fundamentally change the operation of Vojtisek.
Applicant's assertion that the combination would eliminate this modularity and would fundamentally change the operation of Vojtisek is merely an argument unaccompanied by evidentiary support, and, thus, is insufficient to rebut Examiner's finding of obviousness. Arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (“An assertion of what seems to follow from common experience is just attorney argument and not the kind of factual evidence that is required to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness.”). MPEP §§ 2145, 2129, 2144.03, 716.01(c).
Primary hologram 11 occupying a space on an outer surface of the waveguide and hologram 21 occupying another outer surface would not change the modularity of the hologram 11. It would still allow it to be exchanged so that the secondary hologram 21 illuminates different primary holograms 11.
c) Each of the different embodiments relies on the primary hologram being a freestanding component rather than a layer applied to the illumination waveguide. Thus, Vojtisek consistently teaches away from the integrated waveguide architecture.
Applicant argues that the reference teaches away. However, it has been held that such nonpreferred embodiments failing to assert discovery beyond that known in the art does not constitute a “teaching away” unless such disclosure criticizes, discredits, or otherwise discourages the solution claimed. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971), In re Gurley, 27 F.3d 551, 554, 31 USPQ2d 1130, 1132 (Fed. Cir. 1994), In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004), (see MPEP §2124).
Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). “A known or obvious composition does not become patentable simply because it has been described as somewhat inferior to some other product for the same use.” In re Gurley, 27 F.3d 551, 554, 31 USPQ2d 1130, 1132 (Fed. Cir. 1994) (The invention was directed to an epoxy impregnated fiber-reinforced printed circuit material. The applied prior art reference taught a printed circuit material similar to that of the claims but impregnated with polyester-imide resin instead of epoxy. The reference, however, disclosed that epoxy was known for this use, but that epoxy impregnated circuit boards have “relatively acceptable dimensional stability” and “some degree of flexibility,” but are inferior to circuit boards impregnated with polyester-imide resins. The court upheld the rejection concluding that applicant’s argument that the reference teaches away from using epoxy was insufficient to overcome the rejection since “Gurley asserted no discovery beyond what was known in the art.” 27 F.3d at 554, 31 USPQ2d at 1132.). Furthermore, “[t]he prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed….” In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004). (MPEP §2124).
In this case, there is neither discredit of the combination, nor destruction of the reference because Vojtisek illustrates primary hologram 11 as a freestanding component but the embodiments are not dependent on it being freestanding. Vojtisek does not teach away from the hologram 11 being on a waveguide. Its function would not change if it is placed on a waveguide, in fact the device would be more compact and secured if the hologram is placed on the waveguide outer surface in an integrated manner.
Hence in view of these arguments, the rejection of claims is upheld.
Claims 1-3,5,7-11,13-17,19,21,23,25,27,29-30 are rejected as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,21,30, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vojtisek et al (WO 2020/002491, date: 2020-01-02, of record).
Regarding Claim 1, Vojtisek teaches (fig 1,2) an optical system (lighting device 10, para 40), comprising:
an imaging holographic optical element HOE (“primary hologram 11”, para 40), configured to generate a floating hologram (“primary hologram 11 generates an image recorded in the primary hologram 11 in accordance with image light rays 15”, para 40) arranged in a volume (volume of air where image is displayed) outside of the imaging HOE (“primary hologram 11”, para 40) on the basis of light,
a light source (“light source 16”, para 40) configured to transmit the light along a beam path to the imaging HOE (primary hologram 11) and a light-shaping HOE (“hologram 21” of “secondary hologram system 12”, para 40) arranged in the beam path between the light source and the imaging HOE (“light source 16”, “primary hologram 11”, para 40) and configured to perform spectral filtering of the light (“The secondary hologram system 12 may thus also implement a filter function by using reflection gratings, with the result that only illumination light 14 of one wavelength or one wavelength range for which the respective primary hologram 11 is designed reaches the primary hologram 11”, para 48).
However, embodiment of fig 1 of Vojtisek does not teach
wherein the light-shaping HOE and the imaging HOE are applied to different outer surfaces of the optical waveguide.
Vojtisek teaches (a common configuration of 2 HOEs on a waveguide in fig 2)
wherein the two HOE (HOEs 21,22, para 47) are applied to different outer surfaces of the optical waveguide (waveguide substrate 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the placement of light-shaping and imaging HOEs of Vojtisek to be applied to different outer surfaces of the optical waveguide of Vojtisek for the purpose of utilizing common placements of HOEs on waveguides for creating luminous signatures (para 6)
Regarding Claim 2, Vojtisek teaches the optical system as claimed in claim 1,
wherein an optical waveguide (“the secondary hologram system 12 has a substrate 20, which serves as a waveguide”, para 45) which guides the beam path to the imaging HOE (“primary hologram 11”, para 40) (as in fig 1,2).
Regarding Claim 3, Vojtisek teaches the optical system as claimed in claim 2.
furthermore comprising:
a refractive or mirror-optical optical element (“The light source 16 can comprise one or more light-emitting diodes or other light sources such as laser light sources to generate light beams 13”, para 40, fig 1 shows collimated light beams 13 and this indicates either a lens or mirror element is present downstream of the laser source which generates light beams 13) arranged in the beam path between the light source (“light source 16”, para 40) and the light-shaping HOE (“hologram 21” of “secondary hologram system 12”, para 40) and configured to collect the light transmitted by the light source on the light-shaping HOE (“hologram 21” of “secondary hologram system 12”, para 40)
wherein an input coupling surface (input coupling surface is interpreted to be the bottom surface of substrate 20) of the optical waveguide (“substrate 20, which serves as a waveguide”, para 45) is arranged between the refractive or mirror-optical element (fig 1 shows collimated light beams 13 and this indicates either a lens or mirror element is present downstream of the laser source which generates light beams 13) and the light-shaping HOE (“hologram 21” of “secondary hologram system 12”, para 40).
Regarding Claim 21, Vojtisek teaches the optical system as claimed in claim 1,
wherein the light-shaping HOE (“hologram 21” of “secondary hologram system 12”, para 40) is furthermore configured to perform at least one of the following function: (i) reduce an angular spectrum with which the light propagates along the beam path, or (ii) deflect the light (light from secondary hologram system 12) along the beam path to the imaging HOE (“primary hologram 11”, para 40) (as in fig 1).
Regarding Claim 30, Vojtisek teaches (fig 1,2) a method for producing an optical system,
wherein the method comprises
providing an imaging holographic optical element, HOE (“primary hologram 11”, para 40), configured to generate a floating hologram (“primary hologram 11 generates an image recorded in the primary hologram 11 in accordance with image light rays 15”, para 40) arranged in a volume (volume of air where image is displayed) outside of the imaging HOE (“primary hologram 11”, para 40) on the basis of light,
providing a light source (“light source 16”, para 40) configured to transmit the light along a beam path to the imaging HOE (“primary hologram 11”), and
providing a light-shaping HOE (“hologram 21” of “secondary hologram system 12”, para 40) arranged in the beam path between the light source (“light source 16”, para 40) and the imaging HOE (“primary hologram 11”, para 40) and configured to perform spectral filtering of the light (“The secondary hologram system 12 may thus also implement a filter function by using reflection gratings, with the result that only illumination light 14 of one wavelength or one wavelength range for which the respective primary hologram 11 is designed reaches the primary hologram 11”, para 48)
and providing an optical waveguide (“the secondary hologram system 12 has a substrate 20, which serves as a waveguide”, para 45)
However, embodiment of fig 1 of Vojtisek does not teach
wherein the light-shaping HOE and the imaging HOE are applied to different outer surfaces of the optical waveguide.
Vojtisek teaches (a common configuration of 2 HOEs on a waveguide in fig 2)
wherein the two HOE (HOEs 21,22, para 47) are applied to different outer surfaces of the optical waveguide (waveguide substrate 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the placement of light-shaping and imaging HOEs of Vojtisek to be applied to different outer surfaces of the optical waveguide of Vojtisek for the purpose of utilizing common placements of HOEs on waveguides for creating luminous signatures (para 6)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5,27,29, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vojtisek et al (WO 2020/002491, date: 2020-01-02, of record).
Regarding Claim 5, Vojtisek teaches the optical system as claimed in claim 2.
However, embodiment of fig 1,2, of Vojtisek does not teach
wherein the optical waveguide extends below the imaging HOE and serves as a substrate for a refractive index-modulated region of the imaging HOE.
Embodiment of fig 9A of Vojtisek teaches (fig 9A)
wherein the optical waveguide (waveguide substrate 20) extends below the imaging HOE (“primary hologram 11”, para 40) and serves as a substrate for a refractive index-modulated region of the imaging HOE (“primary hologram 11”, para 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the placement of imaging HOE of embodiment of fig 1-2 of Vojtisek to have the optical waveguide extend below the imaging HOE of embodiment of fig 9A of Vojtisek for the purpose of utilizing common placements of HOEs on waveguides for creating luminous signatures (para 6).
Regarding Claim 27, Vojtisek teaches the optical system as claimed in claim 1,
wherein the light source comprises a light-emitting diode (“The light source 16 can comprise one or more light-emitting diodes or other light sources such as laser light sources to generate light beams 13”, para 40) with an emission spectrum,
wherein the spectral filtering of the light-shaping HOE (“hologram 21” of “secondary hologram system 12”, para 40) allows a portion of the light to pass (holographic gratings used by the input hologram 21 are reflection ratings, wavelength-selective, only a narrow wavelength range is diffracted in the desired direction, para 48)
However, Vojtisek does not teach
light-shaping HOE allows in the range of up to 50% of a width of the emission spectrum to pass.
MPEP 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the art a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the claimed range of emission spectrum passed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
The instant application at paragraph [0074] does not disclose any criticality to the claimed range. The prior art discloses a narrow wavelength range around the LED main wavelength. The entire range would perform the same function. Because there is no allegation of criticality and no evidence of demonstrating a difference across the range, the prior art discloses the range with sufficient specificity. See MPEP section 2131.03.II. Clearview Inc. v. Pearl River Polymers Inc., 668 F.3d 340, 101 USPQ2d 1773 (Fed. Cir. 2012).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Vojtisek to have the claimed range of passed emission spectrum for the purposes of wider incident wavelength bands for broader desired diffraction range (para 48, Vojtisek).
Regarding Claim 29, Vojtisek teaches the optical system as claimed in claim 1,
wherein a distance
However, Vojtisek does not teach
the distance is no less than 60% of a lateral dimension of a refractive index-modulated region
MPEP 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the art a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the claimed range of distance between the imaging HOE and the volume, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
The instant application at paragraph [0038] does not disclose any criticality to the claimed range. The prior art discloses distance larger than the HOE size. The entire range would perform the same function. Because there is no allegation of criticality and no evidence of demonstrating a difference across the range, the prior art discloses the range with sufficient specificity. See MPEP section 2131.03.II. Clearview Inc. v. Pearl River Polymers Inc., 668 F.3d 340, 101 USPQ2d 1773 (Fed. Cir. 2012).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Vojtisek to have the claimed range of distance between the volume and the imaging HOE for the purposes of larger holographic image generation for vehicular implementations (para 6, Vojtisek)..
Claim(s) 7-11,13-14,16,19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vojtisek et al (WO 2020/002491, date: 2020-01-02, of record) in view of Thomae et al (WO 2019/076985 A1, date: 04-15-2020, of record).
Regarding Claim 7, Vojtisek teaches the optical system as claimed in claim 1,
a first optical channel (light source 16, to secondary hologram 12 to generate light beams 13, para 40) defined by the beam path
However, Vojtisek does not teach
furthermore comprising: a first optical channel defined by the beam path
Vojtisek and Thomae are related as optical systems with imaging HOE.
Thomae teaches (fig 7)
furthermore comprising:
a first optical channel defined by the beam path (beam path of one light source 4b to beam deflection area 3b and beam to diffracting hologram 2, para 113)
a second optical channel defined by a further beam path along which further light propagates to the imaging HOE or to a further imaging HOE (parallel beam path of second light source 4b to beam deflection area 3b and beam to diffracting hologram 2, para 113).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the beam path to imaging HOE of Vojtisek to have first and second optical channels of Thomae for the purpose of illuminating different areas with different luminances (para 113).
Regarding Claim 8, Vojtisek-Thomae teaches the optical system as claimed in claim 7.
However, Vojtisek does not teach
wherein the beam path of the first optical channel and the further beam path of the second optical channel run parallel to one another, or wherein the beam path of the first optical channel and the further beam pat of the second optical channel form an angle in the range of 45° to 90° with respect to one another.
Vojtisek and Thomae are related as optical systems with imaging HOE.
Thomae teaches (fig 7)
wherein the beam path of the first optical channel (beam path of one light source 4b to beam deflection area 3b and beam to diffracting hologram 2, para 113) and the further beam path of the second optical channel (parallel beam path of another light source 4b to beam deflection area 3b and beam to diffracting hologram 2, para 113) run parallel to one another, or
wherein the beam path of the first optical channel (beam path of one light source 4b to beam deflection area 3b and beam to diffracting hologram 2, para 113) and the further beam path of the second optical channel (beam path of another light source 4a to beam deflection area 3a and beam to diffracting hologram 2, para 113) form an angle in the range of 45° to 90° with respect to one another (as in fig 7A-C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the beam path to imaging HOE of Vojtisek to have parallel or angled first and second optical channels of Thomae for the purpose of illuminating different areas with different luminances (para 113).
Regarding Claim 9, Vojtisek-Thomae teaches the optical system as claimed in claim 7.
However, Vojtisek does not teach
wherein the first optical channel is configured to illuminate a first region of the imaging HOE with the light, wherein the second optical channel is configured to illuminate a second region, of the imaging HOE with the further light, wherein the first region and the second region
Vojtisek and Thomae are related as optical systems with imaging HOE.
Thomae teaches (fig 7A-C,8)
wherein the first optical channel (beam path of one light source 4b to beam deflection area 3b and beam to diffracting hologram 2, para 113) is configured to illuminate a first region of the imaging HOE (hologram 2, para 113) with the light,
wherein the second optical channel (beam path of one light source 4a to beam deflection area 3a and beam to diffracting hologram 2, para 113) is configured to illuminate a second region, of the imaging HOE (hologram 2, para 113) with the further light, wherein the first region and the second region
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the beam path to imaging HOE of Vojtisek to have first and second optical channels illuminating overlapping regions of imaging HOE of Thomae for the purpose of designing luminances for different areas (para 113).
Regarding Claim 10, Vojtisek-Thomae teaches the optical system as claimed in claim 9.
However, Vojtisek does not teach
wherein the first optical channel is configured to illuminate the overlap region with the light at a first reconstruction angle wherein the second optical channel configured to illuminate the overlap region with the further light at a second reconstruction angle, wherein the first reconstruction angle differs from the second reconstruction angle .
Vojtisek and Thomae are related as optical systems with imaging HOE.
Thomae teaches (fig 7A-C,8)
wherein the first optical channel (beam path of one light source 4b to beam deflection area 3b and beam to diffracting hologram 2, para 113) is configured to illuminate the overlap region (overlapping regions as in fig 8) with the light at a first reconstruction angle (reconstruction angle as in fig 7A-C) and
wherein the second optical channel (beam path of one light source 4a to beam deflection area 3a and beam to diffracting hologram 2, para 113) configured to illuminate the overlap region (overlapping regions as in fig 8) with the further light at a second reconstruction angle (reconstruction angle as in fig 7A-C),
wherein the first reconstruction angle differs from the second reconstruction angle (reconstruction angle as in fig 7A-C are different for sources 4a,4b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the beam path to imaging HOE of Vojtisek to have first and second optical channels having first and second reconstruction angles of Thomae for the purpose of designing luminances for different areas (para 113).
Regarding Claim 11, Vojtisek-Thomae teaches the optical system claimed in claim 7.
However, Vojtisek does not teach
wherein the first optical channel is configured to illuminate a first region of the imaging HOE with the light, wherein the second optical channel is configured to illuminate a second region of the imaging HOE with the further light , wherein the first region and the second region
Vojtisek and Thomae are related as optical systems with imaging HOE.
Thomae teaches (fig 7A-C,8)
wherein the first optical channel (beam path of one light source 4b to beam deflection area 3b and beam to diffracting hologram 2, para 113) is configured to illuminate a first region of the imaging HOE (hologram 2, para 113) with the light,
wherein the second optical channel (beam path of another one light source 4b to another beam deflection area 3a and beam to diffracting hologram 2, para 113) is configured to illuminate a second region, of the imaging HOE (hologram 2, para 113) with the further light,
wherein the first region and the second region are arranged next to one another (fig 7B shows areas of illumination of hologram 2 are next to one another).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the beam path to imaging HOE of Vojtisek to have first and second optical channels having first and second regions of Thomae for the purpose of designing luminances for different areas (para 113).
Regarding Claim 13, Vojtisek-Thomae teaches the optical system as claimed in claim 7.
However, Vojtisek does not teach
furthermore comprising: a further light source configured to transmit the further light along the further beam path , wherein the light source is configured to transmit the light with a first emission spectrum, wherein the further light source is configured to transmit the further light with a second emission spectrum, wherein the first emission spectrum and the second emission spectrum do not overlap.
Vojtisek and Thomae are related as optical systems with imaging HOE.
Thomae teaches (fig 7A-C,8)
furthermore comprising:
a further light source (light source 4c, para 114) configured to transmit the further light along the further beam path , wherein the light source (light source 4b, para 114) is configured to transmit the light with a first emission spectrum , wherein the further light source (light source 4c, para 114) is configured to transmit the further light with a second emission spectrum (yellow color, para 114), wherein the first emission spectrum and the second emission spectrum do not overlap (“If, as in the example with brake light, tail light and turn signal, a different wavelength is used for the turn signal, another wavelength can also be used for this additional wavelength.”, para 114).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light source of Vojtisek to have different emission spectra of Thomae for the purpose of designing luminances for different areas (para 113).
Regarding Claim 14, Vojtisek-Thomae teaches the optical system as claimed in claim 7.
However, Vojtisek does not teach
furthermore comprising:
a further light source configured to transmit the further light along the further beam path, wherein the light source is configured to transmit the light with a first emission spectrum, wherein the further light source is configured to transmit the further light with a second emission spectrum, wherein the first emission spectrum and the second emission spectrum overlap at least in part.
Vojtisek and Thomae are related as optical systems with imaging HOE.
Thomae teaches (fig 7A-C,8)
furthermore comprising:
a further light source (another light source 4b, para 113) configured to transmit the further light along the further beam path , wherein the light source (light source 4b, para 113) is configured to transmit the light with a first emission spectrum , wherein the further light source (light source 4b, para 113) is configured to transmit the further light with a second emission spectrum, wherein the first emission spectrum and the second emission spectrum overlap at least in part (plurality of light sources 4b indicate same spectrum for all).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light source of Vojtisek to have light sources with overlapping emission spectra of Thomae for the purpose of designing luminances for different areas (para 113).
Regarding Claim 16, Vojtisek-Thomae teaches the optical system as claimed in claim 7.
However, Vojtisek does not teach
wherein the first optical channel furthermore comprises: a refractive or mirror- optical element configured to collect the light, wherein the second optical channel furthermore comprises: a further refractive or mirror-optical optical element configured to collect the further light , wherein the refractive or mirror-optical optical element and the further refractive or mirror-optical optical element are integrally formed.
Vojtisek and Thomae are related as optical systems with imaging HOE.
Thomae teaches (fig 7A-C,8)
furthermore comprising:
wherein the first optical channel (beam path of one light source 4b to beam deflection area 3b and beam to diffracting hologram 2, para 113) furthermore comprises:
a refractive or mirror- optical element (beam deflection section 3b, used as collimator, para 113) configured to collect the light,
wherein the second optical channel (beam path of another one light source 4a to another beam deflection area 3a and beam to diffracting hologram 2, para 113) furthermore comprises:
a further refractive or mirror-optical optical element (beam deflection section 3a, used as collimator, para 113) configured to collect the further light,
wherein the refractive or mirror-optical optical element (beam deflection section 3b, used as collimator, para 113) and the further refractive or mirror-optical optical element (beam deflection section 3a, used as collimator, para 113) are integrally formed (as in fig 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the beam path of Vojtisek to have first and second optical channels with refractive or mirror elements of Thomae for the purpose of designing luminances for different areas (para 113).
Regarding Claim 19, Vojtisek-Thomae teaches the optical system as claimed in claim 7.
However, Vojtisek does not teach
a controller is configured to separately or jointly control the light source of the first optical channel and the further light source of the second optical channel on the basis of at least one of a brightness specification of an image motif of the floating hologram or a motif specification of an image motif of the floating hologram.
Vojtisek and Thomae are related as optical systems with imaging HOE.
Thomae teaches (fig 7A-C,8)
a controller (“the use of light source devices that approximately employ point light sources”, para 53, LEDs, para 54, now LEDs are controlled by a controller) is configured to separately or jointly control (“Light sources can have their own refractive coupling surface, but they can also share a common coupling surface”, para 89) the light source of the first optical channel (beam path of one light source 4b to beam deflection area 3b and beam to diffracting hologram 2, para 113) and the further light source of the second optical channel (parallel beam path of second light source 4b to beam deflection area 3b and beam to diffracting hologram 2, para 113) on the basis of at least one of a brightness specification of an image motif of the floating hologram or a motif specification of an image motif of the floating hologram (“An image is then created on the same side”, para 50) (“Due to the angular selectivity of holograms, different holographic structures in hologram 2 can be addressed by different illuminations, thus generating different signatures. The illuminance on the hologram, i.e. the luminance, can be varied by the focal lengths of the beam deflection sections 3a, 3b used as collimators, as well as by the number of light sources 4a, 4b used and by the emitted radiant intensity of the light sources 4a and 4b.”, para 113).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller of Vojtisek to separately or jointly control the light source of the first optical channel and the further light source of the second optical channel of Thomae for the purpose of designing luminances for different areas (para 113).
Claim(s) 15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vojtisek et al (WO 2020/002491, date: 2020-01-02, of record) in view of Thomae et al (WO 2019/076985 A1, date: 04-15-2020, of record) and further in view of Shirakura et al (US 2021/0318658 A1, of record).
Regarding Claim 15, Vojtisek-Thomae teaches the optical system as claimed in claim 14.
However, Vojtisek-Thomae does not teach
furthermore comprising:
a further light-shaping HOE
Vojtisek-Thomae and Shirakura are related as optical systems with light sources and light shaping HOE.
Shirakura teaches (fig 2),
furthermore comprising:
a further light-shaping HOE (reflection holographic diffraction grating 104B, para 71) arranged in the further beam path after the further light source (green LED 105B, para 71) and configured to perform spectral filtering of the further light,
wherein the spectral filtering of the light-shaping HOE (reflection holographic diffraction grating 104A, para 71) in the first optical channel allows a portion of the light in a first wavelength range to pass (red wavelength, para 71),
wherein the spectral filtering of the further light-shaping HOE (reflection holographic diffraction grating 104B, para 71) in the second optical channel allows a portion of the further light in a second wavelength range to pass (green wavelength, para 71),
wherein the first wavelength range differs (red) from the second wavelength range (green).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the beam path to imaging HOE of Vojtisek-Thomae to have a further light shaping HOE of Shirakura for the purpose of processing image holograms in full color (para 71).
Claim(s) 17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vojtisek et al (WO 2020/002491, date: 2020-01-02, of record) in view of Thomae et al (WO 2019/076985 A1, date: 04-15-2020, of record) and further in view of Redmond et al (US 9,804,564 B2, of record).
Regarding Claim 17, Vojtisek-Thomae teaches the optical system as claimed in claim 7.
However, Vojtisek-Thomae does not teach
furthermore comprising:
a further light-shaping HOErange to pass, wherein the first wavelength range differs from the second wavelength range.
Vojtisek-Thomae and Redmond are related as optical systems with light sources and light shaping HOE.
Redmond teaches (fig 3),
furthermore comprising: a stop element (light block 318, col 9, lines 28-34) arranged to separate the light (“to minimize any unwanted interference”, col 9, lines 28-34)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the beam path to imaging HOE of Vojtisek-Thomae to have a stop of Redmond for the purpose of minimizing any unwanted interferences and specular reflections (col 9 lines 28-34).
Claim(s) 23,25, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vojtisek et al (WO 2020/002491, date: 2020-01-02, of record) in view of Harris et al (US 2007/0223074 A1, of record).
Regarding Claim 23, Vojtisek teaches the optical system as claimed in claim 21.
However, Vojtisek does not teach
wherein the light-shaping HOE deflects the light along the beam path in reflection geometry wherein a reflection angle, at which the light-shaping HOE reflects the light along the beam path corresponds to the Brewster angle of a material of the substrate of the light-shaping HOE.
Vojtisek and Harris are related as HOE.
Harris teaches (fig 1,2)
wherein the light-shaping HOE (finished reflection hologram, master hologram, para 33) deflects the light along the beam path in reflection geometry wherein a reflection angle, at which the light-shaping HOE (finished reflection hologram, master hologram, para 33) reflects the light along the beam path corresponds to the Brewster angle of a material of the substrate of the light-shaping HOE (“Brewster's angle may be used as the scanning angle of incidence, which substantially eliminates any internal reflections of the scanning beam. This substantially eliminates Newton rings”, para 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the beam path to light-shaping HOE of Vojtisek to have angle of incidence as Brewster’s angle of Harris for the purpose of eliminating any internal reflections (para 33) and unwanted polarizations.
Regarding Claim 25, Vojtisek teaches the optical system as claimed in claim 21.
However, Vojtisek does not teach
wherein an angle of incidence of the light along the beam path on the light-shaping HOE is chosen such that Fresnel reflections of the light are oriented away from the imaging HOE.
Vojtisek and Harris are related as HOE.
Harris teaches (fig 1,2)
wherein an angle of incidence of the light along the beam path on the light-shaping HOE (finished reflection hologram, master hologram, para 33) is chosen such that Fresnel reflections of the light are oriented away beam path. (“Brewster's angle may be used as the scanning angle of incidence, which substantially eliminates any internal reflections of the scanning beam. This substantially eliminates Newton rings”, para 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the beam path to light-shaping HOE of Vojtisek to have a desired angle of incidence of Harris for the purpose of eliminating any internal reflections (para 33) and unwanted polarizations.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JYOTSNA V DABBI/PRIMARY EXAMINER, Art Unit 2872 6/20/2026