DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
In response to communications sent October 25, 2023, claim(s) 1-17 are pending in this application; of these claim 1 is in independent form.
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendments filed October 25, 2023 are acknowledged and have been entered into the record.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Relative to priority document (EP4086337), the instant application includes Figures 11 and 12 involving Principal Components Analysis. Since this element is not in the current set of claims, the claims are given the priority date of the foreign priority document, May 6, 2021.
Drawings
The drawing(s) filed on October 25, 2023 are accepted by the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) is/are acknowledged and the references contained therein have been considered by the Examiner. This includes the Information Disclosure Statements(s) filed on: October 25, 2023; July 3, 2026; and June 30, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 objected to because of the following informalities: the end of line 4 of claim 10 includes an extraneous period. Appropriate correction is required.
The Examiner suggests deleting the period that is in the middle of the claim sentence.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
1. There are many special definitions in the specification. One that is pertinent to the indication of allowable subject matter is the definition of “complex microorganism community samples” because the definition requires more than one microbiota species in the sample. See Applicant’s specification at page 12 lines 7-12. Claims 14 and 15 involve “complex microorganism community samples” whereas the pertinent art and the closest art, US 20210246481 A1 (“Embree”), focus on computing combinations of individual microbiota species rather than combining samples that are “complex microorganism community samples”. Note that other claims besides claims 14 and 15 were not rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102 but were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
2. Claims 14 and 15 are not rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 despite involving the judicial exception of mathematics. This is because in claims 14 and 15 the mathematics is used to transform the “complex microorganism community product” into a “complex microorganism community product having a target mixture profile”. The latter is an optimized transformation of physical materials that is controlled by the mathematical calculation. Hence there is eligibility at step B, for similar reasons as Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 187, 209 USPQ 1, 8 (1981). The claim is eligible even though there is no claimed treatment or prophylaxis step, which is a consideration under Vanda Pharm. Inc. v. West-Ward Pharm. Int’l Ltd., 887 F.3d 1117, 126 USPQ2d 1266 (Fed. Cir. 2018). Note that claim 2 is also not rejected due to a judicial exception. However, claim 2 is rejection due to prior art under 35 U.S.C. § 102.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 9 raises this issue in one place and claim 10 raises this issue in two places.
The Examiner suggests omitting the statement of preference; alternatively, the Examiner suggests deleting all alternative elements and including only the preferred element, depending on Applicant’s intention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3- 13, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) a mathematical calculation. Claims 5 and 12 combine the mathematics with a mental process that is capable of being performed in the human mind. The combination of the mathematics and the mental process is a judicial exception spanning two categories of abstract ideas. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements are merely applying the judicial exception on a general-purpose computer. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because merely applying a judicial exception on a general-purpose computer is well-understood, routine, and conventional according to the precedential case Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 216, 110 USPQ2d at 1980.
For further explanation of the rejections, see below:
1. A computer-aided (“applying” a judicial exception on a general-purpose computer is not an additional element that is significantly more than the judicial exception, according to the Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 216, 110 USPQ2d at 1980) method of predicting a mix composition resulting from the mixing of complex microorganism community samples belonging to an initial sample collection (the preamble is not a positively stated step of the instant invention), the method comprising:
predicting, using a linear approach, an intermediary mix profile for a mix of selected complex microorganism community samples (the linear approach is a matrix approach, which is mathematics, as in Applicant’s Figure 12 element 13, the Pool Predictor which uses matrices to compute relative abundances of the relative abundance predictors), and
correcting the intermediary mix profile into a predicted mix profile, using an interaction model learnt from reference linear-predicted mix profiles and corresponding reference true mix profiles (use of the mathematical model is a mathematical step).
3. The method of claim 1, wherein predicting the intermediary mix profile includes computing a matrix product between a first matrix defining the mix in terms of proportions of the complex microorganism community samples of the initial sample collection and a second matrix defining the individual profiles of the complex microorganism community samples (mathematical calculation).
4. The method of claim 1, wherein correcting the intermediary mix profile includes computing a matrix product between a matrix representing the intermediary mix profile and a square interaction matrix of the learnt interaction model (mathematical calculation).
5. A computer-aided method of determining a set of complex microorganism community samples in an initial sample collection given a target mix profile representing a target mix result product, the method comprising:
selecting candidate sets of complex microorganism community samples from the initial sample collection (mental process of judgment that is capable of being performed in the human mind),
for each candidate set selected, using the prediction method of claim 1 to predict a mix profile resulting from the mixing of the samples of the selected candidate set (mathematical calculation),
comparing the predicted mix profiles to the target mix profile to choose one candidate set as the target set (mental process of judgment that is capable of being performed in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper using a chart).
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the target set of samples is used to control actual picking and mixing of complex microorganism community samples from the initial sample collection to obtain a mix result product function of the target mix profile (intended result of the mathematical calculation does not transform the mathematical calculation out of the realm of abstract ideas).
7. The method of claim 5, wherein comparing the predicted mix profiles to the target mix profile includes computing a distance between each predicted mix profile and the target mix profile and selecting, as target set, the candidate set having the lowest distance (mathematical calculation).
8. The method of any of claim 1, wherein a profile of a complex community of microorganisms includes relative abundancies of profiling features in the complex community of microorganisms (the limitation to the mathematical calculation does not transform the mathematical calculation out of the realm of abstract ideas).
9. The method of any of claim 1, wherein profiling features forming a profile of a complex community of microorganisms include one or more features selected from the group consisting of taxa, genes, antibiotic resistance genes, functions, metabolite traits, and metabolite and protein production, preferably include taxa (the limitation to the mathematical calculation does not transform the mathematical calculation out of the realm of abstract ideas).
10. The method of claim 1, wherein a profile of a complex community of microorganisms defines profiling features with respect to one or more microorganisms present in the complex community of microorganisms from bacteria, archaea, viruses, phage, protozoa and fungi, preferably with respect to bacteria and/or archaea, and/or (the limitation to the mathematical calculation does not transform the mathematical calculation out of the realm of abstract ideas).
defines profiling features that specify relative abundances of microorganisms considered at one or more taxonomic levels from strains, species, genus, families and orders, preferably one or more taxonomic levels from genus, families and orders, and/or (the limitation to the mathematical calculation does not transform the mathematical calculation out of the realm of abstract ideas).
includes relative abundancies, in the complex community of microorganisms, of bacteria and/or archaea taxa considered at a taxonomic level of genus, families and orders (the limitation to the mathematical calculation does not transform the mathematical calculation out of the realm of abstract ideas)..
11. The method of any of claim 1, wherein the interaction model is obtained using machine learning that minimizes a formula function of a difference between
reference predicted mix profiles obtained from the reference linear-predicted mix profiles and the interaction model (mathematical calculation), and
the corresponding reference true mix profiles (mathematical calculation).
12. A method of producing a complex microorganism community product, comprising:
selecting complex microorganism community samples from an initial sample collection (mental process capable of being performed in the human mind with pen and paper),
using the prediction method of claim 1 to predict a mix profile resulting from the mixing of the selected samples (mathematical calculation),
comparing the predicted mix profile to a selection criterion (mental process capable of being performed in the human mind with pen and paper), and
depending on the outcome of the comparing, actually picking and mixing the selected samples to obtain a mix result product (this is a contingent limitation in a process claim; therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the step is that it does not occur; see MPEP § 2111.04(II) ).
13. The method of claim 12, wherein the selection criterion includes one or more from a diversity criterion representative of an increase in profiling feature diversity, a minimum or maximum relative abundance of one or more profiling features, a non-zero relative abundance for one or more specific profiling features or for a minimum number of profiling features, a relative ratio between at least two profiling features, a closeness to a target mix profile (part of the mathematical calculation).
16. A computer device comprising at least one microprocessor configured for carrying out the method of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1; note that “applying” a judicial exception on a general-purpose computer is not an additional element that is significantly more than the judicial exception, according to the Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 216, 110 USPQ2d at 1980).
17. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program which, when executed by a microprocessor or computer system in a device, causes the device to perform the method of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1; note that “applying” a judicial exception on a general-purpose computer is not an additional element that is significantly more than the judicial exception, according to the Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 216, 110 USPQ2d at 1980).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-11, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20210246481 A1 (“Embree”).
As to claim 1, Embree teaches a computer-aided method of predicting a mix composition (Embree Figure 1C and Para [0056]: a computerized process for generating and specifying a bio-ensemble from a heterogenous microbial community) resulting from the mixing of complex microorganism community samples belonging to an initial sample collection (the Examiner interprets that the step of “mixing” is not a positively recited step; therefore, the structure of the “mix composition” is interpreted as being defined using a product-by-process limitation; the product is the “mix composition”; the process that makes the “mix composition” is “mixing of complex microorganism community samples belonging to an initial sample collection”; however, the mixing step doesn’t need to occur for the product structure to be an element of the claim), the method comprising:
predicting, using a linear approach, an intermediary mix profile for a mix of selected complex microorganism community samples (Embree Para [0056]: predicting microorganisms strains using expression data using expression markers indicative of metabolic activity for a microorganism type, resulting in ratios of active detected microorganisms), and
correcting the intermediary mix profile into a predicted mix profile (Embree Para [0056]: generating a bioensemble prediction/specification), using an interaction model (Embree Para [0148]: a machine-learning-based model for network interactions between species) learnt from reference linear-predicted mix profiles and corresponding reference true mix profiles (Embree Para [0056]: using relationships between detected microorganisms; note that Para [0145] of Embree teaches that the network data is normalized for analysis on multi-dimensional interspecies interactions and dependencies; hence the normalization is a learnt from mix profiles and ultimately affects the choice of bioensembles design).
As to claim 2, Embree teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the predicted mix profile is used to control actual picking and mixing of complex microorganism community samples from the initial sample collection to obtain a mix result product (Embree Para [0440]: a synthetic bioensemble is constructed using mixed rations; note that “mixed rations” is a term of art in the field of feeding animals).
As to claim 3, Embree teaches the method of claim 1, wherein predicting the intermediary mix profile includes computing a matrix product between a first matrix defining the mix in terms of proportions of the complex microorganism community samples of the initial sample collection (Embree Para [0130]: an association matrix between number of cells of each microorganism strain and the samples) and a second matrix defining the individual profiles of the complex microorganism community samples (a co-occurrence matrix defining the connectivity networks of microbiota).
As to claim 4, Embree teaches the method of claim 1, wherein correcting the intermediary mix profile includes computing a matrix product between a matrix representing the intermediary mix profile and a square interaction matrix of the learnt interaction model (Embree Para [0176]: “calculating is mathematical function such as multiplication, dot operator, and/or other operation” in the context of calculating using cell counts and expression markers).
As to claim 8, Embree teaches the method of any of claim 1, wherein a profile of a complex community of microorganisms includes relative abundancies of profiling features in the complex community of microorganisms (Embree Para [0056]: predicting microorganisms strains using expression data using expression markers indicative of metabolic activity for a microorganism type, resulting in ratios of active detected microorganisms; the element of ratios are claimed “relative abundancies”).
As to claim 9, Embree teaches the method of any of claim 1, wherein profiling features forming a profile of a complex community of microorganisms include one or more features selected from the group consisting of taxa, genes, antibiotic resistance genes, functions, metabolite traits, and metabolite and protein production, preferably include taxa (Embree Para [0056]: predicting microorganisms strains using expression data using expression markers indicative of metabolic activity for a microorganism type, resulting in ratios of active detected microorganisms; the element of “expression data” are the claimed profile of “genes”; each element is listed in the alternative and do not all need to be mapped).
As to claim 10, Embree teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a profile of a complex community of microorganisms defines profiling features with respect to one or more microorganisms present in the complex community of microorganisms from bacteria, archaea, viruses, phage, protozoa and fungi, preferably with respect to bacteria and/or archaea (Embree Para [0011]: various species of bacteria, viruses, bacteriophage, fungi, protozoa, and archaea), and/or.
defines profiling features that specify relative abundances of microorganisms considered at one or more taxonomic levels from strains, species, genus, families and orders, preferably one or more taxonomic levels from genus, families and orders (Embree Para [0115]: the profile includes taxonomic identities derived from genetic information), and/or
includes relative abundancies, in the complex community of microorganisms, of bacteria and/or archaea taxa considered at a taxonomic level of genus, families and orders (Embree Para [0147]: calculations involving relative abundances).
As to claim 11, Embree teaches the method of any of claim 1, wherein the interaction model is obtained using machine learning that minimizes a formula function of a difference between reference predicted mix profiles obtained from the reference linear-predicted mix profiles and the interaction model, and the corresponding reference true mix profiles (Embree Para [0148]: using various network measures to optimize the calculation).
As to claim 16, Embree teaches a computer device comprising at least one microprocessor configured for carrying out the method of claim 1 (Embree Figure 1C and Para [0056]: a computerized process for generating and specifying a bio-ensemble from a heterogenous microbial community; Embree Para [0056]: predicting microorganisms strains using expression data using expression markers indicative of metabolic activity for a microorganism type, resulting in ratios of active detected microorganisms; Embree Para [0056]: generating a bioensemble prediction/specification; Embree Para [0148]: a machine-learning-based model for network interactions between species; Embree Para [0056]: using relationships between detected microorganisms; note that Para [0145] of Embree teaches that the network data is normalized for analysis on multi-dimensional interspecies interactions and dependencies; hence the normalization is a learnt from mix profiles and ultimately affects the choice of bioensembles design).
As to claim 17, Embree teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program which, when executed by a microprocessor or computer system in a device, causes the device to perform the method of claim 1 (Embree Figure 1C and Para [0056]: a computerized process for generating and specifying a bio-ensemble from a heterogenous microbial community; Embree Para [0056]: predicting microorganisms strains using expression data using expression markers indicative of metabolic activity for a microorganism type, resulting in ratios of active detected microorganisms; Embree Para [0056]: generating a bioensemble prediction/specification; Embree Para [0148]: a machine-learning-based model for network interactions between species; Embree Para [0056]: using relationships between detected microorganisms; note that Para [0145] of Embree teaches that the network data is normalized for analysis on multi-dimensional interspecies interactions and dependencies; hence the normalization is a learnt from mix profiles and ultimately affects the choice of bioensembles design).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20220386646-A1: Pertinent because of the element of markers for microorganism abundance; same patent family as the art of record
US-20190323055-A1: Pertinent because of the elements of functional ensembles, tracers, and connectivity; same patent family as the art of record
US-20190390246-A1: Pertinent because of the element of selecting strain presence, include in synthetic microbial ensemble; same patent family as the art of record
US-20260193688-A1: Pertinent because it’s the same patent family as the art of record
US-20160376627-A1: Pertinent because of the element of selecting organisms (not samples) from heterogeneous communities and synthesizing microbial ensembles
US-20200049708-A1: Pertinent because of the use of principal components analysis to analyze microbiota
US-20210252079-A1: Pertinent because of the element of principal components analysis for microbiota analysis.
US-20250372194-A1: Pertinent because of potential double patenting in with a similar purpose but using genetic algorithms for the machine learning or optimization. Also mentions Principal Components Analysis in Para [0228], Figure 8, Figure 9. However, the instant ‘198 application has a later filing date for PCA element in the claims, May 2022.
/JESSE P FRUMKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1685 October 17, 2026