Priority
The present application claims priority to the following applications: 63/183,358, 63/316,617, and PCT/US2022/027280, with effective filing dates of 3 May 2021, 3 March 2022, and 2 May 2022.
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Response to Restriction filed, 10 March 2026.
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-3, 5-13, 15-16, 18-20, and 22-24) and species of Compound 17 (
) in the reply filed on 10 March 2026 is acknowledged. Because Applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 2, 7-8, 13, 15, 18, 20, and 22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claim 2 specifies wherein Q is
, which does not read on the elected species. Claim 7 specifies that the linker is an alkyl chain, which does not read on the elected species. Claim 8 specifies that the linker is an alkyl chain, which does not read on the elected species. Claim 13 specifies that the degron is a cereblon (CRBN) ligand, which does not read on the elected species. Claim 15 specifies that that structure is represented by any one of structure I-13 to I-52, which does not read on the elected species. Claim 18 specifies that Z is
, which does not read on the elected species. Claim 20 specifies that the degron is an IAP degron, which does not read on the elected species. Claim 22 specifies that that structure is represented by any one of structure I-113 to I-162, which does not read on the elected species.
Claims 25-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group (Group II), there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10 March 2026.
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 9-12, 16, 19, and 23-24 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 25 October 2023 and 31 March 2026 and the references cited therein have been considered, unless indicated otherwise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the degron binds VHL and is represented by any one of structures (D2-a) to (D2-f). However, the structures specified in claim 16 are named as (D1-a) – (D1-f). Further, claim 13 specifies CRBN structures for (D1-a) – (D1-c). Accordingly, claim 16 is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 9-12, 16, 19, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hebach (U.S. Patent No. 9,056,843, issued 16 June 2015, see IDS filed 25 Oct 2023) in view of Cromm (J. Am. Chem. Soc.¸ 2018, 140(49), 17019-17026) and Crews (U.S. Patent PreGrant Publication 2020/0038513, published 6 Feb 2020) as evidenced by Zagidullin (Explor. Target Antitumor Ther., 2020, 1, 381-390), Wikipedia (“Cereblon,” Wikipedia, 26 Oct 2019, <web.archive.org/web/20191026111915/https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cereblon>, accessed 13 Apr 2026), and Krieger (ChemMedChem, 2023, 18(e202200615), 1-11).
Hebach teaches trifluromethyl-oxadizaole derivatives as inhibitors of HDAC4 for treating Huntington’s disease, which is a neurodegenerative disease (abstract; column 1, lines 12-15 and 21-23). Hebach specifically teaches the compound,
, which is the protein of interest (POI) ligand of Compound 17 (Example 132, column 104).
Regarding claim 1, Hebach fails to teach a heterobifunctional degrader.
Cromm teaches heterobifunctional degraders that induced protein degradation via small molecule inhibitors that failed in initial clinical trials (abstract; page 17019, column 1, paragraph 1; page 17019, column 2, paragraph 1; page 17020, Figure 1). Cromm specifically teaches the compound,
(PROTAC-3; page 17020, Figure 1), which utilizes VHL and a flexible PEG linker to best enable formation of the ternary complex as evidenced by Zagidullin. Zagidullin teaches that PEG linkers are soluble and flexible and that PEG linkers stabilize the ternary complex by cooperative binding (page 383, paragraph 3). Further, Cromm teaches utilizing VHL and cereblon (CRBN) E3 ligase ligands, which have been extensively used in the degrader landscape (page 17019, column 2, paragraph 2). While both VHL and CRBN are popular E3 ligase ligands, a significant drawback to utilization of CRBN is the associated teratogenic effect as evidenced by Wikipedia (page 1, paragraph 2).
Cromm teaches that CRBN-recruiting analogs are less effective than VHL-recruiting analogs (page 17020, column 2, paragraph 1). Additionally, Cromm teaches that while some previous small molecules were proven effective in preclinical studies, clinical success had yet to be observed and the leading Fak inhibitor (defactinib) failed its initial clinical trial targeting malignant pleural mesothelioma stem cells (page 17019, column 1, paragraph 1; page 17019, column 2, paragraph 1). Cromm teaches that heterobifunctional degraders exhibit better selectivity: defactinib binds to 100 kinases, while PROTAC-3 binds to 20 kinases (page 17021, column 1, paragraph 1). Further, Cromm teaches that PROTAC-3 outperforms the clinical candidate (defactinib) with respect to Fak activation (autophosphorylation) and inhibition of downstream signaling (including Fak’s kinase-independent signaling) (page 17023, column 1, paragraphs 2-3; page 17023, column 2, paragraph 1). Thus, Cromm teaches that degraders are able to target an increasing range of kinases and therapeutic areas (i.e. resistance mechanisms and protein targets that were inaccessible) and thus drug the undruggable (page 17023, column 2, paragraph 2). Additionally, Cromm teaches the VHL ligand having the same stereochemical assignments as the VHL ligand in Compound 17: 1) the t-butyl is (S); 2) the alcohol of the hydroxyproline is (R); and (3) the amide is (S) (page 17020, Figure 1). However, the VHL ligand taught by Cromm is missing the methyl at the benzylic position of the VHL ligand as shown in Compound 17.
Crews teaches heterobifunctional degraders comprising defactinib, PEG linkers, and VHL for targeting FAK (abstract). Crews specifies that protein-protein interactions are notoriously difficult to target using small molecules ([0004]). Crews further teaches that E3 ubiquitin ligases confer substrate specificity for ubiquitination and therefore are more attractive therapeutic targets than general proteasome inhibitors due to specificity for certain protein substrates ([0004]). Crews teaches that non-specific effects at treating FAK-mediated diseases and disorders and inability to target and modulate FAK remain as obstacles to the development of effective treatments and that small-molecule therapeutic agents that target FAK and leverage VHL’s substrate specificity would be very useful ([0012]). Crews specifically teaches the VHL ligand,
, wherein the methyl of the ligand has the stereochemical assignment of (S) (page 111). Crews further details other VHL ligands possessing a methyl at the benzylic position, and all the VHL ligands having 1) a methyl at the benzylic position and 2) specified stereochemistry then have the methyl at the wedge position and the hydrogen at the hash position (i.e. producing a stereochemical assignment of (S) (page 69, [0664]; page 98; page 111; page 120; page 122-125), as evidenced by Krieger. Krieger teaches that the (R) enantiomer is known to be significantly less active (Table 2, page 3; page 2, column 2, paragraph 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to modify the POI ligand of Hebach to incorporate the PEG linker and VHL ligand of Cromm and Crews to arrive Compound 17:
(a compound of Formula (I)). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a selection, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Hebach teaches trifluromethyl-oxadizaole derivatives as inhibitors of HDAC4 for treating Huntington’s disease, which is a neurodegenerative disease,
-Hebach teaches the compound,
, which is the protein of interest (POI) ligand of Compound 17,
-Cromm teaches heterobifunctional degraders that induced protein degradation via small molecule inhibitors that failed in initial clinical trials,
-Cromm teaches the compound,
(PROTAC-3), which utilizes VHL and a flexible PEG linker to best enable formation of the ternary complex as evidenced by Zagidullin. Zagidullin teaches that PEG linkers are soluble and flexible and that PEG linkers stabilize the ternary complex by cooperative binding,
-Cromm teaches utilizing VHL and cereblon (CRBN) E3 ligase ligands, which have been extensively used in the degrader landscape. While both VHL and CRBN are popular E3 ligase ligands, a significant drawback to utilization of CRBN is the associated teratogenic effect as evidenced by Wikipedia,
-Cromm teaches that CRBN-recruiting analogs are less effective than VHL-recruiting analogs,
-Cromm teaches that while some previous small molecules were proven effective in preclinical studies, clinical success had yet to be observed and the leading Fak inhibitor (defactinib) failed its initial clinical trial targeting malignant pleural mesothelioma stem cells,
-Cromm teaches that heterobifunctional degraders exhibit better selectivity: defactinib binds to 100 kinases, while PROTAC-3 binds to 20 kinases,
-Cromm teaches that PROTAC-3 outperforms the clinical candidate (defactinib) with respect to Fak activation (autophosphorylation) and inhibition of downstream signaling (including Fak’s kinase-independent signaling),
-Cromm teaches that degraders are able to target an increasing range of kinases and therapeutic areas (i.e. resistance mechanisms and protein targets that were inaccessible) and thus drug the undruggable,
-Cromm teaches that the VHL ligand having the same stereochemical assignments as the VHL ligand in Compound 17: 1) the t-butyl is (S); 2) the alcohol of the hydroxyproline is (R); and (3) the amide is (S),
-Crews teaches heterobifunctional degraders comprising defactinib, PEG linkers, and VHL for targeting FAK,
-Crews teaches that that protein-protein interactions are notoriously difficult to target using small molecules,
-Crews teaches that that E3 ubiquitin ligases confer substrate specificity for ubiquitination and therefore are more attractive therapeutic targets than general proteasome inhibitors due to specificity for certain protein substrates,
-Crews teaches that non-specific effects at treating FAK-mediated diseases and disorders and inability to target and modulate FAK remain as obstacles to the development of effective treatments and that small-molecule therapeutic agents that target FAK and leverage VHL’s substrate specificity would be very useful,
-Crews teaches the VHL ligand,
, wherein the methyl of the ligand has the stereochemical assignment of (S) and
-Crews teaches other VHL ligands possessing a methyl at the benzylic position, and all the VHL ligands having 1) a methyl at the benzylic position and 2) specified stereochemistry have the methyl at the wedge position and the hydrogen at the hash position (i.e. producing a stereochemical assignment of (S), as evidenced by Krieger. Krieger teaches that the (R) enantiomer is known in the art to be significantly less active (Table 2, page 3; page 2, column 2, paragraph 1).
As such, an artisan having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute
one known element for another to predictably arrive at a compound of Formula (I):
.
Regarding claim 3, Hebach teaches the compound
, wherein Q is
(Example 132, column 104).
Regarding claim 5, Hebach teaches the compound
, wherein Q1 is ethyl (Example 132, column 104).
Regarding claim 6, Hebach teaches the compound
(Example 132, column 104). Cromm teaches the compound,
(PROTAC-3), which utilizes VHL and a flexible PEG linker to best enable formation of the ternary complex (page 17020, Figure 1). Further, Crews specifically teaches the VHL ligand,
, wherein the methyl of the ligand has the stereochemical assignment of (S) (page 111). Accordingly, the combination of Hebach, Cromm, and Crews teaches the compound,
, which falls into structure (I-2). Thus, the combination of Hebach, Cromm, and Crews teaches claim 6.
Regarding claim 9, Cromm teaches the compound,
(PROTAC-3), which utilizes a PEG linker (page 17020, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, Cromm teaches the compound,
(PROTAC-3), which utilizes a PEG linker that comprises 2 PEG units (page 17020, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, Cromm teaches the linker,
(page 17020, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, Hebach teaches the compound
(Example 132, column 104). Cromm teaches the compound,
(PROTAC-3), which utilizes VHL and a flexible PEG linker to best enable formation of the ternary complex (page 17020, Figure 1). Further, Crews specifically teaches the VHL ligand,
, wherein the methyl of the ligand has the stereochemical assignment of (S) (page 111). Accordingly, the combination of Hebach, Cromm, and Crews teaches the compound,
, which falls into structure (I-12). Thus, the combination of Hebach, Cromm, and Crews teaches claim 12.
Regarding claim 16, Cromm teaches the compound,
(PROTAC-3), which utilizes VHL ligand, (D1-a) (page 17020, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 19, Hebach teaches the compound
(Example 132, column 104). Cromm teaches the compound,
(PROTAC-3), which utilizes VHL and a flexible PEG linker to best enable formation of the ternary complex (page 17020, Figure 1). Further, Crews specifically teaches the VHL ligand,
, wherein the methyl of the ligand has the stereochemical assignment of (S) (page 111). Accordingly, the combination of Hebach, Cromm, and Crews teaches the compound,
, which falls into structure (I-107). Thus, the combination of Hebach, Cromm, and Crews teaches claim 19.
Regarding claim 23, Hebach teaches the compound
(Example 132, column 104). Cromm teaches the compound,
(PROTAC-3), which utilizes VHL and a flexible PEG linker to best enable formation of the ternary complex (page 17020, Figure 1). Further, Crews specifically teaches the VHL ligand,
, wherein the methyl of the ligand has the stereochemical assignment of (S) (page 111). Accordingly, the combination of Hebach, Cromm, and Crews teaches the compound,
, which is Compound 17. Thus, the combination of Hebach, Cromm, and Crews teaches claim 23.
Regarding claim 24, Hebach teaches compositions of HDAC4 inhibitors (column 35, lines 32-48). Further, Crews teaches compositions of heterobifunctional degraders ([0028]; [0065]).
Double Patenting
3. Claim 1, 3, 5-6, 9-12, 16, 19, and 23-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 13-15 of copending Application No. 17/774,002 (reference application) in view of Hebach (U.S. Patent No. 9,056,843, issued 16 June 2015, see IDS filed 25 Oct 2023). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
U.S. Application No. 17/774,002 claims a compound
, and claim 13 specifically teaches the compound,
(Compound 14). Claim 14 specifies a composition of claim 1. Claim 15 specifies treating a disease or disorder characterized or mediated by aberrant activity of HDAC3.
Regarding claim 1, ‘002 fails to teach the HDAC4 inhibitor,
.
Hebach teaches trifluromethyl-oxadizaole derivatives as inhibitors of HDAC4 for treating Huntington’s disease, which is a neurodegenerative disease (abstract; column 1, lines 12-15 and 21-23). Hebach specifically teaches the compound,
, which is the protein of interest (POI) ligand of Compound 17 (Example 132, column 104).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to modify the POI ligand of Hebach to incorporate the PEG linker and VHL ligand of ‘002 to arrive Compound 17:
(a compound of Formula (I)). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a selection, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-‘002 teaches selective HDAC3 degraders for treating Huntington’s disease,
-‘002 teaches the compound,
(Compound 13),
-Hebach teaches trifluromethyl-oxadizaole derivatives as Class IIa-selective HDAC4 inhibitors for treating Huntington’s disease, which is a neurodegenerative disease,
-Hebach teaches that class IIa inhibitors do not target histones, like Class I HDAC inhibitors (column 2, lines 33-40),
-Hebach teaches that it is advantageous to develop Class IIa-selective HDAC4 inhibitors for treating Huntington’s disease (column 2, liens 40-44), and
-Hebach teaches the compound,
, which is the protein of interest (POI) ligand of Compound 17.
As such, an artisan having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute
one known element for another to predictably arrive at a compound of Formula (I):
.
Regarding claim 3, Hebach teaches the compound
, wherein Q is
(Example 132, column 104).
Regarding claim 5, Hebach teaches the compound
, wherein Q1 is ethyl (Example 132, column 104).
Regarding claim 6, Hebach teaches the compound
(Example 132, column 104). ‘002 teaches the compound,
(Compound 14; claim 13). Accordingly, the combination of Hebach and ‘002 teaches the compound,
, which falls into structure (I-2). Thus, the combination of Hebach and ‘002 teaches claim 6.
Regarding claim 9, ‘002 teaches the compound,
(Compound 14; claim 13), which utilizes a PEG linker.
Regarding claim 10, ‘002 teaches the compound,
(Compound 14; claim 13), which utilizes a PEG linker that comprises 2 PEG units.
Regarding claim 11, ‘002 teaches the linker,
(Compound 14, claim 13).
Regarding claim 12, Hebach teaches the compound
(Example 132, column 104). ‘002 teaches the compound,
(Compound 14; claim 13). Accordingly, the combination of Hebach and ‘002 teaches the compound,
, which falls into structure (I-12). Thus, the combination of Hebach and ‘002 teaches claim 12.
Regarding claim 16, ‘002 teaches the compound,
(Compound 14; claim 13), which utilizes VHL ligand, (D1-a) (page 17020, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 19, Hebach teaches the compound
(Example 132, column 104). ‘002 teaches the compound,
(Compound 14; claim 13). Accordingly, the combination of Hebach and ‘002 teaches the compound,
, which falls into structure (I-107). Thus, the combination of Hebach and ‘002 teaches claim 19.
Regarding claim 23, Hebach teaches the compound
(Example 132, column 104). ‘002 teaches the compound,
(Compound 14; claim 13). Accordingly, the combination of Hebach and ‘002 teaches the compound,
, which is Compound 17. Thus, the combination of Hebach and ‘002 teaches claim 23.
Regarding claim 24, Hebach teaches compositions of HDAC4 inhibitors (column 35, lines 32-48). Further, ‘002 teaches compositions of heterobifunctional degraders (claim 14 of ‘002).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/MADELINE M. DEKARSKE/Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622