DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/25/2023 and 01/19/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the detail of what each boxes function is. The boxes in figures 1-3 should show the detail of what function does and the reference number, as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Figures 1 and 2 are objected to because they are other than only black and white line drawings (the shadow area in elements 10, 20, 120 and 125 should be eliminated) (see MPEP 608.02.VII).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The recitation in page 2 lines 3-7 seems to be improper because should not have mention of claim in the disclosure. Claims could change during prosecution of applications and made this disclosure improper; it is suggested to delete the mention to the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant Admitted Prior Art (AAPA page 1 lines 8-36 of the present Application in view of Xu (US 10827422 B1).
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 20, AAPA discloses identifying at the PLMN that the UE is associated with the MPN (page 1 lines 8-36 “Devices for use on the MPN generally have a Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) dedicated to the MPN. Subscribers registered on a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) can only access the MPN if they are authorized”). AAPA doesn’t discloses initiating, at a core network of the PLMN or the MPN, a detach of the UE from the PLMN in response to the identification. Xu discloses initiating, at a core network of the PLMN or the MPN, a detach of the UE from the PLMN in response to the identification (abstract figures 1-2, 4-6, 8 column 5 line 17 to column 6 line 18; column 9 line 64 to column 10 line 13 “The mobile device periodically collects a set of values for attributes associated with a current location of the mobile device and reports the collected values to the Steering application, hosted at the network side. The Steering application detects whether the mobile device is within the coverage area of the preferred network and, if so, triggers the mobile device to perform network steering”).
AAPA and Xu are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by AAPA the detach technique disclosed by Xu. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to steering an EU to a preferred network (Xu abstract) (see also AAPA page 1 lines 8-36 use a robust technique for reattaching the UE to the private network). See also KSR. In the KSR case, the Court stated that in certain circumstances what is obvious to try is also obvious, such as where "there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem, and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." Regarding hindsight, the Court found that "[r]igid preventive rules that deny fact finders recourse to common sense . . . are neither necessary under our case law nor consistent with it." The Court stated that "familiar items may have obvious uses beyond their primary purposes," analogizing an obvious invention to the fitting together of pieces to a puzzle. The Court in this regard further stated that the person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, and not "an automaton."
Regarding claims 2 and 12, AAPA and Xu disclose claims 1 and 11, AAPA also discloses identifying at the PLMN that the UE is within Radio Access Network (RAN) coverage of the MPN (AAPA page 1 lines 8-36 “The PLMN (for example, the core network of the PLMN) may also first identify that the UE is within Radio Access Network (RAN) coverage of the MPN before initiating the detach”)
Regarding claims 3 and 13, AAPA and Xu disclose claims 1 and 11, AAPA also discloses the UE is attached to a cell of the PLMN, the cell of the PLMN and a cell of the MPN having overlapping coverage areas (AAPA page 1 lines 8-36 “The PLMN (for example, the core network of the PLMN) may also first identify that the UE is within Radio Access Network (RAN) coverage of the MPN before initiating the detach”). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that have the same PLMN identifier and different Tracking Area Codes (TAC) because it is one of a finite number of possibilities same identifier or different and same area code or different (See KSR above)
Regarding claims 4 and 14, AAPA and Xu disclose claims 1 and 11, AAPA also discloses the UE is attached to a cell of the PLMN, the cell of the PLMN using the same frequency as a cell of the MPN (AAPA page 1 lines 8-36 “Cells of the MPN can operate on the same frequencies as cells of the PLMN”).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, AAPA and Xu disclose claims 1 and 11, Xu also discloses determining, at the core network of the PLMN, that the UE has triggered a Tracking Area Update or an intra-frequency handover, the step of identifying being performed in response to the determination (Xu abstract figure 8 “The mobile device periodically collects a set of values for attributes associated with a current location of the mobile device and reports the collected values to the Steering application, hosted at the network side” … “In steps 442 and 444, authentication and update-location procedures take place. Finally, in step 446, mobile device 446 is successfully attached to Private LTE network 22”).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, AAPA and Xu disclose claims 1 and 11, Xu also discloses one or more of a Mobility Management Entity (MME) of the PLMN; a central Packet Data Network Gateway (PGW) of the MPN; and a Home Subscriber Server (HSS) of the MPN (Xu abstract figure 1 “If PLMN 14 is an LTE network, then instead of MSC 18 and SGSN 20, PLMN 14 will have the following nodes: a Mobility Management Entity (MME) 18 and Serving Gateway (SGW) 20.” … “Home Network 28 can also be an LTE network, in which case, Home Network 28 will have the following nodes: Home Subscriber Server (HSS) 30 and Packet Gateway (PGW) 32. HLR/HSS 30 of Home Network 28 is in communication with MSC/MME 18 of PLMN 14 and, also, in communication with MME 24/AMF 56 of Private LTE network 22.”).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, AAPA and Xu disclose claims 1 and 11, Xu also discloses receiving a location report from the UE at the PLMN indicating that the UE is in a coverage area of the MPN and identifying in response to receiving the location report (Xu abstract figure 8 “The mobile device periodically collects a set of values for attributes associated with a current location of the mobile device and reports the collected values to the Steering application, hosted at the network side” … “In steps 442 and 444, authentication and update-location procedures take place. Finally, in step 446, mobile device 446 is successfully attached to Private LTE network 22”).
Regarding claim 10, AAPA and Xu disclose claim 9, Xu also discloses determining at the UE, a location of the UE and communicating a location report from the UE to the PLMN to instruct the PLMN to initiate the detach of the UE (Xu abstract figure 8 “The mobile device periodically collects a set of values for attributes associated with a current location of the mobile device and reports the collected values to the Steering application, hosted at the network side” … “In steps 442 and 444, authentication and update-location procedures take place. Finally, in step 446, mobile device 446 is successfully attached to Private LTE network 22”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Zhao (US 20150031371 A1) discloses PLMN selection method, mobile terminal, BSC and core network device.
Hathiramani (US 20220174640 A1) discloses private network tracking area collision avoidance.
Diachina (US 20130163560 A1) discloses methods and apparatus for controlling circuit switched fall back of a mobile station from E-UTRAN to UTRAN/GERAN in a full-multi-operator core network.
Dwyer (US 20100265893 A1) discloses network methods and systems for maintaining PLMN Continuity when moving between networks of different types as a function of PLMN continuity preference.
Jokinen (US 20150163698 A1) discloses mechanism to update the CSG cell access check upon PLMN change at handover.
Qi (US 20160249278 A1) discloses network selection method and core network device.
Gulati (US 9185610 B2) discloses handling cell reselection to intra-frequency, inter-frequency, and inter-rat cells of home PLMN.
Tian (US 8452278 B2) discloses Inter-PLMN roaming.
/JUAN A TORRES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634