DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, each of the second ribs comprises a pair of inclined surfaces arranged opposite to each other along the circumferential direction, wherein the plurality of second ribs comprises an uppermost second rib located at an uppermost position of the body part, wherein inclination angles of the pair of inclined surfaces of the uppermost second rib are equal to each other, wherein the plurality of second ribs comprises a lowermost second rib located at a lowermost position of the body part, wherein the pair of inclined surfaces of the lowermost second rib comprises: a first inclined surface disposed on a first side of a center line extending in the radial direction and adjacent to the fastening part, wherein a distance between the first inclined surface and the center line increases in a radially inward direction, a second inclined surface disposed on a second side of the center line opposite to the first side, wherein a distance between the second inclined surface and the center line increases in the radially inward direction, wherein a first inclination angle of the first inclined surface relative to the center line is greater than a second inclination angle of the second inclined surface relative to the center line must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 7 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 recites:
…each of the second ribs comprises a pair of inclined surfaces arranged opposite to each other along the circumferential direction, wherein the plurality of second ribs comprises an uppermost second rib located at an uppermost position of the body part, wherein inclination angles of the pair of inclined surfaces of the uppermost second rib are equal to each other, wherein the plurality of second ribs comprises a lowermost second rib located at a lowermost position of the body part, wherein the pair of inclined surfaces of the lowermost second rib comprises: a first inclined surface disposed on a first side of a center line extending in the radial direction and adjacent to the fastening part, wherein a distance between the first inclined surface and the center line increases in a radially inward direction, a second inclined surface disposed on a second side of the center line opposite to the first side, wherein a distance between the second inclined surface and the center line increases in the radially inward direction, wherein a first inclination angle of the first inclined surface relative to the center line is greater than a second inclination angle of the second inclined surface relative to the center line.
The original disclosure recites:
In this case, the third rib may be provided with an inclined surface arranged to form a constant rib inclination angle based on a center line disposed along the radial direction. In this case, the third rib may be provided with a pair of inclined surfaces arranged opposite to each other along the circumferential direction, and the rib inclination angle of the pair of inclined surfaces may be formed to be equal to each other. In this case, the third rib may be provided with a pair of inclined surfaces arranged opposite to each other along the circumferential direction, and the rib inclination angles of the pair of inclined surfaces may be formed to be different from each other. In this case, among the pair of inclined surfaces, the rib inclination angle of one inclined surface disposed adjacent to the fastening part may be formed to be greater than the rib inclination angle of the other inclined surface.
As shown in FIG. 4, the third rib 130 may be provided with an inclined surface 131 arranged to form a constant rib inclination angle [Symbol font/0x51] based on the center line (c) disposed along the radial direction (r). That is, as the third rib 130 is provided with the inclined surface 131, the extension length (La) in the circumferential direction (a) increases as the third rib 130 goes inward in the radial direction (r), which makes it possible to intensively prevent deformation of the locking part 200.
As shown in FIG. 9, the third rib 130 is provided with a pair of inclined surfaces 131 arranged opposite to each other along the circumferential direction (a), and the rib inclination angle [Symbol font/0x51] of the pair of inclined surfaces 131 may be formed to be equal to each other. That is, when the stress is formed uniformly along the circumferential direction (a) considering the overall stress distribution formed in the coupler 20 when the coupling assembly is fastened, if the rib inclination angle [Symbol font/0x51] of the pair of inclined surfaces 131 is formed to be the same, it is possible to effectively prevent deformation of the locking part 200 along the circumferential direction (a).
As an example, the rib inclination angle [Symbol font/0x51] formed on this pair of inclined surfaces 131 may be formed to be the same as 15°, but is not necessarily limited to 15°, and it is also possible to configure it differently depending on the diameter of the pipe 10 to which the coupling assembly
is fastened.
As shown in FIG. 10, the third rib 130 is provided with a pair of inclined surfaces 131 arranged opposite to each other along the circumferential direction (a), and the rib inclination angles [Symbol font/0x51] of the pair of inclined surfaces 131 may be formed to be different from each other. That is, when the stress is not formed uniformly along the circumferential direction (a) considering the overall stress distribution formed in the coupler 20 when the coupling assembly is fastened, and the stress is concentrated on one side, by forming the rib inclination angles [Symbol font/0x51] of the pair of inclined surfaces 131 to be different from each other, it is possible to effectively prevent deformation of the portion where stress is concentrated and the portion where stress is not concentrated.
As shown in FIGS. 9 and 10, among the pair of inclined surfaces 131, the rib inclination angle [Symbol font/0x51] of one inclined surface 131 disposed adjacent to the fastening part 300 may be formed to be greater than the rib inclination angle [Symbol font/0x51] of the other inclined surface 131. That is, when the coupling assembly is fastened using the fastening member 40, the fastening force of the fastening member 40 is applied to the fastening part 300, and stress is concentrated in a portion adjacent to the fastening part 300.
In this case, as shown in FIG. 4, the third rib 130 located on the uppermost side may have the same rib inclination angle [Symbol font/0x51] of the pair of inclined surfaces 131, and the third rib 130located on the lowermost side may have a rib inclination angle [Symbol font/0x51] of the inclined surface 131 adjacent to the fastening part 300 among the pair of inclined surfaces 131, which is greater than a rib inclination angle [Symbol font/0x51] of the other inclined surface 131. That is, the shape of the third rib 130 located
on the uppermost side and the shape of the third rib 130 located on the lowermost side are configured differently. With this configuration, it is possible to effectively prevent maximum deformation from occurring in a portion adjacent to the fastening part 300 when the fastening force
of the fastening member 30 is applied.
Therefore, by forming the rib inclination angle [Symbol font/0x51] formed on one inclined surface 131 disposed adjacent to the fastening part 300 among the pair of inclined surfaces 131 being greater than the rib inclination angle [Symbol font/0x51] formed on the other inclined surface 131, even if stress is concentrated in a portion adjacent to the fastening part 300, deformation of the locking part 200
can be effectively prevented.
As an example, the rib inclination angle [Symbol font/0x51] of one of the inclined surfaces 131 may be formed at 300, and the rib inclination angle [Symbol font/0x51] formed on the other inclined surface 131 may be formed at 15°, but is not necessarily limited thereto, and it is also possible to configure it differently depending on the diameter of the pipe 10 to which the coupling assembly is fastened.
The original disclosure does not support each of the second ribs comprising a pair of inclined surfaces arranged opposite to each other along the circumferential direction, wherein the plurality of second ribs comprising an uppermost second rib located at an uppermost position of the body part, wherein inclination angles of the pair of inclined surfaces of the uppermost second rib are equal to each other, wherein the plurality of second ribs comprising a lowermost second rib located at a lowermost position of the body part, wherein the pair of inclined surfaces of the lowermost second rib comprising: a first inclined surface disposed on a first side of a center line extending in the radial direction and adjacent to the fastening part, wherein a distance between the first inclined surface and the center line increases in a radially inward direction, a second inclined surface disposed on a second side of the center line opposite to the first side, wherein a distance between the second inclined surface and the center line increases in the radially inward direction, wherein a first inclination angle of the first inclined surface relative to the center line is greater than a second inclination angle of the second inclined surface relative to the center line. Therefore, the Examiner must conclude the claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 12 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 213954600 in view of US 20190331265, Bowman.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures below and paragraphs detailing said figures, CN 213954600 discloses a coupling assembly for connecting pipes, in which a plurality of couplers are placed to connect the pipes continuously placed along an axial direction, and the pipes are connected in such a way that the plurality of couplers are disposed around the pipes and are fastened to each other, wherein the coupler comprises: a body part provided with an internal space where a sealing member is disposed; a locking part that extends inward in a radial direction at both ends of the body part in a width direction and is inserted into a fastening groove formed in the pipe; and a fastening part disposed at both ends in a circumferential direction of the body part and through which a fastening member is fastened, wherein on the atop surface of the body part, a first rib is protruding outward in the radial direction is formed extending and extends along the circumferential direction, wherein on a side surface of the body part, a plurality of second ribs are protruding along the radial direction and extend along the width direction, wherein the plurality of second ribs are arranged along the circumferential direction, wherein each of the second ribs comprises a pair of inclined surfaces arranged opposite to each other along the circumferential direction, wherein the plurality of second ribs comprises an uppermost second rib located at an uppermost position of the body part, wherein inclination angles of the pair of inclined surfaces of the uppermost second rib are equal to each other, wherein the plurality of second ribs comprises a lowermost second rib located at a lowermost position of the body part, wherein the pair of inclined surfaces of the lowermost second rib comprises: a first inclined surface disposed on a first side of a center line extending in the radial direction and adjacent to the fastening part, wherein a distance between the first inclined surface and the center line increases in a radially inward direction, a second inclined surface disposed on a second side of the center line opposite to the first side, wherein a distance between the second inclined surface and the center line increases in the radially inward direction, wherein a first inclination angle of the first inclined surface relative to the center line is greater than a second inclination angle of the second inclined surface relative to the center line. CN 213954600 does not disclose a stainless-steel coupling. Bowman relates to mechanical pipe couplings and fittings for joining pipe elements. Bowman teaches coupling segments of a coupling “are advantageously formed of metal, such as iron, and the split rings may be formed of spring steel, stainless steel, beryllium copper, as well as polymers including plastics such as nylon and acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS)” ([0052]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to fabricate a stainless-steel coupling, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (3rd Rib)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2nd Rib)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st Rib)]
In regards to claim 2, CN 213954600 in view of Bowman further disclose
at least one first rib is provided along the width direction.
In regards to claim 3, CN 213954600 in view of Bowman further disclose
on the top surface of the body part, a plurality of third ribs are outward in the radial direction and extend along the width direction.
In regards to claim 4, CN 213954600 in view of Bowman further disclose
the plurality of third ribs are arranged along the circumferential direction.
In regards to claim 7, CN 213954600 in view of Bowman further disclose
an extension length of each of the plurality of second ribs in the circumferential direction increases as in the radially inward direction.
In regards to claim 12, CN 213954600 in view of Bowman further disclose
the body part comprises an additional rib (3rd) connecting a side surface of the body part and the fastening part.
In regards to claim 17, CN 213954600 in view of Bowman further disclose
a protruding length in the radial direction of the locking part is formed to be greater than a depth of the fastening groove.
In regards to claim 18, CN 213954600 in view of Bowman further disclose a bottom surface of the body part is provided with a separation surface spaced apart from an outer surface of the pipe.
In regards to claim 19, CN 213954600 in view of Bowman further disclose
a first body inclination angle is formed on the a separation surface so that a separation distance between the separation surface and the outer surface of the pipe increases along the width direction.
In regards to claim 20, CN 213954600 in view of Bowman further disclose
a second body inclination angle is formed on the separation surface so that a separation distance between the separation surface and the outer surface of the pipe decreases along the width direction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON M DUNWOODY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679