This office action is in response to the amendment filed 03/02/2026.
Claims 37-42, 43-48, 49-54 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 49-54 are objected to because of the following informalities: “ A tangible non-transitory machine-readable storage medium” should be replaced by --- A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium ----- . Clarification and Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 37, 38, 39, 40, 43, 44, 45, 46, 49, 50, 51, 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui et al. ( US 20240172096, hereinafter, Cui’s 096 ) in view of Li et al. ( US 20240215091, hereinafter, Li’s 091 ).
Regarding to the claim 37, US 20240172096 teaches an apparatus of a user equipment (UE), the apparatus comprising a a memory to store instructions, and processing circuitry to execute the instructions to:
determine an aperiodic gap (Aperiodic Measurement Gap) [see Paragraph 0081 & 0080 ] associated with determining system information (SI) of a neighboring cell (system information (SI) of a neighboring cell) [see Paragraphs 0081 & 0080-0082 ] , wherein the aperiodic gap corresponds to a multi universal subscriber identity module (MUSIM) (multi universal subscriber identity module (MUSIM) ) [see the Abstract ] operation (Configuration with AP-MG configuration can include a one-shot switching from the serving network to the target network such that the UE 101 does not enter into an ACK/NACK mode of communication or enter into an RRC-connected state (e.g., no RRC connection Resume/Setup) with the target network, including an on-demand SI request. With AP-MGs the UE 101 can switch from the serving network to the target network in a one time event as a one-shot switching mechanism so that the UE 101 switches once to provide an SI request to the target network, read the SIB1/other SIB at each instance independent of one another while switching back to the serving cell before reading another instance or making any further request. For example, the UE 101 can request some SI information from target network, but this request is a one time or one shot event, which means the UE performs aperiodic switching from the serving network to the target network to provide the request and then tune back to the serving network) [see the Abstract and Paragraphs 0081 & 0080 & 0080-0089 & 0077 ].
( techniques and mechanism for configuring these measurement gaps (MGs) are needed in order to ensure system information (SI) communication with the various networks is efficient and effective. This can include SI for paging reception, serving cell measurement, neighboring cell measurements including intra-frequency, inter-frequency, and inter-radio access technology (RAT) measurements. In particular, because SI has much more information and configurations for other purposes also (e.g., cell measurements, or other operations), the UE should be able to read this SI for maintaining dual network connectivity in dual SIM operation effectively and efficiently. SI reading can refer to the UE reading the SI to obtain the SIB1 information and one or more subsequent SIBs from downlink control information. An SI request can refer to specific requests being provided for SI reading to be performed, such as to a target network or second network that is not the serving network in a dual SIM operation for MUSIM) [see Paragraph 001 4] ;
determine the SI of the neighboring cell during the aperiodic gap (Aperiodic measurement Gap (AP-MG)) determine the SI of the neighboring cell during the Aperiodic Measurement Gap) [see Paragraph 0082 & 0080-0089].
However, US 20240172096 does not explicitly teach perform radio resource management measurements on the neighboring cell during the aperiodic gap.
US 20240215091, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches perform radio resource management measurements (RRM managements) [see Paragraphs 0116 & 0121 & 0122 & 0123 & 0125 ] on the neighboring cell during the aperiodic gap (aperiodic measurement gap) [see Paragraphs 0111 & 0116-0125] ([0109] In one or more embodiments, a terminal may be allowed so switch to a second network without leaving a connected state with a first network. In some embodiments, network switching may be performed periodically through periodic network switching. Periodic network switching may include a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) detection/paging reception, serving cell measurements, and neighboring cell measurements including intra-frequency, inter-frequency, and/or inter-RAT measurements. In some embodiments, network switching may be triggered after receiving System Information (SI) for the second network. In some embodiments, network switching may be performed through aperiodic network switching. Aperiodic network switching may be performed with the second network in both transmission and reception. In aperiodic network switching, the terminal may not enter an RRC CONNECTED state in the second network (e.g., no RRC connection Resume/Setup) with the SI request) [see Paragraph 0109 ] .
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20240172096 in view of US 20240215091 because US 20240215091 suggests that there are further wireless communication technologies under development, including the fifth generation (5G) standard and New Radio (NR) communication technologies. Accordingly, improvements in the field in support of such development and design are desired.
Regarding to the claim 38, US 20240172096 further teaches the processing circuitry to further: decode gap configuration information including information on the aperiodic gap; and determine the aperiodic gap from the gap configuration information ( the processing circuitry to further: decode gap configuration information including information on the aperiodic gap; and determine the aperiodic gap from the gap configuration information) [see Paragraphs 0081 & 0080-0082 ].
Regarding to the claim 39, US 20240172096 further teaches the processing circuitry to further decode a system information (SI) request from the neighboring cell, and determine the SI information based on the SI request (the processing circuitry to further decode a system information (SI) request from the neighboring cell, and determine the SI information based on the SI request ) [see Paragraphs 0081 & 0080-0082 ].
Regarding to the claim 40, US 20240172096 further teaches the processing circuitry to further not schedule communication in a serving cell during the aperiodic gap (the processing circuitry to further not schedule communication in a serving cell during the aperiodic gap) [see Paragraphs 0081 & 0080-0082 ].
Regarding to the claim 43, US 20240172096 teaches a system of a user equipment (UE), the system comprising: a memory to store instructions; processing circuitry coupled to the memory to execute the instructions to:
determine an aperiodic gap (Aperiodic Measurement Gap) [see Paragraph 0081 & 0080 ] associated with determining system information (SI) of a neighboring cell (system information (SI) of a neighboring cell) [see Paragraphs 0081 & 0080-0082 ] , wherein the aperiodic gap corresponds to a multi universal subscriber identity module (MUSIM) (multi universal subscriber identity module (MUSIM) ) [see the Abstract ] operation (Configuration with AP-MG configuration can include a one-shot switching from the serving network to the target network such that the UE 101 does not enter into an ACK/NACK mode of communication or enter into an RRC-connected state (e.g., no RRC connection Resume/Setup) with the target network, including an on-demand SI request. With AP-MGs the UE 101 can switch from the serving network to the target network in a one time event as a one-shot switching mechanism so that the UE 101 switches once to provide an SI request to the target network, read the SIB1/other SIB at each instance independent of one another while switching back to the serving cell before reading another instance or making any further request. For example, the UE 101 can request some SI information from target network, but this request is a one time or one shot event, which means the UE performs aperiodic switching from the serving network to the target network to provide the request and then tune back to the serving network) [see the Abstract and Paragraphs 0081 & 0080 & 0080-0089 & 0077 ].;
determine the SI of the neighboring cell during the aperiodic gap (Aperiodic measurement Gap (AP-MG)) determine the SI of the neighboring cell during the Aperiodic Measurement Gap) [see Paragraph 0082 & 0080-0089];
perform radio resource management measurements on the neighboring cell during the aperiodic gap; a radio frequency (RF) front end module coupled to the processing circuitry; and one or more antennas coupled to the RF front end module to communicate wirelessly (a radio frequency (RF) front end module coupled to the processing circuitry; and one or more antennas coupled to the RF front end module to communicate wirelessly) [see Paragraphs 0081 & 0080-0082 ].
However, US 20240172096 does not explicitly teach perform radio resource management measurements on the neighboring cell during the aperiodic gap.
US 20240215091, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches perform radio resource management measurements (RRM managements) [see Paragraphs 0116 & 0121 & 0122 & 0123 & 0125 ] on the neighboring cell during the aperiodic gap (aperiodic measurement gap) [see Paragraphs 0111 & 0116-0125].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20240172096 in view of US 20240215091 because US 20240215091 suggests that there are further wireless communication technologies under development, including the fifth generation (5G) standard and New Radio (NR) communication technologies. Accordingly, improvements in the field in support of such development and design are desired.
Regarding to the claim 44, US 20240172096 further teaches the processing circuitry to further: decode gap configuration information including information on the aperiodic gap; and determine the aperiodic gap from the gap configuration information (decode gap configuration information including information on the aperiodic gap; and determine the aperiodic gap from the gap configuration information) [see Paragraphs 0081 & 0080-0082 ].
Regarding to the claim 45, US 20240172096 further teaches the processing circuitry to further decode a system information (SI) request from the neighboring cell, and determine the SI information based on the SI request (decode a system information (SI) request from the neighboring cell, and determine the SI information based on the SI request) [see Paragraphs 0081 & 0080-0082 ].
Regarding to the claim 46, US 20240172096 further teaches the processing circuitry to further not schedule communication in a serving cell during the aperiodic gap (the processing circuitry to further not schedule communication in a serving cell during the aperiodic gap) [see Paragraphs 0081 & 0080-0082 ].
Regarding to the claim 49, US 20240172096 teaches a tangible non-transitory machine-readable storage medium storing instruction that, when executed at a processing circuitry of a user equipment (UE), cause the processing circuitry to:
determine an aperiodic gap (Aperiodic Measurement Gap) [see Paragraph 0081 & 0080 ] associated with determining system information (SI) of a neighboring cell (system information (SI) of a neighboring cell) [see Paragraphs 0081 & 0080-0082 ] , wherein the aperiodic gap corresponds to a multi universal subscriber identity module (MUSIM) (multi universal subscriber identity module (MUSIM) ) [see the Abstract ] operation (Configuration with AP-MG configuration can include a one-shot switching from the serving network to the target network such that the UE 101 does not enter into an ACK/NACK mode of communication or enter into an RRC-connected state (e.g., no RRC connection Resume/Setup) with the target network, including an on-demand SI request. With AP-MGs the UE 101 can switch from the serving network to the target network in a one time event as a one-shot switching mechanism so that the UE 101 switches once to provide an SI request to the target network, read the SIB1/other SIB at each instance independent of one another while switching back to the serving cell before reading another instance or making any further request. For example, the UE 101 can request some SI information from target network, but this request is a one time or one shot event, which means the UE performs aperiodic switching from the serving network to the target network to provide the request and then tune back to the serving network) [see the Abstract and Paragraphs 0081 & 0080 & 0080-0089 & 0077 ].;
determine the SI of the neighboring cell during the aperiodic gap (Aperiodic measurement Gap (AP-MG)) determine the SI of the neighboring cell during the Aperiodic Measurement Gap) [see Paragraph 0082 & 0080-0089];
encode and decode signals for wireless communication ( encode and decode signals for wireless communication ) [see Paragraphs 0055 & 0079 & 0097 & 0165 ].
However, US 20240172096 does not explicitly teach perform radio resource management measurements on the neighboring cell during the aperiodic gap.
US 20240215091, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches perform radio resource management measurements (RRM managements) [see Paragraphs 0116 & 0121 & 0122 & 0123 & 0125 ] on the neighboring cell during the aperiodic gap (aperiodic measurement gap) [see Paragraphs 0111 & 0116-0125].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20240172096 in view of US 20240215091 because US 20240215091 suggests that there are further wireless communication technologies under development, including the fifth generation (5G) standard and New Radio (NR) communication technologies. Accordingly, improvements in the field in support of such development and design are desired.
Regarding to the claim 50, US 20240172096 further teaches the processing circuitry to further: decode gap configuration information including information on the aperiodic gap; and determine the aperiodic gap from the gap configuration information (decode gap configuration information including information on the aperiodic gap; and determine the aperiodic gap from the gap configuration information) [see Paragraphs 0081 & 0080-0082 ] .
Regarding to the claim 51, US 20240172096 further teaches the processing circuitry to further decode a system information (SI) request from the neighboring cell, and determine the SI information based on the SI request ( the processing circuitry to further decode a system information (SI) request from the neighboring cell, and determine the SI information based on the SI request ) [see Paragraphs 0081 & 0080-0082 ] .
Regarding to the claim 52, US 20240172096 further teaches the processing circuitry to further not schedule communication in a serving cell during the aperiodic gap ( the processing circuitry to further not schedule communication in a serving cell during the aperiodic gap ) [see Paragraphs 0081 & 0080-0082 ] .
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 41, 42 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose determine a gap pattern for a periodic gap for a determination of a second SI of the neighboring cell, wherein the gap pattern corresponds to a MUSIM operation, the gap pattern associated with: a measurement gap repetition pattern (MGRP) of 5120 ms; and a measurement gap length of 20 ms; and determine the second SI based on the gap pattern.
Claims 47, 48 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose determine a gap pattern for a periodic gap for a determination of a second SI of the neighboring cell, wherein the gap pattern corresponds to a MUSIM operation, the gap pattern associated with: a measurement gap repetition pattern (MGRP) of 5120 ins; and a measurement gap length of 20 ins; and determine the second SI based on the gap pattern.
Claims 53, 54 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose determine a gap pattern for a periodic gap for a determination of a second SI of the neighboring cell, wherein the gap pattern corresponds to a MUSIM operation, the gap pattern associated with: a measurement gap repetition pattern (MGRP) of 5120 ms; and a measurement gap length of 20 ms; and determine the second SI based on the gap pattern.
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2412