Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see papers, filed 9/10/26, with respect to claims 1-18 have been fully considered and are only persuasive based on the mixing of different embodiments, the Van Meegan et al. reference remains as a 102 rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 11, 12, 15, 16 and 18 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Meegen et al. (EP 3725668 - cited prior art; see worldwide.espacenet.com).
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 15, the Van Meegen et al. reference discloses a bunker system (Figure 6; the “system” is made up of 10, 110 and 60) comprising: a container (14, 16) configured to contain electrolyte for a battery system of a vessel (60); a charger (flow battery 22) configured to charge the electrolyte in the container (14, 16); and a first port (38) that is fluidically connectable between the container (14) and the vessel (60) to permit a flow of the electrolyte between the container and the vessel.
Regarding claim 2, the Van Meegen et al. reference further discloses the charger (22) comprising an interface (50) configured to receive electrical energy from an electrical power source.
"the energy storage pontoon 10 is provided with at least one electric connection 50 for electrically connecting the flow battery 22 with an electric source P and/or electric load L."
Regarding claim 3, the Van Meegen et al. reference further discloses the electrolyte comprises an anolyte and a catholyte; and wherein the container comprises a first container section (reservoirs 14 or 18) configured to contain the anolyte and a second container section (reservoirs 16 or 20) configured to contain the catholyte, and wherein the first and second container sections are isolated from each other (see Figure 6).
"the at least one anolyte tank 14, 18 comprises at least one first anolyte tank 14 for holding liquid, discharged anolyte and at least one second anolyte tank 18 for holding liquid, charged anolyte. The at least one catholyte tank 16, 20 comprises at least one first catholyte tank 16 for holding liquid, discharged catholyte and at least one second catholyte tank 20 for holding liquid, charged catholyte."
Regarding claims 4 and 12, the Van Meegan et al. reference further discloses wherein the first port (38) is fluidically connectable between the first container section and the vessel to permit a flow of the anolyte between the first container section and the vessel (60 at anolyte fill opening 84); and wherein the bunker system comprises a second port (40) that is fluidically connectable between the second container section and the vessel (60 at catholyte fill opening 86) to permit a flow of the catholyte between the second container section and the vessel (60).
Regarding claim 16, the Van Meegan et al. reference further discloses debunkering used electrolyte from the vessel to the bunker station.
"The ship 60 also has an anolyte removal provision 88 via which
discharged anolyte can be removed from the at least one anolyte tank 64 or 68,
and has a catholyte removal provision 90 via which discharged catholyte can be
removed from the at least one catholyte tank 66 or 70."
Regarding claim 18, the Van Meegan et al. reference further discloses bunkering charged electrolyte to the vessel from the bunker station via ports 84 and 86, and debunkering is performed at any time via ports 88 and 90 on vessel (60).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, the Van Meegan et al. reference further discloses pumps (46, 48).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 – 10, 13, 14 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY L MAUST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753