DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The claim set submitted on 25 OCTOBER 2023 is acknowledged.
In the claim set, Claims 1-15 are acknowledged, considered and considered on the merits below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 17 NOVEMBER 2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Figure 3, character 122. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The use of the term CYANORESIN™, DYNEON™, CYTOP™, FLURORPEL™, [00050], which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: The word ‘aluminum’ is misspelled. There are two instances. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
An “electrode assembly configured to generate an electric field and cause reversible electrowetting of a PCR mixture” in claim 1; “electrode assembly … to generate an electric field within the thermocycling chamber” in claim 9 and 10.
An “assembly” does not connote any particular structure. The specification describes the “assembly” to be two concentric electrodes, [00029, 00036], two electrodes, with both electrodes disposed on the substrate, [00034], or with one electrode disposed on the substrate and the other electrode configured to contact the liquid sample from a different angle, [00034], one or more planar electrodes, [00035].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 does not further define the invention. In Claim 1 a ‘thermocycling chamber’ is claimed (singular); then in Claim 6, a ‘plurality of thermocycling chambers’ is claimed (plural). Claim 6 broadens Claim 1, from which it depends from.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NIELSEN, US Publication No. 2013/0115607 A1, submitted on the Information Disclosure Statement on 17 NOVEMBER 2023, US Patent Application Publications Cite No. 3, and further in view of Krupenkin, T. & Taylor, J.A. Reverse electrowetting as a new approach to high-power energy harvesting. Nat. Commun. 2:448 doi: 10.1038/ncomms1454 (2011).
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a device, a PCR system.
Regarding Claim 1, the NIELSEN reference discloses a PCR system, [0018, 0038], Figure 18A-D, comprising: a thermocycling chamber , Figure 18A-D, reaction chamber, [0175, 0176], comprising an electrode assembly, [0173]; and an optical sensor configured to obtain optical signals from the thermocycling chamber, [0113].
The NIELSEN reference discloses the claimed invention, but is silent in regard to wherein the thermocycling chamber comprising an electrode assembly configured to generate an electric field and cause reversible electrowetting of a PCR mixture within the thermocycling chamber.
The KRUPENKIN reference discloses a system, Figure 1, 4, 6 and 7, comprising: a chamber, Figure 4, ‘chamber’, comprising an electrode assembly configured to generate an electrical field and cause reversible electrowetting of a sample within the chamber, page 2-3 ‘Reverse electrowetting concept’.
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the claimed invention of NIELSEN with the electrode assembly configured to generate an electrical field and cause reversible electrowetting as taught by KRUPENKIN so that one is able to convert mechanical energy of liquid motion into electrical current, page 2.
Additional Disclosures Included are: Claim 3: wherein the PCR system according to claim 1, wherein the optical sensor is a fluorescence sensor, [0272]. ;Claim 6: wherein the PCR system according to claim 1, wherein the PCR system comprises a plurality of thermocycling chambers and the plurality of thermocycling chambers are independently operable, Figure 18A-D.; Claim 7: wherein the PCR system according to claim 1, wherein the thermocycling chamber fluidically isolated from any other thermocycling chamber that may be present on the substrate, Figure 18A-D.; Claim 8: wherein the PCR system according to claim 1, wherein the thermocycling chamber is provided with one or more capillary pressure barriers on an internal surface thereof, Figure 2, [0231].
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a method, a method of manufacturing.
Regarding Claim 9, the NIELSEN reference discloses a method of manufacturing a PCR system, comprising: forming a thermocycling chamber, [0162, 0163, 0164]; and arranging an electrode assembly, [0173].
The NIELSEN reference disclose the claimed method, but is silent in regards to wherein the electrode assembly is arranged so as to be operable to generate an electric field within the thermocycling chamber.
The KRUPENKIN reference discloses a system, Figure 1, 4, 6 and 7, comprising: a chamber, Figure 4, ‘chamber’, comprising an electrode assembly configured to generate an electrical field and cause reversible electrowetting of a sample within the chamber, page 2-3 ‘Reverse electrowetting concept’.
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the claimed invention of NIELSEN with the electrode assembly configured to generate an electrical field and cause reversible electrowetting as taught by KRUPENKIN so that one is able to convert mechanical energy of liquid motion into electrical current, page 2.
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a method.
Regarding Claim 10, the reference NIELSEN discloses a method of performing PCR, Claim 61, comprising:
introducing a liquid volume into a thermocycling chamber of a PCR system, [0227], wherein the liquid volume comprises a nucleic acid sample suspected of containing a nucleic acid of interest, abstract, [0008, 0010, 0011], and the thermocycling chamber comprises an electrode assembly, [0162-0167], configured to generate an electric field within the thermocycling chamber, [0175, 0176]; applying a first voltage across the electrode assembly to cause the liquid volume to electrowet within the thermocycling chamber, [0241]; subjecting the liquid volume to amplification by polymerase chain reaction, [0011]; applying a second voltage across the electrode assembly, [0079, 0080, 0241]; and detecting an optical signal from the droplet, [0113].
The NIELSEN reference discloses the claimed invention, but is silent in regard to wherein the thermocycling chamber comprising an electrode assembly configured to reverse the electrowetting and cause the liquid to from a droplet.
The KRUPENKIN reference discloses a system, Figure 1, 4, 6 and 7, comprising: a chamber, Figure 4, ‘chamber’, comprising an electrode assembly configured to reverse the electrowetting and cause the liquid to from a droplet, page 3-4, REWOD energy production.
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the claimed invention of NIELSEN with the electrode assembly configured to generate an electrical field and cause reversible electrowetting as taught by KRUPENKIN so that one is able to convert mechanical energy of liquid motion into electrical current, page 2.
Additional Disclosures Included are: Claim 11: wherein the method according to claim 10, wherein the second voltage is applied during at least one amplification cycle to detect an optical signal from the droplet during amplification cycle, [0255, 0256].; Claim 12: wherein the method according to claim 10, wherein the second voltage comprises a zero or near zero voltage, [0247, 0256, 0574-0581]. ; Claim 13: wherein the method according to claim 10, wherein subjecting the liquid volume to amplification by polymerase chain reaction comprises thermocycling the electrowetted liquid volume, [0104].
Regarding Claim 15, the combination above suggest the claimed invention, but is silent in regards to wherein the first voltage and the second voltage are oscillated at a frequency of 100 Hz.
NIELSEN discloses the voltage can be applied at a first and second voltage, [0574-0581] and teaches the voltage to be applied over any period of time, [0256], suitable for achieving good separation of the analyte, but is silent in regards to the voltages are oscillated a frequency of 100 Hz.
Since NIELSEN teaches the voltage to be applied at any voltage and over any period of time suitable for achieving good separation of the analyte (e.g., amplification products), it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the NIELSEN so that the first voltage and the second voltage are oscillated at a frequency of 100 Hz to either amplify or provide good separation of the desired analytes, [0256].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NIELSEN, US Publication No. 2013/0115607 A1, submitted on the Information Disclosure Statement on 17 NOVEMBER 2023, US Patent Application Publications Cite No. 3, and further in view of Krupenkin, T. & Taylor, J.A. Reverse electrowetting as a new approach to high-power energy harvesting. Nat. Commun. 2:448 doi: 10.1038/ncomms1454 (2011).And further in view of COBB, US Publication No. 2004/0069656 A1.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination above suggests the claimed invention, but is silent in regards to wherein PCR system according to claim 1, wherein the electrode assembly comprises a hydrophobic coating of PTFE, cyanoethyl pullulan (CEP), or octadecyltrichlorosilane.
The COBB reference discloses a PCR system, abstract, [0037], comprising an electrode assembly, [0084, 0085], configured to generate an electric field, [0084, 0085], and an optical sensor configured to obtain optical signals, Figure 15a, and wherein the electrode assembly comprises a hydrophobic coating of PTFE, cyanoethyl pullulan (CEP), or octadecyltrichlorosilane, [0086].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the claimed invention so that electrode assembly comprises a hydrophobic coating of PTFE as taught by COBB to provide prevent any electrochemical reduction or oxidation of the electrode and to provide mechanical stability to the device as well as provide structural integrity of the electrode in the thermocycling of the chamber.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NIELSEN, US Publication No. 2013/0115607 A1, submitted on the Information Disclosure Statement on 17 NOVEMBER 2023, US Patent Application Publications Cite No. 3, in view of Krupenkin, T. & Taylor, J.A. Reverse electrowetting as a new approach to high-power energy harvesting. Nat. Commun. 2:448 doi: 10.1038/ncomms1454 (2011), and further in view of PAMULA, US Patent 7,763,471 B2.
Regarding Claim 14, the combination above suggests the claimed invention, but is silent in regards to wherein an oil is provided into the thermocycling chamber.
The PAMULA reference discloses a method for thermocycling, Column 39 line 65 – Column 40 line 7, where a liquid volume comprises a nucleic acid sample suspected of containing a nucleic acid of interest, Column 3 line 66-Column 4 line 3, and the thermocycling chamber comprises an electrode assembly configured to generate an electric field , Column 3 line 63-65, Column 32 line 15-32, wherein a chamber is provided with oil, Column 48 line 26-29.
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combination to have an oil in the provided into the thermocycling chamber as taught by PAMULA to prevent proteins from sticking to electrodes, Column 33 line 44, and to use a filler fluid that is non-conductive, Column 48 line 26-29.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The claim limitation directed to : wherein the electrode assembly comprises two concentric electrodes provided on a substrate on which the thermocycling chamber is disposed is not found or suggested in the prior art. While concentric electrodes are known; it is not taught or suggested in a PCR system, or device for performing thermocycling.
The claim limitation directed to : wherein the electrode assembly comprises a dielectric coating of polyimide, SU-8, silicon oxide, silicon nitride, aluminium oxide, aluminium nitride or any combination / stack thereof is not found or suggested in the prior art and field of invention of PCR system, thermocycling, electrowetting or reverse electrowetting. While it is known in the art that electrodes can have coatings, the electrode with coating as defined in Claim 5 in conjunction with any of PCR system, thermocycling, electrowetting or reverse electrowetting is not found or suggested in the prior art.
Conclusion
CTM
/CHRISTINE T MUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797