DETAILED ACTION
Amendments to the specification, drawings, and claims, filed 15 July 2026, have been entered in the above identified application
Claims 1-6, 8, 11-14, 17-19, 22-23, and 28-30 are pending in the application
Claims 14, 17-19, 22-23, and 25 are withdrawn in the application
Claims 7, 9-10, 15-16, 20-21, 24, and 26-27 are cancelled in the application
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14, 17-19, 22-23, and 25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 15 July 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites “wherein physically de-watering the dry electrochemical device specifically comprising” in lines 1-2. This should be corrected to “wherein physically de-watering the dry electrochemical device specifically comprises”
Claim 5 recites the limitation “wherein the step S30 specifically comprising” in lines 1-2. This should be corrected to “wherein the step S30 specifically comprises”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 2 recites the broad recitation “a humidity of equal or less than 60% but equal or greater than 1%” in line 4, and the claim also recites “a humidity of equal or less than 60% but equal or greater than 10%” in line 5 and “a humidity of equal or less than 60% but equal or greater than 30%” which are narrower statements of the range. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 6 recites the limitations “wherein the first electrolyte does not contain a lithium salt that readily reacts with water,” in lines 1-2 and “wherein the lithium salt that readily reacts with water comprises lithium hexafluorophosphate” in lines 2-3 which render the claim vague and indefinite. It is unclear if the first electrolyte cannot contain any lithium salt that may readily react with water, as it seems from the limitation in lines 1-2, or if the first electrolyte cannot contain specifically lithium hexafluorophosphate but could contain other lithium salts that react with water, as it seems from the limitation in lines 2-3. For the purpose of examination, it will be understood that the first electrolyte does not contain lithium hexafluorophosphate.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the components of the first electrolyte comprise at least one of LiTFSI, LiFSI and lithium perchlorate” in lines 3-4 which renders the claim vague and indefinite. There is a lack of antecedent basis for “the components.” It is unclear what components are being referred to as none have been positively claimed. Amendment to “the first electrolyte comprises at least one of LiTFSI, LiFSI and lithium perchlorate” would resolve this issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 11-12, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0087225).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches an electrochemical device (high-capacity cylindrical lithium-ion battery) and a method for preparing the electrochemical device (abstract and title). The method for preparing the electrochemical device includes providing a positive electrode sheet (cathode electrode), a negative electrode sheet (anode electrode) and a diaphragm (separator), and winding the positive electrode sheet, the diaphragm and the negative electrode sheet to form an electrode assembly (core winder) ([0040]). Next, encapsulating the electrode assembly to obtain a dry electrochemical device and installing the dry electrochemical device (placing into a case, placing encapsulated electrode in a vacuum chamber [0040]). Next, the dry electrochemical device is installed (placed into a vacuum chamber, implied by the step of vacuum drying). Lastly, injecting electrolyte into the dry electrochemical device to obtain an electrochemical device ([0040]), followed by performing initial activation to the electrochemical device (forming, [0040]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang further teaches a process of preparing the positive electrode sheet, a process of preparing the negative electrode sheet and/or a process of preparing the dry electrochemical device is carried out in an environment without humidity control (as no humidity control is included in the method of Zhang) .
Regarding claim 29, and 11-12, Zhang further teaches injecting a specific electrolyte into the dry electrochemical device to obtain the electrochemical device, wherein the specific electrolyte is capable of reacting with the water in the dry electrochemical device by the addition of additive A, which is a hexamethyldisilazane ([0040] and [0017], hexamethyldisilazane being an additive that can react with water per Applicant’s specification, [0098]-[0099]). Next, charging the electrochemical device so as to complete the activation of the electrochemical device (forming, [0040]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0087225) in view of Miyaki (US Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0114993).
Zhang is relied upon as described above.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Zhang further teaches, before injecting electrolyte into the dry electrochemical device, the dry electrochemical device is physically dried by evacuating (dried in vacuum) ([0040]).
Zhang does not explicitly teach that the dry electrochemical device is physically de-watered, nor physically de-watering the dry electrochemical device specifically comprising baking and/or evacuating the dry electrochemical device to reduce the moisture in the dry electrochemical device to less than 600 ppm, or to reduce the moisture in the dry electrochemical device to less than 400 ppm.
Miyaki teaches a nonaqueous secondary battery with a positive electrode, negative electrode, separator, and electrolyte, the electrolyte containing a lithium salt (abstract). Miyaki further teaches de-watering the battery by vacuum drying ([0460]), and that the water content of the secondary battery after drying should be less than 2000 ppm, as this allows for improved cycle characteristics ([0460]). This range overlaps with the claimed range of less than 600 ppm. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the vacuum drying of Zhang as a way to de-water the dry electrochemical cell, as taught by Miyaki, as well as to dry the dry electrochemical device of Zhang to within the water ppm range also taught by Miyaki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use this range for the improved cycle characteristics.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0087225) in view of Mitsuhashi (US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0372343) and Ma (Chinese Patent Application Publication No. 110994023). For prior art discussion see English translations for CN-110994023-A.
Zhang is relied upon as described above.
Zhang teaches injecting a first electrolyte into the dry electrochemical device and performing a first charging (forming) to the dry electrochemical device ([0040]).
Zhang does not explicitly teach discharging out the first electrolyte and reaction by-products, injecting a second electrolyte into the dry electrochemical device to obtain the electrochemical device and performing a second charging to the electrochemical device so as to complete the activation of the electrochemical device.
Mitsuhashi teaches a method of manufacturing a lithium-ion secondary battery (title). Mitsuhashi further teaches the manufacturing method includes injecting a first electrolyte into the dry electrochemical device and performing a first charging to the dry electrochemical device, and then discharging out the first electrolyte and reaction by-products ([0008]-[0011]). Next, Mitsuhashi teaches injecting a second electrolyte into the dry electrochemical device to obtain the electrochemical device ([0012]) and performing a second charging to the electrochemical device so as to complete the activation of the electrochemical device ([0085]). This manufacturing method allows for an appropriate surface film to be formed on the electrodes with the use of an additive, followed by removal of any excess additives that may remain in the first electrolyte, which could cause the surface of the surface film on the electrode to be excessively formed and generation of gas within the battery ([0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the manufacturing method for a lithium-ion battery with a first and second electrolyte in which the first electrolyte is discharged after a first activation step, as taught by Mitsuhashi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use this method to prevent excess surface film formation on the electrodes and to decrease internal gas generation.
Modified Zhang does not explicitly teach injecting a first electrolyte into the dry electrochemical device and performing a first charging to the dry electrochemical device so as to remove the moisture in the dry electrochemical device.
Zhang does teach the electrolyte contains an additive that will react with water (hexamethyldisilazane, [0017], which is an additive that can react with water per Applicant’s specification, [0098]-[0099]).
Ma teaches a preparation method for a safe electrolyte for lithium-ion batteries (abstract). Ma further teaches that the electrolyte contains hexamethyldisilazane, for the purpose of removing water in the electrochemical device ([0004]), which allows for improved storage and thermal stability ([0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include hexamethyldisilazane in the first electrolyte so as to remove the moisture in the dry electrochemical device, as taught by Ma, in the method of modified Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this inclusion for the increased storage and stability.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0087225) in view of Mitsuhashi (US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0372343), further in view of Watanabe (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0203709).
Zhang and Mitsuhashi
Zhang further teaches the first electrolyte does not contain a lithium salt that readily reacts with water, wherein the lithium salt that readily reacts with water comprises lithium hexafluorophosphate ([0039], Zhang teaches the lithium salt may be lithium bis(oxalate)borate or lithium imide).
Modified Zhang does not explicitly teach the components of the first electrolyte comprise at least one of LiTFSI, LiFSI and lithium perchlorate.
Watanabe teaches a non-aqueous electrolyte solution battery (title). The electrolyte in the battery contains a lithium salt, which is preferably lithium perchlorate ([0038]). Lithium perchlorate gives the advantages of lower cost, improved conductivity, and long-term reliability ([0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to lithium perchlorate in the first electrolyte of modified Zhang, as taught by Watanabe. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use lithium perchlorate for the lower cost, improved conductivity, and long-term reliability.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0087225) in view of Mitsuhashi (US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0372343), further in view of Yamada (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0328424)
Zhang and Mitsuhashi are relied upon as described above.
Modified Zhang does not explicitly teach that the dry electrochemical device is charged to 10%-90% SOC by the first charging, and the dry electrochemical device is charged at a constant current of less than or equal to 0.5C during the first charging.
Yamada teaches a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery (abstract). Yamada further teaches, after formation of the battery, charging the battery to 90% SOC at a constant current of 0.33 C (1/3 C) ([0066]). These values lie within the claimed ranges of 10%-90% SOC and less than or equal to 0.5C, respectively. Since the prior art recites a value within the claimed range, the claimed range is made obvious by the prior art (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the charging SOC percentage and constant current, as taught by Yamada, in the activation of the electrochemical device of Zhang. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143.I.A). As the forming of the electrochemical device of Zhang ([0040]) requires charging the battery with a current, and Zhang does not explicitly teach the SOC percentage and constant current used, it would have been obvious to use the known method of Yamada to achieve the predictable result of activating the electrochemical device.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0087225) in view of Zhu (Chinese Patent Application Publication No. 111952527). For prior art discussion see English translations for CN-111952527-A.
Zhang is relied upon as described above.
Zhang does not explicitly teach after encapsulating the electrode assembly to obtain the dry electrochemical device, an inert gas is charged to the dry electrochemical device.
Zhu teaches a method for packaging lithium batteries (abstract) The method includes a step wherein, before injecting electrolyte but after encapsulating the electrode assembly (after fixing the top-sealed battery cell semi-finished product), charging an inert gas to the dry electrochemical cell (battery cell semi-finished product, [0089]). Charging inert gas to the dry electrochemical cell before injection of the electrolyte expels air inside of the dry electrochemical cell, in turn avoiding the problem of reduced electrolyte active material and improving the stability of the electrochemical cell ([0089]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the step of charging inert gas to the dry electrochemical cell, as taught by Zhu, in the method of Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this inclusion to avoid the reduction of electrolyte active material and improved stability of the electrochemical cell.
Claims 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0087225) in view of Kim (US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0065100), Deng (Chinese Patent Application Publication No. 202749462) and Yamafuku (US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0357670). For prior art discussion see English translation for CN-202749462-U.
Zhang teaches an electrochemical device (high-capacity cylindrical lithium-ion battery) and a method for preparing the electrochemical device (abstract and title). The method for preparing the electrochemical device includes providing a positive electrode sheet (cathode electrode), a negative electrode sheet (anode electrode) and a diaphragm (separator), and winding the positive electrode sheet, the diaphragm and the negative electrode sheet to form an electrode assembly (core winder) ([0040]). Then, encapsulating the housing with at least one end cap to obtain a dry electrochemical device (battery case and end caps, [0040]). A liquid injection hole provided through the at least one end cap to communicate with an interior of the housing ([0041], the inlet is provided in the positive terminal, which is on one of the end caps, see fig. 1 ref. #11, 13).
Zhang further teaches the method includes installing the dry electrochemical device at a position (placing the electrochemical device in the vacuum used to vacuum dry the dry electrochemical device, [0040]).
Zhang further teaches injecting electrolyte into the dry electrochemical device so as to obtain an electrochemical device and performing initial activation (forming) to the electrochemical device ([0040]).
Zhang does not explicitly teach a gas exhaust hole is provided through the at least one end cap, nor the electrochemical cell being connected to a gas exhaust pipe.
Kim teaches a rechargeable battery with an electrode assembly included within (abstract). Kim further teaches the battery includes a cap (cap plate, fig. 2 ref. #30) that has a gas exhaust hole (vent hole, [0017]). This vent hole allows for the discharging of internal gas ([0062]), in turn increasing battery safety.
Kim further teaches connecting the gas exhaust hole to a gas exhaust pipe (exhaust pipe, [0080]), which allows for increased degrees of freedom in design of a discharge path of the internal gas ([0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a gas exhaust hole in the cap of the dry electrochemical device of Zhang, as well as attaching the gas exhaust hole to a gas exhaust pipe, as taught by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these inclusions due to the increased safety and degrees of freedom in design of a discharge path of the internal gas.
Zhang does not explicitly teach connecting a liquid injection pipe to the liquid injection hole, and injecting electrolyte into the dry electrochemical device through the liquid injection pipe.
Deng teaches a lithium battery with a puncture injection valve (abstract). The puncture injection valve is a liquid injection hole (liquid electrolyte is filled through the puncture injection hole, abstract). Deng further teaches connecting a liquid injection pipe (electrolyte injection tube, [0035] and fig. 11 ref. #7) to the liquid injection hole (via the puncture injection needle tube, [0035] and fig. 11 ref. #7-1), and injecting electrolyte into the dry electrochemical device through the liquid injection pipe ([0013]). This configuration allows for electrolyte to be filled without moisture in the atmosphere contacting the electrolyte ([0013]), as well as increased degrees of freedom in design of an injection path of the electrolyte (Kim, [0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to connect a liquid injection pipe to the liquid injection hole, and inject electrolyte into the dry electrochemical device through the liquid injection pipe, as taught by Deng, in the dry electrochemical device of modified Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use this configuration for the decrease in moisture from the environment and increase in degrees of flexibility.
Modified Zhang does not explicitly teach gas in the housing or excessive electrolyte is discharged out through the gas exhaust hole.
Yamafuku teaches an electrochemical cell (energy storage device) and a method of manufacturing the electrochemical cell (title). The electrochemical cell has a an electrolyte injection hole (electrolyte solution pouring hole) in the cap of the electrochemical cell ([0069] and fig. 4 ref. #325A) and a gas exhaust hole (vent hole) in the cap of the electrochemical cell ([0073] and fig. 4 ref. #325B). Yamafuku further teaches the method of making the electrochemical cell includes injecting electrolyte through the electrolyte injection hole and gas in the housing discharged out through the gas exhaust hole ([0113], electrolyte solution is poured in the case while gas in the case is discharged from the electrochemical cell). This allows for the electrolyte to more efficiently impregnate the electrode assembly ([0113]), in turn improving cycle characteristics of the battery.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have gas in the housing discharged out through the gas exhaust hole, as taught by Yamafuku, in the method of modified Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this inclusion for the improved impregnation of the electrolyte into the electrode assembly.
Conclusion
/MAL/
Myles Alan LovaszExaminer, Art Unit 1788 08/27/2026
/ALEXANDRE F FERRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788