DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 17, 18, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (US 2021/0273022).
[claim 1] A display substrate (fig. 2), comprising. a base substrate (110, fig. 2); a light emitting substrate (all of 100 except 110, fig. 2, [0045]), disposed on the base substrate and the light emitting substrate being configured to emit incident light (L1, fig. 2, [0045]); a color conversion layer (232/234/238, fig. 2, [0091]) disposed at a side of the light emitting substrate away from the base substrate and the color conversion layer being configured to convert the incident light emitted from the light emitting substrate into light of a specific color [0085][0087]; and a selective reflection layer (260, fig. 2, [0095]), disposed on a side of the color conversion layer away from the base substrate and the selective reflection layer being configured to reflect incident light which has not been converted by the color conversion layer to the color conversion layer [0097], and to transmit the light of the specific color converted by the color conversion layer [0097].
[claim 17] The display substrate according to any one of claim 1, wherein the selective reflection layer (260’, fig. 4) comprises at least two plating films (protrusion layer 265b, base layer 265a, fig. 4, [0101] may be made of metals that can be formed by plating [0100]), and the at least two plating films are disposed sequentially along a thickness direction of the base substrate (fig. 4).
[claim 18] The display substrate according to claim 17, wherein the plating films are made of a metal [0100][0101] or an inorganic material; or the plating films comprise at least one of titanium, tantalum, zirconium, niobium, aluminum, magnesium, iridium, yttrium, ytterbium, indium, tungsten, molybdenum, vanadium, nickel, silver, copper and gold; or the plating films comprise at least one of silicon, oxide, nitride, fluoride, or nitrogen oxide.
[claim 21] A display device, comprising the display substrate according to any one of claim 1 (fig. 2).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kaneko (US 2024/0322096).
[claim 22] A method for manufacturing a display substrate (fig. 5), comprising: forming a light emitting substrate on the base substrate (101, fig. 5) and the light emitting substrate (111/102/103, fig. 5, [0177]) being configured to emit incident light; forming a color conversion layer (113R,113G, fig. 5, [0181]) on a side of the light emitting substrate away from the base substrate and the color conversion layer being configured to convert the incident light emitted from the light emitting substrate into light of a specific color [0181]; and forming a selective reflection layer (112, fig. 5, [0184]) on a side of the color conversion layer away from the base substrate and the selective reflection layer being configured to reflect the incident light which has not been converted by the color conversion layer to the color conversion layer [0184] and to transmit the light of the specific color converted by the color conversion layer [0184].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2021/0273022) in view of Johnson (US 9,188,874)
[claim 2] Park discloses the display substrate of fig. 1, but does not shows the selective reflection layer integrated into a microlenses.
Johnson discloses a display substrate wherein the selective refection layer is integrated into microlenses (lines 43-52, col. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to have integrated Park’s selective reflection layer into microlenses in order to provide for improved scattering and improved light extraction.
With this modification Park discloses:
[claim 2] The display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the selective reflection layer comprises microlenses (upon modification) and an orthographic projection of the microlenses on the base substrate is overlapped with an orthographic projection of the color conversion layer on the base substrate (upon modification).
[claim 4] The display substrate according to claim 2, wherein densities of the microlenses are different (since the microlenses are part of the selective reflection layer upon modification, the varying material configurations of the different color conversions layers e.g. different wavelength conversion particles for the red and green emission area and the lack of any wavelength for the blue emission area would lead to different densities).
[claim 5] The display substrate according to claim 4, wherein the selective reflection layer comprises a first microlens area (upon modification in L2R, fig. 2) and a second microlens area (upon modification in L2G, fig. 2), each of the first microlens area and the second microlens area comprises at least one microlens (upon modification), the color conversion layer comprises a first color conversion pattern (232, fig. 2) and a second color conversion pattern (234, fig. 2), the first color conversion pattern is configured to convert the incident light emitted from the light emitting substrate into red light [0085], the second color conversion pattern is configured to convert the incident light emitted from the light emitting substrate into green light [0087], an orthographic projection of the first microlens area on the base substrate is overlapped with an orthographic projection of the first color conversion layer on the base substrate (upon modification), an orthographic projection of the second microlens area on the base substrate is overlapped with an orthographic projection of the second color conversion layer on the base substrate (upon modification), and a density of the at least one microlens in the second microlens area is greater than a density of the at least one microlens in the first microlens area (the quantum dot of the wavelength conversion particles 232b, 234b may be for example CdSe for 232b and CdTe for 234b [0076]-[0077], since CdTe has a higher density than CdSe).
[claim 6] The display substrate according to claim 2, further comprising a cover plate (240/250/270, fig. 2), wherein the cover plate is disposed on the side of the color conversion layer away from the base substrate (fig. 2) and the selective reflection layer is disposed on an surface of the cover plate away from the base substrate (fig. 2).
[claim 7] The display substrate according to claim 6, wherein the microlenses protrude in a direction away from the base substrate (shape of microlenses in 301 of Johnson protrude in both directions).
[claim 8] The display substrate according to claim 7, further comprising a color resistance layer (222, fig. 2, [0068]), wherein the color resistance layer is disposed on a side of the selective reflection layer away from the base substrate (fig. 2), surfaces of the microlenses away from the base substrate is in contact with a surface of the color resistance layer close to the base substrate, or a first gap is provided between the surfaces of the microlenses away from the base substrate and the surface of the color resistance layer close to the base substrate.
[claim 9] The display substrate according to claim 2, further comprising a color resistance layer (222, fig. 2), wherein the color resistance is disposed on a side of the selective reflection layer away from the base substrate and the selective reflection layer is disposed on a surface of the color resistance layer close to the base substrate (fig. 2).
[claim 10] The display substrate according to claim 9, wherein the microlenses protrude in a direction close to the base substrate (shape of microlenses in 301 of Johnson protrude in both directions).
[claim 11] The display substrate according to claim 10, further comprising a cover plate (240/250/270, fig. 2), wherein the cover plate is disposed between the selective reflection layer and the color conversion layer (fig. 2), surfaces of the microlenses close to the base substrate is in contact with a surface of the cover plate away from the base substrate, or a second gap is provided between the surfaces of the microlenses close to the base substrate and the surface of the cover plate away from the base substrate (fig. 2).
[claim 12] The display substrate according to claim 1, further comprising a color resistance layer (222, fig. 2, [0068]) and a cover plate (240/250/270, fig. 2), wherein the color resistance layer is disposed on a side of the color conversion layer away from the base substrate (fig. 2), and the cover plate is disposed on a side of the cover plate away from the base substrate (fig. 2), the display substrate comprises a first selective reflection layer (263, fig. 3) and a second selective reflection layer (261, fig. 3), the first selective reflection layer is disposed on a surface of the cover plate away from the base substrate (fig. 2), and the second selective reflection layer is disposed on a surface of the color resistance layer close to the base substrate (fig. 2).
[claim 13] The display substrate according to claim 12, wherein each of the first selective reflection layer and the second selective reflection layer comprises microlenses (upon modification), the microlenses of the first selective reflection layer protrude in a direction away from the base substrate (shape of microlenses in 301 of Johnson protrude in both directions), and the microlenses of the second selective reflection layer protrude in a direction close to the base substrate (shape of microlenses in 301 of Johnson protrude in both directions).
[claim 14] The display substrate according to claim 13, wherein the microlenses of the first selective reflection layer and the microlenses of the second selective reflection layer are alternately disposed in a direction parallel to the base substrate (upon modification).
[claim 15] The display substrate according to claim 13, wherein a third gap is provided between surfaces of the microlenses of the first selective reflection layer away from the base substrate and the surface of the color resistance layer close to the base substrate (fig. 2 upon modification).
[claim 16] The display substrate according to claim 13, wherein a fourth gap is provided between surfaces of the microlens of the second selective reflection layer close to the base substrate and the surface of the cover plate away from the base substrate (fig. 2 upon modification).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2021/0273022) in view of Johnson (US 9,188,874).
Park/Johnson discloses the display substrate of claim 2 but does not expressly disclose that the shape of the microlenses comprises is a cone, hemisphere or pyramid.
Nevertheless it would have been obvious to have made the shape of the microlenses a cone, hemisphere or a pyramid, since it has been held that a particular shape configuration was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have found obvious absent evidence that the particular configuration was critical. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Conclusion
/AMAR MOVVA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898