DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to communication filed on June 18, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, with respect to claims 1 and 17, that the combination of Shim and Nagai does not teach, suggest or render obvious at least, for example, the newly presented features of "a second well contact configured to connect a second well to the ground, wherein the second well is associated with the first substrate, the first well contact is different from the second well contact, and the second well is different from the first well”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Nagai teaches multiple well contacts (9) in figure 2. How figure 2 of Nagai teaches both of the first and second well contacts now recited in claims 1 and 17 is further discussed in the accompanying rejection of claims 1 and 17.
Therefore, the rejection is maintained by the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed April 15, 2026 was received and has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the third well is different from each of the second well and the third well”. It is unclear how the third well can be different from the third well. As such, claim 3 is deemed indefinite by the Examiner.
Claims 4-6 are indefinite as depending from claim 3 and not remedying the deficiencies of claim 3.
For prior art purposes, the Examiner will interpret claim 3 to instead read “the third well is different from each of the second well and the first well”, and claim 3 may be amended in this manner in order to overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 8, 10, 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim et al. (US 2020/0195863) in view of Nagai (US 2010/0066882).
Consider claim 1, Shim et al. teaches:
A solid-state imaging apparatus (figures 1, 2 and 5F) comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (see figure 5F) that includes a first substrate (“third substrate”, paragraph 0085) and a second substrate (“second substrate”, paragraph 0085), wherein the second substrate is different from the first substrate (see figure 5F); and
a pixel array unit (pixel array, 110) including a plurality of unit pixels (112, see figures 2 and 5F, paragraphs 0023 and 0024), wherein
the semiconductor substrate further includes the pixel array unit (see figure 5F),
each of the plurality of unit pixels (see figure 5F) includes:
a first floating diffusion portion and a second floating diffusion portion that is different from the first floating diffusion portion (Shim et al. teaches, in the embodiment shown in figure 5F, a floating diffusion region (FD) connected between a second terminal of the first transistor (11, paragraph 0047) and a gate terminal of the third transistor (13, paragraph 0052). This floating diffusion region includes a first FD portion connected to the first transistor (11) in the first substrate (“third substrate”, see figure 5F), a second FD portion in a boundary part between the first substrate (“third substrate”) and the second substrate (“second substrate”, see figure 5F), and a third FD portion connected to the third transistor (13) in the second substrate (“second substrate”, see figure 5F).);
a first photoelectric conversion portion (photodiode, PD, paragraph 0044) configured to transfer a first charge to the first FD portion (see paragraphs 0047 and 0048), wherein the first FD portion is configured to retain the first charge (see paragraphs 0047 and 0048), and
a plurality of pixel transistors configured to drive a respective unit pixel of the plurality of unit pixels (see the transistors on the second and third substrates in figure 5F, paragraph 0085),
the first substrate (“third substrate”) includes each of the first photoelectric conversion portion (PD), the first FD portion (FD, see figure 5F), and a specific pixel transistor of the plurality of pixel transistors (e.g. the second transistor, 12), the specific pixel transistor (12) is directly connected to the first FD portion (FD, see figure 5F, paragraph 0085),
the second substrate (“second substrate”) includes at least one of the plurality of pixel transistors that is not directly connected to the first FD portion (FD, see figure 5F, “As shown in FIG. 5F, the third transistor 13 (SF, first source follow transistor), the fourth transistor 14 (PC, pre-charge transistor), the fifth transistor 15 (SMPL, sampling transistor), the sixth transistor 16 (CAL, calibration transistor), the seventh transistor 17 (SF, second source follow transistor), the eighth transistor 18 (SEL1, first selection transistor), the ninth transistor 19 (SEL2, second selection transistor), the first capacitor C1, and the second capacitor C2 of the pixel driving circuit may be on a second substrate (for example, an intermediate substrate).” paragraph 0085),
the specific pixel transistor (12) is different from the at least one of the plurality of pixel transistors (see figure 5F, paragraph 0085), and
the second FD portion is in a boundary part between the first substrate and the second substrate (This floating diffusion region includes a first FD portion connected to the first transistor (11) in the first substrate (“third substrate”, see figure 5F), a second FD portion in a boundary part between the first substrate (“third substrate”) and the second substrate (“second substrate”, see figure 5F), and a third FD portion connected to the third transistor (13) in the second substrate (“second substrate”, see figure 5F).).
Shim et al. teaches that first photoelectric conversion portion (PD) is connected to a ground (see figure 5F).
However, Shim et al. does not explicitly teach a first well contact and a second well contact.
Nagai similarly teaches a solid-state imaging apparatus (figures 1 and 2) having a first substrate (N substrate, 2, see figures 1 and 2, paragraph 0076) including a plurality of photoelectric conversion elements (photoelectric conversion regions, 4) embedded thereon (see figures 1 and 2, paragraphs 0076, 0083 and 0084).
However, Nagai additionally teaches a first well contact (e.g. the substrate top contact (9) at the right side of figure 2) configured to connect a first well (P well, 3) to a ground (“the P well 3 is electrically connected to a metal wiring 10 with a substrate top contact 9 interposed therebetween, to fix the P well 3 to a constant potential of the ground potential (0V) through the substrate top contact 9”, paragraph 0084), wherein the first well (9) includes the first photoelectric conversion portion (4, see figures 1 and 2, paragraph 0084); and a second well contact (e.g. the substrate top contact (9) at the left side of figure 2) configured to connect a second well (P well layer, 8) to the ground (“Further, the plurality of substrate top contacts 9 are electrically connected to the high concentration P well layer 8.” Paragraph 0085), wherein the second well (8) is associated with the first substrate (2, see figures 1 and 2), the first well contact (e.g. the substrate top contact (9) at the right side of figure 2) is different from the second well contact (e.g. the substrate top contact (9) at the left side of figure 2), and the second well (8) is different from the first well (3, see figures 1 and 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first photoelectric conversion portion be connected to ground as taught by Shim et al. via first and second well contacts as taught by Nagai for the benefit of making it possible to fix the ground potential in a more stable manner without a complication due to an increased number and controlling of parts as is required conventionally or without forming a well contact for each pixel, or without the generation of a fixed pattern noise, saturation level difference (saturation shading) or the decrease in focusing of light, as occurs conventionally. (Nagai, paragraph 0090).
Consider claim 2, and as applied to claim 1 above, Shim et al. further teaches that the plurality of pixel transistors includes an amplifier transistor (the third transistor 13 (SF, first source follow transistor)) that is configured to output a signal corresponding to the charge retained in the FD portion (“The third transistor 13 (SF, first source follow transistor) may be operated by the voltage of the floating diffusion node FD to output the charges in the floating diffusion node FD to the fourth transistor 14 (PC, pre-charge transistor), the fifth transistor 15 (SMPL, sampling transistor, and the ninth transistor 19 (SEL2, second selection transistor).” paragraph 0052. See figure 5F.).
Consider claim 8, and as applied to claim 1 above, Shim et al. further teaches an intra-pixel capacitance (e.g. first capacitor, C1), wherein the respective unit pixel is configured to acquire a second charge that is different from the first charge, and the intra-pixel capacitance is configured to retain the second charge (see figure 5E, paragraphs 0085 and 0055).
Consider claim 10, and as applied to claim 8 above, Shim et al. further teaches that the second substrate (“second substrate”) includes the intra-pixel capacitance (C1) (“As shown in FIG. 5F, the third transistor 13 (SF, first source follow transistor), the fourth transistor 14 (PC, pre-charge transistor), the fifth transistor 15 (SMPL, sampling transistor), the sixth transistor 16 (CAL, calibration transistor), the seventh transistor 17 (SF, second source follow transistor), the eighth transistor 18 (SEL1, first selection transistor), the ninth transistor 19 (SEL2, second selection transistor), the first capacitor C1, and the second capacitor C2 of the pixel driving circuit may be on a second substrate (for example, an intermediate substrate).” paragraph 0085. See figure 5F.).
Consider claim 13, and as applied to claim 8 above, Shim et al. further teaches that the first substrate includes a first layer (“second substrate”) and a second layer (“third substrate”, see figure 5F), wherein the second layer (“third substrate”) is different from the first layer (“second substrate”, see figure 5F), the first layer (“second substrate”) includes the intra-pixel capacitance (C1, figure 5F, see paragraph 0084) the first layer is stacked on the second layer, and the second layer includes the first photoelectric conversion portion (The substrates are vertically stacked, as detailed n paragraph 0081. The second layer (“third substrate”) includes the first photoelectric conversion portion (PD), figure 5F.).
Consider claim 17, Shim et al. teaches:
An electronic apparatus (“The image processing system may be implemented as a portable electronic device. The portable electronic device may be implemented as a laptop computer, a mobile phone, a smart phone, a tablet PC, a personal digital assistant (PDA), an enterprise digital assistant (EDA), a digital still camera, a digital video camera, a portable multimedia player (PMP), a mobile internet device (MID), a wearable computer, an internet of things (IoT) device, or an internet of everything (IoE) device.” paragraph 0042) comprising:
a solid-state imaging apparatus (figures 1, 2 and 5F) including:
a semiconductor substrate (see figure 5F) that includes a first substrate (“third substrate”, paragraph 0085) and a second substrate (“second substrate”, paragraph 0085), wherein the second substrate is different from the first substrate (see figure 5F); and
a pixel array unit (pixel array, 110) including a plurality of unit pixels (112, see figures 2 and 5F, paragraphs 0023 and 0024), wherein
the semiconductor substrate further includes the pixel array unit (see figure 5F),
each of the plurality of unit pixels (see figure 5F) includes:
a first floating diffusion portion and a second floating diffusion portion that is different from the first floating diffusion portion (Shim et al. teaches, in the embodiment shown in figure 5F, a floating diffusion region (FD) connected between a second terminal of the first transistor (11, paragraph 0047) and a gate terminal of the third transistor (13, paragraph 0052). This floating diffusion region includes a first FD portion connected to the first transistor (11) in the first substrate (“third substrate”, see figure 5F), a second FD portion in a boundary part between the first substrate (“third substrate”) and the second substrate (“second substrate”, see figure 5F), and a third FD portion connected to the third transistor (13) in the second substrate (“second substrate”, see figure 5F).);
a first photoelectric conversion portion (photodiode, PD, paragraph 0044) configured to transfer a first charge to the first FD portion (see paragraphs 0047 and 0048), wherein the first FD portion is configured to retain the first charge (see paragraphs 0047 and 0048), and
a plurality of pixel transistors configured to drive a respective unit pixel of the plurality of unit pixels (see the transistors on the second and third substrates in figure 5F, paragraph 0085),
the first substrate (“third substrate”) includes each of the first photoelectric conversion portion (PD), the first FD portion (FD, see figure 5F), and a specific pixel transistor of the plurality of pixel transistors (e.g. the second transistor, 12), the specific pixel transistor (12) is directly connected to the first FD portion (FD, see figure 5F, paragraph 0085),
the second substrate (“second substrate”) includes at least one of the plurality of pixel transistors that is not directly connected to the first FD portion (FD, see figure 5F, “As shown in FIG. 5F, the third transistor 13 (SF, first source follow transistor), the fourth transistor 14 (PC, pre-charge transistor), the fifth transistor 15 (SMPL, sampling transistor), the sixth transistor 16 (CAL, calibration transistor), the seventh transistor 17 (SF, second source follow transistor), the eighth transistor 18 (SEL1, first selection transistor), the ninth transistor 19 (SEL2, second selection transistor), the first capacitor C1, and the second capacitor C2 of the pixel driving circuit may be on a second substrate (for example, an intermediate substrate).” paragraph 0085),
the specific pixel transistor (12) is different from the at least one of the plurality of pixel transistors (see figure 5F, paragraph 0085), and
the second FD portion is in a boundary part between the first substrate and the second substrate (This floating diffusion region includes a first FD portion connected to the first transistor (11) in the first substrate (“third substrate”, see figure 5F), a second FD portion in a boundary part between the first substrate (“third substrate”) and the second substrate (“second substrate”, see figure 5F), and a third FD portion connected to the third transistor (13) in the second substrate (“second substrate”, see figure 5F).).
Shim et al. teaches that first photoelectric conversion portion (PD) is connected to a ground (see figure 5F).
However, Shim et al. does not explicitly teach a first well contact and a second well contact.
Nagai similarly teaches a solid-state imaging apparatus (figures 1 and 2) having a first substrate (N substrate, 2, see figures 1 and 2, paragraph 0076) including a plurality of photoelectric conversion elements (photoelectric conversion regions, 4) embedded thereon (see figures 1 and 2, paragraphs 0076, 0083 and 0084).
However, Nagai additionally teaches a first well contact (e.g. the substrate top contact (9) at the right side of figure 2) configured to connect a first well (P well, 3) to a ground (“the P well 3 is electrically connected to a metal wiring 10 with a substrate top contact 9 interposed therebetween, to fix the P well 3 to a constant potential of the ground potential (0V) through the substrate top contact 9”, paragraph 0084), wherein the first well (9) includes the first photoelectric conversion portion (4, see figures 1 and 2, paragraph 0084); and a second well contact (e.g. the substrate top contact (9) at the left side of figure 2) configured to connect a second well (P well layer, 8) to the ground (“Further, the plurality of substrate top contacts 9 are electrically connected to the high concentration P well layer 8.” Paragraph 0085), wherein the second well (8) is associated with the first substrate (2, see figures 1 and 2), the first well contact (e.g. the substrate top contact (9) at the right side of figure 2) is different from the second well contact (e.g. the substrate top contact (9) at the left side of figure 2), and the second well (8) is different from the first well (3, see figures 1 and 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first photoelectric conversion portion be connected to ground as taught by Shim et al. via first and second well contacts as taught by Nagai for the benefit of making it possible to fix the ground potential in a more stable manner without a complication due to an increased number and controlling of parts as is required conventionally or without forming a well contact for each pixel, or without the generation of a fixed pattern noise, saturation level difference (saturation shading) or the decrease in focusing of light, as occurs conventionally. (Nagai, paragraph 0090).
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim et al. (US 2020/0195863) in view of Nagai (US 2010/0066882), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kobayashi (US 2021/0082979).
Consider claim 3, and as applied to claim 2 above, the combination of Shim et al. and Nagai does not explicitly teach a separating portion configured to electrically separate a well in which the photoelectric conversion portion is formed and a well in which the amplifier transistor is formed in the substrate from each other.
Kobayashi similarly teaches an image sensor (figure 1) having a pixel structure (figure 2) including a photoelectric conversion portion (photodiode, 201, paragraph 0038) and an amplifier transistor (amplification transistor, 207, paragraph 0039) formed in a substrate (“semiconductor substrate”, paragraph 0078), wherein a floating diffusion (floating diffusion portion, 206, paragraph 0038) forms a gate of the amplifier transistor (207, see figure 2).
However, Kobayashi additionally teaches a separating portion (DTI, figure 10, paragraph 0078) configured to electrically separate a well in which the photoelectric conversion portion (e.g. PDA or PDB) is formed (see figure 10) and a well (i.e. a third well) in which the amplifier transistor (see FD, 206) is formed in the substrate (see figure 10) from each other (see figure 10, paragraph 0078).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first and second wells of the photoelectric conversion portion and a third well of the amplifier transistor taught by the combination of Shim et al. and Nagai be separated in the manner taught by Kobayashi for the benefit of improving sensitivity (Kobayashi, paragraph 0079).
Consider claim 4, and as applied to claim 3 above, the combination of Shim et al. and Nagai does not explicitly teach that the separating portion includes an insulator.
Kobayashi teaches that the separating portion (DTI) is formed by an insulator (e.g. hafnium oxide, see paragraph 0052).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the photoelectric conversion portion and amplifier transistor taught by the combination of Shim et al. and Nagai be separated in the manner taught by Kobayashi for the benefit of improving sensitivity and suppressing color mixture (Kobayashi, paragraphs 0078 and 0079).
Consider claim 5, and as applied to claim 3 above, the combination of Shim et al. and Nagai does not explicitly teach that at least a part of the separating portion is a through DTI that penetrates the substrate.
Kobayashi teaches that at least a part of the separating portion (DTI) is a through DTI that penetrates the substrate (“As shown in FIG. 10, in the DTI, except for a portion between the pixels 10, the FD portion 206, and a portion where the gates of the transfer transistor 703 and the transfer transistor 704 do not pass, the DTI is preferably configured to penetrate the semiconductor substrate to suppress color mixture.” paragraph 0078, see figure 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the photoelectric conversion portion and amplifier transistor taught by the combination of Shim et al. and Nagai be separated in the manner taught by Kobayashi for the benefit of improving sensitivity and suppressing color mixture (Kobayashi, paragraphs 0078 and 0079).
Consider claim 6, and as applied to claim 3 above, the combination of Shim et al. and Nagai does not explicitly teach that at least a part of the separating portion is a front DTI that does not penetrate the substrate.
Kobayashi teaches that at least a part of the separating portion (DTI) is a front DTI that does not penetrate the substrate (“Further, since the charge transfer channel is formed as described above, it is preferable that the obliquely provided intra-pixel DTI does not penetrate to the surface opposite to the light incident surface.” paragraph 0081, see figure 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the photoelectric conversion portion and amplifier transistor taught by the combination of Shim et al. and Nagai be separated in the manner taught by Kobayashi for the benefit of improving sensitivity and suppressing color mixture (Kobayashi, paragraphs 0078 and 0079).
Claims 7, 9, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim et al. (US 2020/0195863) in view of Nagai (US 2010/0066882), as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Kawazu et al. (WO 2019/163511). US 2020/0412950 is assumed to be a valid English translation of WO 2019/163511, and portions cited herein refer thereto.
Consider claim 7, and as applied to claim 1 above, the combination of Shim et al. and Nagai does not explicitly teach that a switching transistor is among the plurality of pixel transistors and that is used for connecting the FD portion and another FD portion to each other.
Kawazu et al. similarly teaches a solid-state imaging apparatus (figure 1) having a pixel array (9) including multiple pixels (P1, paragraphs 0059 and 0061), wherein each pixel (P1, see figure 2) includes multiple pixel transistors (i.e. the transistors shown in figure 2, paragraphs 0062 and 0063).
However, Kawazu et al. additionally teaches that a switching transistor (FDG) is among the multiple pixel transistors (see figure 2, paragraph 0063) and that is used for connecting the FD portion (FD) and another FD portion (i.e. the floating diffusion portion between RST, FCG and FDG) to each other (see figure 2) is provided in the substrate (The imaging device (1) of figure 1, including the pixel circuitry of figure 2, may be implemented in one semiconductor substrate, paragraph 0117.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the multiple pixel transistors provided in the substrate taught by the combination of Shim et al. and Nagai include a switching transistor as taught by Kawazu et al. as this only involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results such as enabling the conversion gain of the pixel to be changed.
Consider claim 9, and as applied to claim 8 above, the combination of Shim et al. and Nagai does not explicitly teach that the intra-pixel capacitance is provided in the first substrate.
Kawazu et al. similarly teaches a solid-state imaging apparatus (figure 1) having a pixel array (9) including multiple pixels (P1, paragraphs 0059 and 0061), wherein each pixel (P1, see figure 2) includes an intra-pixel capacitance (capacity element, FC, paragraph 0063).
However, Kawazu et al. additionally teaches that the intra-pixel capacitance (FC) is provided in the first substrate (The imaging device (1) of figure 1, including the pixel circuitry of figure 2, may be implemented in one semiconductor substrate, paragraph 0117.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the intra-pixel capacitance taught by the combination of Shim et al. and Nagai include a capacitance provided in the first substrate as taught by Kawazu et al. as this only involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results such as enabling the conversion gain of the pixel to be changed.
Consider claim 11, and as applied to claim 8 above, the combination of Shim et al. and Nagai does not explicitly teach that the unit pixel further includes another photoelectric conversion portion smaller than the photoelectric conversion portion, and the other photoelectric conversion portion is provided in the first substrate.
Kawazu et al. similarly teaches a solid-state imaging apparatus (figure 1) having a pixel array (9) including multiple pixels (P1, paragraphs 0059 and 0061), wherein each pixel (P1, see figure 2) includes a photoelectric conversion portion (photodiode, PD1, paragraph 0064).
However, Kawazu et al. additionally teaches that the unit pixel further includes another photoelectric conversion portion (photodiode, PD2, paragraph 0063) smaller than the photoelectric conversion portion (“A light reception region where the photodiode PD2 is able to receive light is narrower than a light reception region where the photodiode PD1 is able to receive light.” paragraph 0066, see figure 3), and the other photoelectric conversion portion (PD2) is provided in the first substrate (The imaging device (1) of figure 1, including the pixel circuitry of figure 2, may be implemented in one semiconductor substrate, paragraph 0117.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the unit pixel taught by the combination of Shim et al. and Nagai include another photoelectric conversion portion in the first substrate as taught by Kawazu et al. as this only involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results such as enabling the conversion gain of the pixel to be changed.
Consider claim 12, and as applied to claim 11 above, the combination of Shim et al. and Nagai does not explicitly teach that the intra-pixel capacitance retains the charge transferred from the other photoelectric conversion portion.
Kawazu et al. similarly teaches a solid-state imaging apparatus (figure 1) having a pixel array (9) including multiple pixels (P1, paragraphs 0059 and 0061), wherein each pixel (P1, see figure 2) includes an intra-pixel capacitance (capacity element, FC, paragraph 0063).
However, Kawazu et al. additionally teaches that the intra-pixel capacitance (FC) retains a third charge transferred from the other photoelectric conversion portion (PD2, see paragraph 0161).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the intra-pixel capacitance taught by the combination of Shim et al. and Nagai include a capacitance that retains a third charge transferred from the other photoelectric conversion portion as taught by Kawazu et al. as this only involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results such as enabling the conversion gain of the pixel to be changed.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim et al. (US 2020/0195863) in view of Nagai (US 2010/0066882), as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Dai et al. (US 2022/0239858).
Consider claim 14, and as applied to claim 8 above, the combination of Shim et al. and Nagai does not explicitly teach that the intra-pixel capacitance is a 3D MIM capacitance.
Dai et al. similarly teaches a pixel circuit (figure 2A) having an intra-pixel capacitance (storage capacitor, 250, paragraph 0032), and further teaches that the intra-pixel capacitance (250) is a 3D MIM capacitance (“In the depicted example, each bit of the digital memory is implemented with a 1T1C (one-transistor, one-capacitor) 3D MIM (three dimensional metal-insulator-metal) memory cell. As such, the example depicted in FIG. 2A illustrates the N bit digital memory including storage capacitor CS 250-0 and output transistor 252-0 coupled to event switch 248-0, storage capacitor CS 250-1 and output transistor 252-1 coupled to event switch 248-1, storage capacitor CS 250-2 and output transistor 252-2 coupled to event switch 248-2, and storage capacitor CS 250-3 and output transistor 252-3 coupled to event switch 248-3 as shown.” paragraph 0032).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the intra-pixel capacitance taught by the combination of Shim et al. and Nagai be a 3D MIM capacitance as taught by Dai et al. as this only involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results such as enabling charge storage.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim et al. (US 2020/0195863) in view of Nagai (US 2010/0066882), as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Tzeng et al. (US 2013/0043560).
Consider claims 15 and 16, and as applied to claim 8 above, the combination of Shim et al. and Nagai does not explicitly teach that the intra-pixel capacitance is a concave MIM capacitance or a cylinder MIM capacitance.
Tzeng et al. similarly teaches a CMOS image sensor (paragraph 0001) having a capacitor (paragraph 0002, 1 of figure 1(a), paragraph 0016).
However, Tzeng et al. additionally teaches that the capacitor is a concave MIM capacitance or a cylinder MIM capacitance (“The MIM capacitor 1 may be of different shapes such as cylindrical shape, or a concave shape.” paragraph 0017).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the intra-pixel capacitance taught by the combination of Shim et al. and Nagai be a concave MIM capacitance or a cylinder MIM capacitance as taught by Tzeng et al. for the benefit of providing reduced electrode resistance (Tzeng et al., paragraph 0002).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Minowa et al. (US 2017/0099448) teaches an imager (figure 1) with multiple well contacts (H, J, paragraph 0048).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALBERT H CUTLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637