DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7, in the reply filed on 9/24/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-16 and 20-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/24/25.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “infeed device” in claim 1; “washing liquid system” in claim 1; “extracting system” in claims 1 and 2; “washing structure” in claims 1 and 3; “outfeed device” in claim 1; “flow system” in claim 2; “recycling system” in claim 4; “washing liquid solid separation system” in claim 4; and “excess washing liquid removal device” in claim 5. The limitation “extracting system” in claim 7 is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) in the alternate limitation that recites a slanted bottom surface of the sinking zone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 8646139 granted to Meyerhoeffer et al.
As to claim 1, Meyerhoeffer discloses a washing system suitable for continuous processing for the pre-treatment of keratinaceous material, the system comprising an infeed device for feeding the material to the system (see fig. 8, infeed of material 8300, while not explicitly disclosed an infeed device would be necessary to transport the material into the system); a washing space 8100 for washing the material with an aqueous washing liquid 8200; a washing liquid system for supplying and extracting the washing liquid (fig. 8, col. 3, ll. 8-10, liquid is supplied via a pump and pipe 8250; liquid is extracted via outlet 8800 and drum 11200 and pumped back to pipe 8250, see figs. 8, 10, 11 and col. 4, ll. 9-12, 24-25); wherein the washing space comprising a sinking zone wherein material with a higher density sinks (fig. 8, area in which sinking material 8370 is directed); an extracting system 8700 at the bottom of the sinking zone; at least one washing structure (paddle 8400) that sloshes and/or causes turbulence in the washing liquid; and an outfeed device for extracting the keratinaceous material from the washing system (fig. 14; col. 4, ll. 30-37).
As to claim 2, Meyerhoeffer discloses a flow system 8900 (fig. 9) to impart a flow to the washing liquid in the sinking zone such that the material is kept in suspension and moved away from the extracting system.
As to claim 3, Meyerhoeffer discloses a cleaning zone, the cleaning zone and sinking zone positioned such that the material first enters the sinking zone before entering the cleaning zone, wherein at least one washing structure is located in the cleaning zone (fig. 8, sinking zone may be any portion of tank 8100 since sinking may take place anywhere in the tank, cleaning zone may be any portion of tank 8100 since cleaning may occur wherever the material is within the cleaning liquid, material may enter the tank 8100 at a portion beside washing structure 8400 in a “sinking zone” and be moved to “cleaning zone” at paddle 8400 by liquid flow from manifold 8900).
As to claim 4, Meyerhoeffer discloses that the washing liquid system further comprises a recycling system for reusing the washing liquid, the recycling system comprising a solid separation system (e.g. drum 11200; fig. 12; col. 4, ll. 9-27).
As to claim 5, Meyerhoeffer discloses an excess washing liquid removal device (e.g. tube 11500, perforations 11300, tank 11400) for extracting excess washing liquid from the material after the material has been washed in the washing space (fig. 12; col. 4, ll. 9-27).
As to claim 7, Meyerhoeffer discloses that a bottom surface of the sinking zone is slanted towards the extracting system 8700 and the extracting system comprises a cork screw extractor (figs. 8 and 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 8646139 granted to Meyerhoeffer et al.
As to claim 6, Meyerhoeffer teaches that washing structure 8400 (fig. 8) is rotatably mounted on the washing system and at least partially submerges the material (col. 3, ll. 42-44). Meyerhoeffer does not teach in its embodiment of fig. 8 that the washing structure (paddle 8400) is cylindrically shaped and comprises one or more protrusions on the cylindrical surface. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to embody the paddle structure 8400 as a cylinder as claimed. Meyerhoeffer teaches in another exemplary embodiment that a paddle to submerge material may be embodied as a cylinder having protrusions on its surface (paddle 2200; fig. 2; col. 2, ll. 24-28). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success of using the paddle of the fig. 2 embodiment in the system of fig. 8 since Meyerhoeffer teaches that it functions in substantially the same way and serves the same purpose and intended effect. Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date.
Conclusion
/SPENCER E. BELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711