DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Claims 18-34 in the reply filed on 06/16/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The use of the term 'Bluetooth [pg 6, line 17]', which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are ‘test module’ in claim 18, ‘detection element’ in claims 18 and 29, ‘output module’ in claim 18, ‘heating module’ in claim 23, and ‘element (for preparing the sample and/or purifying products)’ in claim 30.
The specification defines the ‘test module’ to be a chromatographic test strip (Specification, pg. 3, lines 17-18). Under the 3-prong analysis, the limitation should be interpreted under 112(f) for the following reasons:
The claim limitation uses the term ‘module’ which is a generic place holder for the term ‘means’.
The generic placeholder is modified by functional language. The functional language is ‘to receive a biological sample’.
The generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. See MPEP §2181(I). The term "module" is not modified by sufficient structure.
The specification defines the ‘detection element’ to be a CCD sensor (Specification, pg. 4, line 16). Under the 3-prong analysis, the limitation should be interpreted under 112(f) for the following reasons:
The claim limitation uses the term ‘element’ which is a generic place holder for the term ‘means’.
The generic placeholder is modified by functional language. The functional language is ‘to record a result or a stage of progress of the chemical, biochemical or immunochemical detection process’ (claim 18) and ‘to record the light signal emitted or reflected by the test module’(claim 29).
The generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. See MPEP §2181(I). The term "element" is not modified by sufficient structure.
The specification defines the ‘output module’ to be an LED or display (Specification, pg. 6, lines 10-11). Under the 3-prong analysis, the limitation should be interpreted under 112(f) for the following reasons:
The claim limitation uses the term ‘module’ which is a generic place holder for the term ‘means’.
The generic placeholder is modified by functional language. The functional language is ‘to output the result or the stage of progress of the chemical, biochemical or immunochemical detection process’.
The generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. See MPEP §2181(I). The term "module" is not modified by sufficient structure.
The specification defines ‘heating module’ to be a ceramic plate (Specification, pg. 3 lines 5-7. Under the 3-prong analysis, the limitation should be interpreted under 112(f) for the following reasons:
The claim limitation uses the term ‘module’ which is a generic place holder for the term ‘means’.
The generic placeholder is modified by functional language. The functional language is ‘to heat the sample for preparation before performing the polymerase chain reaction’ (claim 23).
The generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. See MPEP §2181(I). The term "module" is not modified by sufficient structure.
The specification defines the ‘element (for preparing the sample and/or purifying products)’ to be a chamber (Specification, pg. 5, lines 28-29). Under the 3-prong analysis, the limitation should be interpreted under 112(f) for the following reasons:
The claim limitation uses the term ‘element’ which is a generic place holder for the term ‘means’.
The generic placeholder is modified by functional language. The functional language is ‘for preparing the sample and/or for purifying products of the chemical, biochemical or immunochemical detection process’.
The generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. See MPEP §2181(I). The term "element" is not modified by sufficient structure.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the heating module". There is no mention of that limitation in any previous claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as “a heating module”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-19, 24-25, 27-29, and 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Markovsky et al. (US 20130177214 A1), and further in view of Cameron (US 20170046357 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Markovsky teaches system for a chemical, biochemical or immunochemical detection process (para 0030). Markovsky further teaches a consumption product (‘cavity’, para 0027), which includes a test module (‘test strip’, para 0027). Markovsky teaches the test strip receiving a sample that contains the analyte of interest (para 0031), which could include samples of blood and urine (para 0030), for detection (para 0030). Markovsky teaches the system of detection including a detection element, such as a CCD image sensor (para 0036), configured to record the result or the stage of progress the detection process (para 0018). Markovsky teaches the system for detection including an output module, such as a result display (para 0054).
However, Markovsky does not teach a steam generator in the system for detection.
Cameron teaches an electronic vapor device that has applications in sensor-based testing such as diagnostic testing (para 0091). Cameron teaching a steam generator (‘vapor device’, para 0091) that can be used to vaporize samples and release it into the atmosphere (para 0081). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Markovsky with the steam generator as taught by Cameron to vaporize the sample and release it into the atmosphere (para 0081).
Regarding claim 19, Markovsky in view of Cameron teaches the invention in claim 18. Markovsky further teaches a heating element adapted to the heat the test strip (‘heater’, para 0040).
Regarding claim 24, Markovsky in view of Cameron teaches the invention in claim 18. Markovsky further teaches the test module is a chromatographic test strip (‘lateral flow test strip’, para 0027).
Regarding claim 25, Markovsky in view of Cameron teaches the invention in claim 24. Markovsky further teaches the detection element being a CCD sensor (para 0036).
Regarding claim 27, Markovsky in view of Cameron teaches the invention in claim 18. Markovsky further teaches the result or stage of progress is a light signal emitted or reflected by the test module (para 0035).
Regarding claim 28, Markovsky in view of Cameron teaches the invention in claim 27. Markovsky further teaches wherein the result or stage of progress is a color change (para 0047).
Regarding claim 29, Markovsky in view of Cameron teaches the invention in claim 27. Markovsky further teaches the detection element is configured to record the light signal emitted or reflected by the test module (para 0036-0037).
Regarding claim 31, Markovsky in view of Cameron teaches the invention in claim 18. Markovsky further teaches the output module is an optical output module (para 0047).
Regarding claim 32, Markovsky in view of Cameron teaches the invention in claim 31. Markovsky further teaches the optical output module is an LED or a display (para 0054).
Regarding claim 33, Markovsky in view of Cameron teaches the invention in claim 18. Markovsky further teaches the output module is a wireless communication interface (para 0025).
Regarding claim 34, Markovsky in view of Cameron teaches the invention in claim 18.
However, Markovsky does not teach a steam generator being an e-cigarette.
Cameron teaching a steam generator (‘vapor device’, para 0091) that can be used to vaporize samples and release it into the atmosphere (para 0081). Cameron further teaches the vapor device could be an e-cigarette for the benefit of providing network-related services to the user device (para 0132). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Markovsky with the steam generator being an e-cigarette as taught by Cameron for the benefit of providing network-related services to the user device (para 0132).
Claims 20-23 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Markovsky et al. (US 20130177214 A1) and Cameron (US 20170046357 A1), further in view of Liu (CN 106367336 A). The examiner has obtained a machine translation of the CN document above from Espacenet. The rejection below is based off the machine translation.
Regarding claim 20, Markovsky in view of Cameron teaches the invention in claim 19.
Markovsky in view of Cameron does not teach the heating element is adapted to perform amplification by heating the test module.
Liu teaches an apparatus for carrying out chemical reactions using thermal cycling for sample detection (pg 10, para 0005). Liu further teaches the apparatus for performing nucleic acid amplification for the benefit of enabling immediate detection of samples (pg 11, para 0012). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify Markovsky and Cameron with the heating element that is adapted to perform amplification by heating the test module as taught by Liu for the benefit of enabling immediate detection of samples (pg 11, para 0012).
Regarding claim 21, Markovsky and Cameron in view of Liu teaches the invention in claim 20.
Markovsky in view of Cameron does not teach the amplification is an isothermal amplification.
Liu teaches the apparatus for performing isothermal amplification (pg, 34, para 0124) for the benefit of higher efficiency (pg 60, para 0219). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify Markovsky and Cameron with the heating element that is adapted to perform isothermal amplification as taught by Liu for the benefit of higher efficiency (pg 60, para 0219).
Regarding claim 22, Markovsky and Cameron in view of Liu teaches the invention in claim 20.
Markovsky in view of Cameron does not teach the heating element being adapted to heat the test module in prespecified heating cycles and to perform a polymerase chain reaction.
Liu teaches the heating element being adapted to heat the test module in prespecified heating cycles and to perform a polymerase chain reaction (pg 31, para 0116) for the benefit of lower energy consumption (pg 60, para 0219). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to be modify the teaching of Markovsky and Cameron with the test module in prespecified heating cycles and to perform a polymerase chain reaction as taught by Liu for the benefit of lower energy consumption (pg 60, para 0219).
Regarding claim 23, Markovsky and Cameron in view of Liu teaches the invention in claim 22.
Markovsky in view of Cameron does not teach the heating module is adapted to heat the sample for preparation before performing the polymerase chain reaction.
Liu teaches the sample being sample receiving unit which is in the first position and exchanges heat with the first thermostatic module (pg 12, para 0016). Liu further teaches that the first thermostatic module is maintained at 90-110 °C (pg 12, para 0017) to allow the DNA to denature (pg 35, para 0127). This shows the sample is heated prior to the polymerase chain reaction. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the teaching of Markovsky and Cameron with the heating module that is adapted to heat the sample for preparation before performing the polymerase chain reaction as taught by Liu ) to allow the DNA to denature (pg 35, para 0127).
Regarding claim 30, Markovsky in view of Cameron teaches the invention in claim 18. Cameron further teaches a mixing chamber (‘element operative’) for the vaporized material (para 0107).
Markovsky and Cameron do not teach the mixing chamber for purifying products of the chemical, biochemical or immunochemical detection process.
Liu teaches the biological sample may be pretreated such as purified (pg 43, para 0156) for obtaining a sample for further accurate analysis (pg 43, para 0156). Thus, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the to modify the teaching of Markovsky and Cameron with the chamber to purify the sample as taught by Liu for obtaining a sample for further accurate analysis (pg 43, para 0156).
Claims 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Markovsky et al. (US 20130177214 A1) and Cameron (US 20170046357 A1), further in view of Schmitt (US 20060023078 A1).
Regarding claim 26, Markovsky in view of Cameron teaches the invention in claim 25.
However, Markovsky in view of Cameron does not teach the CCD sensor being 4-pixel or 16-pixels.
Schmitt teaches detectors that use optical camera such as CCD camera (para 0004). Schmitt teaches a CCD sensor having a 16 pixel for the benefit of increasing the light sensitivity of the optical camera (para 0060). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Markovsky and Cameron with a 16-pixel CCD sensor as taught by Schmitt for the benefit of increasing the light sensitivity of the optical camera (para 0060).
Conclusion
/H.R.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798