DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant's amendment filed on November 4, 2025 was received. Claim 1 was amended. Claims 9-18 were canceled. Claims 19-20 were added.
The text of those sections of Title 35. U.S.C. code not included in this action can be found in the prior Office Action Issued September 23, 2024.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda (US20010019766) in view of Hirano (JP2017126735) on claims 1-8 are withdrawn, because the claims have been amended.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano (JP2017126735) in view of Kiuchi (US20040191510) and Suzuki (JP2021068877) or Kimura (JP2015093469A).
Regarding claim 1, Hirano teaches a tape comprising substrate layer 12 and a pressure sensitive adhesive layer 13 (paragraphs 0031 and 0045-0048, see figures 1 and 2), wherein the tape has a tensile elongation (elongation at break) of 100% or more and an elastic modulus of 1GPa to 2.5Gpa (paragraph 0039), which overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exist. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler,116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05. Hirano does not explicitly teach the break elongation and elastic modulus of the tape remains the same after being heated at 230ºC for 80 seconds. However, the tape is made of solvent soluble polyimide, having an aliphatic unit with a carbon number of 3 or more interposed between aromatic units and the aliphatic unit contains a polyalkyleneoxy group having an alkylene group having about 1 to 10 carbon atoms (paragraph 0039), which is the same as the claimed solvent-soluble polyimide (see claims 6-8), thus, Hirano’s solvent soluble polyimide intrinsically has the same properties of maintaining the elongation at break and elastic modulus after heating at 230ºC for 80 seconds. In addition, Hirano teaches the solvent-soluble polyimide substrate is formed by a coating liquid of solvent soluble polyimide (pargraph 0037). MP17A is forms coating liquid of solvent soluble polyimide is evidenced by Suzuki (paragraphs 0032-0034 table 1 and paragraph 0024, with polyimide with the aliphatic unit contains a polyalkyleneoxy group having an alkylene group having about 1 to 10 carbon atoms) and Kimura (example 1, paragraphs 0026-0028 and 0057). The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP 2144.07).Thus, it would be obvious to use the MP17A as the solvent soluble polyimide in light of teaching of Suzuki and Kimira. MP17A is the same solvent soluble polyimide as the instant application, thus, has the same properties of maintaining elastic modulus and elongation at break after heating after heating at 230ºC for 80 seconds
Hirano does not explicitly teach the adhesive layer is configured so that an adhesive force of the adhesive layer is decreased by curing the adhesive layer. However, Kiuchi teaches a method of forming a heat peelable double faced pressure sensitive adhesive sheet for semiconductor wafer or capacitor (abstract, paragraphs 0001 and 0009) and discloses the adhesive layer is radiation-curable pressure-sensitive adhesive which has adhesive strength and can be cured with a radiation (or energy ray), and which can come to have reduced adhesive force through curing with a radiation (paragraphs 0052, 0013). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the pressure sensitive adhesive that has a decreased adhesive force after curing as suggested by Kiuchi in the method of Hirano in view of Suzuki or Kimura because Kiuchi teaches such pressure sensitive adhesive layer renders the tape being easily peeled off by heating at any desired time (paragraph 0013).
Regarding claim 2, Hirano teaches the substrate thickness governs the flexibility of the tape (paragraph 0025) with the example of thickness of 1 to 9µm (paragraphs 0025). Kiuchi teaches the thickness of the substrate is 1 to 3000µm (paragraph 0040), with the thickness being chosen for desired strength, flexibility and intended use (paragraph 0040). Therefore, it would have been within the skill of the ordinary artisan to adjust and optimize the thickness of the substrate in the process to yield the desired flexibility, strength and intended use of the tape. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ215.
Regarding claim 3, Kiuchi teaches the adhesive force after curing governs the ease of separation and recovery of the processed material (semiconductor wafer/) (paragraphs 0003, 0058-0059 and 0061). Therefore, it would have been within the skill of the ordinary artisan to adjust and optimize the adhesive force after curing in the tape to yield the desired efficiency in separation and recovery of the processed material. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ215.
Regarding claim 4, Hirano teaches a release film 19 is provided on the pressure sensitive adhesive surface of the pressure sensitive adhesive layer opposite to the substrate layer (paragraphs 0031, 0057, see figures 1 and 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a release film as suggested by Hirono in the tape of Masuda because Hirano teaches the release film for protecting the surface of the adhesive layer (paragraph 0031).
Regarding claim 5, Hirano teaches the tape is protective tape for FPC, which reads on the limitation of a semiconductor chip (paragraphs 0001 and 0030).
Regarding claim 6, Hirano teaches the substate layer contains a solvent-soluble polyimide (paragraph 0038).
Regarding claim 7, Hirano teaches the substrate layer contains a polyimide resin having an aliphatic unit with a carbon number of 3 or more interposed between aromatic units (paragraph 0039).
Regarding claim 8, Hirono teaches the aliphatic unit contains a polyalkyleneoxy group having an alkylene group having about 1 to 10 carbon atoms (paragraph 0039).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano (JP2017126735) in view Suzuki (JP2021068877) or Kimura (JP2015093469A).
Regarding claim 19, Hirano teaches a tape comprising substrate layer 12 and a pressure sensitive adhesive layer 13 (paragraphs 0031 and 0045-0048, see figures 1 and 2), wherein the tape has a tensile elongation (elongation at break) of 100% or more and an elastic modulus of 1GPa to 2.5Gpa (paragraph 0039), which overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exist. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler,116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05. Hirano does not explicitly teach the break elongation and elastic modulus of the tape remains similar (at least 90% of its elongation at beatk or elastic modulus increase by no more than 0.4 GPa) after being heated at 230ºC for 80 seconds. However, the tape is made of solvent soluble polyimide, having an aliphatic unit with a carbon number of 3 or more interposed between aromatic units and the aliphatic unit contains a polyalkyleneoxy group having an alkylene group having about 1 to 10 carbon atoms (paragraph 0039), which is the same as the claimed solvent-soluble polyimide (see claims 6-8), thus, Hirano’s solvent soluble polyimide intrinsically has the same properties of maintaining the elongation at break and elastic modulus after heating at 230ºC for 80 seconds. In addition, Hirano teaches the solvent-soluble polyimide substrate is formed by a coating liquid of solvent soluble polyimide (pargraph 0037). MP17A is forms coating liquid of solvent soluble polyimide is evidenced by Suzuki (paragraphs 0032-0034 table 1 and paragraph 0024, with polyimide with the aliphatic unit contains a polyalkyleneoxy group having an alkylene group having about 1 to 10 carbon atoms) and Kimura (example 1, paragraphs 0026-0028 and 0057). The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP 2144.07).Thus, it would be obvious to use the MP17A as the solvent soluble polyimide in light of teaching of Suzuki and Kimira. MP17A is the same solvent soluble polyimide as the instant application, thus, has the same properties of maintaining elastic modulus and elongation at break after heating after heating at 230ºC for 80 seconds similar (at least 90% of its elongation at beatk or elastic modulus increase by no more than 0.4 GPa).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano (JP2017126735) in view Suzuki (JP2021068877) or Kimura (JP2015093469A) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Kimura (JP2015093469A).
Regarding claim 20, Hirano teaches all limitations of this claim, except the adhesive force of the adhesive layer after being heated. However, Kiuchi teaches a method of forming a heat peelable double faced pressure sensitive adhesive sheet for semiconductor wafer or capacitor (abstract, paragraphs 0001 and 0009) and discloses the adhesive layer is radiation-curable pressure-sensitive adhesive which has adhesive strength and can be cured with a radiation (or energy ray), and which can come to have reduced adhesive force through curing with a radiation (paragraphs 0052, 0013). Kiuchi teaches the adhesive force after curing governs the ease of separation and recovery of the processed material (semiconductor wafer/) (paragraphs 0003, 0058-0059 and 0061). Therefore, it would have been within the skill of the ordinary artisan to adjust and optimize the adhesive force after curing in the tape to yield the desired efficiency in separation and recovery of the processed material. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ215. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the pressure sensitive adhesive that has a decreased adhesive force after curing as suggested by Kiuchi in the method of Hirano in view of Suzuki or Kimura because Kiuchi teaches such pressure sensitive adhesive layer renders the tape being easily peeled off by heating at any desired time (paragraph 0013).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/NGA LEUNG V LAW/Examiner, Art Unit 1717