DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claims 7 and 10, the claim states “wherein, within the model, an X-axis lies in a passage direction of the wire or strip material, and a Y-axis and a Z-axis lie perpendicular to one another and to the X-axis”, this renders the claim indefinite since it appears as if the claim is setting forth the model to be a tangible element (i.e. physical element that has axes) however based on the claim the model appears to be related to calculations and processing. It is further noted that the claim later states “three sensors arranged spaced apart from one another along the X-axis”, which would imply the X-axis is associated with the straightening device, however given the claim language of “within the model” the X-, Y- and Z-axes are not associated with the straightening device.
The claim states “measuring a deflection of the wire or strip material, after passing though the nondriven aligning rollers, in a Y-direction and in a Z-direction, wherein the deflection is measured by three sensors arranged spaced apart from one another along the X-axis and values of the measured deflection from the three sensors are input into the model”, this renders the claim indefinite since the claim previously recites the model is “ascertained from data representative of achieved straightness of the wire or strip material after passing through the nondriven aligning rollers”. Therefore it is unclear the correlation between the straightness data and the measured deflection values, i.e. is the measured deflection values the same as the straightness data or is the measure deflection values used to calculate the straightness data. Clarification and/or correction is required.
Examiner notes that no art has been applied to claims 7-9 and 14 because “where there is a great deal of confusion and uncertainty as to the proper interpretation of the limitations of a claim, it would not be proper to reject such a claim on the basis of prior art” [see MPEP 2173.06.II].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rupoli (WO 2020/174507).
In reference to claim 10, Rupoli discloses a device for straightening a strip material, the device comprising
a straightening device having two rolls of aligning rollers (4) arranged longitudinally offset in relation to one another [see figure 1], which engage in operation on the strip material passing between the two rows in order to straighten the strip material,
wherein some aligning rollers are settable onto the strip material automatically controlled in dependence on a model ascertained from data representative of achieved straightness of the strip material after passing through the aligning rollers, wherein, within the model, an X axis lies in the passage direction of the material, and a Y axis and a Z axis lie perpendicular to one another and to the X axis [it is noted that these limitations are being interpreted as an intended function given the use of the term “settable”],
wherein three sensors (30; plurality of sensor devices are housed within the detecting device 3) spaced apart from one another along the X direction to measure the deflection of the strip material in a z direction [see figure 4] and in a Y direction are arranged after the straightening device (4) viewed in the movement direction of the material [see figure 2; paragraphs 43-45, 53], wherein values of the measured deflection from the three sensors are input into the model (processor 500) [see paragraphs 53 & 74].
Rupoli further discloses that the strip material is fed along the feeding direction A separately from the straightening device (4), assembly (3) for detecting and the cutting assembly (6) [see paragraph 37].
Rupoli discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the aligning rollers are nondriven aligning rollers. It is considered to be well known that the aligning rollers can be driven or nondriven aligning rollers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the aligning rollers to be nondriven aligning rollers, since it would have been obvious to try this technique when choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
In reference to claim 11, Rupoli further discloses a wire cutter (6) is arranged after the third sensor viewed in the passage direction [see figures 1 & 2; paragraphs 39-40].
2. Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rupoli in view of College et al (US 5,676,010).
In reference to claims 12 and 13, Rupoli et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the wire passes through two straightening devices wherein one has horizontally arranged rollers and the other has vertically arranged rollers.
However, College et al teaches of a wire straightening device comprising of two straightening devices arranged in succession to one another, wherein one has vertically arranged rollers (72) and the other (74) has horizontally arranged rollers [see figure 3] for the purpose to providing a deflection in different planes with respect to the wire to ensure a straight wire [see col. 3 lines 14-30].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Rupoli et al to include the horizontally and vertically arranged roller straightening devices, as taught by College et al, in order to straighten the wire in both planes to ensure the outcome of a straight wire.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8, filed April 1, 2026, with respect to the 102 rejection based on Chang have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 10 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s Inherency argument, see pages 9--10, filed April 1, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 10-11 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of an obviousness rejection based on Rupoli.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Debra M Sullivan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725