DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on May 28, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (The Journal of Nuclear Medicine, 2016; cited on IDS filed January 25, 2024) in view of Mahler et al. (US 2005 0175611; cited on IDS filed January 25, 2024).
Regarding claims 1-3, Song discloses a method of preparing immunoconjugate (intermediate of radiopharmaceutical composition) comprising a PCTA (3,6,9,15-tetraazabicyclo[9.3.1]pentadeca- 1(15),11,13-triene-3,6,9-triacetic acid) and a cetuximab (anti-epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR) antibody) (page 1106, column 1, ¶ 4). Song discloses that the immunoconjugate can be finally concentrated in 20 mM sodium acetate buffer (page 1106, column 1, ¶ 4). Song does not disclose a storage of the intermediate (immunoconjugate, PCTA-Cetuximab) but Song discloses that the radioimmunoconjugates (64Cu- or 177Lu-PCTA-Cetuximab) show high stabilities in serum at 37°C for 24 hours (90.1% ± 0.6%) and 7 days (90.6% ± 0.4%) (page 1107, column 1, ¶ 5).
Song does not disclose that the intermediate being stored for a storage period of not less than 24 hours and that the acetate buffer contains at least one type of neutral amino acid and at least one type of polysorbate.
Mahler discloses an aqueous pharmaceutical preparation comprising an anti-EGFR antibody (abstract). Mahler discloses that the aqueous preparation can comprise a buffer consists of acetate salt, neutral amino acid such as glycine, and a surfactant such as polysorbate 90 (claim 1; claim 4; ¶ 26; ¶16). Mahler discloses that glycine and polysorbate 80 can be used for the stabilization of an aqueous solution of immunoglobulin G (¶ 16). Mahler discloses that the preparation can be stable on storage over period of at least 3 months to a period of 4 years at refrigerator temperature (2-8°C), and also stable on storage over a period of up to 2 years at elevated temperatures and higher atmospheric humidity levels, for example at a temperature of 25°C and 60% relative atmospheric humidity, or over a period of 3 months at a temperature of 40°C and 75% relative atmospheric humidity (¶ 25).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the acetate buffer of Song by adding a neutral amino acid and a polysorbate to stabilize the intermediate for a longer storage period of not less than 24 hours. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications and reasonably would have expected success because Mahler teaches that a neutral amino acid such as glycine and polysorbate 80 can be used to stabilize an aqueous solution comprising antibody, allowing the aqueous solution to be stored for not less than 24 hours. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize stabilizer such as a neutral amino acid and a polysorbate to stabilize therapeutic proteins or monoclonal antibodies by preventing aggregation and interfacial stress, thereby ensuring the intermediate of radiopharmaceutical composition remains stable for not less than 24 hours before radiolabeling. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Mahler to the method of Song constitutes no more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions and therefore renders instant claims obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 7, and 9 of copending Application No. 19/110,632. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the ‘632 recites a method for producing an intermediate of a radiopharmaceutical composition in an acetate buffer, wherein the intermediate is a complex of a PCTA and an anti-EGFR antibody. Claims 9 of the ‘632 recites that a storage step of storing the elution containing the intermediate can be for not less than 24 hours.
Regarding claim 2, claims 1 and 2 of the ‘632 recite that the acetate buffer can contain at least one type of neutral amino acid and at least one type of polysorbate as stabilizer.
Regarding claim 3, claim 7 of the ‘632 recites that the anti-EGFR antibody is cetuximab.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/JONG HWAN BAEK/Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618