DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment necessitated new grounds of rejection. This action is made final in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-10, 12, 14-17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bull et al. (US 2020/0394580), hereinafter Bull.
In re. claim 1, Bull teaches an agricultural machine (14) (fig. 2), comprising: a sensor array (one or more plant product sensing devices (34)) (para [0065]); and a computing device having a processor (para [0055]) executing computer-readable instructions to: control the sensor array to measure seed cotton (plant product may refer to seeds that are still attached to tissues of the mother plant that bore them (e.g., cotton)) (para [0058]) during harvesting by the agricultural machine to generate sensor readings (communicatively coupled to the processing system) (para [0065]); generate a wavelength profile for the seed cotton based on sensor readings acquired from the sensor array (emitted wavelength data) (para [0067]); and determine one or more properties of the seed cotton based on the wavelength profile, wherein the one or more properties include at least one of turnout constituents present in the seed cotton (material composition detection) (para [0067]), and a seed protein level in the seed cotton (protein content) (para [0067]).
In re. claim 6, Bull teaches the agricultural machine of claim 1, further comprising a conveying duct, wherein the sensor array is mounted within the conveying duct (flow sampling and analysis system (FSAS) analysis chamber (46) within duct (42)) (para [0074]) (fig. 7).
In re. claim 7, Bull teaches the agricultural machine of claim 1, further comprising an accumulator (opening and closing of control gate (66) allows accumulation of plant product) (para [0075]-[0076]), wherein the sensor array is mounted within the accumulator (flow sampling and analysis system (FSAS) analysis chamber (46) within control gate (66)) (fig. 7).
In re. claim 8, Bull teaches the agricultural machine of claim 1, wherein the computing device further executes instructions to: determine a location in a cotton field at which the seed cotton was collected; and store the location in association with the one or more properties determined (By identifying when the mobile platform 14 and system 10 enter and exit a plot, the system 10 can generate a flow rate graph, or flow rate pattern, illustrating the variance in flow rate of plant product through the mass flow meter 18 as the mobile platform 14 and system 10 traverse the plot harvesting plant product from the respective row of plants) (para [0094]).
In re. claim 9, Bull teaches the agricultural machine of claim 1, wherein the computing device further executes instructions to adjust a setting for a component of the agricultural machine based on the one or more properties of the seed cotton (the aspect sensor(s) 34 can be structured and operable to register when a reliable aspect reading has been captured on a sample. Whereafter, the processing system 30 can trigger actuation of the exit gate(s) 66 to open wider to evacuate all the remaining plant product from the plant product analysis chamber 46 and reset the system to receive the next sample) (para [0087]).
In re. claim 10, Bull teaches the agricultural machine of claim 1, wherein the computing device further executes instructions to determine one or more predicted properties of the seed cotton based on the one or more properties (plant yield data) (para [0086]).
In re. claim 12, Bull teaches the agricultural machine of claim 1, wherein the one or more properties of the seed cotton further include a moisture level in the seed cotton (the one or more plant product aspect sensor or sensing device 34 can comprise a plant product moisture content sensor) (para [0066]).
In re. claim 14, Bull teaches the agricultural machine of claim 1, wherein the computing device further executes instructions to communicate quality data, based at least in part on the one or more properties (fiber quality) (para [0109]).
In re. claim 15, Bull teaches the agricultural machine of claim 1, wherein the sensor array includes at least a near-infrared (NIR) sensor (para [0067]).
In re. claim 16, Bull teaches the agricultural machine of claim 15, wherein the sensory array further includes an optical sensor (para [0067]).
In re. claim 17, Bull teaches the agricultural machine of claim 16, wherein the computing device is further configured to combine data on the seed cotton acquired by the NIR sensor with data on the seed cotton acquired by the optical sensor, wherein the one or more properties of the seed cotton are determined based on the combined data (It is also envisioned that the sample(s) and any information regarding the sample(s), generated by the respective system, could be combined with any data or information collected from an “analytics suite” (e.g., cameras, soil samples, etc., disposed on a mobile platform 14) to assist in this process) (para [0109]).
In re. claim 21, Bull teaches the agricultural machine of claim 14, wherein the computing device communicates the quality data to a gin ((communicatively connectable to a remote server network 94) provides the recited capability) (para [0092]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bull as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hall et al. (US 2014/0060348), hereinafter Hall.
In re. claim 2, Bull fails to disclose a baler, wherein the sensor array is mounted in the baler.
Hall teaches a baler (85, 90) (para [0015]), wherein the sensor array is mounted in the baler (fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Bull to incorporate the teachings of Hall to have a baler, wherein the sensor array is mounted in the baler, for the predictable result of determining the properties of the seed cotton while also providing the function of forming a round bale of cotton.
In re. claim 3, Bull as modified by Hall (see Hall) teach the agricultural machine of claim 2, wherein the computing device executes instructions to control the sensor array to measure the seed cotton when a bale in the baler is stationary (when cotton is stationary) (para [0017]).
In re. claim 4, Bull as modified by Hall (see Hall) teach the agricultural machine of claim 2, wherein the computing device executes instructions to control the sensor array to measure the seed cotton when the baler is active (when the module builder is moving) (para [0021]).
In re. claim 5, Bull as modified by Hall (see Hall) teach the agricultural machine of claim 2, wherein the computing device executes instructions to: rotate the bale when seed cotton is not be conveyed to the baler (when the feeder stops rotating) (para [0021]); and control the sensor array to measure the seed cotton while rotating (when the module builder is moving) (para [0021]).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bull as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stover (US 2010/0307120).
In re. claims 10-11, Bull fails to disclose the computing device further executes instructions to determine one or more predicted properties of the seed cotton based on the one or more properties; wherein the one or more predicted properties include an estimate of respective quantities of trash, cotton, and seed present in the seed cotton
Stover teaches one or more predicted properties of the seed cotton based on the one or more properties (Roughly 1500 pounds of seed cotton produces 500 pounds of lint, 700-800 pounds of seed and 200 pounds of trash) (para [0042]); wherein the one or more predicted properties include an estimate of respective quantities of trash, cotton, and seed present in the seed cotton (para [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Bull to incorporate the teachings of Stover to have the computing device execute instructions to determine one or more predicted properties of the seed cotton based on the one or more properties, for the purpose of communicating estimates of the quantities using known relationships, increasing the amount of information provided to the user).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Carr et al. (US 2001/0055810) teaches the use of infrared spectroscopy (NIR) for analyzing grain is a conventional technique for detecting microconstituents of the grain including protein, oil, moisture, starch, acids, etc. (para [0002]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.D.H./
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3647
/Christopher D Hutchens/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647