DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 10 June 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2019/141807 A to Sasaki et al. (Sasaki).
As to claim 1, Sasaki teaches a lithium recovery device including a processing tank (1) partitioned into a first tank (11) and a second tank (12), in which lithium ions are moved form an aqueous solution containing lithium ions stored in the first tank (11) to an aqueous solution stored in the second tank (12) comprising a lithium ion conducting electrolyte film (2) that partitions the processing tank (1), porous structure electrodes (31/32) in contact with both surfaces of the lithium ion conducting electrolyte film (2), a sub-electrode (4) provided in the second tank (12) so as to be spaced apart from the porous structure electrodes (31/32) and the lithium ion conducting electrolyte film (2), a first power supply (51) connected between the porous structure electrodes (31/32) with the first tank (11) side as a positive electrode, a second power supply (52) which connects in series to a negative electrode of the first power supply and has a negative electrode connected to the sub electrode (4), the apparatus capable of operating such that upon voltage application from the first power supply and the second power supply, a current flow from a positive electrode of the second power supply (Paragraphs 0031-0034; Figure 3; MPEP 2114).
As to claim 2, Sasaki teaches the apparatus of claim 1. The apparatus is Sasaki is further capable of applying voltage to the first power supply higher than or equal to a voltage applied to the lithium ion conducting electrolyte film to reach a reduction potential of at least one metal element contained in the lithium ion conducting electrolyte film (MPEP 2114).
As to claims 8 and 9, Sasaki teaches the apparatus of claims 1 and 2. Sasaki further teaches that the apparatus comprises a circulator for circulating an aqueous solution containing lithium ions between the outside and the inside of the first tank (11) (Paragraph 0036).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of US 2021/0292918 A1 to Shimizu et al. (Shimizu).
As to claims 3 and 7, Sasaki teaches the apparatus of claims 1 and 2. However, Sasaki fails to further teach that the apparatus comprises a heater. However, Shimizu also discusses electrolytic lithium recovery and teaches that the electrolyzer should be heated by a heating device in order to promote oxidation and reduction reactions at the respective electrodes (Paragraph 0047). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Sasaki with the addition of a heater for heating the electrolyzer, thus also heating the electrolyte film, in order to promote the oxidation and reduction reactions as taught by Shimizu.
As to claim 4, the combination of Sasaki and Shimizu teaches the apparatus of claim 3. Sasaki further teaches that the apparatus comprises a circulator for circulating an aqueous solution containing lithium ions between the outside and the inside of the first tank (11) (Paragraph 0036).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 8 and 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/852,983 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitation of the present claims are claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/852,983 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitation of the present claims are claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 8 and 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5 of copending Application No. 18/685,284 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitation of the present claims are claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of copending Application No. 18/579,613 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitation of the present claims are claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794