DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 4-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Keefer USPA 2002/0142208 A1.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Keefer discloses an air treatment unit comprising an air treatment element for an air treatment unit (figure 1; paragraphs 47-50), the air treatment element comprising: a drum shaped rotor element (figure 1: 4; paragraph 44), provided with a rotational axis (figure 1); a first end surface of the rotor element having a first normal, which is parallel to the rotational axis (see figure 1: one end of rotor); a second end surface of the rotor element having a second normal, which is parallel to the rotational axis (see figure 1: 2nd end of rotor); and a plurality of channels, which are disposed parallel to the rotational axis (figure 2: channels between sheets 23), and which channels extend continuous from the first end surface to the second end surface of the rotor element (figures 1 and 2: channels between sheets 23) and the channels are not interrupted by seams in their extension from the first end surface to the second end surface of the rotor element (figure 2; paragraph 47: nothing indicates that there are seams in the channels; in fact, since the channels are formed by sheets, it does not appear that there would be seams; even if there were seams in the sheets, they would not interrupt the channels); and at least one air treatment substance arranged on walls of the continuous channels (paragraph 48), wherein the content of the at least one air treatment substance is arranged to increase or decrease in a direction from the first end surface to the second end surface (paragraph 48).
Regarding claim 2, Keefer discloses that the increase or decrease of the content of the at least one air treatment substance is a linearly increase or decrease (paragraph 48: “gradient” implies linear).
Regarding claim 4, Keefer discloses that the at least one air treatment substance comprises: a first air treatment substance and a second air treatment substance (paragraph 48).
Regarding claim 5, Keefer discloses that the first air treatment substance is a first desiccant material, configured for attracting and retaining water vapor from the air; and the second air treatment substance is a second desiccant material, different from the first desiccant material (paragraphs 48 and 49; claim 77).
Regarding claim 6, Keefer discloses that the first air treatment substance is a first desiccant material, configured for attracting and retaining water vapor from the air; and the second air treatment substance is a substance, configured for attracting and retaining carbon dioxide from the air (paragraphs 49 and 50).
Regarding claim 7, Keefer discloses that the air treatment substance is either activated carbon or zeolite (paragraph 30). Activated carbons are well-known to be capable of capturing VOCs; therefore, the air treatment substance of Keefer is capable of attracting and retaining VOCs from the air. Keefer discloses that the second air treatment substance is different from the first air treatment substance (paragraphs 48 and 49).
Regarding claim 8, Keefer discloses that the first air treatment substance is arranged in a first section of the rotor element, which first section extends from the first end surface to a first plane in the rotor element having a third normal parallel to the rotational axis, and wherein the second air treatment substance is arranged in a second section of the rotor element, which second section extends from the first plane to the second end surface (paragraphs 48 and 49; figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, Keefer discloses that a third section of the rotor element extends from the first plane to a second plane in the rotor element having a fourth normal parallel to the rotational axis, wherein the second plane is arranged between the first plane and the second end surface, and wherein the content of the first air treatment substance is arranged to decrease in a direction from the first plane to the second plane, and the content of the second air treatment substance is arranged to increase in a direction from the first plane to the second plane (paragraphs 48 and 49; figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, Keefer discloses that the content of the first air treatment substance is arranged to decrease in a direction from the first end surface to the second end surface, and the second air treatment substance is arranged to increase in a direction from the first end surface to the second end surface (paragraph 48).
Regarding claim 11, Keefer discloses that the content of the first air treatment substance is arranged to increase in a direction from the first end surface to the second end surface, and the second air treatment substance is arranged to decrease in a direction from the first end surface to the second end surface (paragraph 48).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keefer USPA 2002/0142208 A1.
Keefer is relied upon as above.
Regarding claim 3, Keefer discloses a gradient of increase/decrease of the content of the at least one air treatment substance (paragraph 48), but does not disclose that the gradient is non-linear. Nevertheless, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the gradient be non-linear. Absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed gradient is significant, it is deemed to be an obvious matter of design choice. MPEP 2144.04 (IV-B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Keefer does not disclose that “the channels are not interrupted by seams in their extension from the first end surface to the second end surface of the rotor element”. Applicant cites the present Specification which states that “[o]ne known approach…causes discontinuities of the channels through the rotor”. The Examiner does not find this persuasive for several reasons. First, there is nothing in Keefer that would demonstrate that this “one known approach” that “causes discontinuities” is being utilized by Keefer. Second, even if it is assumed that Keefer does utilize a method that “causes discontinuities”, such discontinuities are not deemed to be “seams”, as precluded by claim 1. A discontinuity does not imply a seam. Third, even if there were a “seam” it would not mean that the seams “interrupt” the channels, as precluded by claim 1. Since “interrupt” is not defined in the Specification, the Examiner interprets channels being “interrupted” as meaning the channels are being blocked in a significant way. There is nothing in Keefer that would appear to demonstrate that the channels of Keefer, made of sheets, are being “interrupted by seams”; therefore, the limitation is met.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER P JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776