DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendment filed on April 17, 2026. Claims 1-10 have been canceled. Claims 11-12, 18, and 20 have been amended.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “first wire feeding device”, “first wire blocking device”, “wire heating device” in claims 11 and 20, “second wire feeding device” in claim 12, and “suction device” in claim 16.
In light of the specification, the limitations “first wire feeding device” and “second wire feeding device” have been interpreted as the “micromotors” described on page 7.
In light of the specification, the limitation “wire heating device” has been interpreted as the “induction coil” described on page 2.
The specification is devoid to provide any corresponding structure that would allow a person of ordinary skill in the art to interpret the limitation “first wire blocking device” on page 6.
The specification is devoid to provide any corresponding structure that would allow a person of ordinary skill in the art to interpret the limitation “suction device” on page 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “a first wire feeding device vertically moving in a vertical direction a first wire.” It is unclear from the claim language what structure or action is being positively recited. In particular, the phrase “vertically moving in a vertical direction a first wire” lacks clear grammatical relationship and renders the scope of the claim uncertain. The claim does not clearly indicate whether: the “first wire feeding device” itself is vertically moving, the device moves the wire vertically, or the phrase “in a vertical direction” modifies the device or the wire. Additionally, the phrase “vertically moving a vertical direction” appears redundant and introduces ambiguity regarding the intended distinction, if any, between “vertically moving” and movement “in a vertical direction.” Applicant is advised to amend the claim to more clearly recite the intended relationship between the wire feeding device and the movement of the wire, for example, by reciting: “a first wire feeding device configured to move a first wire in a vertical direction.”
Claim 12 recites “the second wire feeding device vertically moves in the vertical direction a second wire” It is unclear from the claim language what structure or action is being positively recited. In particular, the phrase “vertically moves in the vertical direction a second wire” lacks clear grammatical relationship and renders the scope of the claim uncertain. The claim does not clearly indicate whether: the “second wire feeding device” itself is vertically moving, the device moves the wire vertically, or the phrase “in a vertical direction” modifies the device or the wire. Additionally, the phrase “vertically moving the vertical direction” appears redundant and introduces ambiguity regarding the intended distinction, if any, between “vertically moving” and movement “in a vertical direction.” Applicant is advised to amend the claim to more clearly recite the intended relationship between the wire feeding device and the movement of the wire, for example, by reciting: “the second wire feeding device configured to move a second wire in the vertical direction.”
Claim limitations “first wire blocking device” in claims 11 and 20 and “suction device” in claim 16 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid to provide any corresponding structure that would allow a person of ordinary skill in the art to interpret the limitations and ascertain the scope of the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 13-20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph because of dependency on claims 11 and 12 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 13-15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albrecht et al. (US 2020/0139468 A1) in view of Methner (DE 102015010209 A1).
With regard to claim 11, Albrecht discloses a droplet applicator configured to generate molten metal droplets having a volume in a range of nanoliters to milliliters (“micro-deposit” 21), the droplet applicator comprising: a first wire feeding device (24) vertically moving in a vertical direction a first wire including a first wire material (26 and Par. [0021]); a first wire blocking device configured to block the first wire (Par. [0024] discloses an integrated tool head 33 that includes multiple mixers 31 configured to receive anchor materials 22 and process the anchor materials into electrodes 32 and/or powder streams. The anchor materials include wire feedstock used to form the electrodes. Because the mixers 31 are located within the integrated tool head 33, the tool head necessarily defines the path through which the wire feedstock must pass to be processed into electrodes. The paragraph further discloses that a controller 30 controls each mixer 31, including selectively controlling one or more mixers differently from others. When the controller 30 disables, pauses, or otherwise prevents operation of a mixer 31, the corresponding wire feedstock cannot be received or processed by that mixer. As a result, the wire is prevented from advancing beyond the integrated tool head 33, thereby being blocked at the tool head), wherein the first wire feeding device (24) and the first wire blocking device (33) are arranged within a housing (“integrated” within system 10, see Fig. 1); and a wire heating device (36), wherein the wire heating device (36) heats regions of the first wire that have been introduced into the wire heating device by the first wire feeding device (Par. [0027]), to a temperature above a melting temperature of the first wire material (Par. [0031]), wherein the wire heating device (36) is configured to melt a portion of the first wire such that molten metal droplets detach from the first wire in a controlled manner, and wherein the volume of each molten metal droplet is adjustable by adjusting a position of the wire heating device relative to the first wire or by controlling a heating profile applied by the wire heating device (“the controller 30 may control the temperature of the droplets 20, the application rate, and the application location of each droplet 20 to control the heat applied to previously applied micro-deposits 21.” See Par. [0028]).
Albrecht does not disclose the wire heating device arranged, vertically flush, below the first wire feeding device.
Methner teaches a droplet applicator configured to generate molten metal droplets, the applicator comprising a wire heating device (20) arranged, vertically flush, below a first wire feeding device (26, because Figure 1 of the application illustrates an arrangement identical to that show in the Methner figure, the reference reads on the claimed feature of wire heating device arranged vertically flush below first wire feeding device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement between the wire heating device and first wire feeding device of Albrecht by incorporating the wire heating device arranged, vertically flush, below the first wire feeding device as taught by Methner, for the benefit of allowing the wire to travel along a straight path into the heating zone that minimizes wire bending and lateral deflection.
With regard to claim 13, the droplet applicator of Albrecht as modified by Methner discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 11. Albrecht further discloses that the wire heating device includes an induction coil (“inductor coil”, Par. [0026]).
With regard to claim 14, the droplet applicator of Albrecht as modified by Methner discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 11. Methner further discloses that the wire heating device has a pointed surface (guide 14 with a pointed surface at the bottom) that can be heated via an electrical resistance (inductor heater 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heating device of Albrecht, by incorporating the pointed surface (14) surrounded by inductor heater (20) as taught by Methner, doing it would allow wire is melted on its way through by means of the induction heater, so that a melt of the metal is formed from the wire.
With regard to claim 15, the droplet applicator of Albrecht as modified by Methner discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 14. Methner further discloses that the pointed surface includes tungsten or carbon or ceramic (“ceramic”, Par. [0013]).
With regard to claim 19, the droplet applicator of Albrecht as modified by Methner discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 11. Albrecht further discloses that the droplet applicator is configured to fill a rear cavity of a semiconductor component (the applicator of Albrecht is capable of performing the functional features).
With regard to claim 20, since the droplet applicator of Albrecht as modified by Methner discloses all structure of the claimed invention, in its use, applicator of Albrecht as modified by Methner will inherently perform all the method steps of claim 20.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albrecht in view of Methner as applied to claim11 above, and further in view of Funato et al. (US 2016/0045956 A1).
With regard to claim 17, the droplet applicator of Albrecht as modified by Methner discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 11. However, they do not disclose that a closure arranged at a vertical distance below the wire heating device, wherein the closure is moveable horizontally.
Funato teaches an applicator, the applicator comprising a closure (Par. [0045]), wherein the closure is moveable horizontally (Fig. 5A-5C).
it is noted by the Examiner that the prior art to Funato and the instant invention are directed to a closure for a nozzle In accordance with MPEP 2141.01(1), a reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention). In this instant case, the prior art to Funato is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the applicator of Albrecht, by incorporating a closure arranged at a vertical distance below the wire heating device, wherein the closure is moveable horizontally as taught by Funato, for the benefit of preventing the nozzle from damage when not in use (Par. [0004-0005]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12, 16, and 18 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on April 17, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to pages 5-6 of the Applicant’s arguments, Applicant argues that the limitation “first wire blocking device” is not subject to interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) asserting that a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the term as referring to structures such as clamps, brakes, stop mechanism, latches, or feed-stop assemblies. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim language does not recite sufficiently definite structure for performing the claimed function. The term “device” is a well-established nonce term that does not connote structure by itself. The modifier “wire blocking” merely describes the intended function of the claimed element, namely blocking wire movement, rather than identifying any particular structural class. The specification likewise fails to provide sufficient structural disclosure corresponding to the claimed function. Applicant asserts that Figures 1 and 2 allegedly depict a “clamp-like device”; however, the drawings merely identify element 103/203 schematically without disclosing any structural details regarding its configuration, components, mode of operation, or mechanical implementation. The specification does not describe whether the alleged blocking device operates by clamping, braking, pinching, latching, frictional engagement, motor control, or any other mechanism. Merely labeling a box or component in a figure as a “wire blocking device” does not provide corresponding structure sufficient to satisfy 112(f).
Applicant further argues that “suction device” connotes structure to one of ordinary skill in the art, allegedly encompassing vacuum pumps, suction nozzles, exhaust fans, aspirator, or similar gas-extraction components. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The term “device” is a generic placeholder term that does not impart structural meaning. The modifier “suction” merely describes the intended function or result of the element, namely suction or gas extraction, rather than reciting a definite structural component. As such, the term “suction device” fails to connote sufficiently definite structure and is properly interpreted under 112(f). Further, the specification does not disclose corresponding structure adequate to perform the claimed suction function. Although the specification allegedly describes the component as being “arranged within the housing” and positioned relative to the wire feeding devices, positional information alone does not disclose structure. The specification fails to identify any concrete structural implementation, such as a pump, fan, nozzle geometry, ducting arrangement, aspirator, vacuum source, or other physical apparatus capable of generating suction. The limitation “suction device’ is properly constructed under 112(f) and because the specification fails to disclose adequate corresponding structure linked to the claimed suction function, the claims remain indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOEL . ZHOU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/QINGZHANG ZHOU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752