DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 10/24/2025 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-14 are currently pending. Claims 1-2 and 4-13 are amended.
Claim 14 is new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed 10/24/2025, with respect to claims 1, 7, 8, and 11 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections of claims 1, 7, 8, and 11 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 10/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Examiner acknowledges that the Kwon reference does not supply detergent and water during the tub washing (rotating) step. However, the Oh reference already shows that a detergent and water supplying step is occurring during rotation. Moreover, the Oh reference teaches that the drum spins at a first speed at step S4, the first speed being a speed at which the clothing is attached to the inner wall of the drum (paragraph [0100]), but does not teach what the speed/force of the drum is. The Kwon reference is used to clarify that a drum can rotate with a centrifugal force of 1G or more. Kwon teaches that it is known in the art to achieve clothing attached to the inner wall of the drum by rotating with a centrifugal force of 1 G or more (paragraph [0096]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Oh with the teachings of Kwon, with the expectation of achieving the desired result of clothing being attached to the inner wall of the drum during the rotation cycle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. KR20180112554 (henceforth referred to as Oh) in view of Kim WO2021002640 (henceforth referred to as Kim) and Kwon et al. U.S. Publication 2019/0032267 (henceforth referred to as Kwon).
As to claim 1, (Currently Amended) Oh teaches a method for controlling a laundry treating apparatus including a tub configured to store water therein (FIG. 1 paragraph [0039] tub 20 is inside the cabinet to store water), a drum rotatably disposed inside the tub to store an object-to-be-washed therein and having a drum inlet defined therein (FIG. 1 paragraph [0039] drum 30 rotatably provided in the tub 20 to accommodate clothing), a detergent storage configured to store a detergent therein (FIG. 2 paragraph [0048] detergent box 100), a storage water supply pipe configured to supply water to the detergent storage (FIG. 2 paragraph [0050] water supply unit 50 may include a water supply pipe 51 having one end connected to an external water source and the other end connected to the detergent box 100), a tub connecting pipe configured to guide water discharged from the detergent storage to the drum inlet (FIG. 2 paragraph [0050] supply pipe 53 connects the detergent box 100 and the tub 20), a drain hole defined to extend through the tub (paragraph [0039] drain unit 60), and a drain pump connected to the drain hole (FIG. 2 paragraph [0052] drain pump 62), the method comprising:
supplying water to the tub via the tub water supply pipe (FIG. 4 paragraph [0077] water supply step S3 for supplying water to the tub);
after completion of supplying the water to the tub, rotating the drum (FIG. 4 paragraphs [0077]-[0078] first rotation step S4, which occurs after step S3, rotates the drum 30 at a first speed) with a centrifugal force such that the object-to-be-washed is in contact with an inner circumferential surface of the drum (paragraphs [0100]-[0101] the first speed may be a speed higher at which clothing is attached to the inner wall of the drum and does not come off); and
supplying the detergent and water into the drum via the storage water supply pipe (FIG. 4 paragraph [0087] in the first rotation step S4, the drum 30 rotates while detergent and water are supplied) in a state in which the object-to-be-washed is in contact with the inner circumferential surface of the drum (paragraph [0101] the first speed may be a speed higher at which clothing is attached to the inner wall of the drum and does not come off).
Oh differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a tub water supply pipe configured to supply water to the tub and rotating the drum with a number of rotations for inducing a centrifugal force equal to or greater than 1 G.
Kim teaches a similar laundry treating apparatus (FIGS. 1-2 paragraph [0037] washing machine). Kim teaches a tub water supply pipe configured to supply water to the tub (FIG. 2 paragraph [0051] direct water supply pipe 39 guides water to direct water nozzle 42 to spray water into the drum).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Oh with a separate water supply pipe as taught by Kim. Using a separate pipe would ensure that water can directly be supplied to the tub without being tainted by the detergent.
Kwon teaches a similar laundry treating apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0048] washing machine 1). Kwon teaches the drum with a number of rotations for inducing a centrifugal force equal to or greater than 1 G (paragraph [0096] the first RPM may be the RPM at which the rotation of the drum is able to generate a centrifugal force of 1 G or more).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Oh with a drum that can rotate at a centrifugal force equal to or greater than 1 G as taught by Kwon as spinning at a centrifugal force of 1 G can aid with the disentangling of the laundry (paragraph [0109]). Additionally, as the drum reaches the first speed, it would have been obvious that the drum would rotate with a number of rotations to reach the first speed.
As to claim 14, (New) The combination of Oh and Kwon further teach the drum has a plurality of communication holes that are defined through the inner circumferential surface of the drum and in fluid communication with a space between the drum and the tub (Kwon FIG. 1 paragraph [0068] the drum 40 can have a plurality of through-holes 47. The drum 40 can communicate with the tub 30 via the plurality of through-holes 47), and
wherein supplying the detergent and water into the drum is performed (Oh paragraph [0087] in the first rotation step S4, the drum 30 rotates while detergent and water are supplied) while the plurality of communication holes are blocked by the object-to-be-washed that is in contact with the inner circumferential surface of the drum by rotating the drum (Oh paragraph [0101] the first speed may be a speed higher at which clothing is attached to the inner wall of the drum and does not come off) with the number of rotations for inducing a centrifugal force equal to or greater than 1 G (Kwon paragraph [0096] the first RPM may be the RPM at which the rotation of the drum is able to generate a centrifugal force of 1 G or more).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Oh with a drum that has communication holes as taught by Kwon. It is known in the art to have communication through-holes in order to allow water to enter and drain from the drum.
The combination of Park and Oh would have the plurality of communication holes to be blocked by the object-to-be-washed as it is in contact with the inner circumferential surface of the drum by rotating the drum (Oh teaches that the first speed at the first rotation step S4 to be a speed at which the clothing is attached to the inner wall of the drum. If the clothing is attached to the wall, it would block the plurality of communication holes of Kwon).
Claims 2-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. KR20180112554 (henceforth referred to as Oh), Kim WO2021002640 (henceforth referred to as Kim), and Kwon et al. U.S. Publication 2019/0032267 (henceforth referred to as Kwon) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Park et al. U.S. Publication 2010/0011514 (henceforth referred to as Park).
As to claim 2, (Currently Amended) Oh, Kim, and Kwon differ from the instant claim in failing to teach supplying the water to the tub is performed until reaching a first water level set to a water level lower than a lowest point of the drum.
Park teaches a similar method for controlling a laundry treating apparatus (paragraph [0009] a control method of washing machine). Park teaches the supplying the water to the tub is performed until reaching a first water level set to a water level lower than a lowest point of the drum (FIG. 7A paragraph [0067] the first water level introduced into the water tub 11 only fills a bottom region of the water tub 11 and cannot enter the drum).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Oh, Kim, and Kwon with a first water level set to a water level lower than a lower point in of the drum as taught by Park. The first water level line is the minimum amount of water needed in order for parameters, such as laundry load weight and the flow rate of the water supply, to be obtained/calculated (paragraph [0053]).
As to claim 3, (Original) Park further teaches the first water level is set to a water level where the drain hole is submerged (FIG. 7A the drain hole is submerged when the water is at the first water level).
As to claim 5, (Currently Amended) The combination of Oh and Park further teaches supplying the detergent and water (Oh paragraph [0087] water and detergent are supplied in step S4) is performed until reaching a second water level set to a water level higher than a lowest point of the drum (Park FIG. 7B the second water level is higher than the lowest point of the drum).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Oh, Kim, and Kwon with a second water level that is higher than the lowest point of the drum as taught by Park in order to ensure that the laundry is sufficiently wetted (paragraph [0056]).
As to claim 6, (Currently Amended) The combination of Oh and Park further teach before supplying the detergent and water to the drum, sensing an amount of the object-to-be-washed stored in the drum (Oh paragraph [0077] laundry amount detection step S1), wherein the second water level is set to increase in proportion to the amount of the object-to-be-washed stored in the drum (Park paragraph [0066] the second water level is the level at which the wetting stroke is performed. More water can be added to reach a third water level to supplement the water when the water level drops due to the adsorption of the laundry during the wetting stroke phase. It would be obvious to supply more water based on the size of the laundry load as larger laundry loads would adsorb more water).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. KR20180112554 (henceforth referred to as Oh), Kim WO2021002640 (henceforth referred to as Kim), Kwon et al. U.S. Publication 2019/0032267 (henceforth referred to as Kwon), and Park et al. U.S. Publication 2010/0011514 (henceforth referred to as Park) as applied to claim 2 above, and in further view of Civanelli et al. U.S. Publication 2012/0079664 (henceforth referred to a Civanelli).
As to claim 4, (Currently Amended) Oh, Kim, Kwon, and Park differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the laundry treating apparatus further includes a heater fixed to the tub to be positioned between the lowest point of the drum and the drain hole and configured to heat water stored in the tub, and wherein the first water level is set to a water level where the heater is submerged.
Civanelli teaches a similar laundry treating apparatus (FIG. 3 paragraph [0021] washing machine 110). Civanelli teaches the laundry treating apparatus further includes a heater (FIG. 3 paragraph [0030] sump heater 160) fixed to the tub to be positioned between the lowest point of the drum and the drain hole (FIG. 3 the sump heater 160 is positioned between the lowest point of the drum and the drain hole) and configured to heat water stored in the tub (paragraph [0030] the sump heater 160 may be used to heat the wash liquid).
The combination of Civanelli and Park would be able to teach that the first water level as taught by Park would be able to submerge the heater as taught by Civanelli.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Oh, Kim, Kwon, and Park with a heater as taught by Civanelli. It is known in the art to heat wash water to aid in the cleaning of the laundry.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. KR20180112554 (henceforth referred to as Oh), Kim WO2021002640 (henceforth referred to as Kim), Kwon et al. U.S. Publication 2019/0032267 (henceforth referred to as Kwon), and Park et al. U.S. Publication 2010/0011514 (henceforth referred to as Park) as applied to claim 5 above, and in further view of Seo et al. U.S. Publication 2015/0020318 (henceforth referred to as Seo).
As to claim 7, (Currently Amended) Oh, Kim, Kwon and Park differ from the instant claim in failing to teach dissolving the detergent inside the tub by rotating the drum after completion of supplying the detergent and water to the drum.
Seo teaches a similar method for controlling a laundry treating apparatus (paragraph [0026] a washing machine and a method of controlling the washing machine). Seo teaches dissolving the detergent inside the tub by rotating the drum after completion of supplying the detergent and water to the drum (paragraph [0082] rotating the drum 124 dissolves the washing detergent).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Oh, Kim, Kwon, and Park with a rotating step to dissolve the detergents as taught by Seo. It is known the art that agitating detergent in water would effectively dissolve the detergent.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. KR20180112554 (henceforth referred to as Oh) in view of Migaki et al. JP2012170690 (henceforth referred to as Migaki) and Kwon et al. U.S. Publication 2019/0032267 (henceforth referred to as Kwon).
As to claim 8, (Currently Amended) Oh teaches a method for controlling a laundry treating apparatus including a tub configured to store water therein (FIG. 1 paragraph [0039] tub 20 is inside the cabinet to store water), a drum rotatably disposed inside the tub to store an object-to-be-washed therein and having a drum inlet defined therein (FIG. 1 paragraph [0039] drum 30 rotatably provided in the tub 20 to accommodate clothing), a drain hole defined to extend through the tub (paragraph [0039] drain unit 60), and a drain pump connected to the drain hole (FIG. 2 paragraph [0052] drain pump 62), the method comprising:
after completion of supplying the water to the tub, rotating the drum (FIG. 4 paragraph [0078] first rotation step S4) with a centrifugal force such that the object-to-be-washed is in contact with an inner circumferential surface of the drum (paragraphs [0100]-[0101] the first speed may be a speed higher at which clothing is attached to the inner wall of the drum and does not come off); and
supplying the detergent and water into the drum via a chamber with the detergent stored among the first chamber and the second chamber (FIG. 4 paragraph [0087] in the first rotation step S4, the drum 30 rotates while detergent and water are supplied) in a state in which the object-to-be-washed is in contact with the inner circumferential surface of the drum (paragraph [0101] the first speed may be a speed higher at which clothing is attached to the inner wall of the drum and does not come off).
Oh differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a first chamber and a second chamber configured to form spaces separated from each other and provide spaces where a detergent is able to be stored, a first water supply pipe configured to supply water to the first chamber, a second water supply pipe configured to supply water to the second chamber, a tub connecting pipe configured to guide water discharged from the first chamber and the second chamber to the drum inlet, supplying water to the tub via a chamber with no detergent stored among the first chamber and the second chamber by controlling one of the first water supply pipe and the second water supply pipe; and rotating the drum with a number of rotations for inducing a centrifugal force equal to or greater than 1G.
Migaki teaches a similar laundry treating apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0023] drum-type washing machine). Migaki teaches a first chamber and a second chamber configured to form spaces separated from each other and provide spaces where a detergent is able to be stored (FIG. 2 paragraph [0035] main wash detergent storage section 80 and a pre-wash detergent storage section 81 read on the claimed first and second chambers), a first water supply pipe configured to supply water to the first chamber (FIG. 3 paragraph [0040] water supply pipe 59b), a second water supply pipe configured to supply water to the second chamber (FIG. 3 paragraph [0040] water supply pipe 59a), a tub connecting pipe configured to guide water discharged from the first chamber and the second chamber to the drum inlet (FIG. 1 paragraph [0026] water supply connecting pipe 60 guides the water passed through the detergent supply device 56 into the inside of the water tub 51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Oh with a detergent dispenser with multiple chambers as taught by Migaki. It is known in the art to have multiple chambers in a detergent dispenser to hold different treatment liquids including fabric softener, or finishing agents (paragraph [0026]).
Migaki does not teach supplying water to the tub via a chamber with no detergent stored among the first chamber and the second chamber by controlling one of the first water supply pipe and the second water supply pipe. However, Oh teaches that water can be supplied to the tub without detergent (FIG. 1 paragraphs [0050] and [0077] water supply step S3 supplies water to the tub. The water supply pipe connects the external water source to the detergent box.)
It would have been obvious for the water to be supplied to the tub by passing through the detergent box as taught by Oh, regardless if the detergent box has one chamber or multiple chambers.
Kwon teaches a similar laundry treating apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0048] washing machine 1). Kwon teaches the drum with the number of rotations for inducing a centrifugal force equal to or greater than 1 G (paragraph [0096] the first RPM may be the RPM at which the rotation of the drum is able to generate a centrifugal force of 1 G or more).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Oh with a drum that can rotate at a centrifugal force equal to or greater than 1 G as taught by Kwon as spinning at a centrifugal force of 1 G can aid with the disentangling of the laundry (paragraph [0109]). Additionally, as the drum reaches the first speed, it would have been obvious that the drum would rotate with a number of rotations to reach the first speed.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. KR20180112554 (henceforth referred to as Oh), Migaki et al. JP2012170690 (henceforth referred to as Migaki), and Kwon et al. U.S. Publication 2019/0032267 (henceforth referred to as Kwon) as applied to claim 8 above, and in further view of and Park et al. U.S. Publication 2010/0011514 (henceforth referred to as Park).
As to claim 9, (Currently Amended) Oh, Migaki, and Kwon differ from the instant claim in failing to teach supplying the water to the tub is performed until reaching a first water level set to a water level lower than a lowest point of the drum.
Park teaches a similar method for controlling a laundry treating apparatus (paragraph [0009] a control method of washing machine). Park supplying the water to the tub is performed until reaching a first water level set to a water level lower than a lowest point of the drum (FIG. 7A paragraph [0067] the first water level introduced into the water tub 11 only fills a bottom region of the water tub 11 and cannot enter the drum).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Oh, Migaki, and Kwon with a first water level set to a water level lower than a lower point in of the drum as taught by Park. The first water level line is the minimum amount of water needed in order for parameters, such as laundry load weight and the flow rate of the water supply, to be obtained/calculated (paragraph [0053]).
As to claim 10, (Currently Amended) The combination of Oh and Park further teach supplying the detergent and water (Oh paragraph [0087] water and detergent are supplied in step S4) to the drum is performed until reaching a second water level set to a water level higher than a lowest point of the drum (Park FIG. 7B the second water level is higher than the lowest point of the drum).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Oh and Kwon with a second water level that is higher than the lowest point of the drum as taught by Park in order to ensure that the laundry is sufficiently wetted (paragraph [0056]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. KR20180112554 (henceforth referred to as Oh) in view of Kim WO2021002640 (henceforth referred to as Kim) and Kwon et al. U.S. Publication 2019/0032267 (henceforth referred to as Kwon).
As to claim 11, (Currently Amended) Oh teaches a method for controlling a laundry treating apparatus including a tub configured to store water therein (FIG. 1 paragraph [0039] tub 20 is inside the cabinet to store water), a drum rotatably disposed inside the tub to store an object-to-be-washed therein and having a drum inlet defined therein (FIG. 1 paragraph [0039] drum 30 rotatably provided in the tub 20 to accommodate clothing), a detergent storage configured to store a detergent therein (FIG. 2 paragraph [0048] detergent box 100), a storage water supply pipe configured to connect the detergent storage with a water supply source (FIG. 2 paragraph [0050] water supply unit 50 may include a water supply pipe 51 having one end connected to an external water source and the other end connected to the detergent box 100), a tub connecting pipe configured to guide water discharged from the detergent storage to the drum inlet (FIG. 2 paragraph [0050] supply pipe 53 connects the detergent box 100 and the tub 20), a drain hole defined to extend through the tub (paragraph [0039] drain unit 60), and a drain pump connected to the drain hole (FIG. 2 paragraph [0052] drain pump 62), the method comprising:
supplying water to the tub via the tub water supply pipe (FIG. 4 paragraph [0077] water supply step S3 for supplying water to the tub);
after completion of supplying the water to the tub, rotating the drum (FIG. 4 paragraph [0078] first rotation step S4) with a centrifugal force equal such that the object-to-be-washed is in contact with an inner circumferential surface of the drum (paragraphs [0100]-[0101] the first speed may be a speed higher at which clothing is attached to the inner wall of the drum and does not come off); and
supplying the detergent and water into the drum via the storage water supply pipe (FIG. 4 paragraph [0087] in the first rotation step S4, the drum 30 rotates while detergent and water are supplied) in a state in which the object-to-be-washed is in contact with the inner circumferential surface of the drum (paragraph [0101] the first speed may be a speed higher at which clothing is attached to the inner wall of the drum and does not come off).
Oh differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a tub water supply pipe configured to supply water to the tub and rotating the drum with a number of rotations for inducing a centrifugal force equal to or greater than 1 G.
Kim teaches a similar laundry treating apparatus (FIGS. 1-2 paragraph [0037] washing machine). Kim teaches a tub water supply pipe configured to supply water to the tub (FIG. 2 paragraph [0051] direct water supply pipe 39 guides water to direct water nozzle 42 to spray water into the drum).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Oh with a separate water supply pipe as taught by Kim. Using a separate pipe would ensure that water can directly be supplied to the tub without being tainted by the detergent.
Kwon teaches a similar laundry treating apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0048] washing machine 1). Kwon teaches the drum with a number of rotations for inducing a centrifugal force equal to or greater than 1 G (paragraph [0096] the first RPM may be the RPM at which the rotation of the drum is able to generate a centrifugal force of 1 G or more).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Oh with a drum that can rotate at a centrifugal force equal to or greater than 1 G as taught by Kwon as spinning at a centrifugal force of 1 G can aid with the disentangling of the laundry (paragraph [0109]).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. KR20180112554 (henceforth referred to as Oh), Kim WO2021002640 (henceforth referred to as Kim), and Kwon et al. U.S. Publication 2019/0032267 (henceforth referred to as Kwon) as applied to claim 11 above, and in further view of Park et al. U.S. Publication 2010/0011514 (henceforth referred to as Park).
As to claim 12, (Currently Amended) Oh, Kim and Kwon differ from the instant claim in failing to teach supplying the water to the tub is performed until reaching a first water level set to a water level lower than a lowest point of the drum.
Park teaches a similar method for controlling a laundry treating apparatus (paragraph [0009] a control method of washing machine). Park teaches supplying the water to the tub is performed until reaching a first water level set to a water level lower than a lowest point of the drum (FIG. 7A paragraph [0067] the first water level introduced into the water tub 11 only fills a bottom region of the water tub 11 and cannot enter the drum).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Oh, Kim, and Kwon with a first water level set to a water level lower than a lower point in of the drum as taught by Park. The first water level line is the minimum amount of water needed in order for parameters, such as laundry load weight and the flow rate of the water supply, to be obtained/calculated (paragraph [0053]).
As to claim 13, (Currently Amended) The combination of Oh and Park further teach supplying the detergent (Oh paragraph [0087] water and detergent are supplied in step S4) is performed until reaching a second water level set to a water level higher than a lowest point of the drum (Park FIG. 7B the second water level is higher than the lowest point of the drum).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Oh, Kim, and Kwon with a second water level that is higher than the lowest point of the drum as taught by Park in order to ensure that the laundry is sufficiently wetted (paragraph [0056]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.G.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711