DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(h)(1). When an exploded view is shown in a figure which is on the same sheet as another figure, the exploded view should be placed in brackets. See Figures 4a, 4b, 5a, 5b, 6e, and 6f.
Specification
The abstract is objected because it is too long. The abstract should be within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
Claim Objections
Claims 17, 34 and 35 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 17 and 34, the use of parenthesis makes unclear whether the text inside the parenthesis is part of the claim language or no.
In claim 34 line 4, “an electrical conductor” should be --the electrical conductor--, per line 2.
In claim 35 lines 1-2 , “an actuation space” should be --the actuation space--, per claim 35.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-29, 31-32, 34 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oesterhaus (US 7,104,833).
Regarding claim 17, Oesterhaus discloses a connection device comprising at least one direct-plug-in clamping connection having a direct-plug-in design for plugging in an electrical conductor, the at least one direct-plug-in clamping connection having at least one of a clamping spring (12), a busbar and a clamping cage (2), wherein the clamping spring is designed to clamp the electrical conductor plugged into the direct-plug-in clamping connection to form an electrically conductive contact with the busbar or the clamping cage (2), the at least one direct-plug-in clamping connection further having an actuation mechanism (15) movable between a base position (Fig. 2) and an actuation position (Fig. 3) for moving the clamping spring to release the electrical conductor, the actuation mechanism having at least two actuation regions (16, 17) for an actuation tool, the at least two actuation regions arranged at an angle (a) > 0 relative to each other, wherein the actuation mechanism rotates about an axis which moves between a first position and a second position (rotationally) when the actuation mechanism is moved between the base position and the actuation position, respectively. Please also note that Oesterhaus shows enough space to allow some translation of 23.
Regarding claim 18, Oesterhaus discloses the actuation mechanism displaced along a guide (22 or lateral walls around 19) when moved between the base position and the actuation position.
Regarding claim 19, Oesterhaus discloses the guide having an arcuate shape (at 22) generally corresponding to the position of the changing rotational point.
Regarding claim 20, Oesterhaus discloses the actuation mechanism having a mating guide (outer surface of 23) having a design that corresponds to the profile of the guide.
Regarding claim 21, Oesterhaus discloses the guide and first mating guide include a groove (at 22) and bar (at 23), respectively, or the guide and first mating guide include a bar and groove, respectively.
Regarding claim 22, Oesterhaus discloses the actuation mechanism having an arcuate profile being generally sickle shaped (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 23, Oesterhaus discloses the actuation mechanisms having a clamping end (end of 19) which when actuated rests against and pushes the clamping spring into a releasing position (Fig .3) from a clamping position against a restoring force of the clamping spring.
Regarding claim 24, Oesterhaus discloses the actuation mechanism pushed back into the base position from the actuation position by the restoring force of the clamping spring, wherein the clamping spring pushes the mating guide against the guide in the base position.
Regarding claim 25, Oesterhaus discloses the first actuation region (16) arranged between an actuation end and a clamping end opposite the actuation end and the second actuation region (17) arranged at the actuation end of the actuation mechanism.
Regarding claim 26, Oesterhaus discloses the actuation mechanism arranged in an actuation space externally accessible through first and second actuation apertures, the first actuation region being accessible through the first actuation aperture and the second actuation region being accessible through the second actuation aperture (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 27, Oesterhaus discloses one of the actuation regions arranged on an upper side of the actuation mechanism (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 28, Oesterhaus discloses the direct-plug-in clamping connection having a stop and the actuation mechanism has a counter stop (25) arranged to interact with the stop, the stop and counter stop being provided to secure the actuation mechanism in the actuation space (intended use).
Regarding claim 29, Oesterhaus discloses the connection device is a series connection (intended use) having at least one direct-plug-in clamping connection.
Regarding claim 31, Oesterhaus discloses a method of installing a connection device according to claim 1 comprising the steps of, installing the clamping spring (8) in the housing (1) and installing the actuation mechanism (15) for releasing an electrical conductor clamped in the connection device with the clamping spring by inserting it into the connection device through an actuation aperture, wherein the actuation mechanism is actuated via the actuation aperture when the connection device is installed and the clamping spring clamps the actuation mechanism in the connection device when inserted in a base position.
Regarding claim 32, Oesterhaus discloses that when the actuation mechanism is installed and in the base position the actuation mechanism rests on a guide or a stop of the connection device (22).
Regarding claim 34, Oesterhaus discloses a connection device comprising at least one direct-plug-in clamping connection having a direct-plug-in design for plugging in an electrical conductor, the at least one direct-plug-in clamping connection having at least one of a clamping spring (8), a busbar and a clamping cage, wherein the clamping spring is designed to clamp an electrical conductor plugged into the direct-plug-in clamping connection to form an electrically conductive contact with the busbar (9) or the clamping cage, the at least one direct-plug-in clamping connection further having an actuation mechanism (15, 19) movable between a base position (Fig. 2) and an actuation position (Fig. 3) for moving the clamping spring to release the electrical conductor, the actuation mechanism having at least two actuation regions (16, 17) for an actuation tool, the at least two actuation regions arranged at an angle (a) > 0 relative to each other, wherein the actuation mechanism (19) traverses an actuation space when moved between the base position and the actuation position.
Regarding claim 35, Oesterhaus discloses the actuation mechanism traversing an actuation space including the actuation mechanism (19) extending into and along a length of the actuation space (vertically on Figs. 2 and 3) when the actuation mechanism is moved between the base position and actuation position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oesterhaus in view of Wago et al. (DE 20 2024 106 714).
Regarding claim 33, Wago teaches and actuation mechanism (4), wherein a path of movement of the axis from the first position (Fig. 6) to the second position (Fig. 14) is defined by movement of the actuation mechanism between the base position and the actuation position. Wago teaches that a floating axis and a fixed axis can be alternatively used. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use an axis with a movable path, as taught by Wago, in order to better control the translation and pressure provided by the actuation mechanism.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the grounds of rejection, as applied.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833