DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/20/2023 and 09/27/2024 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 23-24, 27-28, and 33-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dizon et al (US Pub No. 2021/0257980, hereinafter Dizon).
Regarding claim 23, Dizon teaches a method (Abstract), applied to a terminal device (Fig 7, controller 708), the method comprising: obtaining, by the terminal device (Fig 9, step 912 user input information packet sent to primary device (controller 708)), a first volume value (Fig 9 & ¶ [0053], step 902 initial user input which includes volume adjustment information) in response to detecting that the terminal device establishes a communication connection to a first electronic device (¶ [0036], controller coordinates by requesting state variable (state variable includes connection status and volume levels). The state variable can be passed between zone players and controllers), wherein the first volume value conforms to a use habit of a user (Fig 9, step 902 initial user input) when the user uses a second electronic device (Fig 7 & 9 & ¶ [0024], step 902 initial user input received from zone player 704 (second device). User input can be received at any device within the bonded zone (connected) allowing a volume change request to propagate throughout the bonded zone), and the second electronic device was previously connected to the terminal device (¶ [0027], a controller can be mobile and moved between zones for example zone player 704 (second device) and zone player 702 (first device) are standalone devices and controller 708 can switch between them); and sending, by the terminal device, a volume adjustment message to the first electronic device (Fig 10 & ¶ [0053], controller receives user input as state variable step 1002 and transmits the user input (volume adjustment) to connected device zone player 702 (first device) step 1008), wherein the volume adjustment message carries first volume value information indicating to the first electronic device to adjust a playback volume to correspond to the first volume value (Fig 10 & ¶ [0116], first message including volume adjustment sent between devices i.e. (controller 708 to zone player 702 (first device)).
Regarding claim 24, Dizon teaches the method according to claim 23, wherein: when a device model of the first electronic device is the same as a device model of the second electronic device, the volume adjustment message carries the first volume value (¶ [0034], zone players can be the same model).
Regarding claim 27, Dizon teaches the method according to claim 23, wherein sending, by the terminal device, the volume adjustment message to the first electronic device comprises: when a device model of the first electronic device is different from a device model of the second electronic device (¶ [0034], zone players can be the different models), determining, by the terminal device, an amplitude (¶ [0053], volume adjustment increase or decrease (amplitude)) and a frequency (¶ [0057], equalization (frequency)) corresponding to the first volume value (Fig 7 & 9, step 902 initial user input received from zone player 704 (second device)); and sending, by the terminal device, the volume adjustment message to the first electronic device (Fig 10, controller receives user input as state variable step 1002 and transmits the user input (volume adjustment) to connected device zone player 702 (first device) step 1008), wherein the volume adjustment message carries the amplitude and the frequency, the volume adjustment message indicates to the first electronic device to adjust, to a second volume value, a volume value output to the terminal device (¶ [0116], first message including volume adjustment sent between devices i.e. (controller 708 to zone player 702 (first device)), wherein the second volume value is a volume value that is output by the first electronic device and that satisfies the amplitude and the frequency, and a playback volume corresponding to the second volume value is the same as the playback volume corresponding to the first volume value (abstract, second message including information for the volume of the playback device (zone player 702), wherein the volume is based on the adjusted volume).
Regarding claim 28, Dizon teaches the method according to claim 27, further comprising: obtaining, by the terminal device, a third volume value, wherein the third volume value is a volume output to the terminal device before the first electronic device performs volume adjustment (Fig 10, step 1002 user input at primary device (controller 708)); and wherein sending, by the terminal device, the volume adjustment message to the first electronic device comprises: when the amplitude corresponding to the first volume value is different from an amplitude corresponding to the third volume value and the frequency corresponding to the first volume value is different from a frequency corresponding to the third volume value, sending, by the terminal device, the volume adjustment message to the first electronic device (Fig 10, controller receives user input as state variable step 1002 and transmits the user input (volume adjustment) to connected device zone player 702 (first device) step 1008).
Regarding claim 33, Dizon teaches the method according to claim 23, wherein the terminal device has a function of playing back an audio or a video (¶ [0027], zone players capable of providing audio, video, and/or audiovisual output).
Regarding claim 34, Dizon teaches the method according to claim 23, wherein the terminal device has a function of playing back an audio and a video (¶ [0027], zone players capable of providing audio, video, and/or audiovisual output).
Regarding claim 35, Dizon teaches a terminal device (Fig 4, zone player 400), wherein the terminal device comprises: a wireless communication module (Fig 4, wireless 404), a memory (Fig 4, memory 410), and one or more processors (Fig 4, processor 408), and the wireless communication module, the memory, and the processor are coupled (Fig 4, zone player 400); and wherein the memory is configured to store computer program code, the computer program code comprises computer instructions, and when the computer instructions are executed by the processor (¶ [0050], processor 408 processes data according to instructions stored in memory 410), the terminal device is enabled to perform operations comprising: obtaining a first volume value (Fig 9 & ¶ [0053], step 902 initial user input which includes volume adjustment information) in response to detecting that the terminal device establishes a communication connection to a first electronic device (¶ [0036], controller coordinates by requesting state variable (state variable includes connection status and volume levels). The state variable can be passed between zone players and controllers), wherein the first volume value conforms to a use habit of a user (Fig 9, step 902 initial user input) when the user uses a second electronic device (Fig 7 & 9 & ¶ [0024], step 902 initial user input received from zone player 704 (second device). User input can be received at any device within the bonded zone (connected) allowing a volume change request to propagate throughout the bonded zone), and the second electronic device was previously connected to the terminal device (¶ [0027], a controller can be mobile and moved between zones for example zone player 704 (second device) and zone player 702 (first device) are standalone devices and controller 708 can switch between them); and sending a volume adjustment message to the first electronic device (Fig 10, controller receives user input as state variable step 1002 and transmits the user input (volume adjustment) to connected device zone player 702 (first device) step 1008), wherein the volume adjustment message carries first volume value information indicating to the first electronic device to adjust a playback volume to correspond to the first volume value (¶ [0116], first message including volume adjustment sent between devices i.e. (controller 708 to zone player 702 (first device)).
Regarding claim 36, Dizon teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Fig 4, memory 410), comprising computer instructions, wherein when the computer instructions are run on a terminal device (¶ [0050], processor 408 processes data according to instructions stored in memory 410), the terminal device is enabled to perform operations comprising: obtaining a first volume value (Fig 9 & ¶ [0053], step 902 initial user input which includes volume adjustment information) in response to detecting that the terminal device establishes a communication connection to a first electronic device (¶ [0036], controller coordinates by requesting state variable (state variable includes connection status and volume levels). The state variable can be passed between zone players and controllers), wherein the first volume value conforms to a use habit of a user (Fig 9, step 902 initial user input) when the user uses a second electronic device (Fig 7 & 9 & ¶ [0024], step 902 initial user input received from zone player 704 (second device). User input can be received at any device within the bonded zone (connected) allowing a volume change request to propagate throughout the bonded zone), and the second electronic device was previously connected to the terminal device (¶ [0027], a controller can be mobile and moved between zones for example zone player 704 (second device) and zone player 702 (first device) are standalone devices and controller 708 can switch between them); and sending a volume adjustment message to the first electronic device (Fig 10, controller receives user input as state variable step 1002 and transmits the user input (volume adjustment) to connected device zone player 702 (first device) step 1008), wherein the volume adjustment message carries first volume value information indicating to the first electronic device to adjust a playback volume to correspond to the first volume value (¶ [0116], first message including volume adjustment sent between devices i.e. (controller 708 to zone player 702 (first device)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25-26 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dizon et al (US Pub No. 2021/0257980, hereinafter Dizon) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Kim et al (US Pub No. 2021/0247952, hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 25, Dizon teaches the method according to claim 23, wherein sending, by the terminal device, the volume adjustment message to the first electronic device comprises: when a device model of the first electronic device is the same as a device model of the second electronic device (¶ [0034], zone players can be the same model), sending, by the terminal device, the volume adjustment message to the first electronic device, wherein the volume adjustment message carries the first volume value of the terminal device, and the volume adjustment message indicates to the first electronic device to adjust a volume value output to the terminal device to the first volume value (¶ [0116], first message including volume adjustment sent between devices i.e. (controller 708 to zone player 702 (first device)).
Dizon does not explicitly teach a device identifier.
Kim teaches device identifiers included in exchange information between devices (See Kim ¶ [0099], device identifiers).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the device identifier information taught by Kim with the method taught by Dizon. Device identifiers provide a reliable method of device identification allowing for enhanced security between connected devices.
Regarding claim 26, Dizon in view of Kim teaches the method according to claim 25, further comprising: obtaining, by the terminal device, a third volume value, wherein the third volume value is a volume value output to the terminal device before the first electronic device performs volume adjustment (See Dizon Fig 10, step 1002 user input at primary device (controller 708)); and wherein sending, by the terminal device, the volume adjustment message to the first electronic device comprises: when the first volume value is different from the third volume value, sending, by the terminal device, the volume adjustment message to the first electronic device (See Dizon abstract, second message including information for the volume of the playback device (zone player 702), wherein the volume is based on the adjusted volume).
Regarding claim 31, Dizon teaches the method according to claim 23, further comprising: querying whether there is a fourth volume value (Fig 9, step 902 user input of zone player 702 (first device)), wherein the fourth volume value is a volume value that conforms to a use habit of the user when the user uses the first electronic device (Fig 7 & 9 & ¶ [0024], step 902 initial user input received from zone player 702 (first device). User input can be received at any device within the bonded zone (connected) allowing a volume change request to propagate throughout the bonded zone); and adjusting, by the terminal device, the playback volume based on the fourth volume value in response to detecting that the terminal device establishes a communication connection to the first electronic device and that the fourth volume value is queried (Fig 9 & ¶ [0091-0094], step 908 zone player 702 (first device) determined to be secondary device. Steps 910-914 send audio data including volume adjustment to controller 708 (primary device). Step 916 controller 708 (primary device) adjusts volume based on input.); and wherein obtaining, by the terminal device, the first volume value in response to detecting that the terminal device establishes the communication connection to the first electronic device comprises: obtaining, by the terminal device, the first volume value in response to detecting that the terminal device establishes the communication connection to the first electronic device and that the fourth volume value is not queried (Fig 9, step 912 user input information packet sent to primary device (controller 708) without a user input (fourth volume) at zone player 702 (first device)).
Dizon does not explicitly teach a device identifier.
Kim teaches device identifiers included in exchange information between devices (See Kim ¶ [0099], device identifiers).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the device identifier information taught by Kim with the method taught by Dizon. Device identifiers provide a reliable method of device identification allowing for enhanced security between connected devices.
Claim(s) 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dizon et al (US Pub No. 2021/0257980, hereinafter Dizon) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Cremer et al (US Pub No. 2021/0349683, hereinafter Cremer).
Regarding claim 29, Dizon teaches the method according to claim 23, wherein sending, by the terminal device, the volume adjustment message to the first electronic device comprises: when a device model of the first electronic device is different from a device model of the second electronic device (¶ [0034], zone players can be the different models), wherein the first unit volume is a playback volume corresponding to a unit volume value of the second electronic device (Fig 7 & 9 & ¶ [0024], step 902 initial user input received from zone player 704 (second device). User input can be received at any device within the bonded zone (connected) allowing a volume change request to propagate throughout the bonded zone); and sending, by the terminal device, the volume adjustment information to the first electronic device (Fig 10, controller receives user input as state variable step 1002 and transmits the user input (volume adjustment) to connected device zone player 702 (first device) step 1008), wherein the volume adjustment information carries the first playback volume, the volume adjustment information indicates to the first electronic device to adjust, to a second volume value, a volume value output to the terminal device (¶ [0116], first message including volume adjustment sent between devices i.e. (controller 708 to zone player 702 (first device)). the second unit volume is a playback volume corresponding to a unit volume value of the first electronic device (Fig 7 & 9 & ¶ [0024], step 902 initial user input received from zone player 704 (second device). User input can be received at any device within the bonded zone (connected) allowing a volume change request to propagate throughout the bonded zone).
Dizon does not explicitly teach determining, by the terminal device, a first playback volume based on the first volume value and a pre-stored first unit volume, the second volume value is a volume value that is determined by the first electronic device based on the first playback volume and a pre-stored second unit volume, and a playback volume corresponding to the second volume value is the same as the first playback volume.
Cremer teaches dynamic volume adjustment, by the terminal device, a first playback volume (See Cremer Fig 4, target volume range 416) based on the first volume value (See Cremer Fig 4, input volume 408) and a pre-stored first unit volume (See Cremer Fig 4, classification gain value 410 for first classification group), the second volume value is a volume value that is determined by the first electronic device based on the first playback volume (See Cremer Fig 4, target volume range 416) and a pre-stored second unit volume (See Cremer Fig 4, classification gain value 410 for second classification group), and a playback volume corresponding to the second volume value is the same as the first playback volume (See Cremer Fig 4, target volume range 416).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the dynamic volume adjustment taught by Cremer with the method taught by Dizon. Dynamic volume adjustment is well known in the art and provides the user with several key benefits including consistent listening levels and a reduced need for user input.
Regarding claim 30, Dizon in view of Cremer teaches the method according to claim 29, further comprising: obtaining, by the terminal device, a third volume value, wherein the third volume value is a volume output to the terminal device before the first electronic device performs volume adjustment (Fig 10, step 1002 user input at primary device (controller 708)); and wherein sending, by the terminal device, the volume adjustment message to the first electronic device comprises: when the first playback volume is different from a playback volume corresponding to the third volume value, sending, by the terminal device, the volume adjustment message to the first electronic device (Fig 10, controller receives user input as state variable step 1002 and transmits the user input (volume adjustment) to connected device zone player 702 (first device) step 1008).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 32 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/T.M.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2694
/FAN S TSANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2694