Status of Claims
This Office action is in response to the response filed to election restriction, filed March 27, 2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant has through amendment traversed the unity of invention restriction. As the inventive step is in all independent claims, there is unity of invention.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant recites PPD but no definition in the claims. Apparent from the specification what this means, this should be put in the claims as well. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-7, 9, 10, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 5, 10, 14, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Per claim 9 and 12, Applicant recites, “weighted with the applicable area factors.” There is no antecedent basis for this claim and it is unclear what the applicable area factors refer to. Further it is unclear what the scope of applicable area factors means, therefore not only is this an antecedent basis problem, the scope of applicable is unclear.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected for being dependent on claim 5.
Therefore, claims 5-7, 9, 10, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 USC 112.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USER MANUAL TCOMSYS0l Hot Cube, published 2020, filed in IDS 10/26/2023, more legible copy attached by examiner. (“TCOM”), in view of Hirano Satoru, JP 2018004582 A (“Hirano”), further in view of Williamson, WO 2018096369 A2 (“Williamson”).
Per claim 1, TCOM then teaches Heat flux sensor comprising: a body with sensor pairs, in page 14 (“it is equipped with five FHF01 heat flux sensors”)
TCOM then teaches one radiation absorbing, absorptive, sensor for measuring a combined radiative and convective heat flux in page 14 where the FHF01 heat flux sensors with black absorbers monitor radiative and convective changes. See also page 34, black adhesive foil.
TCOM then teaches the body exhibiting axes of heat flux measurement
TCOM then teaches a heating member that is in heat conducing contact with the body, in page 28: “It is possible to turn the heater ON or OFF by pressing the 'heater' button.” See also page 40: “The configuration includes the mannequin with 5 x heat flux, 1 x temperature, 1 x heater, 2”
TCOM then teaches capable of heating the body uniformly within 2 0C for body temperatures between 25 and 40 0C in pages 14-15 where the heater heats the body to 33 C
TCOM then teaches at ambient air temperatures between 20 and 25 0C at air speeds < 1 m/s in page 16, air speed less than 2 m/s . See also page 20: “TCOMSYS01 is designed to work between +10 and+ 25 °C. In its standard configuration, uninsulated and stabilised at 33 °C, it is rated for operation in indoor conditions including significant radiative heating. It will stabilise at 33 °C under approximately the following conditions:
• air speeds < 5 m/s
• irradiance < 400 W/m2
• ambient air temperature > 5 °C” See also page 28, air temperature equal to room temperature.
TCOM then teaches and a temperature sensor thermally coupled with the body for measuring the body temperature T_sen page 14: “an internal sensor body temperature measurement” See page 15: “Body temperature is measured using a 10 kQ thermistor inside the TCOM01 body. The MCU measures the resistance of this thermistor and converts this to temperature.”
TCOM does not teach a body with six or more sensor;
three axes of heat flux measurement, the axes being substantially perpendicular, with two sensor per axis facing substantially in opposite directions,
Hirano teaches a three dimensional heat flux device.
In page 2 of the PDF (translated). See also Fig 1. “As shown in FIG. 1, in this embodiment, the three-dimensional heat flux measuring device includes first to sixth thermocouples 11a to 11f, first to third rod-like bodies 12a to 12c as fixing means, and an arithmetic operation. A calculation unit 13 and a display unit 14 are provided as means.
The first to third rod-like bodies 12a to 12c are orthogonal to each other and intersect at their centers. In the example shown in FIG. 1, the first rod-shaped body 12a is disposed along the x-axis direction, the second rod-shaped body 12b is disposed along the y-axis direction, and the third rod-shaped body 12c is disposed along the z-axis direction. Are arranged along.
The first to third rod-shaped bodies 12a to 12c are made of a material having low thermal conductivity such as a resin, and the thermal correlation between both ends of the rod-shaped bodies 12a to 12c is as close to 0 as possible. To do. The first to third rod-like bodies 12a to 12c are integrated by being formed integrally or by being fitted.”
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heat flux in five directions teaching of TCOM with the heat flux measuring in six directions teaching of Hirano because Hirano teaches that collecting this information will result in the ability to calculate a 3 dimensional vector component, in other wors gradient T, so that one would be able to have an accurate description of how temperature is flowing in three directions. As this type of measurement shows both the scalar (what temperature is) and vector (in what direction it is moving), one could then determine the rate of change in which direction the temperature is going. This would enable one to have more information ie a field measurement so that one has a clearer picture of the environment. As this would further help TCOM in determining ambient temperature comfort (determining from where the greatest change is coming from), one would be motivated to combine TCOM with Hirano.
TCOM does not teach each pair consisting of radiation absorbing… and one radiation reflecting, reflective, sensor for substantially measuring a convective heat flux,
Williamson teaches each pair consisting of radiation absorbing… and one radiation reflecting, reflective, sensor for substantially measuring a convective heat flux, on pages 11-12 of the PDF where the sensors comprise a heat sensor for independently determining radiative temperature and convective heat transfer.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermal comfort teaching of TCOM with the pair of sensors measuring radiative and convective heat because as taught in page 13 temperature sensors may be similarly sensitive to convective heat but not similar for radiative heat, and therefore if just measuring convective may miss a temperature change due to radiative heat. By having both the temperature can therefore be more accurately determined. As this would increase accuracy one would be motivated to combine Williamson with TCOM.
Per claim 2, TCOM, Hirano, and Williamson teach the limitations of claim 1, above TCOM does not teach six or more sensor pairs with a combined field of view between 2.5pi to 4 pi sr (sr meaning steradians)
Extrinsic evidence submitted from https://jeremyrutledge.com/steradian/ to clarify what this would look like.
Hirano teaches six or more sensors with a combined field of view between 2.5pi to 4 pi sr (sr meaning steradians) in Fig 1 where the six sensors are in each direction teaching 4 pi sr.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heat flux in five directions teaching of TCOM with the heat flux measuring in six directions teaching of Hirano because Hirano teaches that collecting this information will result in the ability to calculate a 3 dimensional vector component, in other wors gradient T, so that one would be able to have an accurate description of how temperature is flowing in three directions. As this type of measurement shows both the scalar (what temperature is) and vector (in what direction it is moving), one could then determine the rate of change in which direction the temperature is going. This would enable one to have more information ie a field measurement so that one has a clearer picture of the environment. As this would further help TCOM in determining ambient temperature comfort (determining from where the greatest change is coming from), one would be motivated to combine TCOM with Hirano.
TCOM does not teach sensor pairs
Williamson teaches sensor pairs on pages 11-12 of the PDF where the sensors comprise a heat sensor for independently determining radiative temperature and convective heat transfer.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermal comfort teaching of TCOM with the pair of sensors measuring radiative and convective heat because as taught in page 13 temperature sensors may be similarly sensitive to convective heat but not similar for radiative heat, and therefore if just measuring convective may miss a temperature change due to radiative heat. By having both the temperature can therefore be more accurately determined. As this would increase accuracy one would be motivated to combine Williamson with TCOM.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 8, 9, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USER MANUAL TCOMSYS0l Hot Cube, published 2020, filed in IDS 10/26/2023 (“TCOM”), in view of Hirano Satoru, JP 2018004582 A (“Hirano”), further in view of Williamson, WO 2018096369 A2 (“Williamson”), further in view of Hosoi et al., JP 2019207112 A (“Hosoi”), further in view of Engineering Toolbox, < https://web.archive.org/web/20210127074458/https://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/convective-heat-transfer-d_430.html > archived on Jan 27, 2021, (“Toolbox”).
Per claims 3 and 13, which are similar in scope, TCOM, Hirano, and Williamson teach the limitations of claims 1 and 2, above. TCOM, Hirano and Williamson teach the heat flux sensor of claim 1, above.
TCOM further teaches a control unit and an ambient temperature sensor connected to the control unit for measuring an ambient temperature T_air, the control unit being adapted for in page 33: “Blow ambient air on one side of TCOM01
Blow ambient air on one side of TCOM01 using a fan. The heat flux sensors should react. The heat flux sensor on the opposite side of the TCOM01 should show the least reaction. When you turn the fan off, the heat flux signals should slowly return to their original values.”
TCOM further teaches operating the heating member for heating of the body, - determining or controlling of the temperature of the body, T_sen in page 28: “In the main screen, it is possible to change the TCOM01 temperature setting by changing 'Target temperature'. It is possible to turn the heater ON or OFF by pressing the 'heater' button. The red bar will light up if the heater is turned ON.”
TCOM does not teach determining from the measurements of the reflective sensor of each of the six or more sensors a convective heat flux (Dconvection,); each of the six or more sensor pairs
Hirano teaches determining from the measurements of the reflective sensor of each of the six or more sensors a convective heat flux (Dconvection; each of the six or more sensor pairs The calculation unit 13 calculates a vector component (hereinafter simply referred to as a temperature gradient) ∇T of the temperature gradient at the reference point O based on the temperatures detected by the first to sixth thermocouples 11a to 11f. Specifically, when the temperatures detected by the first to sixth thermocouples 11a to 11f are Ta to Tf, the temperature gradient ∇T is calculated by the following equation
TCOM does not teach determining a radiative heat flux GDradiation by subtracting the measurements of the absorptive sensor and of the reflective sensor; determining the radiative temperature Trad from T_sen and GDradiation.
Hosoi teaches determining using one sensor radiative heat and convection heat. See abstract.
Hosoi teaches determining a radiative heat flux GDradiation by subtracting the measurements of the absorptive sensor and of the reflective sensor in page 7 of the PDF: “Further, the arithmetic unit 3, based on the emissivity of alpha .sub.1 surface M1a of the relationship between the measurement object M1, obtaining the total heat q .sub.1 when the emissivity of alpha .sub.1. At this time, the emissivity α1 of the surface M1a of the measurement object M1 is the .sub.one previously examined by the user. The calculation unit 3 subtracts the convection heat radiation amount qf from the total heat amount q .sub.1 at the emissivity α .sub.1 . Thereby, the amount of radiation heat radiation qe .sub.1 from the surface M1a of the measurement object M1 is obtained.”
Hosoi then teaches determining the radiative temperature Trad from T_sen and GDradiation in page 6: “Here, as shown in FIGS. 6, 7, and 8, the emissivities of the surfaces M1a, 4a, and 5a of the object that radiates and radiates are different. However, if the heat capacity of the measurement object M1 is sufficiently
large, the measurement object M1 absorbs more and more heat changes. For this reason, the temperatures Ts .sub.1 , Ts .sub.2 , and Ts .sub.3 of the surfaces M1a, 4a, and 5a of the object that radiates and radiates heat can be regarded as Ts .sub.1 = Ts .sub.2 = Ts .sub.3 . Further, since the sensor main body 2 is thin, the temperatures ts1, ts2, and ts3 of the surfaces M1a, 4a, and 5a of the object that radiates heat can be regarded as ts1 = ts2 = ts3.”
Tcom does not teach determining a convective heat transfer coefficient Ctr based on (Dconvection, T_air and T_sen; determining an ambient air velocity vair, based on the heat transfer coefficient Ctr.
Toolbox teaches physics.
Toolbox teaches determining a convective heat transfer coefficient Ctr based on (Dconvection, T_air and T_sen in page 1: ‘q = hc A dT (1) where q = heat transferred per unit time (W, Btu/hr); A = heat transfer area of the surface (m2, ft2); hc = convective heat transfer coefficient of the process (W/(m2oC, Btu/(ft2 h oF)); dT = temperature difference between the surface and the bulk fluid (oC, F)” A times dT teaches D Convection, T air, and T sen because D convection is the convective heat flux, wherein Flux is area, T air and T sen are in D Convection as the differences between the body and air.
Toolbox then teaches determining an ambient air velocity vair, based on the heat transfer coefficient Ctr in: “The convective heat transfer coefficient for air flow can be approximated to hc = 10.45 - v + 10 v1/2 (2)
Where hc = heat transfer coefficient (kCal/m2h°C)
v = relative speed between object surface and air (m/s)”
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heat flux measuring device teaching of TCOM with the determination of variables using known equations teaching of Toolbox because one would be motivated to have information particularly those from known equations so that one could convey the information better or have better information to compare to other known data, facts, figures, and other measurable and calculable quantities. This would allow for better comparison results so that the output measuring tool of TCOM could be used to compare to other previously measured quantities. For these reasons one ordinarily skilled would be motivated to combine TCOM with Toolbox.
Per claim 4, TCOM, Hirano, Williamson, Hosoi, and Toolbox teach the limitations of claim 3, above. TCOM further teaches the control unit controls the power supplied to the heating member so that the sensor body is kept at a predetermined temperature T_sen in page 13: “The MCU performs the calculation of heater power, heat fluxes and temperature. It acts as a PID controller to stabilise the TCOM01 body temperature at the required temperature. The default setting of the body temperature is 33 °C. This may be adjusted via the user interface.”
Per claim 8, TCOM, Hirano, Williamson, Hosoi, and Toolbox teach the limitations of claim 4, above. The limitation with the heat flux measured by the reflective sensor and the heat flux measured by the absorptive sensor of each of the six or more sensor pairs is taught by claim 1 limitations.
TCOM further teaches the control unit being adapted to compare the total heating power supplied to the body for keeping the body at the predetermined temperature, in page 8 where the heater power is compared to the current temperature of the body and the heat flux is being measured. As the main screen shows “live data” it is comparing these figures by placing them in the same screen. Further see the graph where power line is taught and the various sensors are taught as well.
Per claim 9, TCOM, Hirano, Williamson, Hosoi, and Toolbox teach the limitations of claim 3, above. TCOM further teaches the control unit heating the body temperature T_sen to the operative temperature T_operative thereby determining the operative temperature T_operative in page 8 where the box where someone can set the temperature is to be filled in, is currently at 33 C.
TCOM does not teach lradiation + = 0 at T_sen = T_operative: with GIradiation and (D convection sums of radiative and convective heat fluxes to the sensor body weighted with the applicable area factors.
Williamson teaches lradiation + = 0 at T_sen = T_operative: with GIradiation and (D convection sums of radiative and convective heat fluxes to the sensor body weighted with the applicable area factors in page 21 where the data is read from the sensors (radiative and conductive) and the heating elements are regulated such that a maximum temperature may be set which teaches that the fluxes are zero as once the temperature is at a maximum it is kept at that temperature.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermal comfort teaching of TCOM with the pair of sensors measuring radiative and convective heat because as taught in page 13 temperature sensors may be similarly sensitive to convective heat but not similar for radiative heat, and therefore if just measuring convective may miss a temperature change due to radiative heat. By having both the temperature can therefore be more accurately determined. As this would increase accuracy one would be motivated to combine Williamson with TCOM.
Claim(s) 5, 14, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USER MANUAL TCOMSYS0l Hot Cube, published 2020, filed in IDS 10/26/2023 (“TCOM”), in view of Hirano Satoru, JP 2018004582 A (“Hirano”), further in view of Williamson, WO 2018096369 A2 (“Williamson”), further in view of Hosoi et al., JP 2019207112 A (“Hosoi”), further in view of Engineering Toolbox, < https://web.archive.org/web/20210127074458/https://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/convective-heat-transfer-d_430.html > archived on Jan 27, 2021, (“Toolbox”), further in view of Nakashima et al., US PGPUB 20210039471 A1 (“Nakashima”).
Per claims 5 and 14, TCOM, Hirano, Williamson, Hosoi, and Toolbox teach the limitations of claims 3 and 4, above. Tcom, Hirano, and Williamson further teach as shown above, “- for each of the six or more sensor pairs, the radiative heat flux GDradiation, and the convective heat flux Dconvection.” Also as shown above TCOM teaches Control unit determining
TCOM does not teach a humidity sensor connected to the control unit for determining a humidity Pa of the ambient air, the control unit being adapted for determining a comfort value for a person at the position of the sensor, based on:- the measured humidity pa of the ambient air, - the measured air temperature, T_air, - the body temperature, T_sen
Nakashima teaches thermal comfort model for a passenger in a vehicle. See abstract.
Nakashima teaches a humidity sensor connected to the control unit for determining a humidity Pa of the ambient air in par 054: “As shown in FIG. 3, the vehicle air conditioner 2 includes an outside air temperature sensor 71, an inside air temperature sensor 72, a humidity sensor 73,”
Nakashima then teaches the control unit being adapted for determining a comfort value for a person at the position of the sensor, based on:- the measured humidity pa of the ambient air, - the measured air temperature, T_air, in par 054: “As shown in FIG. 3, the vehicle air conditioner 2 includes an outside air temperature sensor 71, an inside air temperature sensor 72, a humidity sensor 73, a solar radiation sensor 74, a temperature setting switch 75, a steering temperature sensor 76, a foot heater temperature sensor 77, a seat temperature sensor 78, a skin temperature sensor 79, and a pulse wave sensor 80. These sensors and the switch may be configured as members that have been known in the art, and are connected to the control unit 60 to output their sensed values in predetermined short cycles or successively, for example. The sensors that detect a temperature may include a thermocouple, for example.” See pars 095-097 for adapted for determining a comfort value. See par 097: “(Configuration of Occupant Thermal Sensation Calculation Unit 64)
The occupant thermal sensation calculation unit 64 serves as an occupant thermal sensation calculator which obtains a thermal model of the occupant A based on thermal sensation calculation information containing a thermal environment around the occupant A detected by the inside air temperature sensor 72, the humidity sensor 73, the solar radiation sensor 74, the seat temperature sensor 78, the foot heater temperature sensor 77, the steering temperature sensor 76, and the like and an operation state of the cabin air-conditioning unit 10 detected by the operation state detection unit 61, quantitatively calculates the thermal sensation of the occupant A based on the thermal model, and then outputs a signal indicating the thermal sensation of the occupant according to the calculation result. The thermal sensation calculation information may contain the skin temperature of the occupant A detected by the skin temperature sensor 79.”
Nakashima then teaches and using mathematical corrections such as projected area factors valid for a person at the position of the sensor in par 0101-0102: “On the other hand, if there is a difference beyond a predetermined range between the skin temperature of the occupant A and the corresponding part of the thermal model of the occupant A as a result of comparison, a correction coefficient is determined to bring the thermal model close to the thermal sensation based on the skin temperature of the occupant A, and the thermal model of the occupant A is corrected by using this correction coefficient. For example, the thermal model is corrected so that the higher the skin temperature of the occupant A, the greater the numerical value indicating the thermal sensation becomes, and that the lower the skin temperature of the occupant A, the smaller the numerical value indicating the thermal sensation becomes.
A thermal sensation calculation model for quantitatively estimating the thermal sensations may have been known in the art. For example, the calculation model can be the thermal sensation calculation model described in “Thermal sensation and comfort models for non-uniform and transient environments: Part I: Local sensation of individual body parts, Hui Zhang et al., Building and Environment 45, 2010, pp 380-388” or “thermal sensation and comfort models for non-uniform and transient environments, part Ill: Whole-body sensation and comfort Hui Zhang et al., Building and Environment 45 (2010) 399-410.””
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermal sensor heat flux comfort teaching of TCOM with the humidity and passenger comfort teaching of Nakashima because Nakashima teaches in par 029 that: “With the present invention, a comfort sensation calculator quantitatively calculates comfort sensation of an occupant from an RRI of the occupant A, and a target control value of a thermal environment control device is set based on the comfort sensation of the occupant. Therefore, it is possible to achieve air conditioning control that reflects the comfort sensation of the occupant, and improve the accuracy of the air conditioning control.” As shown in TCOM, page 7, a picture of a passenger testing comfort in a car and confirmed by the use of TCOM, one would be motivated to combine Nakashima with TCOM to further improve the purpose of TCOM, which is to make passengers more comfortable. For these reasons one would be motivated to modify TCOM with Nakashima.
Per claim 18, TCOM, Hirano, Williamson, Hosoi, Toolbox, and Nakashima teach the limitations of claim 5, above. The limitation with the heat flux measured by the reflective sensor and the heat flux measured by the absorptive sensor of each of the six or more sensor pairs is taught by claim 1 limitations and art.
TCOM further teaches the control unit being adapted to compare the total heating power supplied to the body for keeping the body at the predetermined temperature, in page 8 where the heater power is compared to the current temperature of the body and the heat flux is being measured. As the main screen shows “live data” it is comparing these figures by placing them in the same screen. Further see the graph where power line is taught and the various sensors are taught as well.
Claim(s) 6, 7 and 15-17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USER MANUAL TCOMSYS0l Hot Cube, published 2020, filed in IDS 10/26/2023 (“TCOM”), in view of Hirano Satoru, JP 2018004582 A (“Hirano”), further in view of Williamson, WO 2018096369 A2 (“Williamson”), further in view of Hosoi et al., JP 2019207112 A (“Hosoi”), further in view of Engineering Toolbox, < https://web.archive.org/web/20210127074458/https://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/convective-heat-transfer-d_430.html > archived on Jan 27, 2021, (“Toolbox”), further in view of Nakashima et al., US PGPUB 20210039471 A1 (“Nakashima”), further in view of ISO 7730, 2005 (“ISO 7730”).
Per claims 6 and 15, which are similar in scope, TCOM, Hirano, Williamson, Hosoi, Toolbox, and Nakashima teach the limitations of claims 5 and 14, above. TCOM does not teach the comfort value comprises a predicted mean vote PMV which is a function of parameters including a metabolic rate M, that can be expressed in W/m2, the effective mechanical power W, that can be expressed in W/m2, clothing insulation Ici, that can be expressed in K.m2/W, the air temperature T_air, a mean radiant temperature Trad, that can be expressed in the ambient air velocity vair, that can be expressed in m/s and the measured humidity pa that can be expressed by water vapor partial pressure in Pa, which parameters are related: PMV = [0.303 e (-0036M) +0.028] x [ [(M-W)- 3.05 x 10-3 [5733 -6.99 (M-W) - pa] -0.42 [(M-W) -58.15] - 1.7 x 10-5 M (5867 -pa) - 0.0015 M (34-T_air) - 3.96 10-8 foi ((Tci+ 273)4- (Trad+273)4)-foi Ctr (Ti-T_air)],Wherein wherein values of M, W, Ici, foi are entered by the user, and fel is a clothing surface area factor, and Ti the clothing surface temperature:Tei= 35.7 - 0.028 (M-W) - Ici [3.96 10-8 foi ((Tc1+ 273)4 - (Trad+273)4)+foi Ctr(Ti-T_air)].
ISO 7730 teaches calculations and standards about comfort and thermal insulation, and other related topics. See pages 1-58.
ISO 7730 teaches the comfort value comprises a predicted mean vote PMV which is a function of parameters including a metabolic rate M, that can be expressed in W/m2, the effective mechanical power W, that can be expressed in W/m2, clothing insulation Ici, that can be expressed in K.m2/W, the air temperature T_air, a mean radiant temperature Trad, that can be expressed in the ambient air velocity vair, that can be expressed in m/s and the measured humidity pa that can be expressed by water vapor partial pressure in Pa, which parameters are related: PMV = [0.303 e (-0036M) +0.028] x [ [(M-W)- 3.05 x 10-3 [5733 -6.99 (M-W) - pa] -0.42 [(M-W) -58.15] - 1.7 x 10-5 M (5867 -pa) - 0.0015 M (34-T_air) - 3.96 10-8 foi ((Tci+ 273)4- (Trad+273)4)-foi Ctr (Ti-T_air)],Wherein wherein values of M, W, Ici, foi are entered by the user, and fel is a clothing surface area factor, and Ti the clothing surface temperature:Tei= 35.7 - 0.028 (M-W) - Ici [3.96 10-8 foi ((Tc1+ 273)4 - (Trad+273)4)+foi Ctr(Ti-T_air)] on pages 8-10 of the PDF. The equations are substantially similar rendering this obvious. The “user entered values” are taught by PMV being “calculated for different combinations of … [terms entered].” See also page 10, using a ‘digital’ computer, and Appendix D, BASIC program for doing so.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermal comfort model teaching of TCOM with ISO 7730 because in page 10 7730 teaches: “The PMV predicts the mean value of the thermal votes of a large group of people exposed to the same environment. But individual votes are scattered around this mean value and it is useful to be able to predict the number of people likely to feel uncomfortably warm or cool.” As this information would be useful to determine a mean number of people or percentage to be comfortable/uncomfortable one would be motivated to modify TCOM with ISO 7730.
Per claims 7 and 16, which are similar in scope, TCOM, Hirano, Williamson, Hosoi, Toolbox, Nakashima, and ISO 7730 teach the limitations of claims 6 and 15, above. TCOM further teaches the control unit controls the power supplied to the heating member so that the sensor body is kept at a body temperature T_sen in page 13: “The MCU performs the calculation of heater power, heat fluxes and temperature. It acts as a PID controller to stabilise the TCOM01 body temperature at the required temperature. The default setting of the body temperature is 33 °C. This may be adjusted via the user interface”
TCOM does not teach which is substantially equal to the clothing surface temperature Toi, and PMV and PPD values are measured.
ISO 7730 teaches a body temperature T_sen which is substantially equal to the clothing surface temperature Toi, in page 10, “Applications”: “By setting PMV = 0, an equation is established which predicts combinations of activity, clothing and
environmental parameters which on average will provide a thermally neutral sensation.” Thermally neutral means T_sen = T clothing.
ISO then teaches and PMV and PPD values are measured in pages 9-11 where PMV is calculated and PPD values also are calculated. Note that TCOM measures the input values as shown in claim 1 (Temperature of air).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermal comfort model teaching of TCOM with ISO 7730 because in page 10 7730 teaches: “The PMV predicts the mean value of the thermal votes of a large group of people exposed to the same environment. But individual votes are scattered around this mean value and it is useful to be able to predict the number of people likely to feel uncomfortably warm or cool.” As this information would be useful to determine a mean number of people or percentage to be comfortable/uncomfortable one would be motivated to modify TCOM with ISO 7730.
Per claims 17, 19, and 20, which are similar in scope, TCOM, Hirano, Williamson, Hosoi, Toolbox, Nakashima, and ISO 7730 teach the limitations of claim 16, 6, and 7, above. The limitation with the heat flux measured by the reflective sensor and the heat flux measured by the absorptive sensor of each of the six or more sensor pairs is taught by claim 1 limitations and art.
TCOM further teaches the control unit being adapted to compare the total heating power supplied to the body for keeping the body at the predetermined temperature, in page 8 where the heater power is compared to the current temperature of the body and the heat flux is being measured. As the main screen shows “live data” it is comparing these figures by placing them in the same screen. Further see the graph where power line is taught and the various sensors are taught as well.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USER MANUAL TCOMSYS0l Hot Cube, published 2020, filed in IDS 10/26/2023 (“TCOM”), in view of Hirano Satoru, JP 2018004582 A (“Hirano”), further in view of Williamson, WO 2018096369 A2 (“Williamson”), further in view of Hosoi et al., JP 2019207112 A (“Hosoi”), further in view of Nakashima et al., US PGPUB 20210039471 A1 (“Nakashima”), further in view of ISO 7730, 2005 (“ISO 7730”).
Per claim 10, TCOM, Hironi, Williamson and Hosoi teach, as shown in claims 1-3, the following:
providing the heat flux sensor according to claim 1, the heat flux sensor having a body with six or more sensor pairs, each sensor pair consisting of one absorptive sensor for measuring a combined radiative and convective heat flux and one reflective sensor for substantially measuring a convective heat flux, a heating member that is in heat conducing contact with the body, a temperature sensor thermally coupled with the body for measuring the body temperature T_sen, determining for each of the six or more sensor pairs from the measurements of the reflective sensor a convective heat flux - determining for each of the six or more sensor pairs a radiative heat flux Gradiation by subtracting the measurements of the absorptive sensor and of the reflective sensor, for each of the six or more sensor pairs the radiative heat flux radiation, and the convective heat flux
Then, TCOM teaches operating the heating member for heating of the body, to control the temperature of the body; determining the temperature of the body, T_sen in page 8 where the box where someone can set the temperature is to be filled in, is currently at 33 C.
TCOM does not teach and a humidity sensor connected to the control unit for determining a humidity Pa of the ambient air, and an ambient temperature sensor connected to the control unit for measuring an ambient temperature T_air, Nakashima teaches and a humidity sensor connected to the control unit for determining a humidity Pa of the ambient air, and an ambient temperature sensor connected to the control unit for measuring an ambient temperature T_air: “As shown in FIG. 3, the vehicle air conditioner 2 includes an outside air temperature sensor 71, an inside air temperature sensor 72, a humidity sensor 73,”
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermal sensor heat flux comfort teaching of TCOM with the humidity and passenger comfort teaching of Nakashima because Nakashima teaches in par 029 that: “With the present invention, a comfort sensation calculator quantitatively calculates comfort sensation of an occupant from an RRI of the occupant A, and a target control value of a thermal environment control device is set based on the comfort sensation of the occupant. Therefore, it is possible to achieve air conditioning control that reflects the comfort sensation of the occupant, and improve the accuracy of the air conditioning control.” As shown in TCOM, page 7, a picture of a passenger testing comfort in a car and confirmed by the use of TCOM, one would be motivated to combine Nakashima with TCOM to further improve the purpose of TCOM, which is to make passengers more comfortable. For these reasons one would be motivated to modify TCOM with Nakashima.
TCOM does not teach the body temperature T_sen to an estimated clothing surface temperature Tei; entering values of M metabolic rate, W work, Ici, clothing insulation, foi clothing surface area factor and determining the comfort value based on:- the measured humidity pa of the ambient air, - the measured air temperature, T_air, - the body temperature, T_sen, - for each of the six or more sensor pairs the radiative heat flux radiation, and the convective heat flux - using mathematical corrections such as projected area factors valid for a person at the position of the sensor.
ISO 7730 teaches the body temperature T_sen to an estimated clothing surface temperature Tei in page 10, “Applications”: “By setting PMV = 0, an equation is established which predicts combinations of activity, clothing and environmental parameters which on average will provide a thermally neutral sensation.” Thermally neutral means T_sen = T clothing.’
ISO then teaches entering values of M metabolic rate, W work, Ici, clothing insulation, foi clothing surface area factor and determining the comfort value based on:- the measured humidity pa of the ambient air, - the measured air temperature, T_air, - the body temperature, T_sen, - - using mathematical corrections such as projected area factors valid for a person at the position of the sensor ] on pages 8-10 of the PDF. The equations are substantially similar rendering this obvious. The “user entered values” are taught by PMV being “calculated for different combinations of … [terms entered].” See also page 10, using a ‘digital’ computer, and Appendix D, BASIC program for doing so.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermal comfort model teaching of TCOM with ISO 7730 because in page 10 7730 teaches: “The PMV predicts the mean value of the thermal votes of a large group of people exposed to the same environment. But individual votes are scattered around this mean value and it is useful to be able to predict the number of people likely to feel uncomfortably warm or cool.” As this information would be useful to determine a mean number of people or percentage to be comfortable/uncomfortable one would be motivated to modify TCOM with ISO 7730.
Per claim 11, TCOM, Hirano, Williamson, Hosoi, Nakashima, and ISO 7730 teach the limitations of claim 10, above. TCOM does not teach the comfort value comprises a predicted mean vote PMV which is a function of parameters including a metabolic rate M, that can be expressed in W/m2, the effective mechanical power W, that can be expressed in W/m2, clothing insulation Ici, that can be expressed in K.m2/W, the air temperature T_air, a mean radiant temperature Trad, that can be expressed in the ambient air velocity vair, that can be expressed in m/s and the measured humidity pa that can be expressed by water vapor partial pressure in Pa, which parameters are related by: PMV = [0.303 e (-0036M> +0.028] x [ [(M-W)- 3.05 x 10-3 [5733 -6.99 (M-W) - pa] -0.42 [(M-W) -58.15] - 1.7 x 10-5 M (5867 -pa) - 0.0015 M (34-T_air) - 3.96 10-8 foi ((Tc1+ 273)4 - (Trad+273)4) - foi Ctr (Tei-T_air)],Wherein wherein values of M, W, Ici, foi are entered by the user, and fel is a clothing surface area factor, and Tei the clothing surface temperature Tei= 35.7 - 0.028 (M-W) - Ici [3.96 10-8 foi ((Tc1+ 273)4 - (Trad+273)4)+foi Ctr (Tci-Tar)].
ISO 7730 teaches the comfort value comprises a predicted mean vote PMV which is a function of parameters including a metabolic rate M, that can be expressed in W/m2, the effective mechanical power W, that can be expressed in W/m2, clothing insulation Ici, that can be expressed in K.m2/W, the air temperature T_air, a mean radiant temperature Trad, that can be expressed in the ambient air velocity vair, that can be expressed in m/s and the measured humidity pa that can be expressed by water vapor partial pressure in Pa, which parameters are related by: PMV = [0.303 e (-0036M> +0.028] x [ [(M-W)- 3.05 x 10-3 [5733 -6.99 (M-W) - pa] -0.42 [(M-W) -58.15] - 1.7 x 10-5 M (5867 -pa) - 0.0015 M (34-T_air) - 3.96 10-8 foi ((Tc1+ 273)4 - (Trad+273)4) - foi Ctr (Tei-T_air)],Wherein wherein values of M, W, Ici, foi are entered by the user, and fel is a clothing surface area factor, and Tei the clothing surface temperature Tei= 35.7 - 0.028 (M-W) - Ici [3.96 10-8 foi ((Tc1+ 273)4 - (Trad+273)4)+foi Ctr (Tci-Tar)] on pages 8-10 of the PDF. The equations are substantially similar rendering this obvious. The “user entered values” are taught by PMV being “calculated for different combinations of … [terms entered].” See also page 10, using a ‘digital’ computer, and Appendix D, BASIC program for doing so.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermal comfort model teaching of TCOM with ISO 7730 because in page 10 7730 teaches: “The PMV predicts the mean value of the thermal votes of a large group of people exposed to the same environment. But individual votes are scattered around this mean value and it is useful to be able to predict the number of people likely to feel uncomfortably warm or cool.” As this information would be useful to determine a mean number of people or percentage to be comfortable/uncomfortable one would be motivated to modify TCOM with ISO 7730.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USER MANUAL TCOMSYS0l Hot Cube, published 2020, filed in IDS 10/26/2023 (“TCOM”), in view of Hirano Satoru, JP 2018004582 A (“Hirano”), further in view of Williamson, WO 2018096369 A2 (“Williamson”), further in view of Hosoi et al., JP 2019207112 A (“Hosoi”).
Per claim 12, TCOM, Hironi, Williamson and Hosoi teach, as shown in claims 1-3, the following: - providing the heat flux sensor according to claim 1, the heat flux sensor having a body with six or more sensor pairs, each sensor pair consisting of one absorptive sensor for measuring a combined radiative and convective heat flux and one reflective sensor for substantially measuring a convective heat flux, a heating member that is in heat conducing contact with the body, a temperature sensor thermally coupled with the body for measuring the body temperature T_sen, - operating the heating member for heating of the body, - determining the temperature of the body, T_sen,- determining for each of the six or more sensor pairs from the measurements of the reflective sensor a convective heat flux - determining for each of the six or more sensor pairs a radiative heat flux Gradiation by subtracting the measurements of the absorptive sensor and of the reflective sensor,
TCOM further teaches - controlling the sensor temperature T_sen to a temperature T_operative in page 8 where the sensed temp 33 C is controlled to 33 or whatever someone fills in on the interface.
TCOM does not teach - controlling the sensor temperature T_sen to a temperature T_operative for which Gradiation + convection =0 with Gradiation and Dconvection sums of radiative and convective heat fluxes to the sensor body weighted with the applicable area factors, - determining T_operative
Williamson teaches - controlling the sensor temperature T_sen to a temperature T_operative for which Gradiation + convection =0 with Gradiation and Dconvection sums of radiative and convective heat fluxes to the sensor body weighted with the applicable area factors, - determining T_operative in page 21 where the data is read from the sensors (radiative and conductive) and the heating elements are regulated such that a maximum temperature may be set which teaches that the fluxes are zero as once the temperature is at a maximum it is kept at that temperature.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermal comfort teaching of TCOM with the pair of sensors measuring radiative and convective heat because as taught in page 13 temperature sensors may be similarly sensitive to convective heat but not similar for radiative heat, and therefore if just measuring convective may miss a temperature change due to radiative heat. By having both the temperature can therefore be more accurately determined. As this would increase accuracy one would be motivated to combine Williamson with TCOM.
Therefore, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC 103, above.
Prior Art Considered Relevant
Rolston, EP 1195587, (available in folder, applicant submitted) Fig 2. And 10a-h, teaches at least six sensors.
Patil et al., US PGPUB 20200156435 A1, teaches in par 074 that temperatures is analyzed and passenger is analyzed to determine the temperature of the vehicle.
ISO 7726 – equations and related standards for thermal comfort and measuring temperature.
Conclusion
/RICHARD W. CRANDALL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619