DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 17-24 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Faxer et al (hereinafter “Faxer”), WO 2020/144624 A1.
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Faxer discloses a method performed by a wireless device (WD) for performing Cross-Link Interference (CLI) measurements comprises: a user equipment (WD 512),comprising: receiving, from a serving base station, control signaling indicating a resource pattern to monitor for interference caused by downlink transmissions from a second base station (see fig.7-10, steps 700, 800, 900 and 1000: BS sends crosslink interference -Interference Measurement Resources (CLI-IMRs) to UE) ; performing a received signal strength indicator measurement of the downlink transmissions from the second base station in accordance with the resource pattern (see fig.7-10, steps 702, 804, 904 and 1004: perform CLI-IMR measurements on the configured CLI-IMRs); and transmitting, to the serving base station, a measurement report comprising an indication of the received signal strength indicator measurement (see fig.7-10, steps 704, 806, 906 and 1006: report CLI-IMR in allocated uplink resource).
Regarding claims 2 and 18, Faxer discloses the further comprising: receiving the control signaling indicating a slot duration, a periodicity, a slot index, or any combination thereof, for the resource pattern, wherein the received signal strength indicator measurement is performed based at least in part on at least one of the slot duration, the periodicity, or the slot index (p. [0020]-[0023]: slot format index in Time division duplex for uplink and downlink; [0023]: CLI can be based on for example the total received signal, e.g. Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI)) .
Regarding claims 3 and 19, Faxer discloses further comprising: receiving the control signaling indicating to report a received signal strength indicator measurement for each resource of a plurality of resources of the resource pattern ([0023]: CLI can be based on for example the total received signal, e.g. Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI)).
Regarding claims 4 and 20, Faxer discloses further comprising: receiving the control signaling indicating that the UE is to transmit the measurement report based at least in part on the received signal strength indicator measurement satisfying a threshold ([0023]: CLI can be based on for example the total received signal, e.g. Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI)); [0080]: a predefined signal level threshold).
Regarding claims 5 and 21, Faxer discloses further comprising: receiving the control signaling indicating a quantity number of resources from the resource pattern on which the UE is to report, wherein the measurement report comprises indications of received signal strength indicator measurements for the quantity number of resources from the resource pattern ([0033]: Interference measurement resource for interference measurement; Fig. 8: the operation of a NN and a UE to perform CLI measurement configuration and reporting in which CLI-IMRs).
Regarding claims 6 and 22, Faxer discloses wherein transmitting the measurement report further comprises: transmitting, to the serving base station, the measurement report comprising the received signal strength indicator measurement for a resource of the resource pattern, an index of the resource of the resource pattern, or both (p. [0020]-[0023]: slot format index in Time division duplex for uplink and downlink; [0074]:the measurement configuration is given by a measurement object configuration. The measurement object indicates the time and frequency resources where the measurement is to be performed. To support CLI measurement, i.e. measuring Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) or Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) on a non-serving cell).
Regarding claims 7 and 23, Faxer discloses further comprising: receiving, from the serving base station, the control signaling indicating that the resource pattern comprises a cross link interference resource and a bit indicating for the UE monitor for interference caused by the downlink transmissions from the second base station using the cross link interference resource ([0104]-[0105]: for each CLI-IMR in the CLI-IMR set, an RSRP or RSSI value quantized to a number of bits; table 5; [0159]: the CLI measurement is a RSRP or RSSI value quantized to a number of bits).
Regarding claims 8 and 24, Faxer discloses wherein receiving the control signaling further comprises: receiving the control signaling indicating one or more parameters associated with the resource pattern, wherein the one or more parameters comprise at least one of a number of physical resource blocks, a starting physical resource block index for a measurement bandwidth, a symbol location of a received signal strength indicator resource in a slot, a number of slots, a reference subcarrier spacing for the received signal strength indicator measurement, a periodicity, a slot index, or a combination thereof (see claims 5-7 above).
Regarding claim 9, Faxer discloses further comprising: receiving timing assistance information corresponding to the downlink transmissions from the second base station, wherein the received signal strength indicator measurement is performed based at least in part on the timing assistance information ([0074]-[0076]: the time resources to measure on could be configured by the network node to include time resources based on information of where CLI is known to occur and/or where CLI might occur and/or where CLI is known not to occur).
Regarding claim 29, Faxer discloses a UE (fig 14-15) a processor (1402); memory coupled with the processor (1404); and instructions stored in the memory (memory 1404 inherently stores instructions executable by the processor) and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a serving base station, control signaling indicating a resource pattern to monitor for interference caused by downlink transmissions from a second base station; perform a received signal strength indicator measurement of the downlink transmissions from the second base station in accordance with the resource pattern; and transmit, to the serving base station, a measurement report comprising an indication of the received signal strength indicator measurement (see claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 29, Faxer discloses a serving base station (fig. 12), comprising: a processor (1104); memory coupled with the processor (1106); and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (memory 1106 inherently stores instructions executable by the processor) to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), control signaling indicating a resource pattern to monitor for interference caused by downlink transmissions from a second base station; and receive, from the UE, a measurement report comprising an indication of a received signal strength indicator measurement of the downlink transmissions from the second base station performed in accordance with the resource pattern (see claim 1 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-16 and 25-28 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
THAI HOANG D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2463
/THAI DINH HOANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463