CTFR 18/557,542 CTFR 79004 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11, 13, 16 and 29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant’s arguments, with respect to claims 17-25 and 30 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 17-25 and 30 have been withdrawn. Claims 17-25 and 30 are allowed set forth below. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-9 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer et al (WO 2020/144624 A1), in view of Harrebek et al (EP 3,761,742 A1), hereinafter referred to as Faxer and Harrebek respectively . Regarding claim 1, Faxer discloses a method performed by a wireless device (WD) for performing Cross-Link Interference (CLI) measurements comprises: a user equipment (WD 512) ,comprising: receiving, from a serving base station, control signaling indicating a resource pattern to monitor for interference caused by downlink transmissions from a second base station (see fig.7-10, steps 700, 800, 900 and 1000: BS sends crosslink interference -Interference Measurement Resources (CLI-IMRs) to UE) ; performing a received signal strength indicator measurement of the downlink transmissions from the second base station in accordance with the resource pattern (see fig.7-10, steps 702, 804, 904 and 1004: perform CLI-IMR measurements on the configured CLI-IMRs) ; and transmitting, to the serving base station, a measurement report comprising an indication of the received signal strength indicator measurement (see fig.7-10, steps 704, 806, 906 and 1006: report CLI-IMR in allocated uplink resource) . Faxer does not disclose the first step: transmitting UE capability information indicating a received signal strength indicator measurement capability for interference measurement. Harrebek discloses systems and/or methods for cross link interference (CLI) measurement reporting, wherein the UE of the systems and methods performs the step of transmitting UE capability information indicating a received signal strength indicator measurement capability for interference measurement (fig. 6, step 601, p. [0055]-[0056]: the UE may report, to the serving gNB, capability information that includes the UE's capability to search for SRS timing. The serving gNB may obtain, from a neighbor gNB, the SRS configuration for a candidate aggressor UE; and similarly at fig. 7, step 701, p. [0064]-[0065]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the feature disclosed by Harrebek into Faxer’s system as an option of designer’s choice. Regarding claim 2, Faxer discloses the further comprising: receiving the control signaling indicating a slot duration, a periodicity, a slot index, or any combination thereof, for the resource pattern, wherein the received signal strength indicator measurement is performed based at least in part on at least one of the slot duration, the periodicity, or the slot index (p. [0020]-[0023]: slot format index in Time division duplex for uplink and downlink; [0023]: CLI can be based on for example the total received signal, e.g. Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI)) . Regarding claim 3, Faxer discloses further comprising: receiving the control signaling indicating to report a received signal strength indicator measurement for each resource of a plurality of resources of the resource pattern ([0023]: CLI can be based on for example the total received signal, e.g. Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI)) . Regarding claim 4, Faxer discloses further comprising: receiving the control signaling indicating that the UE is to transmit the measurement report based at least in part on the received signal strength indicator measurement satisfying a threshold ([0023]: CLI can be based on for example the total received signal, e.g. Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI)); [0080]: a predefined signal level threshold) . Regarding claim 5, Faxer discloses further comprising: receiving the control signaling indicating a quantity number of resources from the resource pattern on which the UE is to report, wherein the measurement report comprises indications of received signal strength indicator measurements for the quantity number of resources from the resource pattern ([0033]: Interference measurement resource for interference measurement; Fig. 8: the operation of a NN and a UE to perform CLI measurement configuration and reporting in which CLI-IMRs) . Regarding claim 6, Faxer discloses wherein transmitting the measurement report further comprises: transmitting, to the serving base station, the measurement report comprising the received signal strength indicator measurement for a resource of the resource pattern, an index of the resource of the resource pattern, or both (p. [0020]-[0023]: slot format index in Time division duplex for uplink and downlink; [0074]: the measurement configuration is given by a measurement object configuration. The measurement object indicates the time and frequency resources where the measurement is to be performed. To support CLI measurement, i.e. measuring Received Signal Strength Indicator ( RSSI ) or Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) on a non-serving cell) . Regarding claim 7, Faxer discloses further comprising: receiving, from the serving base station, the control signaling indicating that the resource pattern comprises a cross link interference resource and a bit indicating for the UE monitor for interference caused by the downlink transmissions from the second base station using the cross link interference resource ([0104]-[0105]: for each CLI-IMR in the CLI-IMR set, an RSRP or RSSI value quantized to a number of bit s; table 5; [0159]: the CLI measurement is a RSRP or RSSI value quantized to a number of bit s) . Regarding claim 8, Faxer discloses wherein receiving the control signaling further comprises: receiving the control signaling indicating one or more parameters associated with the resource pattern, wherein the one or more parameters comprise at least one of a number of physical resource blocks, a starting physical resource block index for a measurement bandwidth, a symbol location of a received signal strength indicator resource in a slot, a number of slots, a reference subcarrier spacing for the received signal strength indicator measurement, a periodicity, a slot index, or a combination thereof (see claims 5-7 above) . Regarding claim 9, Faxer discloses further comprising: receiving timing assistance information corresponding to the downlink transmissions from the second base station, wherein the received signal strength indicator measurement is performed based at least in part on the timing assistance information ([0074]-[0076]: the time resources to measure on could be configured by the network node to include time resources based on information of where CLI is known to occur and/or where CLI might occur and/or where CLI is known not to occur). Regarding claim 29, Faxer discloses a UE (fig 14-15) a processor (1402) ; memory coupled with the processor (1404) ; and instructions stored in the memory (memory 1404 inherently stores instructions executable by the processor) and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a serving base station, control signaling indicating a resource pattern to monitor for interference caused by downlink transmissions from a second base station; perform a received signal strength indicator measurement of the downlink transmissions from the second base station in accordance with the resource pattern; and transmit, to the serving base station, a measurement report comprising an indication of the received signal strength indicator measurement (see claim 1 above) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 10-11, 13 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim s 17-25 and 30 are allowed. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Faxer (WO 2020/144624 A1), in view of Harrebek (EP 3,761,742 A1) does not tech or fairly suggest the limitation: wherein the received signal strength indicator measurement capability indicates at least one of a maximum number of resources across a plurality of slots a UE is capable of measuring, a maximum number of measurement resources per slot the UE is capable of measuring, or both as recited in claims 17 and 30. All claims depend on claims 17 and 30 are allowed . Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to THAI D HOANG whose telephone number is (571)272-3184. The examiner can normally be reached 10:30 am-18:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Asad Nawaz can be reached at (571) 272-3988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. THAI HOANG D. Primary Examiner Art Unit 2463 /THAI DINH HOANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/557,542 Page 2 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/557,542 Page 3 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/557,542 Page 4 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/557,542 Page 5 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/557,542 Page 6 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/557,542 Page 7 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/557,542 Page 8 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/557,542 Page 9 Art Unit: 2463